DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is made Final in response to applicant’s Amendments / Request for Reconsideration filed 2/18/26. Claim 18 is cancelled; claims 1-17 and 19-20 are amended and pending.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “in of the first portion” should be amended to “in . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US Pat. No. 3,809,403) in view of Meredith (US Pat. No. 5,074,555).
First interpretation of Hunter:
With respect to claim 1, Hunter teaches a stepless metallic golf shaft comprising: a butt portion (station 0-1) having: a proximal end (station 0) configured to be attached to a golf grip; and a distal end (station 1); a tip portion having: a distal end (station 44) configured to be attached to a golf club head 12; and a proximal end; and a midsection connecting the proximal end of the tip portion with the distal end of the butt portion (station 1), the midsection including: a first portion (stations 2-11) having a first outer diameter that gradually decreases in a direction of the proximal end of the tip portion at a first taper rate and not having any step changes in the first outer diameter (Fig. 1; “TABLE”); and a second portion (stations 19-30) having a second outer diameter that gradually decreases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion at a second taper rate and not having any step changes in the second outer diameter, wherein the second taper rate (~ .011 in/linear inch) is different than the first taper rate (~ .0267 in/linear inch)(See TABLE); wherein a wall thickness in the butt portion (.027 inches) is less than the wall thickness in the tip portion (.077 inches).
Hunter teaches wherein the stepless shaft is formed from a single 1-inch metallic alloy tube (column 4, lines 27-29; column 5, lines 57-61), but does not expressly teach wherein its formed of a steel tube of uniform diameter. However, analogous art reference Meredith teaches this feature to be known in the art – column 3, lines 39-43. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a steel alloy for the shaft material, and swaging a hollow tube shaft to form the various parts of the shaft. The rationale to combine is to provide a lightweight, strong, durable shaft.
With respect to claim 5, Hunter wherein the first taper rate (~ .0267 in/linear inch)
is greater than the second taper rate (~ .011 in/linear inch) (See Table).
With respect to claims 7-9, 11, Hunter teaches wherein the midsection further includes a third portion (stations 31-32) having a third outer diameter that gradually decreases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion at a third taper rate and not having any step changes in the third outer diameter (TABLE); wherein the third taper rate (~.01 in/linear inch) is different than the second taper rate (~.011 in/linear inch) and the first taper rate (~ .0267 in/linear inch); wherein a first length of a first one of the first, second, and third portions is one of greater than and less than a second length of a second one of the first, second, and third portions (TABLE)
With respect to claims 12-13, Hunter teaches wherein the midsection further includes a fourth portion (station 33-35) having a fourth outer diameter that gradually decreases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion at a fourth taper rate and not having any step changes in the third outer diameter (TABLE), wherein a first length of a first one of the first, second, third, and fourth portions is one of greater than and less than a second length of a second one of the first, second, third, and fourth portions Id.
With respect to claim 14, Hunter teaches wherein an outer diameter of the tip portion is tapered (See TABLE).
With respect to claims 15-16, Hunter teaches wherein the first and second portions are frustoconical (Fig. 1); and wherein an outer diameter of the butt portion is not tapered (Fig. 1; See also TABLE.
With respect to claim 17, Hunter does not expressly teach wherein an outer diameter of the tip portion is not tapered. However, analogous art reference Meredith teaches this feature to be known in the art – Fig.’s 2c, Fig. 3 showing constant outer diameters at a tip portion. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a uniform diameter at a tip portion. This will expectantly ensure the shaft is easily secured to a hosel portion of a golf club head and provide sufficient stiffness at the top portion.
With respect to claims 19-20, Hunter teaches wherein the wall thickness in the first portion increases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion (TABLE) and wherein the wall thickness in the second portion increases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion Id.
Second interpretation of Hunter:
With respect to claim 1, Hunter teaches a stepless metallic golf shaft comprising: a butt portion having: a proximal end (station 0) configured to be attached to a golf grip; and a distal end; a tip portion having: a distal end (station 44) configured to be attached to a golf club head 12; and a proximal end; and a midsection connecting the proximal end of the tip portion with the distal end of the butt portion, the midsection including: a first portion (stations 19-21) having a first outer diameter that gradually decreases in a direction of the proximal end of the tip portion at a first taper rate and not having any step changes in the first outer diameter (Fig. 1; “TABLE”); and a second portion (stations 21-23) having a second outer diameter that gradually decreases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion at a second taper rate and not having any step changes in the second outer diameter, wherein the second taper rate is different than the first taper rate (See TABLE); wherein a wall thickness in the butt portion (.027 inches) is less than the wall thickness in the tip portion (.077 inches).
Hunter teaches wherein the stepless shaft is formed from a single 1-inch metallic alloy tube (column 4, lines 27-29; column 5, lines 57-61), but does not expressly teach wherein its formed of a steel tube of uniform diameter. However, analogous art reference Meredith teaches this feature to be known in the art – column 3, lines 39-43. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a steel alloy for the shaft material, and swaging a hollow tube shaft to form the various parts of the shaft. The rationale to combine is to provide a lightweight, strong, durable shaft.
With respect to claim 2, Hunter teaches wherein a point (i.e. ~ station 21) where the midsection changes from the first taper rate to the second taper rate is half way between the distal end of the butt portion and the proximal end of the tip portion when the distal end of the butt portion is at station 1 and the proximal end of the tip portion is at station 43.
With respect to claim 3, Hunter teaches wherein a point (i.e. ~ station 21) where the midsection changes from the first taper rate to the second taper rate is closer to the butt portion than to the tip portion when the tip portion is construed as beginning at station 43.
With respect to claim 4, Hunter teaches wherein a point (i.e. ~ station 21) where the midsection changes from the first taper rate to the second taper rate is closer to the tip portion than to the butt portion when the tip portion is construed as beginning at station 32.
With respect to claim 6, Hunter teaches wherein the first taper rate is less than the second taper rate (Table 1).
With respect to claims 7-10, Hunter teaches wherein the midsection further includes a third portion (stations 23-25) having a third outer diameter that gradually decreases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion at a third taper rate ( and not having any step changes in the third outer diameter; wherein the third taper rate is different than the first taper rate and second taper rate (TABLE); wherein lengths of the first, second, and third portions are equal (i.e. each length being 2 stations, or 2 inches).
With respect to claims 12-13, Hunter teaches wherein the midsection further includes a fourth portion (stations 26-27) having a fourth outer diameter that gradually decreases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion at a fourth taper rate and not having any step changes in the third outer diameter, wherein a first length of a first one of the first, second, third, and fourth portions is one of greater than and less than a second length of a second one of the first, second, third, and fourth portions (TABLE).
With respect to claim 14, Hunter teaches wherein an outer diameter of the tip portion is tapered (See TABLE).
With respect to claims 15-16, Hunter teaches wherein the first and second portions are frustoconical (Fig. 1); and wherein an outer diameter of the butt portion is not tapered (Fig. 1; See also TABLE.
With respect to claim 17, Hunter does not expressly teach wherein an outer diameter of the tip portion is not tapered. However, analogous art reference Meredith teaches this feature to be known in the art – Fig.’s 2c, Fig. 3 showing constant outer diameters at a tip portion. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a uniform diameter at a tip portion. This will expectantly ensure the shaft is easily secured to a hosel portion of a golf club head and provide sufficient stiffness at the top portion.
With respect to claims 19-20, Hunter teaches wherein the wall thickness in the first portion increases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion (TABLE) and wherein the wall thickness in the second portion increases in the direction of the proximal end of the tip portion Id.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711