DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 7-13, 17, 19, 31-33 are pending in the application, claims 12, 13, 17, 19 have been withdrawn from consideration due to Applicant’s election. Claims 4-6, 14-16, 18, 20-30 are cancelled.
Amendments to claims 1, 7 and new claims 31-33, filed on 12/8/2025, have been entered in the above-identified application.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 7-11 over Nakayama et al. (US Patent No. 6,787,590), Martin et al. (US Patent Application No. 2014/0288255) and Kuo et al. (US Patent No. 6,518,387) made of record in the office action mailed 10/10/2025, page 5, paragraph 8 has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed 12/8/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 31-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 23, 24, 27 and 28 of copending Application No. 18/031716 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application requires the same adhesive composition comprising a base solvent modified guayule resin and soy protein as the adhesive composition of reference Application No. 18/031716.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (US Patent No. 6,787,590) in view of Gracia (US Patent No. 2,410,780) and Kuo et al. (US Patent No. 6,518,387).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama et al. teach a particleboard (col. 9, lines 4-5) comprising a fiber component (col. 4, lines 52-55) and an adhesive composition comprising guayule resin (col. 5, lines 38-40, col. 7, lines 52-57, col. 10, lines 39-45, col. 12, lines 29-30).
Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein the adhesive composition comprises a base solvent modified guayule resin. However, Gracia teaches a rubber solution comprising a base solvent modified guayule resin (col. 1, lines 1-5, 45-55, col. 2, lines 1-7, 40-55, col. 3, lines 1-20).
The product-by-process limitation “base solvent modified guayule resin is formed by forming a resin mixture by mixing an unmodified guayule base resin with a solvent mixture, the solvent mixture comprising acetone, mixing a base with the resin mixture, reacting the base with the unmodified guayule base resin via a saponification process within the resin mixture, and extracting a bottom phase of the base solvent modified guayule resin in acetone” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the resin. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the resin of Gracia possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed resin.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the modified guayule resin of Gracia in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide improved tear resistance, flex resistance and resilience (Gracia, col. 2, lines 8-10).
Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein the adhesive composition comprises soy protein. However, Kuo et al. teach a particleboard (col. 6, lines 3-6) comprising fibers (col. 5, lines 34-36, col. 8, lines 47-49) and soy protein adhesive (col. 3, lines 15-25, 54-59, col. 6, lines 53-60).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the soy protein of Kuo et al. in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide a low cost wood adhesive from a renewable resource as an alternative to petroleum based adhesives and alleviate formaldehyde emissions and poor moisture resistance problems (Kuo et al., col. 3, lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama et al. teach wherein said fiber component comprises natural fibers (col. 3, lines 42-45, col. 10, lines 39-43).
Regarding claim 3, Nakayama et al. teach wherein said fiber component comprises guayule bagasse (col. 3, lines 42-45, col. 10, lines 39-43).
Regarding claim 7, Nakayama et al. teach wherein the said adhesive composition comprises unmodified guayule resin (col. 5, lines 38-40, col. 7, lines 52-57, col. 10, lines 39-45, col. 12, lines 29-30).
Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein the adhesive composition comprises soy protein. However, Kuo et al. teach a particleboard (col. 6, lines 3-6) comprising fibers (col. 5, lines 34-36, col. 8, lines 47-49) and soy protein adhesive (col. 3, lines 15-25, 54-59, col. 6, lines 53-60).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the soy protein of Kuo et al. in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide a low cost wood adhesive from a renewable resource as an alternative to petroleum based adhesives and alleviate formaldehyde emissions and poor moisture resistance problems (Kuo et al., col. 3, lines 5-13).
Nakayama et al. do not disclose wherein said unmodified guayule base resin is included in said adhesive composition in an amount ranging from 0.1% to 50% by weight of the total weight of said soy protein. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of unmodified guayule base resin in Nakayama et al. in order to improve bonding, product performance and processability (Nakayama et al., col. 7, lines 50-60).
Regarding claim 8, Nakayama et al. do not disclose wherein said adhesive composition comprises 50% by weight of the total weight of said fiber component and said adhesive composition. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of fiber component and adhesive composition of Nakayama et al. in order to provide excellent termite resistance and decay resistance (Nakayama et al., col. 3, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein said soy protein comprises from 5% to 40% by weight of the total weight of the adhesive composition. However, Kuo et al. teach a particleboard (col. 6, lines 3-6) comprising fibers (col. 5, lines 34-36, col. 8, lines 47-49) and soy protein adhesive (col. 3, lines 15-25, 54-59, col. 6, lines 53-60).
Kuo et al. do not disclose wherein said soy protein comprises from 5% to 40% by weight of the total weight of the adhesive composition. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of soy protein in the adhesive composition in order to provide a low cost wood adhesive from a renewable resource as an alternative to petroleum based adhesives and alleviate formaldehyde emissions and poor moisture resistance problems (Kuo et al., col. 3, lines 5-13).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the soy protein of Kuo et al. in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide a low cost wood adhesive from a renewable resource as an alternative to petroleum based adhesives and alleviate formaldehyde emissions and poor moisture resistance problems (Kuo et al., col. 3, lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 10, Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein said base solvent modified guayule resin comprises from 0.1% to 25% by weight of the total weight of the adhesive composition. However, Gracia teaches a rubber solution comprising a base solvent modified guayule resin (col. 1, lines 1-5, 45-55, col. 2, lines 1-7, 40-55, col. 3, lines 1-20).
Garcia does not disclose wherein said modified guayule resin comprises from 0.1% to 25% by weight of the total weight of the adhesive composition. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of modified guayule resin of Garcia in order to provide improved tear resistance, flex resistance and resilience (Gracia, col. 2, lines 8-10).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the modified guayule resin of Gracia in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide improved tear resistance, flex resistance and resilience (Gracia, col. 2, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 11, Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein said base solvent modified guayule resin comprises from 0.1 to 50% of the total weight of said soy protein. However, Gracia teaches a rubber solution comprising a base solvent modified guayule resin (col. 1, lines 1-5, 45-55, col. 2, lines 1-7, 40-55, col. 3, lines 1-20).
Garcia does not disclose wherein said base solvent modified guayule resin comprises from 0.1 to 50% of the total weight of said soy protein. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of modified guayule resin of Garcia in order to provide improved tear resistance, flex resistance and resilience (Gracia, col. 2, lines 8-10).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the modified guayule resin of Gracia in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide improved tear resistance, flex resistance and resilience (Gracia, col. 2, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 31, Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein said base solvent modified guayule resin comprises 0.75% by weight of the total weight of the adhesive composition. However, Gracia teaches a rubber solution comprising a base solvent modified guayule resin (col. 1, lines 1-5, 45-55, col. 2, lines 1-7, 40-55, col. 3, lines 1-20).
Garcia does not disclose wherein said base solvent modified guayule resin comprises 0.75% by weight of the total weight of the adhesive composition. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of modified guayule resin of Garcia in order to provide improved tear resistance, flex resistance and resilience (Gracia, col. 2, lines 8-10).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the modified guayule resin of Gracia in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide improved tear resistance, flex resistance and resilience (Gracia, col. 2, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 32, Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein said soy protein comprises 10% by weight of the total weight of the adhesive composition. However, Kuo et al. teach a particleboard (col. 6, lines 3-6) comprising fibers (col. 5, lines 34-36, col. 8, lines 47-49) and soy protein adhesive (col. 3, lines 15-25, 54-59, col. 6, lines 53-60).
Kuo et al. do not disclose wherein said soy protein comprises 10% by weight of the total weight of the adhesive composition. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of soy protein in order to provide a low cost wood adhesive from a renewable resource as an alternative to petroleum based adhesives and alleviate formaldehyde emissions and poor moisture resistance problems (Kuo et al., col. 3, lines 5-13).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the soy protein of Kuo et al. in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide a low cost wood adhesive from a renewable resource as an alternative to petroleum based adhesives and alleviate formaldehyde emissions and poor moisture resistance problems (Kuo et al., col. 3, lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 33, Nakayama et al. fail to teach wherein said base comprises NaOH. However, Gracia teaches a rubber solution comprising a base solvent modified guayule resin (col. 1, lines 1-5, 45-55, col. 2, lines 1-7, 40-55, col. 3, lines 1-20), wherein said base comprises alkali metal hydroxides (col. 3, lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the modified guayule resin of Gracia in the adhesive of Nakayama et al. in order to provide improved tear resistance, flex resistance and resilience (Gracia, col. 2, lines 8-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 with respect to claims 1-3, 7-11, 31-33 of record have been carefully considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 2/17/2026