DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2007/144272 to Bauer et al. (hereinafter Bauer). For the purposes of examination, citations for Bauer are taken from a machine translation of the document obtained from the European Patent Office website in May 2026.
Regarding Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 8, 10, 16, 18, and 20. Bauer teaches a reactive foam formulation for forming a polyurethane soft foam in which water is provided as a blowing agent (1st paragraph of 1st page of machine translation; last paragraph of 5th page of machine translation).
In Example 1, said reactive foam formulation comprises:
an isocyanate composition comprising LUPRANAT® T80 A (Table 1). LUPRANAT® T80 A is a mixture of the 2,4- and 2,6-toluene diisocyanate (TDI) isomers (last page of machine translation), corresponding to a commercially available aromatic isocyanate compound mixture having a number average isocyanate functionality of roughly 2 and an isocyanate content of 48.2%;
Polyol 3 which is described as a polypropylene glycol having a hydroxyl value of 55 mgKOH/g (last page of machine translation and Table 1). Glycols correspond to polyols having a hydroxyl/isocyanate-reactive functionality of 2. Using its expected functionality and reported hydroxyl value, Polyol 3 can be calculated to have a molecular weight of roughly 2,040 g/mol. Polyol 3 thus corresponds to an isocyanate-reactive compound having a molecular weight of greater than 500 g/mol and a functionality in the range of 1.8 to 2.5;
water;
Monool and Polyol 4 (Table 1). Monools correspond to compounds having a hydroxyl functionality of 1. The Monool used in Example 1 is further reported to have a hydroxyl value of 150 mgKOH/g. Polyol 4 is described as a trifunctional polyol, i.e. a polyol having a functionality of 3, and is reported to have a hydroxyl value of 150 mgKOH/g (last page of machine translation). Using the aforementioned functionalities and hydroxyl values, Monool and Polyol 4 may be calculated to have molecular weights of 374 g/mol and 420 g/mol respectively. Monool and Polyol 4 thus correspond to low molecular weight compounds containing hydroxyl groups and having a molecular weight of less than 500 g/mol and a functionality in the range of 1 to 8;
KOSMOS® and DABCO® compounds as catalyst compounds; and
TEGOSTAB® B8038 as a silicone foam stabilizer/further additive (last page of machine translation and Table 1)
Bauer does not teach low molecular weight urea forming compounds containing amine functional groups and having a molecular weight of less than 500 g/mol and a functionality in the range of 1 to 8 are present in the reactive foam formulation of Example 1. However, such compounds are set forth as optional in instant Claim 1 and therefore are not required to be present to meet the instant claim.
Using the values reported in Table 1 and information provided in the last paragraph of the machine translation, the reactive foam formulation may be calculated to comprise roughly 41.2 parts by weight TDI. This value may, in turn, be used to calculate the various equivalent values and relationships thereof set forth in Claim 1. Specifically, based on 100 grams of the reactive foam formulation of Example 1 of Bauer, C corresponds to 0.06; D corresponds to 0.005; E is 0, and therefore D+E is also 0.0047; and (D+E)/C is 0.8.
Bauer further teaches the isocyanate index provided is 105 in Example 1 (Table 1).
Bauer does not expressly teach the reactive foam formulation forms a polyurethane-polyurea comprising water blown foam. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Bauer teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a polyurethane-polyurea comprising water blown foam, would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 12. Bauer teaches the reactive foam formulation of Claim 1. Using the amounts of ingredients reported in Table 1, its hardblock content can be calculated to be roughly 31 weight percent, when calculated according to the definition of “hardblock” provided in the instant specification.
Regarding Claim 13. Bauer teaches the reactive foam formulation of Claim 1. A composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, the water in the reactive foam formulation is reasonably expected to form urea hardblock units. As Bauer does not provide other low molecular weight urea forming compounds, 100% of the theoretical equivalents in said urea hardblock will originate from water.
Regarding Claim 15. Bauer teaches the reactive foam formulation of Claim 1 comprising Polyol 3 which is described as a polypropylene glycol, i.e. a polyether polyol having a hydroxyl value of 55 mgKOH/g (last page of machine translation and Table 1). As detailed in the rejection of Claim 1, glycols correspond to polyols having a hydroxyl/isocyanate-reactive functionality of 2. Using its expected functionality and reported hydroxyl value, Polyol 3 can be calculated to have a molecular weight of roughly 2,040 g/mol.
Regarding Claim 19. Bauer teaches a process for making a polyurethane soft foam in which water is provided as a blowing agent, i.e. a water blown polyurethane comprising foam, which comprises reacting the reactive formulation according to Claim 1 (1st paragraph of 1st page of machine translation; last paragraph of 5th page of machine translation; last page of machine translation; and Table 1)
Bauer does not expressly teach the process produces a polyurethane-polyurea comprising water blown foam. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Bauer teaches a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a polyurethane-polyurea comprising water blown foam, would implicitly be achieved by a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties using only the claimed process employing the claimed steps, processing conditions, and ingredients in the claimed amounts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2007/144272 to Bauer et al. (hereinafter Bauer), as applied to Claim 1 above. For the purposes of examination, citations for Bauer are taken from a machine translation of the document obtained from the European Patent Office website in May 2026.
Regarding Claim 9. Bauer teaches the reactive foam formulation of Claim 1 wherein the isocyanate composition comprises LUPRANAT® T80 A (Table 1), which has an isocyanate content of 48.2% which is outside the instantly claimed range. However, Bauer teaches in the general disclosure that MDI prepolymers having an isocyanate content in the range of 20 to 35 weight precent are also suitable used as the isocyanate component (5th page of the machine translation). Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute an MDI prepolymer having an isocyanate content in the range of 20 to 35 weight precent for the LUPRANAT® T80 A isocyanate used in Example 1 of Bauer. The motivation would have been that it is obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. (MPEP 2144.06). Bauer teaches both MDI prepolymers having an isocyanate content in the range of 20 to 35 weight and TDI isocyanates are suitably used as isocyanates, thus providing obviousness of substituting one for the other in the disclosed reactive foam formulations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not teach or suggest a reactive foam formulation comprising all of the instantly claimed ingredients in the instantly claimed amounts.
Example 1 of WO 2007/144272 to Bauer et al. corresponds to the closest prior art for both Claims 14 and 17. However, with specific respect to Claim 14, Bauer’s reactive formulation differs from the instantly claimed reactive formulation in that the isocyanate-reactive compound having a molecular weight of greater than 500 g/mol is a polypropylene glycol polyol, i.e. it comprises a polyether backbone that is 0 weight percent based on a butylene oxide polyol. On the other hand, instant Claim 14 requires the isocyanate-reactive compound having a molecular weight of greater than 500 g/mol be based upon a polyether backbone that is at least 50 weight percent based on a butylene oxide polyol. With specific respect to Claim 17, Bauer’s reactive formulation differs from the instantly claimed reactive formulation in that the low molecular weight urethane foam compounds are a monool and Polyol 4 (Table 1). Polyol 4 is described as a trifunctional polyol, i.e. a polyol having a functionality of 3, and is reported to have a hydroxyl value of 150 mgKOH/g (last page of machine translation). Neither the monool nor Polyol 4 correspond to any of the instantly claimed compounds set forth.
Additionally, there is no teaching in the general disclosure of Bauer or in another prior art reference which would guide a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the compounds originally used in Example 1 of Bauer with the instantly claimed polyether having a backbone based on at least 50 weight percent of a butylene oxide polyol or with one of low molecular weight urethane foam compounds set forth in instant Claim 17.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764