DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gas exchanger (claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, “a bioreactor inlet” should read “a cell culture vessel inlet” for consistency. In claim 1, “a bioreactor outlet” should read “a cell culture vessel outlet” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “temperature control system” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Dependent claim 16 recites the limitation "gas exchanger," however, said limitation fails to comply with written description requirement. The instant specification, as originally filed, discloses a media conditioning system further comprising a gas exchanger (see paragraph 73 of the application publication). However, the instant specification is silent as to the structure that comprise the claimed gas exchanger. As such, said limitation fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim(s) 12, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "plurality of media cavities" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the plurality of tracheal spaces" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "wherein the media cavity follows a circuitous path through the media conditioning system" in lines 2-3. The media cavity is an element of the media conditioning system. Thus, it is unclear which element of the media conditioning system the media cavity follows a circuitous path through.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-11, 13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coger et al. (US 2011/0020863; hereinafter “Coger”).
Regarding claim 1, Coger discloses a cell culture system comprising: a cell culture vessel enclosing an interior configured to culture cells in liquid cell culture media (FIG. 4: bioreactor assembly (10); [0025]), the cell culture vessel comprising a bioreactor inlet for supply of cell culture media to the interior and a bioreactor outlet for removal of cell culture media from the interior (FIG. 4: bioreactor assembly includes an inlet and outlet; [0032]); and a media conditioning system comprising an enclosure enclosing an interior space and a gas exchange system (FIG. 4: incubator (4); [0032]), the gas exchange system comprising a media vessel (FIG. 4: media gas exchanger 50; [0032]), wherein the media vessel comprises at least one media cavity configured to contain cell culture media and a gas permeable membrane separating the media cavity from the interior space (FIG. 4: media gas exchanger (50) is adapted to selectively add or remove gas from media flowing through a tubing of the media gas exchanger; and thus the tubing of the media gas exchanger is inherently gas permeable; [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Coger discloses all of the structural features of the claimed enclosure and the gas exchange system, and thus Coger is considered to meet the limitation “wherein the enclosure is a reusable component and the gas exchange system is a single-use component.”
Regarding claim 3, Coger further discloses wherein the enclosure is a thermal enclosure (i.e., an incubator that is thermally insulated and/or maintains gas, pressure and temperature at desired levels; [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Coger further discloses wherein the enclosure comprises a temperature control system (incubator of Coger is adapted to maintain gas, pressure and temperature at desired levels within the incubator, and thus considered to inherently comprise a temperature control system; [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Coger further discloses wherein the media conditioning system is a closed system (FIG. 4: media conditioning system is enclosed within an enclosure).
Regarding claim 6, Coger further discloses wherein the gas permeable membrane is liquid impermeable (media gas exchanger 50 allows gas exchange but not liquid; [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Coger further discloses the media conditioning system further comprising a media inlet and a media outlet (FIG. 4: media gas exchanger (50) includes an inlet and outlet).
Regarding claim 10, Coger further discloses wherein the media inlet supplies media to the at least one media cavity (see FIG. 4: media is introduced and removed from the media gas exchanger (50)). Furthermore, it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform.
Regarding claim 11, Coger further discloses wherein the media outlet is in fluid communication with an inlet of the cell culture vessel and is configured to output media from the at least one media cavity to the cell culture vessel (see FIG. 4: media gas exchanger (50) is in fluid communication with cell culture vessel (10)).
Regarding claim 13, Coger further discloses wherein the cell culture vessel and the media conditioning system are arranged in a perfusion loop (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Coger further discloses wherein the gas levels in the system are monitored (Coger at [0032]), and therefore the cell culture system of Coger inherently includes monitoring means in order to ascertain that the necessary gas levels had been reached. Furthermore, the limitation “to measure a quantity of at least one of a gas in the enclosure and a liquid media in the media conditioning system” is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 18, Coger further discloses wherein the media cavity follows a circuitous path through the media conditioning system (media vessel) (FIG. 4 of Coger shows a tubing within the media vessel following a circuitous path).
Regarding claim 19, Coger further discloses wherein the media cavity traverses a plurality of gas permeable membranes along the circuitous path, the plurality of gas permeable membranes separating media within the media cavity from a plurality of tracheal spaces (as shown in FIG. 4, the media cavity follows a circuitous path through the media vessel forming “plurality of gas permeable membranes separating media within the media cavity from a plurality of tracheal spaces”.
Regarding claim 20, Coger discloses a media conditioning system for conditioning cell culture media comprising: a reusable enclosure enclosing an interior space (FIG. 4: incubator (4); [0032]); and a gas exchange system, the gas exchange system comprising a media vessel with at least one media cavity configured to contain cell culture media and a gas permeable membrane separating the media cavity from the interior space (FIG. 4: media gas exchanger (50) is adapted to selectively add or remove gas from media flowing through a tubing of the media gas exchanger; and thus the tubing of the media gas exchanger is inherently gas permeable; [0032]), wherein the gas exchange system is a single-use component (gas exchange system of Coger discloses all of the structural features of the claimed gas exchange system and thus meets the limitation “a single-use component”).
Therefore, Coger meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1-6, 9-11, 13 and 17-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coger as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Miyamori et al. (US 5,149,649; hereinafter “Miyamori”).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 12, Coger discloses the cell culture system according to claim 1. Coger further discloses wherein the media cavity containing media is exposed to a gas environment and the gas impermeable membrane separating the media cavity from the gas environment (Coger at FIG. 4 and [0032]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the media vessel further comprises a plurality of media cavities separated by a plurality of tracheal spaces, the tracheal spaces being exposed to a gas environment in the enclosure and the gas impermeable membrane separating the tracheal spaces from the media cavities, and an inlet manifold that connects the plurality of media cavities in fluid communication with each other, and wherein the media vessel further comprises an outlet manifold that is disposed between the plurality of media cavities and the media outlet, and connects the plurality of media cavities in fluid communication with the media outlet. Miyamori discloses a cell culture system comprising a cell culture vessel (FIG. 2: culture bath 1’; col. 5, ll. 37-44) and media condition system comprising a plurality of media cavities separated by a plurality of tracheal spaces, the tracheal spaces being exposed to a gas environment in the enclosure and the gas impermeable membrane separating the tracheal spaces from the media cavities, and an inlet manifold that connects the plurality of media cavities in fluid communication with each other (see FIG. 2, annotated and reproduced below; col. 5, ll. 29-44),
and wherein the media vessel further comprises an outlet manifold that is disposed between the plurality of media cavities and the media outlet, and connects the plurality of media cavities in fluid communication with the media outlet (see annotated FIG. 2 above). In view of Miyamori, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media vessel of Coger with the media vessel of Miyamori to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of enhancing gas exchange between the media in the media cavity and gas environment by increasing the number of media cavities in the media vessel. Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporate additional media cavities into the media vessel of Coger, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of maintaining optimal growth conditions for cell culture process.
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barbera-Guillem (US 5,149,649; hereinafter “’595”).
Regarding claim 14, Coger discloses the cell culture system according to claim 1. Coger discloses wherein the media conditioning system is coupled to a gas source (see [0032]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the gas source is outside the enclosure, and wherein the enclosure comprises a gas inlet configured to supply gas to the interior space. ‘595 discloses a system comprising an enclosure having an interior space accommodating a gas exchange system (FIG. 2: housing (12) having an environment controlling mechanism (16). See col. 7, lines 1-8). The enclosure further comprising a gas inlet configured to supply gas to the interior space (see FIG. 2; col. 7, ll. 20-35). In view of ‘595, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media enclosure of Coger with the enclosure of ‘595 to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of providing means for introducing gas into media vessel. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known gas introducing means for another for predictable result of introducing gases into the media vessel.
Regarding claim 16, Coger further discloses wherein the media conditioning system further comprises a gas exchanger (see FIG. 2 of ‘595: gas source; col. 7, ll. 20-35).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coger in view of ‘595 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Miyamori et al. (US 5,149,649; hereinafter “Miyamori”).
Regarding claim 15, Coger discloses the cell culture system according to claim 14. Modified Coger discloses wherein the gas is introduced to the media vessel (Coger at [0032]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the media conditioning system comprises a gas manifold configured to supply gas from the interior space to the plurality of tracheal spaces. Miyamori discloses a cell culture system comprising a cell culture vessel (FIG. 2: culture bath 1’; col. 5, ll. 37-44) and media condition system comprising a plurality of media cavities separated by a plurality of tracheal spaces, the tracheal spaces being exposed to a gas environment in the enclosure and the gas impermeable membrane separating the tracheal spaces from the media cavities (see FIG. 2, annotated and reproduced below; col. 5, ll. 29-44),
and gas manifold configured to supply gas from the interior space to the plurality of tracheal spaces. (see FIG. 2: gas inlet 4; col. 5, ll. 15-20). In view of Miyamori, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media vessel of Coger with the media vessel of Miyamori to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of enhancing gas exchange between the media in the media cavity and gas environment by increasing the number of media cavities in the media vessel. Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporate additional media cavities into the media vessel of Coger, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of maintaining optimal growth conditions for cell culture process.
Conclusion
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799