DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 07/16/2025.
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 12-16 have been amended.
Claims 7, 8, 17 and 18 have been canceled.
Claims 1-6, 9-16, 19 and 20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 30 “said linear arrangement” should be - - said linear arrangement of securement holes - -.
Claim 12, line 28 “said linear arrangement” should be - - said linear arrangement of securement holes - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 9-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "one rearmost securement hole" in line 29. Is not clear how only “one rearmost securement hole” can be expose by the interconnection sheet and fill by the rear stop at the same time.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "one rearmost securement hole" in line 27. Is not clear how only “one rearmost securement hole” can be expose by the interconnection sheet and fill by the rear stop at the same time.
Claims 2-6, 9-11, 13-16, 19 and 20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 12-15, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (CN 101023823A cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses a waterproof slide fastener comprising:
left and right fastener stringers including left and right waterproof tapes and left and right rows of fastener elements where the fastener elements are arranged, the left and right rows of fastener elements secured to side-edges of the left and right waterproof tapes, and each of the left and right waterproof tapes including a row of securement holes (9) including a linear arrangement of securement holes at a predetermined pitch, each of the left and right waterproof tapes having upper and lower surfaces (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4; and Fig. 16);
a slider (34) that moves frontward to engage and rearward to disengage the fastener elements of said left and right rows of fastener elements (see Fig. 1 and annotated Figs. 2 and 4);
an interconnection sheet that joins the left and right waterproof tapes in a rear end of the waterproof slide fastener,
the interconnection sheet selectively formed on the lower surfaces of the left and right waterproof tapes without being formed on the upper surfaces of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4); and
a rear stop arranged at a rear contiguous position of the left and right rows of fastener elements, the rear stop partially covering the interconnection sheet (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4),
wherein the linear arrangement of securement holes of the row of securement holes in each of the left and right waterproof tapes is divided into a multiplicity of securement holes and one rearmost securement hole arranged at a rearmost position in said linear arrangement and rearward of the multiplicity of securement holes, respective ones of the securement holes of said multiplicity of securement holes filled by respective ones of the fastener elements, no securement hole being arranged rearward of the rearmost securement hole (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4; and Fig. 16), and
wherein the interconnection sheet is arranged to expose the rearmost securement hole (9) in at least one of the left and right waterproof tapes, and the rear stop is arranged to fill said rearmost securement hole (9) in at least one of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Okada discloses, wherein the rear stop includes an upper portion and a lower portion which are arranged at upper and lower sides of the left and right waterproof tapes, and
the upper portion and the lower portion are interconnected one another via a plurality of plugs only, the plurality of plugs respectively filling the rearmost securement holes in both of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Okada discloses, wherein a recess or a cutout is formed in the interconnection sheet to expose said rearmost securement hole in at least one of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Okada discloses, wherein the recess or the cutout is fully filled by the rear stop (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Okada discloses, wherein the recess or the cutout is formed not to cross a boundary between the left and right waterproof tapes in a closed condition of the left and right fastener stringers (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Okada discloses, wherein the rear stop (204) is configured to enclose, at least partially, left and right fastener elements (203) positioned at the rear end of the left and right rows of fastener elements (see annotated Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 12, Okada discloses a method of producing a waterproof slide fastener, the method including:
producing a fastener stringer wherein a row of fastener element where fastener elements are arranged is secured to a side-edge of a waterproof tape (see annotated Fig. 2);
forming an interconnection sheet onto a fastener chain only on a lower side of the fastener chain, the fastener chain including a pair of the fastener stringers (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4); and
forming a rear stop onto the fastener chain through injection molding after said forming the interconnection sheet onto the fastener chain (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4),
wherein the waterproof slide fastener includes a slider (34) that moves frontward to engage and rearward to disengage the fastener elements in the fastener chain (see Fig. 1 and annotated Figs. 2 and 4);
rows of securement holes each of which including a linear arrangement of securement holes at a predetermined pitch are formed in respective ones of left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4; and Fig. 16),
the linear arrangement of securement holes of each of said rows of securement holes is divided into a multiplicity of securement holes and one rearmost securement hole arranged at a rearmost position in said linear arrangement and rearward of the multiplicity of securement holes, respective ones of the securement holes of said multiplicity of securement holes filled by respective ones of the fastener elements, no securement hole being arranged rearward of the rearmost securement hole (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4),
the interconnection sheet is formed through injection molding to expose the one rearmost securement hole in at least one of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4), and
the rear stop is formed through injection molding to partially cover the interconnection sheet and to fill said one rearmost securement hole in at least one of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 13, Okada discloses, wherein the rear stop includes an upper portion and a lower portion which are arranged at upper and lower sides of the left and right waterproof tapes, and the upper portion and the lower portion are interconnected one another via a plurality of plugs only, the plurality of plugs respectively filling the one rearmost securement holes in both of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Okada discloses, wherein a recess or a cutout is formed in the interconnection sheet to expose said one rearmost securement hole in at least one of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Okada discloses, wherein the rear stop includes:
an upper portion (see annotated Fig. 4);
a lower portion (see annotated Fig. 4); and
a plurality of plugs by which the upper and lower portions are interconnected (see annotated Fig. 4),
wherein the plurality of plugs includes one first plug filling said one rearmost securement hole in the left waterproof tape, and one second plug filling said one rearmost securement hole in the right waterproof tape (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Okada discloses, wherein the interconnection sheet is shaped to have a recess or a cutout that overlaps said one rearmost securement hole (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Okada discloses, wherein the rear stop (204) is configured to enclose, at least partially, left and right fastener elements (203) positioned at the rear end of the left and right rows of fastener elements (see annotated Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (CN 101023823A cited by applicant), in view of Takazawa et al. (US Publication No. 2003/0115724).
Regarding claim 3, Okada discloses the claimed invention except for a pinhole is formed in the lower portion of the rear stop, the pinhole extending to reach the interconnection sheet. However, Takazawa et al. teaches a pinhole (15) is formed in the lower portion of the rear stop (6a), the pinhole extending to reach the interconnection sheet (3b) (see Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pinhole on the rear stop in order to fill resin flow directly into the interconnection sheet during injecting molding process.
Claims 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (CN 101023823A cited by applicant), in view of Kayahara et al. (US Publication No. 2021/0007447 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 10, Okada discloses the claimed invention except for a gate mark is formed on the interconnection sheet. However, Kayahara et al. teaches a gate mark is formed on the interconnection sheet (6) (see paragraph [0064], lines 20-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a gate mark on the interconnection sheet for injecting plastic into the interconnection sheet during the injecting molding process.
Regarding claim 11, Okada discloses the claimed invention except for another gate mark different from one formed on the interconnection sheet is formed on the rear stop. However, Kayahara et al. teaches another gate mark different from one formed on the interconnection sheet (6) is formed on the rear stop (4) (see paragraph [0064], lines 20-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a gate marks on the interconnection sheet and the rear stop for injecting plastic into the interconnection sheet and the rear stop during the injecting molding process.
Regarding claim 20, Okada discloses the claimed invention except for a first gate mark is formed on the interconnection sheet, and a second gate mark is formed on the rear stop. However, Kayahara et al. teaches a first gate mark is formed on the interconnection sheet (6), and a second gate mark is formed on the rear stop (4) (see paragraph [0064], lines 20-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a gate marks on the interconnection sheet and the rear stop for injecting plastic into the interconnection sheet and the rear stop during the injecting molding process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 07/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 12 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Okada (CN 101023823A).
Okada broadly discloses a slider (34) that moves frontward to engage and rearward to disengage the fastener elements of said left and right rows of fastener elements (see Fig. 1 and annotated Figs. 2 and 4);
an interconnection sheet that joins the left and right waterproof tapes in a rear end of the waterproof slide fastener,
the interconnection sheet selectively formed on the lower surfaces of the left and right waterproof tapes without being formed on the upper surfaces of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4); and
a rear stop arranged at a rear contiguous position of the left and right rows of fastener elements, the rear stop partially covering the interconnection sheet (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4),
wherein the linear arrangement of securement holes of the row of securement holes in each of the left and right waterproof tapes is divided into a multiplicity of securement holes and one rearmost securement hole arranged at a rearmost position in said linear arrangement and rearward of the multiplicity of securement holes, respective ones of the securement holes of said multiplicity of securement holes filled by respective ones of the fastener elements, no securement hole being arranged rearward of the rearmost securement hole (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4; and Fig. 16), and
wherein the interconnection sheet is arranged to expose the rearmost securement hole (9) in at least one of the left and right waterproof tapes, and the rear stop is arranged to fill said rearmost securement hole (9) in at least one of the left and right waterproof tapes (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4).
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677
--