DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to application amendments filed on 9-5-2025.
2. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, 10 have been amended. Claims 1, 9, 10 are independent. This application was filed on 4-14-2023.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 9-5-2025, with respect to the rejection(s) under Byun in view of Braitberg and further in view of Agee have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Byun in view of Braitberg and further in view of Agee and Gates and Lou.
A. Applicant argues on pages 15-20 of Remarks: ... “selecting, a first-level sub-node” is “through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source node”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Byun discloses the selection of a network node to which content is issued (a destination node). (see Byun paragraph [0008]: transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet (identifier) being received from a content requester; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received,)
Braitberg in an obviousness rejection discloses an authentication procedure setting up the communication channel. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
And, Gates in an obviousness rejection discloses the selection of the destination node by a user utilizing a human-computer interface. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
The Specification in paragraph [0045] discloses a human-computer interface to be a user interface for the selection of network node. (Specification [0045]: the sub-node may be selected through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source device, such as through device buttons, device remote control, console, or control interface.)
The selected prior art references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. The claimed invention is in the field of network communications between source nodes and destination nodes. The destination nodes are selected by users in order to complete a network connection between source and destination for network communications. The destination node is selected by the source node.
B. Applicant argues on page 20 of Remarks: ... Byun is silent about feature F1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gates in an obviousness rejection discloses the selection of the destination node by a user utilizing a human-computer interface. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
The Specification in paragraph [0045] discloses a human-computer interface to be a user interface for the selection of network node. (Specification [0045]: the sub-node may be selected through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source device, such as through device buttons, device remote control, console, or control interface.)
The selected prior art references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. The claimed invention is in the field of network communications between source nodes and destination nodes. The destination nodes are selected by users in order to complete a network connection between source and destination for network communications. The destination node is selected by the source node.
Note: F1 discloses: selecting, through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source node and according to the source node, a first-level sub-node to which data content is issued by the source node.
C. Applicant argues on page 20 of Remarks: ... none of Braitberg, Agee, Tong, or Omer disclose the feature F1, ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gates in an obviousness rejection discloses the selection of the destination node by a user utilizing a human-computer interface. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
Note: F1 discloses: selecting, through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source node and according to the source node, a first-level sub-node to which data content is issued by the source node.
D. Applicant argues on page 21 of Remarks: ... Agee fails to disclose F1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gates in an obviousness rejection discloses the selection of the destination node by a user utilizing a human-computer interface. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
Note: F1 discloses: selecting, through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source node and according to the source node, a first-level sub-node to which data content is issued by the source node.
E. Applicant argues on page 21 of Remarks: ... Tong fails to disclose feature F1 ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gates in an obviousness rejection discloses the selection of the destination node by a user utilizing a human-computer interface. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
Note: F1 discloses: selecting, through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source node and according to the source node, a first-level sub-node to which data content is issued by the source node.
F. Applicant argues on page 22 of Remarks: ... Omer fails to disclose features Fl.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gates in an obviousness rejection discloses the selection of the destination node by a user utilizing a human-computer interface. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
Note: F1 discloses: selecting, through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source node and according to the source node, a first-level sub-node to which data content is issued by the source node.
G. Applicant argues on page 22 of Remarks: ... none of Byun, Braitberg, Agee, Tong or Omer disclose technical feature F1, ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gates in an obviousness rejection discloses the selection of the destination node by a user utilizing a human-computer interface. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
Note: F1 discloses: selecting, through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source node and according to the source node, a first-level sub-node to which data content is issued by the source node.
H. Applicant argues on page 22 of Remarks: ... Braitberg fails to disclose at least F3.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lou discloses determining that the number of network nodes utilizing established network connections has exceeded a threshold (i.e. is not equal to the threshold). (Lou paragraph [0013]: network node may not provide the media content until a particular number of mobile devices have requested the media content. For example, the network node may receive multiple requests for the media content from multiple mobile devices, and when a count of the multiple mobile devices exceeds a threshold value, the network node may provide the media content to the multiple mobile devices.)
And, Braitberg discloses authentication of a network node (determining legitimacy of a network nodes and its connection). Braitberg discloses an authentication procedure setting up the communication channel. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
Note: F2 discloses: determining, through authentication negotiation, legitimacy of the first-level sub-node selected through control of the human-computer interaction function of the source node.
Note: F3 discloses: wherein a newly connected sub-node device cannot receive the digital content normally when number of legal sub-nodes in the topological connection has been equal to the preset threshold.
I. Applicant argues on page 23 of Remarks: ... Agee is completely silent about the authentication process of equipment/device.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Braitberg discloses authentication of a network node (determining legitimacy of a network nodes and its connection). Braitberg discloses an authentication procedure setting up the communication channel. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
J. Applicant argues on page 23 of Remarks: ... Tong fails to disclose at least F3 ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Braitberg discloses authentication of a network node (determining legitimacy of a network nodes and its connection). Braitberg discloses an authentication procedure setting up the communication channel. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
Note: F2 discloses: determining, through authentication negotiation, legitimacy of the first-level sub-node selected through control of the human-computer interaction function of the source node.
Note: F3 discloses: wherein a newly connected sub-node device cannot receive the digital content normally when number of legal sub-nodes in the topological connection has been equal to the preset threshold.
K. Applicant argues on page 23 of Remarks: ... Tong does not disclose at least F3.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Braitberg discloses authentication of a network node (determining legitimacy of a network nodes and its connection). Braitberg discloses an authentication procedure setting up the communication channel. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
Note: F2 discloses: determining, through authentication negotiation, legitimacy of the first-level sub-node selected through control of the human-computer interaction function of the source node.
Note: F3 discloses: wherein a newly connected sub-node device cannot receive the digital content normally when number of legal sub-nodes in the topological connection has been equal to the preset threshold.
L. Applicant argues on page 24 of Remarks: ... Omer fails to disclose at least feature F3.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gates in an obviousness rejection discloses the selection of the destination node by a user utilizing a human-computer interface. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
Note: F2 discloses: determining, through authentication negotiation, legitimacy of the first-level sub-node selected through control of the human-computer interaction function of the source node.
Note: F3 discloses: wherein a newly connected sub-node device cannot receive the digital content normally when number of legal sub-nodes in the topological connection has been equal to the preset threshold. er fails to disclose at least feature F3.
M. Applicant argues on page 24 of Remarks: ... Applicant asserts that the present invention is patentable over the cited art and respectfully requests allowance of claims 1, 9 and 10.
Independent claims 9 and 10 have similar limitations as independent claim 1. Responses to arguments against independent claim 1 also answer arguments against independent claims 9 and 10.
N. Applicant argues on page 24 of Remarks: ... Dependent claims 2-8, 11-20 depend on claims 1, 9 or 10 directly or indirectly. On the basis that claims 1, 9 or 10 are allowable over the cited references, claims 2-8 and 11-20 are likewise allowable over the cited references.
Responses to arguments against the independent claims also answer arguments against the associated dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 - 3, 9 - 12, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US PGPUB No. 20140204945) in view of Braitberg et al. (Patent No. WO3/019334 A2) and further in view of Agee et al. (US PGPUB No. 20140328423) and Gates et al. (Patent No. WO 2010027961 A1) and Lou et al. (US PGPUB No. 20160165514).
Regarding Claims 1, 9, 10, Byun discloses a data transmission method, which is applied to a topological connection, the topological connection comprising a source node and first-level sub-nodes and an electronic device and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the method, the device, and the medium comprising:
a) selecting, according to the source node, a network node to which digital content is issued by the source node (communication between a first level sub-node and a source node); (see Byun paragraph [0008]: transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet (identifier) being received from a content requester; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received,) and
d) issuing the digital content to the first-level sub-node according to the authentication identifier if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than a preset threshold. (see Byun paragraph [0066]: when a result of the comparison in 240 is that the value of the counter is less than the threshold value, the content provider obtains a unicast MAC address. The content provider may obtain the unicast MAC address from a MAC address of the content requester included in the content request packet or a CCN protocol address, for example, a CCN over ARP packet corresponding to the content request packet.; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received)
Furthermore, Byun discloses wherein for c) adjusting a counting parameter of the source node according to the authentication channel. (see Byun paragraph [0008]: a method of transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester is present in a pending interest table (PIT); increasing a value of a counter corresponding to the content request packet (communication channel) based on a result of the verification;)
Byun does not specifically disclose for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node.
However, Braitberg discloses:
b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node and determining, through authentication negotiation, legitimacy of the first-level sub-node selected through control of the human-computer interaction function of the source node; c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first-level sub-node. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins (authentication negotiation). Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node as taught by Braitberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Braitberg for the flexibility of a system enabling multiple parameters such as authentication channel and identifier to be utilized in an authentication process. (see Braitberg page 26; page 28)
Byun does not specifically disclose wherein communication between a first-level sub-node and a source node.
However, Agee discloses wherein communication between a first-level sub-node and a source node. (see Agee paragraph [0577]: any node can communicate with any other node in its field of view, allowing the source node to simultaneously transmit packets to any available node in the network (source node, relay node, first level node, second level node, third level node, sub-nodes). In FIG. 48, for example, the source node transmits packets to five separate intermediate (relay) receive nodes over a first traffic time slot, and directs those nodes to transmit packets directly to the destination node over a subsequent traffic time slot. In the preferred ad hoc embodiment, each of the relay nodes receive independent data, e.g., one of five subsets of data, from the source nodes, similar to the approach employed in the TDD embodiment. ... transmitter that can exploit the full network transfer junction between the source node and intermediate nodes during the first traffic time slot, and the full network transfer function between the relay nodes and the destination node over the second traffic time slot.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for communication between a first level sub-node and a source node as taught by Agee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Agee for the flexibility of a system enabling network communication between multiple types of network-connected nodes within a network environment. (see Agee paragraph [0577])
Byun does not specifically disclose for e) wherein a newly connected device cannot receive digital content when the number of devices has been equal to the preset threshold.
However, Lou discloses:
e) wherein a newly connected sub-node device cannot receive the digital content normally when number of legal sub-nodes in the topological connection has been equal to the preset threshold. (Lou paragraph [0013]: network node may not provide the media content until a particular number of mobile devices have requested the media content. For example, the network node may receive multiple requests for the media content from multiple mobile devices, and when a count of the multiple mobile devices exceeds a threshold value, the network node may provide the media content to the multiple mobile devices.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for e) wherein a newly connected device cannot receive digital content when the number of devices has been equal to the preset threshold as taught by Lou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lou for the flexibility of a system that enables network communications when the number of devices with established connections exceeds or is not equal to a threshold. (Lou paragraph [0013])
Byun does not specifically disclose through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source code.
However, Gates discloses wherein for a) through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source code; b) through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source code; c) through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source code; and d) through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source code. (see Gates paragraph [0130]: To generate a playlist using individual similarity tables received through the online store, the user selects one or more pieces of media and clicks a button or otherwise gives the computer a command to generate a playlist based on a selected seed track. Appropriate user interfaces contemplated include such features as a key sequence on a keyboard, mouse gesture, touch-based input, voice command, or any combination of these and other suitable human-computer interfaces.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for through control of a human-computer interaction function of the source code as taught by Gates. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Gates for the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of command interfaces such as buttons within a human-computer interfaces to control computer systems within a data processing environment. (see Gates paragraph [0130])
Furthermore, for Claim 9, at least one processor, and a memory in communicative connection with the at least one processor, wherein the memory is configured to store an instruction which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform a data transmission. (see Byun paragraph [0107]: A software component may be implemented, for example, by a processing device controlled by software or instructions to perform one or more operations, but is not limited thereto. A computer, controller, or other control device may cause the processing device to run the software or execute the instructions.)
Furthermore, for Claim 10, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer-executable instruction, which is used to cause the computer to perform a data transmission. (see Byun paragraph [0107]: A software component may be implemented, for example, by a processing device controlled by software or instructions to perform one or more operations, but is not limited thereto. A computer, controller, or other control device may cause the processing device to run the software or execute the instructions.)
Regarding Claims 2, 11, 18, Byun-Braitberg-Agee-Gates-Lou discloses the data transmission method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 9 and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10, wherein the topological connection further comprises a first-level relay node, the data transmission method further comprising:
a) selecting, according to the source node, the node to which the digital content is issued by the source node (communication between a first level relay node and a source node); (see Byun paragraph [0008]: transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received,)
d) issuing the digital content to the first-level relay node according to the authentication identifier if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold. (see Byun paragraph [0066]: when a result of the comparison in 240 is that the value of the counter is less than the threshold value, the content provider obtains a unicast MAC address. The content provider may obtain the unicast MAC address from a MAC address of the content requester included in the content request packet or a CCN protocol address, for example, a CCN over ARP packet corresponding to the content request packet.; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received)
Furthermore, Byun discloses wherein for c) adjusting the counting parameter of the source node according to the authentication channel. (see Byun paragraph [0008]: a method of transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester is present in a pending interest table (PIT); increasing a value of a counter corresponding to the content request packet (communication channel) based on a result of the verification;)
Byun does not specifically disclose for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node.
However, Braitberg discloses:
b) establishing an authentication channel between the first-level relay node and the source node; c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first-level relay node (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node as taught by Braitberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Braitberg for the flexibility of a system enabling multiple parameters such as authentication channel and identifier to be utilized in an authentication process. (see Braitberg page 26; page 28)
Byun does not specifically disclose communication between a first level relay node and a source node.
However, Agee discloses wherein a first level relay node. (see Agee paragraph [0577]: any node can communicate with any other node in its field of view, allowing the source node to simultaneously transmit packets to any available node in the network (source node, relay node, first level node, second level node, third level node). In FIG. 48, for example, the source node transmits packets to five separate intermediate (relay) receive nodes over a first traffic time slot, and directs those nodes to transmit packets directly to the destination node over a subsequent traffic time slot. In the preferred ad hoc embodiment, each of the relay nodes receive independent data, e.g., one of five subsets of data, from the source nodes, similar to the approach employed in the TDD embodiment. ... transmitter that can exploit the full network transfer junction between the source node and intermediate nodes during the first traffic time slot, and the full network transfer function between the relay nodes and the destination node over the second traffic time slot.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for communication between a first level relay node and a source node as taught by Agee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Agee for the flexibility of a system enabling network communication between multiple types of network-connected nodes. (see Agee paragraph [0577])
Regarding Claims 3, 12, 19, Byun-Braitberg-Agee-Gates-Lou discloses the data transmission method of claim 2 and the electronic device of claim 11 and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the topological connection further comprises second-level sub-nodes, the data transmission method further comprising:
a) selecting, according to a first network node, and a second network node to which the digital content is issued by the first network node (communication between a first level relay node and a second level sub-node); (see Byun paragraph [0008]: transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received,) and
d) issuing the digital content to the second-level sub-node according to the authentication identifier if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold. (see Byun paragraph [0066]: when a result of the comparison in 240 is that the value of the counter is less than the threshold value, the content provider obtains a unicast MAC address. The content provider may obtain the unicast MAC address from a MAC address of the content requester included in the content request packet or a CCN protocol address, for example, a CCN over ARP packet corresponding to the content request packet.; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received)
Furthermore, Byun discloses wherein for c) adjusting the counting parameter of the source node according to the authentication channel. (see Byun paragraph [0008]: a method of transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester is present in a pending interest table (PIT); increasing a value of a counter corresponding to the content request packet (communication channel) based on a result of the verification;)
Byun does not specifically disclose for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node.
However, Braitberg discloses:
b) establishing an authentication channel between the second-level sub-node and the first-level relay node; c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the second-level sub-node. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node as taught by Braitberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Braitberg for the flexibility of a system enabling multiple parameters such as authentication channel and identifier to be utilized in an authentication process. (see Braitberg page 26; page 28)
Byun does not specifically disclose communication between a first-level relay node and a second-level sub-node.
However, Agee discloses wherein communication between a first-level relay node and a second-level sub-node. (see Agee paragraph [0577]: any node can communicate with any other node in its field of view, allowing the source node to simultaneously transmit packets to any available node in the network (source node, relay node, first level node, second level node, third level node, sub nodes). In FIG. 48, for example, the source node transmits packets to five separate intermediate (relay) receive nodes over a first traffic time slot, and directs those nodes to transmit packets directly to the destination node over a subsequent traffic time slot. In the preferred ad hoc embodiment, each of the relay nodes receive independent data, e.g., one of five subsets of data, from the source nodes, similar to the approach employed in the TDD embodiment. ... transmitter that can exploit the full network transfer junction between the source node and intermediate nodes during the first traffic time slot, and the full network transfer function between the relay nodes and the destination node over the second traffic time slot.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for communication between a first-level relay node and a second-level sub-node as taught by Agee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Agee for the flexibility of a system enabling network communication between multiple types of network-connected nodes. (see Agee paragraph [0577])
6. Claims 4 - 7, 13 - 15, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun in view of Braitberg and further in view of Agee and Gates and Lou and Tong et al. (Patent No. CN 104137495 B).
Regarding Claims 4, 13, 20, Byun-Braitberg-Agee-Gates-Lou discloses the data transmission method of claim 3 and the electronic device of claim 12 and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19.
Byun does not specifically disclose if adjusted counting parameter is smaller than preset threshold, transmitting an acknowledgment instruction to node.
However, Tong discloses wherein if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold comprises: transmitting, by the source node, an acknowledgment instruction to the first-level relay node through the authentication channel if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold, so that the first-level relay node issues the digital content to the second-level sub-node according to the acknowledgment instruction (see Tong page 13: S123: determining a relationship between the current SendSeq and the data amount threshold, if the current SendSeq is greater than the data amount threshold, executing step S124, if the current SendSeq is less than the data quantity threshold, execute step S125. ... S125 to the data sending end sends the new acknowledgment packet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for if adjusted counting parameter is smaller than preset threshold, transmitting an acknowledgment instruction to nod as taught by Tong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Tong for the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple communication protocols for network communications. (see Tong page 13)
Byun does not specifically disclose issuing digital content to node according to authentication identifier.
However, Braitberg discloses wherein issuing the digital content to the second-level sub-node according to the authentication identifier and the authentication identifier. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for issuing digital content to node according to authentication identifier as taught by Braitberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Braitberg for the flexibility of a system enabling multiple parameters such as authentication channel and identifier to be utilized in an authentication process. (see Braitberg page 26; page 28)
Agee discloses communication between a first level relay node and a second level sub-node as stated in Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claims 5, 14, Byun-Braitberg-Agee-Gates-Lou-Tong discloses the data transmission method of claim 4 and the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the topological connection further comprises a second-level relay node, the data transmission method further comprising:
a) selecting, according to the first-level relay node, the second-level relay node to which the digital content is issued by the first-level relay node; (see Byun paragraph [0008]: transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received,) and
d) issuing the digital content to the second-level relay node according to the authentication identifier if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold. (see Byun paragraph [0066]: when a result of the comparison in 240 is that the value of the counter is less than the threshold value, the content provider obtains a unicast MAC address. The content provider may obtain the unicast MAC address from a MAC address of the content requester included in the content request packet or a CCN protocol address, for example, a CCN over ARP packet corresponding to the content request packet.; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received)
Furthermore, Byun discloses wherein for c) adjusting the counting parameter of the source node according to the authentication channel. (see Byun paragraph [0008]: a method of transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester is present in a pending interest table (PIT); increasing a value of a counter corresponding to the content request packet (communication channel) based on a result of the verification;)
Byun does not specifically disclose for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node.
However, Braitberg discloses:
b) establishing an authentication channel between the first-level relay node and the second-level relay node; c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the second-level relay node. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node as taught by Braitberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Braitberg for the flexibility of a system enabling multiple parameters such as authentication channel and identifier to be utilized in an authentication process. (see Braitberg page 26; page 28)
Agee does not specifically disclose communication between a first-level relay node and a second level relay node.
However, Agee discloses wherein communication between a first-level relay node and a second level relay node. (see Agee paragraph [0577]: any node can communicate with any other node in its field of view, allowing the source node to simultaneously transmit packets to any available node in the network (source node, relay node, first level node, second level node, third level node, sub nodes). In FIG. 48, for example, the source node transmits packets to five separate intermediate (relay) receive nodes over a first traffic time slot, and directs those nodes to transmit packets directly to the destination node over a subsequent traffic time slot. In the preferred ad hoc embodiment, each of the relay nodes receive independent data, e.g., one of five subsets of data, from the source nodes, similar to the approach employed in the TDD embodiment. ... transmitter that can exploit the full network transfer junction between the source node and intermediate nodes during the first traffic time slot, and the full network transfer function between the relay nodes and the destination node over the second traffic time slot.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for communication between a first-level relay node and a second level relay node as taught by Agee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Agee for the flexibility of a system enabling network communication between multiple types of network-connected nodes. (see Agee paragraph [0577])
Regarding Claims 6, 15, Byun-Braitberg-Agee-Gates-Lou-Tong discloses the data transmission method of claim 5 and the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the topological connection further comprises third-level sub-nodes, the data transmission method further comprising:
a) selecting, according to the second-level relay node, a third-level sub-node to which the digital content is issued by the second-level relay node; (see Byun paragraph [0008]: transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received,) and
d) issuing the digital content to the third-level sub-node according to the authentication identifier if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold. (see Byun paragraph [0066]: when a result of the comparison in 240 is that the value of the counter is less than the threshold value, the content provider obtains a unicast MAC address. The content provider may obtain the unicast MAC address from a MAC address of the content requester included in the content request packet or a CCN protocol address, for example, a CCN over ARP packet corresponding to the content request packet.; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received)
Furthermore, Byun discloses wherein for c) adjusting the counting parameter of the source node according to the authentication channel. (see Byun paragraph [0008]: a method of transmitting a data packet from a content provider in a content-centric network (CCN) includes verifying whether a content request packet requesting a content identical to a content of a content request packet being received from a content requester is present in a pending interest table (PIT); increasing a value of a counter corresponding to the content request packet (communication channel) based on a result of the verification;)
Byun does not specifically disclose for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node.
However, Braitberg discloses:
b) establishing an authentication channel between the second-level relay node and the third- level sub-node; c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the third-level sub-node. (see Braitberg page 26: The predetermined conditions identified in block 554 may include following an authentication procedure as outlined in Fig. 6, and may include authenticating a channel for delivery of content, checking a revocation list and unlocking content. In one embodiment, the unlocking is according to a method performed between an engine and a server as further explained below. Unlocking may entail, connecting with a server, following a protocol to retrieve a secure key, and using the secure key to unlock one or more portions of the content. Block 556 provides for performing one or more of authenticating a channel, checking a revocation list and unlocking content.; page 28: each time a device is coupled via a communication channel an authentication process begins. Each device is qualified each time the encrypted identifier is received. Thus, a method for certifying a device includes transmitting an encrypted identifier from the device via a communication channel and receiving a certificate identifying the device as one of an authenticated device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for b) establishing an authentication channel between the first node and the second node, and for c) acquiring an authentication identifier of the first node as taught by Braitberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Braitberg for the flexibility of a system enabling multiple parameters such as authentication channel and identifier to be utilized in an authentication process. (see Braitberg page 26; page 28)
Byun does not specifically disclose communication between a second-level relay node and a third-level sub-node.
However, Agee discloses wherein communication between a second-level relay node and a third-level sub-node. (see Agee paragraph [0577]: any node can communicate with any other node in its field of view, allowing the source node to simultaneously transmit packets to any available node in the network (source node, relay node, first level node, second level node, third level node, sub nodes). In FIG. 48, for example, the source node transmits packets to five separate intermediate (relay) receive nodes over a first traffic time slot, and directs those nodes to transmit packets directly to the destination node over a subsequent traffic time slot. In the preferred ad hoc embodiment, each of the relay nodes receive independent data, e.g., one of five subsets of data, from the source nodes, similar to the approach employed in the TDD embodiment. ... transmitter that can exploit the full network transfer junction between the source node and intermediate nodes during the first traffic time slot, and the full network transfer function between the relay nodes and the destination node over the second traffic time slot.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for communication between a second-level relay node and a third-level sub-node as taught by Agee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Agee for the flexibility of a system enabling network communication between multiple types of network-connected nodes. (see Agee paragraph [0577])
Regarding Claims 7, 16, Byun-Braitberg-Agee-Gates-Lou-Tong discloses the data transmission method of claim 6 and the electronic device of claim 15, wherein issuing the digital content to the third-level sub-node according to the authentication identifier if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold. (see Byun paragraph [0066]: when a result of the comparison in 240 is that the value of the counter is less than the threshold value, the content provider obtains a unicast MAC address. The content provider may obtain the unicast MAC address from a MAC address of the content requester included in the content request packet or a CCN protocol address, for example, a CCN over ARP packet corresponding to the content request packet.; paragraph [0024]: transmitter may be further configured to transmit the data packet, in response to the content request packet being received)
Byun does not specifically disclose transmitting an acknowledgment instruction to the first-level relay node through the authentication channel if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold.
However, Tong discloses wherein transmitting, by the source node, an acknowledgment instruction to the first-level relay node through the authentication channel if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold; and forwarding the acknowledgment instruction to the second-level relay node through the first-level relay node, so that the second-level relay node issues the digital content to the third-level sub-node according to the acknowledgment instruction and the authentication identifier. (see Tong page 13: S123: determining a relationship between the current SendSeq and the data amount threshold, if the current SendSeq is greater than the data amount threshold, executing step S124, if the current SendSeq is less than the data quantity threshold, execute step S125. ... S125 to the data sending end sends the new acknowledgment packet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for transmitting an acknowledgment instruction to the first-level relay node through the authentication channel if the adjusted counting parameter is smaller than the preset threshold as taught by Tong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Tong for the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple communication protocols for network communications. (see Tong page 13)
7. Claims 8, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun in view of Braitberg and further in view of Agee and Gates and Lou and Omer et al. (US PGPUB No. 10,924,889).
Regarding Claims 8, 17, Byun-Braitberg-Agee-Gates-Lou discloses the data transmission method of claim 1 and the electronic device of claim 9.
Byun does not specifically disclose adjusting counting parameter when any of subordinate nodes is disconnected from topological connection.
However, Omer discloses wherein further comprising adjusting the counting parameter at the source node when any of subordinate nodes is disconnected from the topological connection. (see Omer col 15, lines 28-47: when a wireless node disconnects from the wireless communication network, the node counter and persistence calculator 410 updates the node dictionary 408 to remove the disconnected wireless node. Such updating may occur after a predetermined number of time frames have elapsed where the wireless node is not connected to the wireless communication network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Byun for adjusting counting parameter when any of subordinate nodes is disconnected from topological connection as taught by Omer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Omer for the flexibility of a system utilizing the managed states for network communication such as node disconnection in network communications. (see Omer col 15, lines 28-47)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CJ/
December 15, 2025
/KHOI V LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436