DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 03 November 2025 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moretta (EP 1,103,299) in view of Uemura (US 4,474,617) and Broadhead (GB 334,380).
Regarding claims 1-7, Moretta teaches a process for treating liquid hydrocarbon material in an oxygen flowing gas environment to form a hardened solid composition having an increased softening point [0012-0017]. Moretta teaches heating temperatures of 350-700°F (148-371°C) [0018] for contacting times of 2-5 hours [0018] overlapping with the claimed range. Examiner considers the Moretta oxidation step to read on the claimed “stirring” since the oxygen gas would result in the same “stirring” action, and also forms the same solid material [0018-0023].
Moretta does not disclose gaseous sulfur containing catalyst.
However, Uemura teaches a similar process for increasing the softening point of hydrocarbons with oxidizing gas. Uemura teaches that sulfurous acid gas may be used in mixture with air or oxygen (column 2, lines 1-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the sulfurous acid gas of Uemura in combination with the air/oxidizing gas of Moretta, since it is known for the same purpose of increasing softening point of hydrocarbons.
The previous combination does not disclose solid ammonium sulfates.
However, Broadhead teaches that ammonium sulfates can be used as catalysts in air blowing to produce solid materials, for the benefit of speeding up the process (page 1, line 44-line 105). Examiner notes that sulfates of ammonia are ammonium sulfate compositions, which comprise ammonium, sulfur, and oxygen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the ammonium sulfate catalysts of Broadhead, for the benefit of speeding up the process of the previous combination. Further, the prior art teaches the same heating as the instant process, which Examiner considers would result in the same decomposition as claimed (see Applicant’s instant specification, teaching heating of ammonium sulfate results in gaseous sulfate catalysts (pages 4-5)).
Regarding claims 8-10, it appears that Applicant is simply splitting up the heating of the prior art into additional steps. Further, Uemura teaches that oxidizing treatment may be followed by hydrogenation, and then followed by melt spinning (column 2, lines 23-64). Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate temperatures and conditions in order to obtain the desired increased softening point. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 11, Moretta teaches cooling after the heating steps [0013].
Regarding claim 12, as discussed with respect to claims 8-10 above, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate temperatures and conditions in order to obtain the desired increased softening point. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 13 and 15-17, Moretta teaches increasing the softening point to above 200°F (93°C) -400°F (204°C) [0018], [0054], which overlaps with the claimed range of 100°C-350°C. Further, Uemura teaches increasing the softening point to 260°C (see Example 1). Moretta teaches pelletizing the solids that can be shipped/stored at ambient temperatures [0001]. Moretta teaches forming spherical shaped pellets [0011].
Regarding claim 14, Uemura teaches that the products can be used for the production of carbon fibers (column 1, lines 1-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and have been addressed by the updated rejections as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shiiki (US 4,273,675) – teaches increasing softening point with SO3
Harrison (US 2,247,371) -teaches production of asphalt using oxygen and SO2
Hampton (US 2,115,306) – teaches producing asphaltic material with a mixture of air and sulfur
Tadashi (US 3,718,574) – teaches oxidation with SO3
Wombles (US 4,456,524) -teaches oxidizing to increase softening point using catalysts
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771