DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1, 2, 4–7, and 9–18 are pending.
Claims 3 and 8 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0387549 A1.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 24 March 2026. These drawings are unacceptable.
The drawings are objected to because:
FIG. 3 includes a lead line without a corresponding reference character. It is unclear if this lead line is a lead line without a corresponding reference character or an element of the illustrated lithium ion cell. The lead without a corresponding reference character should be removed.
Specification
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicants' amendments have overcome the rejections of claims 2, 3, 7, 8, and 10–12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claims 4, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein the second filler is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose." Claim 1, which claim 4 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group (-OH) of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (-COOH). It is unclear if "a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "a cellulose" recited in claim 1. The Office recommends the limitation "wherein the cellulose is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose."
Claim 9 recites the limitation "wherein the second filler is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose." Claim 6, which claim 9 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group (-OH) of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (-COOH). It is unclear if "a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose" recited in claim 9 is further limiting or referencing "a cellulose" recited in claim 6. The Office recommends the limitation "wherein the cellulose is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose."
Claim 15 recites the limitation "wherein the porous film according to claim 9 is used as the separator" and includes all the limitations of claim 9. Therefore, claim 15 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4–7, and 9–18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeki et al. (US 2019/0305278 A1, hereinafter Saeki) in view of Noguchi et al. (JP 2019-186128 A, hereinafter Noguchi).
Regarding claim 1, 4, 5, 9, and 12, Saeki discloses a coating liquid for a porous film for a separator of a lithium ion cell, comprising:
alkali silicate (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see sodium silicotitanate, [0329]; see mica, [0331]);
a first filler made of inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]), and
wherein a content of the alkali silicate is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see weight ratio, [0333]).
Saeki does not explicitly disclose a coating liquid further comprising:
a second filler,
a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles,
wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group; and
wherein a content of the second filler is equal to or less than 12.4 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles;
wherein the second filler is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose represented by the following formula:
wherein X+ represents an alkali metal ion, and
n represent a number of 1 or more indicating an average degree of polymerization.
Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein a content of the second filler is equal to or less than 12.4 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein the second filler is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose described below
(TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]), wherein X+ represents an alkali metal ion, and n represent a number of 1 or more indicating an average degree of polymerization (TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Saeki and Noguchi are analogous because they are directed to battery separators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the coating liquid of Saeki with the second filler of Noguchi in order to improve the insulating property of the separator.
Regarding claim 2, modified Saeki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a coating liquid:
wherein the inorganic particles are materials selected from nano silica, micro silica, carbon nanotube, talc, alumina, boehmite, aluminum hydroxide and glass fiber (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]).
Regarding claim 6, Saeki discloses a porous film including a porous base substance and a coating film formed on a surface of the porous base substance (see multilayer structure separator, [0303]), wherein the coating film includes:
alkali silicate (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see sodium silicotitanate, [0329]; see mica, [0331]);
a first filler made of inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]), and
wherein a content of the alkali silicate is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see weight ratio, [0333]).
Saeki does not explicitly disclose a coating liquid further comprising:
a second filler,
a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles,
wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group.
Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the coating liquid of Saeki with the second filler of Noguchi in order to improve the insulating property of the separator.
Regarding claim 7, modified Saeki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a porous film:
wherein the inorganic particles are materials selected from nano silica, micro silica, carbon nanotube, talc, alumina, boehmite, aluminum hydroxide and glass fiber (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Saeki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a porous film:
wherein the coating film includes A2CO3 or AHCO3, and wherein a is any one of lithium, sodium, potassium, and rubidium (see basic inorganic particles, [0029]; see two or more, [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Saeki discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a porous film:
wherein a content of the A2CO3 or AHCO3 is equal to or more than 5 volume % and equal to or less than 100 volume % with respect to the coating film (see volume ratio, [0163]).
Based on the densities of the materials described in Saeki present in the coating film (e.g., alkali carbonates, ~2.5 g/cm³, and binder resins, ~1.2 g/cm³; the ratio of densities is approximately 2 : 1), the volume ratio of 5 volume % to 100 volume % corresponds to a weight ratio of approximately 2.5 weight % to approximately 50 wt%; and a volume ratio of 5 volume % to 100 volume % will overlap with the claimed range of equal to or more than 1 weight % and equal to or less than 50 weight %.
As Saeki does not explicitly disclose a specific combination of an alkali carbonate and binder resin, Saeki does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a content of the A2CO3 or AHCO3 is equal to or more than 1 weight % and equal to or less than 50 weight % with respect to the coating film.
However Saeki does disclose an overlapping range as detailed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 13, Saeki discloses a lithium ion cell including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, a separator and electrolyte solution, comprising a porous film as the separator, wherein the porous film includes a porous base substance and a coating film formed on a surface of the porous base substance, wherein the coating film includes:
alkali silicate (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see sodium silicotitanate, [0329]; see mica, [0331]);
a first filler made of inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]), and
wherein a content of the alkali silicate is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see weight ratio, [0333]).
Saeki does not explicitly disclose a coating liquid further comprising:
a second filler,
a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles,
wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group.
Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the coating liquid of Saeki with the second filler of Noguchi in order to improve the insulating property of the separator.
Regarding claim 14, Saeki discloses a lithium ion cell including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, a separator and electrolyte solution, comprising a porous film as the separator, wherein the porous film includes a porous base substance and a coating film formed on a surface of the porous base substance, wherein the coating film includes:
alkali silicate (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see sodium silicotitanate, [0329]; see mica, [0331]);
a first filler made of inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]), and
wherein a content of the alkali silicate is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see weight ratio, [0333]); and
wherein the inorganic particles are materials selected from nano silica, micro silica, carbon nanotube, talc, alumina, boehmite, aluminum hydroxide and glass fiber (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]).
Saeki does not explicitly disclose a coating liquid further comprising:
a second filler,
a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles,
wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group.
Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the coating liquid of Saeki with the second filler of Noguchi in order to improve the insulating property of the separator.
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Saeki discloses a lithium ion cell including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, a separator and electrolyte solution, comprising a porous film as the separator, wherein the porous film includes a porous base substance and a coating film formed on a surface of the porous base substance, wherein the coating film includes:
alkali silicate (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see sodium silicotitanate, [0329]; see mica, [0331]);
a first filler made of inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]), and
wherein a content of the alkali silicate is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see weight ratio, [0333]).
Saeki does not explicitly disclose a coating liquid further comprising:
a second filler,
a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles,
wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group; and
wherein a content of the second filler is equal to or less than 12.4 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles;
wherein the second filler is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose represented by the following formula:
wherein X+ represents an alkali metal ion, and
n represent a number of 1 or more indicating an average degree of polymerization.
Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein a content of the second filler is equal to or less than 12.4 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein the second filler is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose described below
(TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]), wherein X+ represents an alkali metal ion, and n represent a number of 1 or more indicating an average degree of polymerization (TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the coating liquid of Saeki with the second filler of Noguchi in order to improve the insulating property of the separator.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Saeki discloses a lithium ion cell including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, a separator and electrolyte solution, comprising a porous film as the separator, wherein the porous film includes a porous base substance and a coating film formed on a surface of the porous base substance, wherein the coating film includes:
alkali silicate (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see sodium silicotitanate, [0329]; see mica, [0331]);
a first filler made of inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see alumina and boehmite, [0333]), and
wherein a content of the alkali silicate is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0302], [0329]–[0333]; see weight ratio, [0333]);
wherein the coating film includes A2CO3 or AHCO3, and wherein a is any one of lithium, sodium, potassium, and rubidium (see basic inorganic particles, [0029]; see two or more, [0051]); and
wherein a content of the A2CO3 or AHCO3 is equal to or more than 5 volume % and equal to or less than 100 volume % with respect to the coating film (see volume ratio, [0163]).
Based on the densities of the materials described in Saeki present in the coating film (e.g., alkali carbonates, ~2.5 g/cm³, and binder resins, ~1.2 g/cm³; the ratio of densities is approximately 2 : 1), the volume ratio of 5 volume % to 100 volume % corresponds to a weight ratio of approximately 2.5 weight % to approximately 50 wt%; and a volume ratio of 5 volume % to 100 volume % will overlap with the claimed range of equal to or more than 1 weight % and equal to or less than 50 weight %.
As Saeki does not explicitly disclose a specific combination of an alkali carbonate and binder resin, Saeki does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a content of the A2CO3 or AHCO3 is equal to or more than 1 weight % and equal to or less than 50 weight % with respect to the coating film.
However Saeki does disclose an overlapping range as detailed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Saeki does not explicitly disclose a coating liquid further comprising:
a second filler,
a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles,
wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group.
Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the coating liquid of Saeki with the second filler of Noguchi in order to improve the insulating property of the separator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Mukai have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Saeki and Noguchi have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue Saeki fails to teach or suggest a second filler, a content of which is equal to or more than 0.05 weight% with respect to the inorganic particles, and wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group (-OH) of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (-COOH) (P13/¶1). Nonobviousness cannot be shown by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Therefore, the combination of references teach and suggest a second filler, a content of which is equal to or more than 0.05 weight% with respect to the inorganic particles, and wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group (-OH) of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (-COOH).
Applicants argue Saeki fails to teach or suggest a second filler that is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose (P14/¶4). Nonobviousness cannot be shown by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein a content of the second filler is equal to or less than 12.4 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein the second filler is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose described below
(TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]), wherein X+ represents an alkali metal ion, and n represent a number of 1 or more indicating an average degree of polymerization (TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Therefore, the combination of references teaches and suggest a second filler that is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose.
Applicants argue Noguchi discloses cellulose is the principal component of the technology (P14/¶4). It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., cellulose is not a principal component of the coating film) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein, in the second filler, a hydroxyl group of a cellulose is substituted with a carboxyl group (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein a content of the second filler is equal to or less than 12.4 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]), wherein the second filler is a TEMPO-oxidized cellulose described below
(TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]), wherein X+ represents an alkali metal ion, and n represent a number of 1 or more indicating an average degree of polymerization (TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]) to improve the insulating property of the separator (TABLE 3, [0064]; TABLE 4, [0064]). Noguchi discloses the cellulose in an amount that is within the claimed range of second filler. Therefore, Noguchi discloses cellulose is a similar component to the claimed coating film.
Applicants argue Noguchi does not disclose inorganic materials serve as a primary component (P14/¶4). It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., inorganic materials serve as a primary component of the coating film) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, Noguchi discloses inorganic materials are a majority of the coating film (TABLE 1, [0040]; TABLE 2, [0040]); and inorganic materials serve as a primary component (see primary, New Oxford American Dictionary). Therefore, Noguchi discloses inorganic materials serve as a primary component.
Applicants argue claims 4 and 9 are patentably distinguishable from Saeki and Noguchi for the additional features recited therein (P15/¶2). Saeki and Noguchi discloses that additional features recited in claims 4 and 9 as detailed above.
Applicants argue Saeki does not disclose a COOH-substituted cellulose in a specified quantitative relationship with respect to the inorganic particles (P15/¶3). Nonobviousness cannot be shown by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Noguchi discloses a coating liquid and coating film comprising a second filler, a content of the second filler is equal to or more than 0.05 weight % with respect to the inorganic particles (TABLE 1, [0037]; TABLE 2, [0037]). Therefore, the combination of references disclose a COOH-substituted cellulose in a specified quantitative relationship with respect to the inorganic particles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (Application of Cellulose Nanofibers for High-performance Silicon Anodes in Lithium-ion Batteries) discloses TEMPO-oxidized cellulose nanofibers as multifunctional additives for highly stable silicon anode in lithium-ion batteries (§3.1, P211–273)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725