DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-28, 30, 32, 35 and 37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/22/2025.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 8/6/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 20, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henrich et al. (WO 2020/154705).
Henrich et al. (WO 2020/154705)-(as cited on the IDS 8/6/2024) teach a high-density lipoprotein nanoparticle comprising an organic core, a shell surrounding and attached to the core, wherein the core comprises a hydrophobic phospholipid conjugated scaffold and a hydrophobic anticancer therapeutic agent (paclitaxel) (abstract, page 1, page 2 and page 16). The HDL-NP has an apolipoprotein (page 2, paragraph 9). Henrich et al. disclose in some embodiments, the apolipoprotein is apolipoprotein A-I (page 2, paragraph 9). Henrich et al. disclose covalent attachment (page 6, paragraph 4). The shell is a lipid bilayer or monolayer (page 1, 3rd paragraph from the bottom). The PL4 comprises a headgroup-modified phospholipid. The headgroup-modified phospholipid comprises a ring-strained alkyne, 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphoethan-olamine-N-dibenzocyclooctyl (page 2, paragraph 11). The organic core scaffold comprises an amphiphilic DNA-linked small molecule-phospholipid conjugate (DNA- PL4) (page 2, paragraph 12). Henrich et al. disclose in some embodiments, the shell has a zeta potential closer to human HDL than a synthetic HDL nanoparticle with an inorganic core (page 2, paragraph 8). In some embodiments the spherical HDL-NP has a diameter of about 5-30 nm. Henrich et al. disclose in an aspect, the disclosure relates to a pharmaceutical composition.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrich et al. (WO 2020/154705) in view of Sirianni et al. (WO 2018208993).
Henrich et al. has been discussed supra and does not disclose partition coefficient. Sirianni et al. (WO 2018208993) (hereinafter Sirianni et al.) disclose the term water insoluble refers to an active ingredient having a partition coefficient of at least 0 (para 0040). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the active ingredient have a partition coefficient of at least 0 for the purpose of providing a therapeutic agent that is water insoluble.
5. Claims 1 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henrich et al. (WO 2020/154705) in view of Gualberto et al. (US 20220002396).
Henrich et al. has been discussed supra and disclose hydrophobic therapeutic agents such as paclitaxel but does not disclose the therapeutic agent of claim 25 known as PIK-75.
Gualberto et al. (US 20220002396) (hereinafter Gualberto et al.) disclose treating cancer with paclitaxel and PIK-75 agents (para 0319). Both of these are hydrophobic drugs. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute one known hydrophobic drug, the paclitaxel of Henrich et al. for the PIK-75 in Gualberto et al. Substitution of one known hydrophobic agent for another would obtain predictable results as both are hydrophobic drugs for use in treatment of cancer.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15, 20, 23, 25 and 26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17, 51 and 52 of copending Application No. 17/425401. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a spherical nanoparticle comprising a core comprising a lipid conjugated organic core scaffold such as an amphiphilic DNA-linked small molecule-phospholipid conjugate or a ring-strained alkylene, 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3 phosphoethan-olamine-N-dibenzocyclooctyl.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615