DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and claims 2-33 dependent on it are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, the term “large cross-sections” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large cross-sections” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification merely recites “the gain media 171 to 175 are positioned directly upstream of the respective mirrors 736, 737, and 738 since the pump radiation has the largest cross-section there” (para. [0072]) and similar in para [0095] & [0102].
Further with regard to claim 7, the claim recites the limitation "two disks" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6, from which claim 7 depends, recites “a disk” and “the disk” implying only a single disk.
Further with regard to claim 25, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Clarification and correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 11, 25, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2006/0209918).
With regard to claim 1, Wang disclose an amplifier (Fig. 11) comprising:
A multipass cell and at least one gain medium (Active mirror includes a thin disk doped with active species for amplification [0080] & Fig. 10), wherein the multipass cell has concavely curved mirrors (spherical mirror S and small spherical mirrors A and B), the gain medium being arranged within the multipass cell in such a way that the pump radiation passes through the gain medium multiple times and is absorbed by the gain medium, the mirrors are designed and arranged to form a White multipass cell, and the pump radiation and laser beam to be amplified have large cross-sections at the positions at which the mirrors and gain media are arranged (multiple passes of the beam with substantially unchanged beam structure at S, A and B, and sufficient absorption of the pump beam by the gain medium which is a thin disk [0002] & [0008]).
With regard to claim 2, the concave mirrors include lenses with each mirror (para. [0044]).
With regard to claim 5, (see Fig. 10 and para. [0080] for reference numbers) the gain medium is a thin disk (AM), a first surface of the disk is concave and is coated with a highly transmissive coating, the second surface of the disk is convex and coated with a highly reflective coating. The radii of curvature of the surfaces of the disk are approximately equal to the radius of curvature of the concave mirror (same imaging characteristics).
With regard to claim 11, there are 48 passes of the laser beam to be amplified (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 25, the gain medium is glass doped with Yb ions (Yb:YAG), para. [0080].
With regard to claim 29, in an alternative embodiment a laser resonator is formed with additional mirrors cooperating with the multipass cell (para. [0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sarkisyan et al. (US 2012/0212804).
With regard to claim 18, Wang does not disclose but Sarkisyan teaches in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 7 and para. [0098]), the pump radiation is emitted by a beam source, shaped by an optical unit and is coupled into a multipass pump arrangement via a dichroic mirror (1205) highly transmissive for the laser beam to be amplified and the laser beam to be amplified is coupled into the multipass arrangement by the mirror. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, before the effective filing date of the application, to utilize the dichroic mirror in the configuration taught by Sarkisyan et al. for the multipass amplifier of Wang, as an alternative way to provide pump light to the gain medium, and to decrease thermal deformation from pump light at the back of the gain medium, a problem discussed by Wang (para. [0003]).
With regard to claim 19, the laser beam to be amplified and the pump radiation are superimposed coaxially (Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sumida et al. (US 2005/0175057).
Wang does not disclose, but Sumida teaches in the same field of endeavor, a thin gain medium on an active mirror of a multipass amplifier may be a semiconductor, and the gain is generated by an electrical current (para. [0006]). The use of an electrically pumped semiconductor reduces the number of optical components required and simplifies operation. Therefore, replacing the doped glass gain medium in the multipass amplifier of Wang with the electrically pumped semiconductor taught by Sumida would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application.
Claim(s) 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chiang et al. (US 2011/0075688).
With regard to claim 32, Wang does not disclose, but Chiang et al. teach, that an optical switch that generates laser pulses is arranged within a laser oscillator. Specifically Chiang teaches in Fig. 5(d) an optical switch (EO Bragg deflector 303) between two mirrors (305) forming a laser cavity surrounding the gain medium (302). The optical switch functions as a Q-switch to obtain high peak power laser pulses [0004] that are desirable in many applications. Therefore, one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application, to include an optical switch in the laser resonator of the multipass system of Wang.
With regard to claim 33, Wang does not disclose, but Chiang et al. teach, that a frequency conversion unit is arranged with a laser oscillator. Specifically Chiang teaches in Fig. 5(d) a frequency conversion unit (QPM wavelength converter 406) between two mirrors (305) forming a laser cavity surrounding the gain medium (302). The frequency converter allows tuning to different laser wavelengths from those inherent to the gain medium (para. [0003]). Therefore, one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application, to include a frequency converter in the laser resonator of the multipass system of Wang, to more easily obtain these other wavelengths.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-10, 12-17, 20-24, 27-28, and 30-31 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on June 29, 2023 has been considered by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/ERIC L BOLDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645