DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
1. Receipt of Applicants’ amendments/remarks filed 6/23/2026 are acknowledged.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. No new Information Disclosure Statement has been submitted for review.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
3. Rejections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the hydrophobic therapeutic agent is PIK75, doxorubicin, vincristine, gemcitabine, paclitaxel, docetaxel, andrographolide, sutent, tamoxifen or combination thereof, however claim 1 defines the therapeutic agent as PIK75,.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15, 20, 23, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrich et al. (WO 2020/154705) in view of Gualberto et al. (US 20220002396).
Henrich et al. (WO 2020/154705)-(as cited on the IDS 8/6/2024) teach a high-density lipoprotein nanoparticle comprising an organic core, a shell surrounding and attached to the core, wherein the core comprises a hydrophobic phospholipid conjugated scaffold and a hydrophobic anticancer therapeutic agent (paclitaxel) (abstract, page 1, page 2 and page 16). The HDL-NP has an apolipoprotein (page 2, paragraph 9). Henrich et al. disclose in some embodiments, the apolipoprotein is apolipoprotein A-I (page 2, paragraph 9). Henrich et al. disclose covalent attachment (page 6, paragraph 4). The shell is a lipid bilayer or monolayer (page 1, 3rd paragraph from the bottom). The PL4 comprises a headgroup-modified phospholipid. The headgroup-modified phospholipid comprises a ring-strained alkyne, 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphoethan-olamine-N-dibenzocyclooctyl (page 2, paragraph 11). The organic core scaffold comprises an amphiphilic DNA-linked small molecule-phospholipid conjugate (DNA- PL4) (page 2, paragraph 12). Henrich et al. disclose in some embodiments, the shell has a zeta potential closer to human HDL than a synthetic HDL nanoparticle with an inorganic core (page 2, paragraph 8). In some embodiments the spherical HDL-NP has a diameter of about 5-30 nm. Henrich et al. disclose in an aspect, the disclosure relates to a pharmaceutical composition.
Henrich et al. disclose hydrophobic therapeutic agents such as paclitaxel but does not disclose the therapeutic agent of claim 25 known as PIK-75.
Gualberto et al. (US 20220002396) (hereinafter Gualberto et al.) disclose treating cancer with paclitaxel and PIK-75 agents (para 0319). Both of these are hydrophobic drugs. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute one known hydrophobic drug, the paclitaxel of Henrich et al. for the PIK-75 in Gualberto et al. Substitution of one known hydrophobic agent for another would obtain predictable results as both are hydrophobic drugs for use in treatment of cancer.
6. Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Henrich et al. (WO 2020/154705) in view of Gualberto et al. (US 20220002396) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Sirianni et al. (WO 2018208993).
Henrich et al. has been discussed supra and does not disclose partition coefficient. Sirianni et al. (WO 2018208993) (hereinafter Sirianni et al.) disclose the term water insoluble refers to an active ingredient having a partition coefficient of at least 0 (para 0040). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the active ingredient have a partition coefficient of at least 0 for the purpose of providing a therapeutic agent that is water insoluble.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15, 20, 23, and 26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, 51 and 52 of copending Application No. 17/425401. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a spherical nanoparticle comprising a core comprising a lipid conjugated organic core scaffold such as an amphiphilic DNA-linked small molecule-phospholipid conjugate or a ring-strained alkylene, 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3 phosphoethan-olamine-N-dibenzocyclooctyl.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
8. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive for the reasons below.
Applicant argues that Gualberto does not provide any examples of the efficacy of PIK75 (F7) in killing cancer cells or treating cancer. Applicants argue that Example 1 demonstrates that HDL-NPS encapsulated PIK75/F7 retained the drug sensitivity of free F7 while also demonstrating increased cytotoxic efficacy. One of ordinary skill in the art would not have predicted that a nanoparticle as claimed conjugated with F7 would have a different effect than F7 alone, showing both improved cytotoxicity and potentially targeting different cell types and neither Henrich or Gualberto disclose the effects of free F7.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings.”); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below).
Applicants’ unexpected results are not commensurate in scope with the claims. ApoA-1 was added at a 2:1 ratio which is not claimed in claim 1 and the concentrations as tested and shown by table 1 are not recited in claim 1. There is no evidence to suggest any concentration as encompassed in claim 1 performs the same.
With regards to the double patenting rejection applicants argue that F7 is not mentioned or suggested by the ‘354 application.
In response, inclusion of a drug of choice in the HDL-NP would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Gualberto et al. and Henrich et al. as discussed above. Gualberto et al. disclose treating cancer with paclitaxel and PIK-75 agents (para 0319). Both of these are hydrophobic drugs. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute one known hydrophobic drug, the paclitaxel of Henrich et al. for the PIK-75 in Gualberto et al. Substitution of one known hydrophobic agent for another would obtain predictable results as both are hydrophobic drugs for use in treatment of cancer. Claim 31 also recites a therapeutic agent is associated with the nanoparticle of which could be any therapeutic agent.
CONCLUSION
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615