DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17-21, 23, 25, 26, 28, 31 are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6/21/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification submitted 4/14/2023 has U.S. Patent No. 9675689 in the middle of it from pages 14-97, as well as WO2019/217922A1 from pages 98-205.
A substitute specification is required pursuant to 37 CFR 1.125(a).
A substitute specification must not contain new matter. The substitute specification must be submitted with markings showing all the changes relative to the immediate prior version of the specification of record. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. An accompanying clean version (without markings) and a statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter must also be supplied. Numbering the paragraphs of the specification of record is not considered a change that must be shown.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, 26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Diamond et al. (US20200316193)(cited in applicant’s IDS submitted 6/21/2024).
See claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, 26, 28 as submitted 6/24/2025.
Diamond et al. teaches: rMVA virus expressing on ore more heterologous foreign protein antigens (abstract); including fusion CMV protein antigen comprising nucleotide sequence encoding two or more antigenic portions of IE gene 1 or IE gene2, wherein the portions elicit an immune response (abstract); administering to human [0014](as recited in claims 1, 17, 23; reading on a dose as recited in claim 10); for transplant recipients [0073](as recited in claims 12, 23, 28); wherein subject is human stem cell donor (claim 30 of Diamond)(as recited in claims 1, 7, 26 (reading on a dose as recited in claims 10, 26)); the CMV antigen is selected from the group consisting of pp65, CMV pp150, IE1, IE1 exon 4 (IE1/e4), IEfusion, glycoprotein B (gB) and antigenic fragments thereof (as recited in claims 2, 3, 18, 19); comprising IE1 antigenic portion fused to IE2 (claim 23 of Diamond et al.)(as recited in claims 2, 3); promoter, mH5 [0019](as recited in claims 4, 5, 20, 21); as well as using pp65-IEfusion-MVA as a vehicle to expand cell populations from CMV positive donors of HCT, and infusing the amplified T cells into a transplant recipient with active viremia [0080].
Thus, Diamond et al. anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 9, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamond et al. as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, 26, 28 above, and further in view of Diamond et al. (WO2004093905)(See PTO-892: Notice of References Cited)(hereinafter “Diamond et al.-2”).
See claims 9, 25 as submitted 6/24/2025.
See the teachings of Diamond et al. above.
Diamond et al. does not teach: intramuscular administration.
Diamond et al.-2 teaches: MVA expressing CMV antigens (abstract); including intramuscular administration [000108].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer as taught by Diamond et al.-2 with the method as taught by Diamond et al. Diamond et al. teaches administration of MVA expressing CMV antigens, and Diamond et al.-2, which also teaches administration of MVA expressing CMV antigens, teaches such a method known in the art for administration of MVA expressing CMV antigens (See MPEP 2144.06: Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for administering as taught by Diamond et al.-2 with the method as taught by Diamond et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods (administering MVA expressing CMV antigens as taught by Diamond et al. and Diamond et al.-2) are known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
6. Claims 15, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamond et al. as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, 26, 28 above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (WO2014151473A1)(See PTO-892: Notice of References Cited).
See claims 15, 31 as submitted 6/24/2025.
See the teachings of Diamond et al. above. It is reiterated Diamond et al. teaches using pp65-IEfusion-MVA as a vehicle to expand cell populations from CMV positive donors of HCT, and infusing the amplified T cells into a transplant recipient with active viremia [0080].
Diamond et al. does not teach: wherein the HCT is HLA-matched, or
wherein the HCT is haploidentical or mismatched.
Hsu et al. teaches: HCT [0004]; hematopoietic cell donors (abstract); including instances in which patient and donor are HLA matched [0028].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use HLA-matched HCT as taught by Hsu et al. with the method as taught by Diamond et al. Diamond et al. teaches use of HCT, and Hsu et al., which also teaches HCT, teaches a method known of HCT known in the art wherein patient and donors are HLA matched (See MPEP 2144.06: Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for using HLA-matched HCT as taught by Hsu et al. with the method as taught by Diamond et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods (HCT as taught by Diamond et al. and Hsu et al.) are known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, 26, 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. (cited above).
See claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, 26, 28 as submitted 6/24/2025.
Claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 recite: a cytomegalovirus (CMV) vaccine comprising: an immunologically effective amount of a recombinant modified vaccinia Ankara (rMVA) virus, wherein the rMVA virus comprises a fusion nucleotide sequence which encodes an IEfusion CMV protein antigen, said fusion nucleotide sequence comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding an Immediate-Early Gene-1 (IE1) antigenic portion directly fused to a nucleotide sequence encoding an Immediate-Early Gene-1 (IE2) antigenic portion, wherein (i) the nucleotide sequence encoding the IE1 antigenic portion includes a nucleotide sequence encoding IE1 exon 4 (IE1/e4); (ii) the nucleotide sequence encoding the IE2 antigenic portion is a nucleotide sequence encoding IE2 exon 5 (IE2/e5); or (iii) both (i) and (ii).
Claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 do not recite the method as claimed.
See the teachings of Diamond et al. above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the composition as recited in claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in the method of Diamond et al. Diamond et al. teaches CMV vaccine, and claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 recite such a vaccine (See MPEP 2144.06: Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for using the composition as recited in claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in the method of Diamond et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
8. Claims 9, 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, 26, 28 above and further in view of Diamond et al.-2 (cited above).
See claims 9, 25 as submitted 6/24/2025.
See the teachings of claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. above.
Claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. does not teach: intramuscular administration.
See the teachings of Diamond et al.-2 above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer as taught by Diamond et al.-2 with the method as taught by claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. Claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. teach administration of MVA expressing CMV antigens, and Diamond et al.-2, which also teaches administration of MVA expressing CMV antigens, teaches such a method known in the art for administration of MVA expressing CMV antigens (See MPEP 2144.06: Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for administering as taught by Diamond et al.-2 with the method as taught by claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
9. Claims 15, 31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12, 17-21, 23, 26, 28 above and further in view of Hsu et al. (cited above).
See claims 15, 31 as submitted 6/24/2025.
See the teachings of claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. above.
Claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. does not teach: wherein the HCT is HLA-matched, or wherein the HCT is haploidentical or mismatched.
See the teachings of Hsu et al. above.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use HLA-matched HCT as taught by Hsu et al. with the method as taught by claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. Claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. teaches use of HCT, and Hsu et al., which also teaches HCT, teaches a method known of HCT known in the art wherein patient and donors are HLA matched (See MPEP 2144.06: Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for using HLA-matched HCT as taught by Hsu et al. with the method as taught by claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/212381 in view of Diamond et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
10. No claims are allowed.
/M FRANCO G SALVOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672