DETAILED ACTION
2. The Preliminary Amendments filed on December 18, 2023 and April 13, 2023, have been received and entered.
Claim Disposition
3. Claims 6-7, 13-14, 16, 19-20 25-29, 32-34, and 36-38 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15, 17-18, 21-24, 30-31 and 35 are pending. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 17-18 and 21-22 are under examination. Claims 23-24 and 30-31 are withdrawn fromfurther consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.12(b), as being drawn to a non-electedinvention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statements filed on October 31, 2025 and October 3, 2024, have been received and entered. The references cited on the PTO-1449 Form have been considered by the examiner and a copy is attached to the instant Office action.
Drawings
5. The Drawings filed on April 13, 2023, are accepted by the examiner.
Specification Objection
6. The specification is objected to for the following informalities:
It is noted that ‘KTHTCPP’ is SEQ ID NO:1 provided in the sequence listings but the sequence notation is missing and not consistently disclosed in every occurrence in the specification.
Therefore, the specification is objected to because this application contains sequence disclosures that are encompassed by the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR1.821 through 1.825; applicant's attention is directed to the final rule making notice published at 55 FR 18230 (May 1, 1990), and 1114 OG 29 (May 15, 1990). To be in compliance, applicant is required to identify all amino acid sequences of at least 4 L-amino acids and at least 10 nucleotides by a sequence identifier, i.e., "SEQ ID NO:". The specification discloses sequences that have not been identified by a sequence identifier, see for example, page 29, line 6, (KTHTCPP). If these sequences have not been disclosed in the computer readable form of the sequence listing and the paper copy thereof, applicant must provide a computer readable form of the "Sequence Listing" including these sequences, a paper copy of the "Sequence Listing", as well as an amendment directing its entry into the specification, and a statement that the content of the paper and computer readable form copies are the same and, where applicable, include no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.821(e) or 1.821(f) or 1.821(g) or 1.821(b) or 1.825(d).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim objection
7. Claims 5, 8-11, 17-18 and 21 are objected to for the following informalities:
For clarity and precision of claim language it is suggested that claim 5 is amended to recite the spelled out meaning for ‘ADCC’. The dependent claims hereto are also included. See also claim 10 and 11 with similar language.
For clarity it is suggested that claim 17 is amended to recite, “……(HILIC) and (C)……”.The dependent claims hereto are also included.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15, 17-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claimed invention is directed to “a method of producing an antibody composition, said method comprising determining the relative unpaired afucosylated glycan content and/or the relative unpaired high a mannose glycan content of sample of the antibody composition and selecting the antibody composition for downstream processing….. (see claims 1 and 10-11 in its entirety).The claimed invention is not adequately described and encompasses a large variable genus of antibodies, antibody composition, enzymes, modifications, modifying conditions, target range and modified cell culture.
The claimed invention is very broad and not commensurate in scope with the disclosure in the specification. The invention is not adequately described, for example the method is directed to producing an antibody composition (see claim 1 preamble) and (i) recites ‘of a sample of the antibody composition’, therefore the method already encompasses an antibody composition and is selecting the antibody composition, not necessarily producing it (see claim 1(ii)). Moreover, there are no indicia as to what specific antibody, for example IgG or IgM etc. Further, the method involves modifying one or more conditions of the cell culture to modify the relative unpaired afucosylated glycan content and/or the relative unpaired high mannose glycan content of an undisclosed antibody. An ordinary skilled artisan cannot decipher which conditions are modified, how they are modified and how the cell culture is modified to therefore be able to modify the unpaired afucosylated glycan content etc. How does the cell culture modify the end result, the claimed invention is not adequately described or defined in the claim language. The claimed invention is overly broad. The invention also encompasses having a target range, but the variables around the target range are unknown, thus hard to figure out what specific range is being targeted. If the target is unknown, how do you know when it is achieved and what conditions were modified to achieve it. The claimed invention also denotes repeating the modifying, however, there’s insufficient description to determine what is being repeated based on the claim language. The language in for example claim 11 recites, “modifying the cell culture to modulate the relative unpaired afucosylated glycan content and/or the relative unpaired high mannose glycan content and there is no indication of whether ‘modulate’ is up or down (i.e. increase or decrease); and no defined modification or mechanism to get the results desired. Can any enzyme be utilized to treat any antibody composition to cleave the antibody heavy chain at a site N-terminal to the hinge region disulfide linkages to form fragments of any antibody as claimed? It is noted that claim 17 provides a sequence to be cleaved, however, does not rectify all the missing information in the lead claims. The invention also encompasses a variety of glycan moieties with no further guidance in the claims and the limitations of the specification cannot be read into the claims.
Thus the claimed invention is overly broad and not commensurate in scope with the disclosure in the specification and therefore, is not adequately described. No correlation is made between structure and function for the protease of the claimed invention, and does not demonstrate possession of the large genus. The specification fails to provide a representative number of species for the claimed genus to show that applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A representative number of species means that the species, which are adequately described, are representative of the entire genus.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by
functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), states that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed" (See page 1117). The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed" (See Vas-Cath at page 1116). The skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus, and therefore, conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993).
Therefore, for all these reasons the specification lacks adequate written description, and one of skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 15, 17-18 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shatz, (2013, of record in the application) in view of Lippold, (2019, of record in the application), Liu, (2015, of record in the application) and Dong (2016, of record in the application).
The effect of fucosylation/afucosylation on FcyRilla-binding and thus ADCC is well understood in the art. It is also well established that antibodies are produced in cell culture with heterologous glycosylation (ie. That antibody-species can be fully glycosylated, fully aglycosylated, hemi-glycosylated (ie only one of two Fc regions carries a glycan), fully fucosylated, fully afucosylated, hemi-fucosylated (i.e. only two of the glycans carries a fucose). A large number of prior art documents determine fucosylation/afucosylation-status of antibody species in a composition by means of mass- spectrometry. Most of these release glycans from protein, whereupon information is lost about how fucosylated/afucosylated glycans were originally paired. However, a number of prior art documents analyze glycan pairing by performing MS on intact antibodies or intact antibody-Fc dimers. Shatz is one such reference, which discloses that fully glycosylated but hemi-fucosylated (i.e unpaired afucosylated, asymmetrically fucosylated antibody-form suffices to indues ADCC almost to the level of fully afucoslyated antibody (see entire document, especially abstract and Tables 1-2). Glycoforms of the antibodies are attributed based on Ms-weight of full-length antibody (see Fig 4) with weights or ca. 148,000 ie. Glycans are not released. This allows for distinguishing between fully/nemi-fucosylated forms. The ADCC activity is not expressly disclosed. The secondary reference by Lippold discloses a method for resolving glycoforms of antibodies, and correlating this to FcyRIIIa-affinity and thus ASCC (se FIG 1). The method is again based on determining the mass of intact glycosylated antibodies Mwt. ca. 148,000) without releasing the glycans first. The secondary reference acknowledges that antibodies are produced in heterologous glycoforms, and that some of these are fully-glycosylated but hemi-fucosylated (ie. FIG 1B). Moreover a tertiary reference discloses that antibodies are produced with heterologous glycoforms, including complex (CO) fucosylated and high mannose (HM) forms, and that these are produced in /nier alia fully-glycosylated, hemi-glycosylated, or fully aglycosylated forms (FIG 1). Dong teaches that glycosylation is a CQA of antibody-products since it affects inter alia ADCC. Controlling glycosylation is particularly important and the Dong reference disclose an in-line process for monitoring product quality during culturing, and the effect of various process parameters thereon. The method quantifies the various glycoforms by mass spectrometry (see FIG 2 and page 8674, right col.). Process parameters were monitored on product quality and glycosylation was monitored daily. It was noted that the process could be used to detect undesired shifts in product quality, which may allow correction or adjustment of related parameters to maintain the desired ranges to achieve target product quality (see pages 8678, left column).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed invention as a whole because the combined teaching of the references render the claimed invention as obvious. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references because they are analogous art. The primary reference discloses the claimed composition the remaining limitations are disclosed in the subsequent references. Moreover, the Supreme Court pointed out in KSR, “a patent composed of several elements is not proved obvious merely by demonstrating that each of its elements was, independently, known in the prior art.” KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1741. The Court thus reasoned that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the “inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 1741. The Court further advised that “[a] person of ordinary skill is…a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation.” Id. at 1742. Therefore, the claimed invention was obvious to make and use at the time the invention was made and was prima facie obvious.
Basis For NonStatutory Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
12. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15, 17-18 and 21-22 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32, of U.S. Application No. 19/475810. An obvious-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); and In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The instant application claims are directed to a method of producing an antibody composition (see claims 1, 10-11 in its entirety). The copending application claims are drawn to a method of determining the relative unpaired glycan content of an IgG antibody composition. The two sets of claims differ because the instant claims recite generically “antibody” and the copending claims recite a specific antibody (IgG), thus the copending claims are a species of the genus claimed instantly. The dependent claims are also obvious over the instant claims.
Although the scope of the two sets of claims differs, the two sets of claims are an obvious variation of each other, thus prima facie obvious. This is a provisional obvious type double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
13. No claims are presently allowable.
/HOPE A ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652