DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed February 5, 2026.
Specification
The objection to the disclosure has been withdrawn due to the amendment filed.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 27 has been withdrawn due to the amendment filed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more convex ribs provided in the display area must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is not understood how the one or more convex ribs are provided in the display area when the one or more convex ribs are actually provided in the frame area.
Claims 2-11, 13-14, 16, 19-20, 23, 25 and 27-28 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 10, 25 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (CN 101866584 A).
In regard to claim 1, Cao et al. teach a display panel, comprising a display area (center) and a frame area (at 711/721) surrounding the display area (center), the display panel comprising: a base substrate 71 and a cover plate 72 opposite to each other; one or more convex ribs 711/721 on at least one of the base substrate 71 and the cover plate 72, wherein each convex rib 711/721 of at least some of the convex ribs comprises a plurality of rib segments (See Figure 8) connected sequentially along an extension trajectory of the convex rib, and an angle is formed between adjacent two of the rib segments (See Figure 8); and an encapsulation structure 73 between the base substrate 71 and the cover plate 72 and covering the convex ribs 711/721 (Figures 7-8, pages 8-9, paragraphs [0049]-[0059]).
In regard to claim 4, Cao et al. teach a plurality of convex rib groups (at 711/721) are provided on at least one of the base substrate 71 and the cover plate 72 and are distributed at intervals, each convex rib group of the convex rib groups (at 711/721) comprising one or more of the convex ribs 711/721 (Figures 7-8, pages 8-9, paragraphs [0049]-[0059]).
In regard to claim 5, Cao et al. teach multiple of the convex rib groups (at 711/721) in the frame area (at 711/721), and distributed at intervals along a periphery of the display area (center) (Figures 7-8, pages 8-9, paragraphs [0049]-[0059]).
In regard to claim 6, Cao et al. teach the frame area (at 711/721) in a ring shape and comprises at least one corner portion, and a density of the convex ribs at the corner portion of the frame area (at 711/721) is greater than that of the convex ribs 711/721 at other portions of the frame area (at 711/721) (Figures 7-8, pages 8-9, paragraphs [0049]-[0059]).
In regard to claim 10, Cao et al. teach the encapsulation structure 73 comprising a sealant provided in the frame area (at 711/721) and bonded between the base substrate 71 and the cover plate 72; and wherein one of the convex ribs 711/721 is provided in the frame area (at 711/721) and is covered by the sealant, or wherein multiple of the convex ribs are provided in the frame area and are at least partially covered by the sealant (Figures 7-8, pages 8-9, paragraphs [0049]-[0059]).
In regard to claim 25, Cao et al. teach the convex rib group (See Figure 8) comprises multiple of the convex ribs 711/721 distributed at intervals, with a trench being formed between adjacent two of the multiple of the convex ribs 711/721 (Figures 7-8, pages 8-9, paragraphs [0049]-[0059]).
As best understood and in regard to claim 27, Cao et al. teach the convex ribs 711/721 provided on the base substrate 71 and the cover plate 72, and orthographic projections of the convex ribs 711 on the base substrate 71 on the cover plate and the convex ribs 721 on the cover plate 72 are arranged at intervals (Figures 7-8, pages 8-9, paragraphs [0049]-[0059]).
In regard to claim 28, Cao et al. teach a display apparatus, comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (Figures 7-8, pages 8-9, paragraphs [0049]-[0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 101866584 A) as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 10, 25 and 27-28 above, and further in view of Qin et al. (CN 113130822 A).
Cao et al. teach all mentioned in the rejection of claims 1, 4-6, 10, 25 and 27-28.
However, Cao et al. fail to teach the plurality of rib segments comprising at least a first rib segment, a second rib segment, and a third rib segment connected sequentially, a first angle is formed between the first rib segment and the second rib segment, and a second angle is formed between the third rib segment and the second rib segment, and an end of the first rib segment away from the second rib segment and an end of the third rib segment away from the second rib segment are on a same side in a width direction of the second rib segment.
Qin et al. teach a plurality of rib segments (of 40) comprising at least a first rib segment, a second rib segment, and a third rib segment connected sequentially (See Figure 4), a first angle is formed between the first rib segment and the second rib segment (See Figure 4), and a second angle is formed between the third rib segment and the second rib segment (See Figure 4), and an end of the first rib segment away from the second rib segment and an end of the third rib segment away from the second rib segment are on a same side in a width direction of the second rib segment (See Figure 4) (Figure 4, pages 13-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device structure as taught by Cao et al. with the display device having a plurality of rib segments comprising at least a first rib segment, a second rib segment, and a third rib segment connected sequentially, a first angle is formed between the first rib segment and the second rib segment, and a second angle is formed between the third rib segment and the second rib segment, and an end of the first rib segment away from the second rib segment and an end of the third rib segment away from the second rib segment are on a same side in a width direction of the second rib segment as taught by Qin et al. to prevent failure of the display panel (page 2).
In regard to claim 3, Qin et al. teach the angle formed between the adjacent two of the rib segments (of 40) being an obtuse angle (Figure 4, pages 13-18).
In regard to claim 19, Qin et al. teach the base substrate comprising: a base 10; a pixel definition layer 32 on a side of the base 10 and with a pixel opening (in 32); and a light-emitting unit 31 in the pixel opening (in 32), wherein orthographic projections of the convex ribs 40/90 in the non-display area 103/104 on the base 10 are within an orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer 32 on the base 10 (Figures 4-5, pages 13-18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11 and 13-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7, 11, 13-14, 20, 23 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon objected claim 7.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon objected claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Cao et al. (CN 101866584 A) and Cao et al. (CN 101866584 A) further in view of Qin et al. (CN 113130822 A) continues to teach the claimed invention for the one or more of the convex ribs are not provided in the display area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to display devices:
Wu et al. (US 2020/0044185 A1).
IMS
April 9, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898