DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This action is a response to an application filed on 5/26/2026 in which claims 1-19 and 28 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 15-19 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE “Discussion on remaining issues on V2P”, herein ZTE and Hosseini et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0058866 A1), herein Hosseini.
As to claim 1, ZTE teaches a method, for use in a wireless communication device, for performing device-to-device (D2D), D2D, communication, said method comprising:
Obtaining measurement data which is indicative of one or more of:
a spatial or temporal property of the wireless communication device, or presence of other wireless communication devices (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id);
determining, based on the measurement data, a configuration of resource pool monitoring for D2D communication with one or more of the other wireless communication devices,
wherein the configuration of resource pool monitoring is determined such that an extent of resources that are monitored during the resource pool monitoring is adjusted based on the measurement data in order to adjust power efficiency of the D2D communication (ZTE Page 3 lines 1-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id and zones nearby (size is adjusted) lines 3-4 P-UE reception needs to be optimized for purpose of power efficiency); and
performing the D2D communication in accordance with the determined configuration of resource pool monitoring (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id and lines 3-4 P-UE reception needs to be optimized for purpose of power efficiency and line 9 only monitors zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id);
ZTE does not teach
In one or more of a time duration domain and/or a frequency domain
However Hosseini does teach
In one or more of a time duration domain and/or a frequency domain (Hosseini [0058] For instance, a first set of one or more sidelink resource pools (e.g., including uplink and downlink resource pools) may be associated with a first WUS occasion (e.g., having a certain offset from a beginning of one or more physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) periods), whereas a second set of one or more sidelink resource pools may be associated with a second WUS occasion (e.g., having a different offset from a beginning of one or more PSCCH periods). In such cases, the WUS occasions may be indicated by the sidelink resource pools used or, alternatively, a WUS may indicate (e.g., via a bitmap or a WUS sequence) which sidelink resource pools may be used for sidelink communications. In either case, a UE may monitor the sidelink resources for transmissions from another UE on the sidelink based on receiving an associated WUS. In some examples, the WUS may be UE-specific (e.g., the WUS may be designated to wake up a specific UE, or the WUS may be targeted to wake up a specific group of UEs)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZTE and Hosseini, because Hosseini teaches us [0155] Based on implementing the power saving techniques as described herein, one or more processors of the device 805 (e.g., processor(s) controlling or incorporated with one or more of receiver 810, the UE communications manager 815, and transmitter 820) may reduce the amount of time a device is awake and consuming excess power, which may increase power savings. In addition, the processors of the device 805 may be configured to selectively monitor resource pools to reduce excess wake time while monitoring for sidelink resources.
As to claim 28, ZTE teaches a method carried out in a base station of a wireless communication network for enabling device-to-device, D2D, communication between wireless communication devices, said method comprising:
transmitting, to at least a subset of the wireless communication devices a set of configurations for resource pool monitoring for D2D communication between the wireless communication devices, wherein the configurations define a periodicity of the resource pool monitoring, and an extent of adjusting that are monitored during the resource pool monitoring, and wherein the configurations differ by the size of the resources (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id);.
ZTE does not teach
In one or more of a time duration domain and/or a frequency domain
However Hosseini does teach
In one or more of a time duration domain and/or a frequency domain (Hosseini [0058] For instance, a first set of one or more sidelink resource pools (e.g., including uplink and downlink resource pools) may be associated with a first WUS occasion (e.g., having a certain offset from a beginning of one or more physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) periods), whereas a second set of one or more sidelink resource pools may be associated with a second WUS occasion (e.g., having a different offset from a beginning of one or more PSCCH periods). In such cases, the WUS occasions may be indicated by the sidelink resource pools used or, alternatively, a WUS may indicate (e.g., via a bitmap or a WUS sequence) which sidelink resource pools may be used for sidelink communications. In either case, a UE may monitor the sidelink resources for transmissions from another UE on the sidelink based on receiving an associated WUS. In some examples, the WUS may be UE-specific (e.g., the WUS may be designated to wake up a specific UE, or the WUS may be targeted to wake up a specific group of UEs)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZTE and Hosseini for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 2, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement data is obtained to be indicative of a traffic-related risk of a user of the wireless communication device (ZTE page 12 section 2.2 lines 3-8 only when P-UE is in vulnerable situation, the operations could be enabled/disabled based on location)
As to claim 3, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 2, wherein the traffic-related risk is in relation to other wireless communication devices that perform the D2D communication (ZTE page 3 lines 4-5 information of far away vehicles poses less risk so P-UE may only need to receive V2P messages on local area)
As to claim 5, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 4, wherein said determining comprises: selecting the configuration among a group of available configurations of resource pool monitoring stored in the wireless communication device (ZTE page 3 lines 6-7 P-UE can only monitors on V2V transmission resource pools corresponding to the zone P-UE resides and nearby)
As to claim 6, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 5, wherein the available configurations in said group differ by at least one of a periodicity of the resource pool monitoring, or size of the resources that are monitored (ZTE page 3 lines 1-7 monitoring on all pools or the zone P-UE resides and nearby zones)
As to claim 7, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 4, further comprising: obtaining at least part of the available configurations and storing said at least part of the available configurations in the wireless communication device (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id)
As to claim 8 , the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 7, wherein the wireless communication device and the other wireless communication devices are configured for communication with a cellular network, wherein the method comprises receiving said at least part of the available configurations by the wireless communication device by communication with the cellular network (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id)
As to claim 9, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 8, wherein said obtaining measurement data, said determining the configuration of resource pool monitoring, and said performing the D2D communication are performed without communication with the cellular network (ZTE page 3 proposal 5 P-UE should be preconfigured with zone configuration for V2P messages for power savings)
As to claim 10, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 1, any preceding claim, wherein the measurement data indicative of the spatial property comprises one or more of: a current position of the wireless communication device, a current speed of the wireless communication device, or a current distance of the wireless communication device to at least one of the other wireless communication devices (ZTE Page 2 section 2.2 lines 9-10 P-UE can analyze if it’s in vulnerable situation based on location from equipped GPS and geo map in the application layer)
As to claim 11, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 10, wherein said determining the configuration of resource pool monitoring comprises: evaluating the current position in relation to one or more geofences stored in the wireless communication device, and determining the configuration based on said evaluating the current position (ZTE Page 2 section 2.2 lines 9-10 P-UE can analyze if it’s in vulnerable situation based on location from equipped GPS and geo map in the application layer (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id
As to claim 15, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 10, wherein the measurement data indicative of the temporal property comprises a current time (ZTE Page 2 section 2.2 lines 9-10 P-UE can analyze if it’s in vulnerable situation (current time) based on location from equipped GPS and geo map in the application layer (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id
As to claim 16, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 15, wherein said determining the configuration of resource pool monitoring comprises: evaluating the current time in relation to one or more time ranges stored in the wireless communication device, and determining the configuration based on said evaluating the current time (ZTE Page 2 section 2.2 lines 9-10 P-UE can analyze if it’s in vulnerable situation (current time) based on location from equipped GPS and geo map in the application layer (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id
As to claim 17, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 1, any preceding claim, wherein the measurement data indicative of the presence of other wireless communication devices comprises a current intensity of communication by the other wireless communication devices (ZTE Page 2 section 2.2 lines 9-10 P-UE can analyze if it’s in vulnerable situation based on location from equipped GPS and geo map in the application layer (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id)
As to claim 18, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 17, wherein said determining the configuration of resource pool monitoring comprises: evaluating the current intensity in relation to one or more intensity thresholds stored in the wireless communication device, and determining the configuration based on said evaluating the current intensity. (ZTE Page 2 section 2.2 lines 9-10 P-UE can analyze if it’s in vulnerable situation based on location from equipped GPS and geo map in the application layer (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id)
As to claim 19, the combination of ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 1, any preceding claim, wherein said determining the configuration of resource pool monitoring comprises: determining the configuration based on detected presence of a beacon signal. (ZTE Page 2 section 2.2 lines 9-10 P-UE can analyze if it’s in vulnerable situation based on location from equipped GPS (beacon signal) and geo map in the application layer (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE, Hosseini and Tenny et al. WO 2020/197904 A1.
As to claim 4, ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 1,
ZTE nor Hosseini teach
wherein the configuration of resource pool monitoring is determined such that a periodicity of the resource pool monitoring during the resource pool monitoring is adjusted based on the measurement data.
However Tenny does teach
wherein the configuration of resource pool monitoring is determined such that a periodicity of the resource pool monitoring during the resource pool monitoring is adjusted based on the measurement data (Tenny [0034] the device adjusts its duty cycle and frequently (medium interval lengths) monitors for alerts in the moderate hazard zone when entering a more hazardous zone the device very frequently (shorter intervals) monitors for alerts)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZTE and Hosseini with Tenny, because Tenny teaches us this can help save batter power in low hazard zones Tenny [0036].
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE, Hosseini and TCoolpad “Discussion on power saving for PC5-based V2P”
As to claim 12, ZTE and Hosseini teach the method of claim 10,
ZTE nor Hosseini teach
wherein said determining the configuration of resource pool monitoring comprises: evaluating the current speed in relation to one or more speed thresholds stored in the wireless communication device, and determining the configuration based on said evaluating the current speed.
However Coolpad does teach
wherein said determining the configuration of resource pool monitoring comprises: evaluating the current speed in relation to one or more speed thresholds stored in the wireless communication device, and determining the configuration based on said evaluating the current speed (Coolpad page 3 section 3.1 P-UE reception behavior is related to speed)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZTE and Hosseini with Coolpad, because Coolpad teaches us power saving mechanisms for P-UE reception behavior in AS layer may need some triggers related to potential factors including P-UE’s location and speed (Coolpad Observation 4)
As to claim 13, the combination of ZTE, Hosseini and Coolpad teach the method of claim 10, further comprising: disabling the resource pool monitoring if the current speed exceeds a speed threshold among the one or more speed thresholds. (Coolpad section 3.1 The control reception behavior based on factors including speed and location)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZTE and Hosseini with Coolpad for the same reasons stated in claim 11.
As to claim 14 , the combination of ZTE and Coolpad teach the method of claim 12, wherein said determining the configuration of resource pool monitoring comprises: evaluating the current distance in relation to one or more distance thresholds stored in the wireless communication device, and determining the configuration based on said evaluating the current distance of the wireless communication device to said at least one of the other wireless communication devices (ZTE Page 2 section 2.2 lines 9-10 P-UE can analyze if it’s in vulnerable situation based on location from equipped GPS and geo map in the application layer (ZTE Page 3 lines 7-9 P-UE obtains zone configuration and V2V transmission pools and then the P-UE can calculate the zone it resides based on its geo information and zone configuration and only monitor zone based V2V transmission pool aligned with its zone id)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467