DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters (Pa and P2) which are not enclosed within parentheses.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/132612 to Hyundai Motor Co Ltd (Hyundai) (Machine translation provided by applicant has been used for translational purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Hyundai discloses a hydrocarbon adsorption device configured to circulate a fluid and adsorb hydrocarbons, the hydrocarbon adsorption device comprising:
a first hydrocarbon adsorption section (first region, figs. 1-5; [39]) containing zeolite ([22], [39]-[40]); and a second hydrocarbon adsorption section (second region, figs. 1-5; [39]) provided downstream of the first hydrocarbon adsorption section in a fluid flowing direction in which the fluid flows and containing zeolite ([22], [39]-[40]), wherein a pore diameter P1 of the zeolite contained in the first hydrocarbon adsorption section is smaller than a pore diameter P2 of the zeolite contained in the second hydrocarbon adsorption section ([22], [39]-[40], [47]-[58]).
Regarding claim 2, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, wherein a difference (P2 - P1) between the pore diameter P1 and the pore diameter P2 is between 0.1 A to 4 A inclusive ([22]-[24], [39]).
Regarding claim 3, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, wherein the pore diameter P1 is between 3.5 A to 5.5 A inclusive ([22], [39]-[40]).
Regarding claim 4, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, wherein the pore diameter P2 is between 5 A to 8 A inclusive ([22], [39]-[40]).
Regarding claim 5, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, a silica-alumina ratio of the zeolite contained in the first hydrocarbon adsorption section is smaller than a silica-alumina ratio of the zeolite contained in the second hydrocarbon adsorption section (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that CHA structure for first adsorption section will have lower silica-alumina ratio that ZSM-5 structure for the second adsorption section as disclosed in [47]).
Regarding claim 7, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, wherein the zeolite contained in the first hydrocarbon adsorption section includes at least one framework type of CHA or FER ([47]).
Regarding claim 8, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, wherein the zeolite contained in the second hydrocarbon adsorption section includes at least one framework type of MFI ([47]; ZSM 5 is a type of MFI or FAU.
Regarding claim 9, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, wherein the fluid is a gas ([8], [30]).
Regarding claim 10, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, wherein the fluid is exhaust gas ([8], [30]).
Regarding claim 11, Hyundai discloses an exhaust gas purification system disposed in an exhaust path of an internal combustion engine and configured to purify hydrocarbons in exhaust gas exhausted from the internal combustion engine, the exhaust gas purification system comprising: the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and a catalyst metal portion containing a catalyst metal ([11]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyundai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0282166 to Lupescu et al (Lupescu).
Regarding claim 6, Hyundai discloses the hydrocarbon adsorption device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose which Lupescu discloses”
a silica-alumina ratio of the zeolite contained in the first hydrocarbon adsorption section is between 10 to 30 inclusive ([4]-[5], [9]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a silica-alumina ratio of the zeolite contained in the first hydrocarbon adsorption section between 10 to 30 inclusive as taught by Lupescu in the device of Hyundai so as to achieve a catalyst that is able to release trapped hydrocarbons at a temperature of at least 225° C ([6]; Lupescu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,666,886 to Choi et al.
US 9,284,495 to Upson et al.
US 8,685,146 to Zhou et al.
US 2018/0324268 to Kang et al.
US 2017/0275171 to Ishihara et al.
US 2004/0094035 to Adamczyk et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746