DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (WO 2020/226298), where Park et al. (US 2022/0238811) (hereafter “Park”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-9, Park teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an emission auxiliary layer (applicant’s electron blocking layer), an emission layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0156]-[0164]) (claims 7-9). Park teaches that the hole transporting layer or the emission auxiliary layer (applicant’s electron blocking layer) can comprise the following compound,
(paragraphs [0051], [0053], [0092], [0120], and [0156]-[0164]) (claims 1-5 and 7-9).
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (WO 2020/231197), where Lee et al. (US 2022/0199911) (hereafter “Lee”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7, Lee teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an emission auxiliary layer (applicant’s electron blocking layer), an emission layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0196]-[0198]) (claims 7-9). Lee teaches that the hole transporting layer or the emission auxiliary layer (applicant’s electron blocking layer) can comprise the following compound,
(paragraphs [0084] and [0115]) (claims 1-5 and 7-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (WO 2020/231197), where Lee et al. (US 2022/0199911) (hereafter “Lee”) is used as the English equivalent, as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-9 above.
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches that the arylamine group attached to the fused heterocyclic group can have the following structure,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0084]). Lee also teaches the that the fused ring system can have the following structure,
and
(paragraph [0084]).
Lee does not specifically teach a compound that meets the applicant’s claimed compounds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the arylamine group in
, with one of the group taught by Lee, such as
,
, or
, and/or substitute the fused ring group with
and
. The substitutions would have been preferred groups for other preferred groups and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compound to act in a similar manner as the other compounds taught by Lee. The substitutions would lead to applicant’s claimed compounds, such as 33, 42, 48, 129, 138, 144, 193, 202, and 208.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US 2018/0026187), Oh et al. (US 2019/0131526), and Lee et al. (US 2019/0259947) teach benzofluorene groups that are similar to the applicant’s claimed formula 1, but none of the compounds or formulas read on the applicant’s claimed formula.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759