DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-15 and 18-23 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 22-23 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 22-23 are drawn to composition claims, which are distinguished by product properties. The originally claimed invention is drawn to method claims, which are distinguished by process steps. Such differences would result in different classifications, and thus different areas of search.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 22-23 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (JP 3678251, see ip.com English Translation).
Regarding claims 1-7 and 13-15, Tsuji teaches mixing hydrocarbon feeds with ammonium sulfate or ammonium persulfate with sulfuric acid in the presence of oxidizing gas at a temperature of 200-600˚C to produce activated carbon/carbon fiber products (solids) (pages 2-3). Tsuji teaches activation times of 3 hours [0027]. Tsuji teaches that a rotary type device may be used in order to uniformly heat [0018]. In this regard, Examiner considers Tsuji to teach that the components may be subject to stirring.
Tsuji does not explicitly disclose (1) stirring until the hydrocarbon becomes solid (2) the softening point of the products.
Regarding (1), Tsuji teaches producing activated carbon/carbon fibers, which are solids. In this regard, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate conditions in order to obtain the desired solid products. It is further expected that the same decomposition of the catalyst would occur, since the same ammonium sulfate compositions are utilized.
Regarding (2), Tsuji teaches the same process steps at the same conditions using the same catalyst to produce the same carbon fiber/activated carbon compositions.
Therefore, it is expected that the activated carbon/carbon fibers of Tsuji would have the same or similar properties. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Regarding claims 8-9, it appears that the claims are simply splitting the heating into multiple steps. Examiner notes that duplication of steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 10-12, while Tsuji does not disclose cooling of the products, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have cooled the products after the activation time, so that they may be transported and used for their intended purpose.
Regarding claims 18-19, Tsuji teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Further, Tsuji teaches that the dosage of chemical additive is selected appropriately in order to obtain the desired products (page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an appropriate amount of the additive for the benefit of achieving the desired products.
Regarding claims 20-21, Tsuji teaches various feedstocks including petroleum pitch, tar, and heavy oils [0009], which could be obtained from solvent deasphalting/and contain asphaltenes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are addressed by the updated rejections as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moretta (EP 1,103,299) – previously relied upon, teaches oxidation of hydrocarbons
Uemura (US 4,474,617) – previously relied upon, teaches sulfur containing catalysts
Broadhead (GB 334,380) – teaches ammonium sulphate catalyst at temperatures of 100-200˚C, which is lower than the claimed temperature
Shiiki (US 4,273,675) – teaches increasing softening point with SO3
Harrison (US 2,247,371) -teaches production of asphalt using oxygen and SO2
Hampton (US 2,115,306) – teaches producing asphaltic material with a mixture of air and sulfur
Tadashi (US 3,718,574) – teaches oxidation with SO3
Wombles (US 4,456,524) -teaches oxidizing to increase softening point using catalysts
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771