Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "61′ ", "61", and "41" have all been used to designate the same element in Figure 2.
Reference characters "62′ ", "24′ ", "42", and "62" have all been used to designate the same element in Figure 2.
Reference characters "25′ ", "43", "63", and "63′ " have all been used to designate the same element in Figure 2.
Reference characters "64′ ", "44", and "64" have all been used to designate the same element in Figure 2.
Reference characters "65", "45", and "65′ " have all been used to designate the same element in Figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (10,417,941) in view of Fisher et al (2018/013208).
Per claims 10 and 19-20, Green shows a wheel cover 104 that mounts on a vehicle wheel 120 having a hub and a rim 124 on which a tire 108 is mounted, with an intermediate portion connecting the hub to the rim 124. The cover 104 includes a bistable (i.e. E-Ink or e-paper) display element 128 on the outer surface thereof, and a control unit 516 using electric signals to control the display of the display element 128. The bistable display element 128 does not consume further electrical energy after a change from a first display to a second display.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Green does not specify the structure of the intermediate element connecting the hub to the rim 124. However, it is well-known in the art for the intermediate element of a wheel to be formed as spokes extending from the hub to the rim, with open areas between adjacent spokes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the wheel of Green with spokes interconnecting the hub and rim, for the purpose of reducing the weight of the wheel. Therefore, given the fact that the cover 104 of Green may extend over the entire outer surface of the wheel 120, the cover 104 would then cover the open areas between adjacent spokes.
Per claim 12, the display of the e-paper display element 128 covers the outer surface of the cover 104.
Per claim 13, the display element 128 allows representation of color displays thereon.
Per claim 14, the control unit 516 includes connection to an input device, allowing a user to select the colors and/or patterns on the display of the display element 128, which the control unit 516 then transmits thereto.
Per claim 15, the control unit 516 can set the color(s) displayed on the display element 128 to be alterable.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Green does not show a receiving coil of an inductive electrical power transmission device located on an inner surface of the cover, and connected to an electrical power supply from the vehicle electrical system wirelessly. Fisher et al teaches the use of a display device on a wheel that receives electrical power by an inductive electrical power transmission device that includes a receiving coil provided on an inner surface of the wheel and a primary coil on a stationary part of the vehicle (paragraph [0057]), such that the receiving coil wirelessly receives electrical power from the vehicle’s electrical system to power the e-paper display element. Therefore, from this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to utilize an inductive electrical power transmission device as taught by Fisher et al to power the e-paper of Green, as a substitute equivalent power supply, for the purpose of reducing the number of parts, thus simplifying and reducing the weight, of the display.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green in view of Fisher et al as applied to claims 10, 12-15, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Cooper (7,611,267).
Green as modified by Fisher et al does not show a solar element for generating electrical power for the display element. Cooper teaches the use of a solar element for providing electrical power to a display element on a wheel cover. Therefore, from this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the wheel cover of Green as modified by Fisher et al with a solar panel as a substitute equivalent replacement electrical power generation device, for the purposes of reducing the complexity of the cover assembly, while also reducing the weight thereof and reducing the load on the vehicle’s electrical system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10, 12-16 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In this instance, Fisher et al teaches the use of an inductive electrical power transmission device that may wirelessly deliver power to an on-wheel display.
Applicant's arguments filed 13 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant continues to argue that the claimed invention “solves an existing problem in the art”, and that the claimed features “are not arbitrary, but are directly ties to solving the prior-art problems of costly replacement, repainting, and limited design flexibility” of wheel covers. However, the Applicant has not provided any evidence (in the form of an affidavit or declaration filed under 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132) supporting this argument.
The Applicant argues that Green “does not solve and cannot solve the existing problem in the prior art”. Namely. The Applicant argues that Green lacks a “receiving coil of an inductive electrical power transmission device, or wireless receipt of electrical power from a vehicle electrical system”. However, Fisher et al teaches such a device.
The Applicant continues to argue that Green “does not disclose the claimed bistable e-paper arrangement”. However, as discussed in the previous Office actions, this is not the case. The Applicant is referred to the prior Office actions regarding this argument.
The Applicant continues to argues that different reference characters have not been used to designate the same elements in Figure 2. The Applicant is referred to the previous Office actions with respect to this argument. In short, the drawings fail to conform to proper drafting rules, and the addition of arrowheads at the end of the leader lines of certain reference characters would overcome the objection.
Conclusion
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615