DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikaido (JP 8-24692) (see translation in IDS dated 4/13/2023) in view of Mizoguchi (JP 2006-035074).
Regarding claim 1, Nikaido discloses a method of separating an inorganic material from crushing balls to which the inorganic material is attached (page 4, paragraph 7 and page 5, paragraph 1; grinding silicon carbide, alumina, or boron carbide), the method comprising: providing a container comprising: an inner side surface portion extending along a direction (page 5, paragraph 5; interior of planetary mill); a shaft extending in the direction (page 5, paragraph 5; revolving vertical shaft within the mill); and a mesh member provided on the inner side surface portion (page 5, paragraph 4; mesh screen), providing the crushing balls and the inorganic material inside the container, rotating the container around the shaft to cause a step of causing the crushing balls (page 5, paragraph 4; chrome steel balls) to collide against a mesh member (page 5, paragraph 4; mesh screen), but Nikaido does not disclose a mesh member provided on the inner side surface portion. Mizoguchi teaches a mesh member provided on the inner side surface portion (see Fig. 2; elements 15 on the periphery of element 7) for the purpose of transporting separated material from the crushing region (paragraph 0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nikaido, as taught by Mizoguchi, for the purpose of transporting separated material from the crushing region.
Regarding claim 2, Nikaido discloses the step of causing the crushing balls to collide against the mesh member includes a step of stirring the crushing balls in a region at least a part of which is surrounded by the mesh member (page 5, paragraph 5; the mesh and pulverizing container is mounted on a planetary mill that rotates).
Regarding claim 3, Nikaido does not explicitly disclose at least one hole formed in the mesh member has a polygonal shape or an elongated shape. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to separate material from crushing balls because Applicant has not disclosed that aperture shape provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Nikaido, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either mesh aperture shape because both aperture shapes would perform the same function of separating material from crushing balls for the purpose of adjusting the separation effect of the mesh apertures.
Regarding claim 5, Nikaido does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Mizoguchi teaches the step of stirring the crushing balls include a step of stirring at least two kinds of crushing balls having different diameters in the region surrounded by the mesh member (paragraph 0037) for the purpose of increasing crushing efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nikaido, as taught by Mizoguchi, for the purpose of increasing crushing efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, Nikaido discloses the step of causing the crushing balls to collide against the mesh member page 5, paragraph 5; where the planetary mill rotates at 540 rpm), but Nikaido does not explicitly disclose causing the crushing balls to collide against the mesh member includes a step of blasting the crushing ball to the mesh member. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to separate material from crushing balls because Applicant has not disclosed that agitating mechanism provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Nikaido, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either stirring or blasting because both agitating mechanisms would perform the same function of separating material from crushing balls for the purpose of efficiently clearing the crushing balls of material for reuse.
Regarding claim 7, Nikaido does not explicitly disclose at least a surface of the mesh member is formed of a material having a Vickers hardness higher than a Vickers hardness of a material forming the crushing balls. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to separate material from crushing balls because Applicant has not disclosed that hardness of the mesh member and the crushing balls provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Nikaido, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either mesh and balls because both mesh and balls would perform the same function of separating material from crushing balls for the purpose of reducing wear on the mesh member.
Regarding claim 12, Nikaido discloses the direction extends vertically (page 5, paragraph 5; revolving vertical shaft within the mill).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikaido/Mizoguchi in view of Imanishi (JP 2013-215721) (see translation in IDS dated 4/13/2023).
Regarding claim 4, Nikaido does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Imanishi teaches the mesh member has at least one protrusion shape (see Fig. 4; element 13) that protrudes toward the region surrounded by the mesh member for the purpose of aiding the distribution and classification of the materials within pulverizing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nikaido, as taught by Imanishi, for the purpose of aiding the distribution and classification of the materials within pulverizing apparatus.
Claim 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikaido/Mizoguchi in view of Yamamura (JP 2018-041671) (see translation in IDS dated 4/13/2023).
Regarding claim 8, Nikaido does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Mizoguchi teaches the inorganic material is an inorganic solid electrolyte material (paragraph 0064; where sulfide solid electrolytes are prepared in a planetary ball mill), a positive electrode active material, or a negative electrode active material for the purpose of milling materials in preparation lithium cell processing (paragraph 0002). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nikaido, as taught by Yamamura, for the purpose of milling materials in preparation lithium cell processing.
Regarding claim 9, Nikaido does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Mizoguchi teaches the inorganic material includes a sulfide-based inorganic solid electrolyte material (paragraph 0064; where sulfide solid electrolytes are prepared in a planetary ball mill), a positive electrode active material, or a negative electrode active material for the purpose of milling materials in preparation lithium cell processing (paragraph 0002). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nikaido, as taught by Yamamura, for the purpose of milling materials in preparation lithium cell processing.
Regarding claim 10, Nikaido does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Mizoguchi teaches the sulfide-based inorganic solid electrolyte material has lithium ionic conductivity and includes Li, P, and S as constituent elements (paragraph 0064; where sulfide solid electrolytes comprises Li, P, and S), a positive electrode active material, or a negative electrode active material for the purpose of milling materials in preparation lithium cell processing (paragraph 0002). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nikaido, as taught by Yamamura, for the purpose of milling materials in preparation lithium cell processing.
Regarding claim 11, Nikaido does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Mizoguchi teaches a molar ratio Li/P of a content of Li to a content of P in the sulfide-based inorganic solid electrolyte material is 1.0 or higher and 10.0 or lower, and a molar ratio S/P of a content of S to the content of P in the sulfide-based inorganic solid electrolyte material is 1.0 or higher and 10.0 or lower (paragraph 0064; where sulfide solid electrolytes comprises 75Li2S-25P2S5-10Li3N where the molar ratio of Li to P equals 3.6 and the molar ratio of S to P equals 4), a positive electrode active material, or a negative electrode active material for the purpose of milling materials in preparation lithium cell processing (paragraph 0002). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nikaido, as taught by Yamamura, for the purpose of milling materials in preparation lithium cell processing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653