DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination. This action is made in response to the claims filed April 17, 2023.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as indefinite.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as ineligible.
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by Behzadpour.
Claims 3-8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as obvious over Behzadpour in view of Haynes and Jones.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Arbitrarily Set (X direction/Variable)
Claims 2, 3, 7, and 10 recite the feature, “wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material.” The Applicant has failed to set a definite standard for the term “arbitrarily set.” Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to discern the metes and bounds of the claimed “x-direction.” Therefore, these claims are indefinite.
Machine Direction and Transverse Direction
Claims 2-4, 7-8, 10-12, and 15-16 recite the features, “machine direction” and “transverse direction.”
There are a number of definiteness issues associated with this.
Machine direction is not a term of art. The only disclosure in the Applicant’s specification pertaining to a “machine direction” appears to be in the background on Page 2,
Since multilayer materials show anisotropy in a machine direction (MD) and a transverse direction (TD) in a manufacturing process, for the design of a robust material, it is necessary to predict not only the homogenized stiffness of the entire laminate of a multilayer material, but also warpage that is undesirably generated due to the asymmetric structure caused by thermal and water expansions.
and on Page 18, lines 17-21, the recitation including,
elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in a machine direction (MD, hereinafter, set as '1,' denoting a major direction) and a transverse direction (TD, hereinafter, set as '2') of each layer (k),
However, major direction is not a term of art either. The term major is also relative to something that is perhaps lesser? However, the specification does not provide this standard.
Also, the Applicant provides no disclosure of a “machine,” the direction relative to which represents a “machine direction.” The only machine disclosed in the application is a computing system with a controller that calculates parameters for modeling expansion, and it would not make sense to use any direction relative to such a controller system for any thermal expansion calculations. It is not clear what type of machine is indicated, the function of the machine, or what direction relative to the machine falls within the scope of the claim.
The Applicant also fails to provide any disclosure of what the relationship is between the machine direction and the transverse direction.
For at least these reasons, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to discern the metes and bounds of the claim terms, “machine direction” and “transverse direction.”
Which is the Entire Laminate
Claims 4, 12, and 16 recite, “which is the entire laminate, and the thickness (Zk) of each layer (k).” It is unclear what “is the entire laminate” and what “the entire laminate” is. This is not merely an antecedence issue. The specification fails to delineate the metes and bounds of the term “the entire laminate.” Entire is also a relative term that is not clearly delineated in the specification. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to discern the metes and bounds of the claim term “which is the entire laminate, and the thickness (Zk) of each layer (k).”
External Forces
Claims 4, 8, 12, and 16 recite “external forces.” External is a relative term and is not a term of art that sufficiently defines the metes and bounds of “external force.” Accordingly, the person of skill in the art would not be able to discern the metes and bounds of the claim.
x, y, and s
Claims 4-6, 8, 12-14, and 16 recite variables x, y, and/or s. These variables are not defined in the claim. As previously demonstrated, the reference to an arbitrary x-direction is indefinite on its own. There appears to be no disclosure in the claim as to what the y and s variables represent. Claims 5, 8, and 13 describe (x,y) as “sample size,” but that does not mean anything. It appears that the x, y, and s variables are vector dimensions, and sample size is a scalar quantity. This is also further confused by claims 6 and 14 having coordinates for Poisson in the x,y space, but depend from claims that calculate the Poisson ratio in the 1,2 layer space. Also, S is used as an inverse matrix that appears dimensionless other than it applies separately to each layer (e.g., “1,2”), but these have been indexed with the variable k. Accordingly, the person of skill in the art would not be able to discern the metes and bounds of the claim.
k and kx,y,s
Claims 5, 8, 13, and 16 teach that the variable k represents a layer and also a parameterized version of k represents curvature. Also, the space represented by x,y,s, is not described in the specification, so it is unclear what they mean. The use of k for more than one variable and the failure to demonstrate the x, y, s space puts a person of ordinary skill in the art in doubt as to the metes and bounds of the claims.
Temperature and Humidity Changes
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12, and 16 recite “a temperature change (ΔT), or a humidity change (ΔC),” but it does not specify what the temperatures are of. Later dependent claims 2-4, 7-8, 10, 12, and 16 specify a temperature and humidity change of each layer, but they are assigned primary antecedence, indicating that the humidity and temperature changes in the independent claim are for some other element. This leaves the person of ordinary skill in doubt as to the metes and bounds of the claims.
Lamination Angle / An Angle
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-16 recite “a lamination angle” or “an angle,” both denoted by “θk,” but the specification provides no guidance as to what this angle represents. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to discern the metes and bounds of these claim terms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed subject matter is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite mental processes that are capable of being performed in the mind and/or with the aid of pen and paper and mathematical equations. Any computer elements are merely generic computing elements. Further, the process steps recited by the claims neither result in any practical application, nor recite any additional limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Also, as demonstrated by the references on record, the elements of the claims are longstanding practices, which were conducted manually prior to the computer becoming a common tool. This illustrates that the specified features of the claims, represent evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the specified features of the claims are also mathematical expressions, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Independent Claims
Claims 1 and 9
Claim 1 (Statutory Category – Machine)
Step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes, the claims recite mental processes, which are abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites:
[…] calculate the physical properties of the multilayer material by applying input values to the input unit […]
calculate any one or more of a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) of the multilayer material, a coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material, or a warpage of the multilayer material by processing values input
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the evaluations are mathematical equations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites mental processes, which are abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No.
Claim 1 recites the following additional limitations:
inputting input values […]
This is mere data gathering akin to the MPEP 2106.05(g) examples: “i. Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation” “v. Consulting and updating an activity log, Ultramercial,” “i. Limiting a database index to XML tags” “iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display.” Accordingly, this is extra-solution activity and fails to integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
A system […], comprising:
an input unit configured for […]
a control unit configured to […]
a storage unit connected to the control unit,
wherein the control unit is configured to
The are generic computing elements recited at a high level, which, under MPEP 2106.05(f), fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
for predicting physical properties of a multilayer material having n laminated films (n is an integer of 2 or more) […]
any one or more of an elastic modulus (Ek) of each layer (k), a Poisson's ratio (
v
k) of each layer (k), a shear modulus (Gk) of each layer (k), a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), or a lamination angle (θk) of each layer (k), coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2) or coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2) of each layer (k), a temperature change (ΔT), or a humidity change (ΔC); […]
a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) of the multilayer material, a coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material, or a warpage of the multilayer material by processing values input to the input unit
These elements merely limit the abstract idea to a technological environment, which, under MPEP 2106.05(h), fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 1 fails to recite any additional limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No.
Claim 1 recites the following additional limitations:
inputting input values […]
This is well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) activity akin to the MPEP 2106.05(d) examples: “iii. Electronic recordkeeping” “iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory” “v. Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document” “i. Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means “ “v. Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants” “vi. Arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price.” Because this limitation is WURC and insignificant extra-solution activity, under MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g), the limitation fails to combine with the other elements of the claim to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept.
A system […], comprising:
an input unit configured for […]
a control unit configured to […]
a storage unit connected to the control unit,
wherein the control unit is configured to
The are generic computing elements recited at a high level, which, under MPEP 2106.05(f), fail to combine with the other elements of the claim to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept.
.
for predicting physical properties of a multilayer material having n laminated films (n is an integer of 2 or more) […]
any one or more of an elastic modulus (Ek) of each layer (k), a Poisson's ratio (
v
k) of each layer (k), a shear modulus (Gk) of each layer (k), a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), or a lamination angle (θk) of each layer (k), coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2) or coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2) of each layer (k), a temperature change (ΔT), or a humidity change (ΔC); […]
a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) of the multilayer material, a coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material, or a warpage of the multilayer material by processing values input to the input unit
These elements merely limit the abstract idea to a technological environment, which, under MPEP 2106.05(h), fail to combine with the other elements of the claim to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept.
The additional limitations fail to combine with the other elements of the claim to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept.
Claim 1 is ineligible.
Claim 9 (Statutory Category – Process)
Claim 9 recites the method of claim 1. The method is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
Accordingly claim 9 is ineligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-8 and 10-16 are also ineligible for at least the following reasons.
Claim 2
wherein the values input to the input unit comprise any one or more of elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in the machine direction (1) or transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) or the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), shear moduli (
G
K1,2) in the machine direction (1) or the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material, a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k); or any one or more of coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion a temperature change (ΔT), or a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k).
These are inputs that are insignificant extra-solution activity and WURC and fail to confer eligibility for the same reasons as the inputting operation of claim 1.
Also, these are data that merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 10 recites substantially the same features as claim 2 for the purposes of eligibility analysis.
Claim 2 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claims 2 is ineligible.
Claim 3
wherein the input unit is configured for inputting elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in a machine direction (1) and a transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), shear moduli (GK1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material, a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k).
These are inputs that are insignificant extra-solution activity and WURC and fail to confer eligibility for the same reasons as the inputting operation of claim 1.
Also, these are data that merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 3 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 3 is ineligible.
Claim 4
wherein the control unit is configured to:
This is a generic computing element recited at a high level, so it fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(f).
calculate stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and transverse direction (2) of each layer (k) using elastic moduli (Ek1,2) Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) and shear moduli (Gk1,2), set inverse matrices ([S]k1,2) for the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), reset stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of each layer (k) by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2), calculate stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material using the values of the reset stiffness matrices by receiving the thickness information of each layer (k), set compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, calculate free lamina hydrothermal strains (ek1,2) generated by water expansion of each layer (k) in a major direction of each layer (k) using coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k), calculate hygrothermal strain transformations of each layer (k) by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the free lamina hydrothermal strains (eki,2), calculates hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), generated in the multilayer material, based on the hygrothermal strain transformations of the multilayer material, the stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of the multilayer material, which is the entire laminate, and the thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), form total forces (/N) and total moments (/M) by adding external forces (N, M) to the hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and the hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), and calculates a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) and coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material.
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the limitations are mathematical operations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 4 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 4 is ineligible.
Claim 5
wherein the control unit is configured to
This is a generic computing element recited at a high level, so it fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(f).
calculate strains (
∈
0x,y) and curvatures (kx,y,s) of a middle plane using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, and calculate a warpage of the multilayer material by utilizing the curvature (kx,y,s) of the middle plane, and sample size (x, y) information.
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the limitations are mathematical operations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 5 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 5 is ineligible.
Claim 6
wherein the control unit also is further configured to
This is a generic computing element recited at a high level, so it fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(f).
calculate elastic moduli (Ex,y), shear moduli (Gx,y), and Poisson's ratios (
v
x,y) of the multilayer material using the total thickness (h) of the multilayer material and the values of compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y).
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the limitations are mathematical operations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 6 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 6 is ineligible.
Claim 7
wherein the input unit is configured for
This is a generic computing element recited at a high level, so it fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(f).
inputting elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in a machine direction (MD, 1) and a transverse direction (TD, 2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), shear moduli (GK1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material, a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2) and coefficients of water expansion of each layer (k), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC).
These are inputs that are insignificant extra-solution activity and WURC and fail to confer eligibility for the same reasons as the inputting operation of claim 1.
Also, these are data that merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 7 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 7 is ineligible.
Claim 8
wherein the control unit is configured to:
This is a generic computing element recited at a high level, so it fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(f).
calculate stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and transverse direction (2) of each layer (k) using elastic moduli (Ek1,2) Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) and shear moduli (Gk1,2), set inverse matrices ([S]k1,2) for the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), reset stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of each layer (k) by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2), calculate stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material using the values of the reset stiffness matrices by receiving the thickness information of each layer (k), set compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, calculate elastic moduli (Ex,y), shear moduli (Gx,y), and Poisson's ratios (
v
x,y) of the multilayer material using the total thickness (h) of the multilayer material and the values of the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y), calculate free lamina hydrothermal strains (ek1,2) generated by water expansion of each layer (k) in a major direction of each layer (k) using coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion βk1,2), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k), calculate hygrothermal strain transformations (ekx,y,z)of each layer (k) by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of each layer (k) in the free lamina hydrothermal strains, calculate hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s) generated in the multilayer material based on the hygrothermal strain transformations (ekx,y,s)of each layer (k), the stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of each layer (k), and the thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), form total forces (/N) and total moments (/M) by adding external forces (N, M) to the hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,z) and the hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), calculates a coefficient of thermal expansion (a) and coefficient of water expansion (3) of the multilayer material using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, calculate strains (
∈
0x,y) and curvatures (kx,y,s) of a middle plane using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, and calculate a warpage of the multilayer material by utilizing the curvature (kx,y,s) of the middle plane, and sample size (x, y) information.
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the limitations are mathematical operations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 8 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 8 is ineligible.
Claim 10
wherein, in the inputting of input values, the input values comprise any one or more of elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in the machine direction (1) or transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) or transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), shear moduli (GK1,2) in the machine direction (1) or transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material, and a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k); and any one or more of coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion a temperature change (ΔT), or a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k).
These are inputs that are insignificant extra-solution activity and WURC and fail to confer eligibility for the same reasons as the inputting operation of claim 1.
Also, these are data that merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 10 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 10 is ineligible.
Claim 11
wherein the inputting of input values comprises inputting elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in the machine direction (1) and transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), shear moduli (GK1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer (k) with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, and a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k).
These are inputs that are insignificant extra-solution activity and WURC and fail to confer eligibility for the same reasons as the inputting operation of claim 1.
Also, these are data that merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 11 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 11 is ineligible.
Claim 12
wherein the calculating of output values comprises calculating stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and transverse direction (2) of each layer (k) using elastic moduli (Ek1,2), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2), and shear moduli (Gk1,2); setting inverse matrices ([S]k1,2) for the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k); resetting stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of the multilayer material by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of each layer (k) in the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2); calculating stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material using the values of the reset stiffness matrices by receiving the thickness information of each layer (k); setting compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material; inputting coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k); calculating free lamina hydrothermal strains (ek1,2) generated by water expansion of each layer (k) in a major direction of each layer (k) using the coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), temperature change (ΔT), and humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k); calculating hygrothermal strain transformations (ekx,y,s) of the multilayer material by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the free lamina hydrothermal strains (ek1,2); calculating hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), generated in the multilayer material, based on the hygrothermal strain transformations (ekx,y,s) of the multilayer material, the stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of the multilayer material, which is the entire laminate, and the thickness (Zk) of each layer (k); forming total forces (/N) and total moments (/M) by adding external forces (N, M) to the hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and the hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s); and calculating a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) and coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material.
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the limitations are mathematical operations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 12 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 12 is ineligible.
Claim 13
calculating calculates strains (
∈
0x,y) and curvatures (kx,y,s) of a middle plane using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material; and calculating a warpage of the multilayer material by utilizing the curvature (kx,y,s) of the middle plane, and sample size (x, y) information.
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the limitations are mathematical operations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 13 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 13 is ineligible.
Claim 14
further comprising: after the setting of the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y), calculating elastic moduli (Ex,y), shear moduli (Gx,y), and Poisson's ratios (
v
x,y) of the multilayer material using the total thickness (h) of the multilayer material and the values of the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y).
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the limitations are mathematical operations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 14 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 14 is ineligible.
Claim 15
wherein the inputting of input values comprises inputting elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in the machine direction (1) and transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), shear moduli (GK1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer (k) with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, and a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k).
These are inputs that are insignificant extra-solution activity and WURC and fail to confer eligibility for the same reasons as the inputting operation of claim 1.
Also, these are data that merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 15 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 15 is ineligible.
Claim 16
wherein the calculating of output values comprises calculating stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and transverse direction (2) of each layer (k) using elastic moduli (Ek1,2), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2), and shear moduli (Gk1,2); setting inverse matrices ([S]kl,2) for the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k); resetting stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of the multilayer material by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of each layer (k) in the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2); calculating stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material using the values of the reset stiffness matrix by receiving the thickness information of each layer (k); setting compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material; calculating elastic moduli (Ex,y), shear moduli (Gx,y), and Poisson's ratios (
v
x,y) of the multilayer material using the total thickness (h) of the multilayer material and the values of the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y); inputting coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k); calculating free lamina hydrothermal strains (ek1,2) generated by water expansion of each layer (k) in a major direction of each layer (k) using the coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), temperature change (ΔT), and humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k);calculating hygrothermal strain transformations (ekx,y,s) of the multilayer material by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the free lamina hydrothermal strains (ek1,2); calculating hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), generated in the multilayer material, based on the hygrothermal strain transformations (ekx,y,z) of the multilayer material, the stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of the multilayer material, which is the entire laminate, and the thickness (Zk) of each layer (k); forming total forces (/N) and total moments (/M) by adding external forces (N, M) to the hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and the hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s); calculating a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) and coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material; calculating calculates strains (
∈
0x,y) and curvatures (kx,y,s) of a middle plane using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material; and calculating a warpage of the multilayer material by utilizing the curvature (kx,y,s) of the middle plane, and sample size (x, y) information.
These calculations are practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper, so they are evaluations, mental processes, abstract ideas. Further, the limitations are mathematical operations in textual form and are, therefore, mathematical concepts, abstract ideas.
Claim 16 fails to recite any additional limitations that confer eligibility.
Claim 16 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-10: Behzadpour
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2020141389 A to Behzadpour et al. (Beh). NOTE: The page numbers in the Beh reference refer to the translation provided on the record.)
Regarding claim 1, Beh teaches:
A system for predicting physical properties of a multilayer material having n laminated films (n is an integer of 2 or more), comprising: (Beh Page 3, Second Paragraph “Accordingly, exemplary embodiments provide methods, devices, and systems for designing and manufacturing composite parts that achieve the desired level of warpage and maintain the desired performance of the composite parts. For example, an exemplary embodiment manages a composite part. The allowable level of warpage for the composite part is specified. Warpage of a composite part is a change in the composite part during manufacturing that deviates from the design specifications of the composite part. Orientation in the stacking order is selected for the plies of the composite parts and selected so that the composite parts are manufactured using the selected orientations to obtain composite parts with acceptable levels of warpage and desired strength. Form an orientation.” – This teaches a system for predicting properties of a multilayer material having n-laminated films where n is an integer of 2 or more.)
an input unit configured for inputting input values including any one or more of an elastic modulus (Ek) of each layer (k), a Poisson's ratio (
v
k) of each layer (k), a shear modulus (Gk) of each layer (k), a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), or a lamination angle (θk) of each layer (k), coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2) or coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2) of each layer (k), a temperature change (ΔT), or a humidity change (ΔC); a control unit configured to calculate the physical properties of the multilayer material by applying input values to the input unit; a display connected to the control unit; and a storage unit connected to the control unit (Beh Page 6, Eighth Paragraph – Page 7, Ninth Paragraph “Next, with reference to FIG. 2, a block diagram of a user interface system for designing composite parts is shown according to an exemplary embodiment. […] In this exemplary embodiment, the user interface system 200 provides an interface for worker 136 to interact with at least one of the composite component designer 110 or controller 140 of the computer system 112 of FIG. As shown, the user interface system 200 includes a display system 202 and an input system 204. These components can be connected to the computer system 112 or can be considered as part of the computer system 112. In this exemplary embodiment, the display system 202 is a physical hardware system and includes one or more display devices capable of displaying the graphical user interface 206. […] “Composite component designer 110 can perform stress analysis 130 using a set of candidate orientations 128 in stacking order 120 to produce results 210. Result 210 provides data or information about at least one of strength, safety margin, warpage, stacking efficiency, or other information about composite part 102 having candidate orientation 128 of stacking order 120 of composite part 102. Can include.” – Controller, input, and display. Page 9, Last Paragraph – Page 10, Second Paragraph “As shown, column 306 contains a modulus of elasticity in the x direction and column 308 contains a value of modulus of elasticity in the y direction. Column 310 includes a Poisson's ratio value, where Vxy indicates the strain of the laminate having the plane XY in the y direction caused by the load in the x direction. As shown in column 312, Vyx is Poisson's ratio when distortion in the x direction is caused by a load in the y direction on the XY plane. In Table 302, column 314 includes the Poisson's ratio value divided by the elastic modulus in the x direction. The values in this column are obtained from the generalized Hooke's law, the governing law of orthogonally anisotropic materials, including composites, along with the application of Betty's law. This information means that the elastic properties control the strength contribution of a given thin plate in a given orientation within the context of the laminate, independent of the shear modulus Gxy. – This teaches that the system determines and ingests moduli of elasticity in each layer, as well as Poisson’s ratio in each layer. Page 13, Last Paragraph – Page 14, First Paragraph “With reference to FIG. 12, a block diagram of the data processing system is shown according to an exemplary embodiment. The data processing system 1200 can be used to implement one or more data processing systems of the computer system 112 of FIG. In this exemplary embodiment, the data processing system 1200 includes a communication framework 1202, thereby including processor unit 1204, memory 1206, fixed storage device 1208, communication unit 1210, input / output (I / O) unit 1212, and Communication between the displays 1214 takes place. In this embodiment, the communication framework 1202 takes the form of a bus system.” – Controllers/Computers have storage.)
wherein the control unit is configured to calculate any one or more of a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) of the multilayer material, a coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material, or a warpage of the multilayer material by processing values input to the input unit. (Beh Page 7, Tenth-Eleventh Paragaphs “Composite component designer 110 can perform stress analysis 130 using a set of candidate orientations 128 in stacking order 120 to produce results 210. Result 210 provides data or information about at least one of strength, safety margin, warpage, stacking efficiency, or other information about composite part 102 having candidate orientation 128 of stacking order 120 of composite part 102. Can include. The stress analysis 130 is a form of the stacking analysis 131 in this exemplary embodiment. The stacking analysis 131 can receive a structural load 222 for performing an analysis of a set of candidate orientations 128 selected by user input 208.“)
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites the method executed by the system of claim 1 and is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 2 and 10
Regarding claim 2, Beh teaches the features of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the values input to the input unit comprise any one or more of
elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in the machine direction (1) or transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) or the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), shear moduli (
G
K1,2) in the machine direction (1) or the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material, a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k); or any one or more of coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion a temperature change (ΔT), or a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k). (Beh Page 7, Paragraphs 5-8 “As shown, the composite part design 150 includes a stacking order 120 of plies 122 forming the composite part 102. In this exemplary embodiment, stacking order 120 can be obtained from design 108 of FIG. 1 of composite component 102. In this exemplary embodiment, worker 136 can select candidate orientation 128. As shown, the user input 208 can also select which plies in the stacking order 120 have a particular orientation. In short, the worker 136 maintains the same proportion of candidate orientations 128, but can change which layer in the stacking order 120 has a particular orientation. As shown, a plurality of sets of candidate orientations 128 can be displayed on the graphical user interface 206 as a ply ratio envelope 220. A set of candidate orientations 128 is the ply ratio of this exemplary embodiment. For example, the orientation of a set of candidates can be 35/50/15, where in the stacking order 120, 35 is the proportion of plies 122 with a 0 degree orientation and 50 is +/- 45 degrees. It is the ratio of the ply 122 having the orientation, and 15 is the ratio of the ply 122 having the orientation of 90 degrees. These ply percentage envelopes can be percentages of plies with different orientations. These proportions can be specific variables or ranges such as 0 degree ply, +/- 45 degree ply, and 90 degree ply. In this exemplary embodiment, the +/- 45 degree ply is an equal proportion of the + 45 degree ply and the -45 degree ply. For example, choosing 30 percent of a +/- 45 degree ply means that 15 percent of the ply is + 45 degrees and 15 percent of the ply is -45 degrees.” – This teaches input of an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material {NOTE THE 35 USC 112 REJECTIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MACHINE AND X DIRECTIONS AS WELL AS ALL OF THE REST OF THE INSUFFICIENTLY DESCRIBED DIMENSIONS}. Page 9, Last Paragraph – Page 10, First Paragraph “As shown, column 306 contains a modulus of elasticity in the x direction and column 308 contains a value of modulus of elasticity in the y direction. Column 310 includes a Poisson's ratio value, where Vxy indicates the strain of the laminate having the plane XY in the y direction caused by the load in the x direction. As shown in column 312, Vyx is Poisson's ratio when distortion in the x direction is caused by a load in the y direction on the XY plane.” – This teaches input of elastic moduli in the machine direction or transverse direction of each layer, Poisson's ratios in the machine direction or the transverse direction of each layer.)
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites the method executed by the system of claim 2 and is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 and 11-16: Beh and Haynes with Jones
Claim(s) 3-8 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020141389 A to Behzadpour et al. (Beh) in view of NPL: “The challenge of achieving hygrothermal stability in composite laminates with optimal couplings” by Haynes et al. (Haynes) and the source of the Haynes equations and variables, NPL: “Mechanics of Composite Materials” by Jones et al. (Jones).
NOTE: An overview is provided subsequently for convenience. Laminates are assumed to be thin and initially flat, and thus plane stress and small deformation assumptions are adopted, which allows CLT to be used in this development. If no mechanical loading is applied, the relationship between the non-mechanical stress resultants and the mid-plane strains and curvatures can be expressed as (Jones, 1999).” The variables in Haynes are explained in the Jones Reference. In the interest of completeness motivation to combine is provided for both of these references below.
Claims 3 and 11
Regarding claim 3, Beh teaches the features of claim 1 (and 9) and further teaches:
wherein the input unit is configured for inputting elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in a machine direction (1) and a transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), shear moduli (GK1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material, a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k). (Beh Page 7, Paragraphs 5-8 “As shown, the composite part design 150 includes a stacking order 120 of plies 122 forming the composite part 102. In this exemplary embodiment, stacking order 120 can be obtained from design 108 of FIG. 1 of composite component 102. In this exemplary embodiment, worker 136 can select candidate orientation 128. As shown, the user input 208 can also select which plies in the stacking order 120 have a particular orientation. In short, the worker 136 maintains the same proportion of candidate orientations 128, but can change which layer in the stacking order 120 has a particular orientation. As shown, a plurality of sets of candidate orientations 128 can be displayed on the graphical user interface 206 as a ply ratio envelope 220. A set of candidate orientations 128 is the ply ratio of this exemplary embodiment. For example, the orientation of a set of candidates can be 35/50/15, where in the stacking order 120, 35 is the proportion of plies 122 with a 0 degree orientation and 50 is +/- 45 degrees. It is the ratio of the ply 122 having the orientation, and 15 is the ratio of the ply 122 having the orientation of 90 degrees. These ply percentage envelopes can be percentages of plies with different orientations. These proportions can be specific variables or ranges such as 0 degree ply, +/- 45 degree ply, and 90 degree ply. In this exemplary embodiment, the +/- 45 degree ply is an equal proportion of the + 45 degree ply and the -45 degree ply. For example, choosing 30 percent of a +/- 45 degree ply means that 15 percent of the ply is + 45 degrees and 15 percent of the ply is -45 degrees.” – This teaches input of an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material {NOTE THE 35 USC 112 REJECTIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MACHINE AND X DIRECTIONS AS WELL AS ALL OF THE REST OF THE INSUFFICIENTLY DESCRIBED DIMENSIONS}. Page 9, Last Paragraph – Page 10, First Paragraph “As shown, column 306 contains a modulus of elasticity in the x direction and column 308 contains a value of modulus of elasticity in the y direction. Column 310 includes a Poisson's ratio value, where Vxy indicates the strain of the laminate having the plane XY in the y direction caused by the load in the x direction. As shown in column 312, Vyx is Poisson's ratio when distortion in the x direction is caused by a load in the y direction on the XY plane.” – This teaches input of elastic moduli in the machine direction or transverse direction of each layer, Poisson's ratios in the machine direction or the transverse direction of each layer.)
Beh teaches using the disclosed input parameters to design multilayer materials to be sufficiently strong and avoid warping by stress analysis (Beh Page 7, Paragraph 10 ” Composite component designer 110 can perform stress analysis 130 using a set of candidate orientations 128 in stacking order 120 to produce results 210. Result 210 provides data or information about at least one of strength, safety margin, warpage, stacking efficiency, or other information about composite part 102 having candidate orientation 128 of stacking order 120 of composite part 102.”, but does not appear to explicitly teach all of, but Beh in view of Haynes teaches all of:
wherein the input unit is configured for inputting elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in a machine direction (1) and a transverse direction (2) of each layer (k),
Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k),
shear moduli (GK1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k),
an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material,
a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k),
coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2),
a temperature change (ΔT), and
a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k).
Haynes Page 75:
As explained in Jones On Pages, 63 and 64
Jones Page 81:
Jones Page 217:
{{{Haynes teaches (with reference to Jones) inputs of Young Moduli, Poisson’s Ratios, and Shear Moduli in transverse directions in each layer as well as the claimed angle in one direction relative to an “arbitrary axis,” as well as thicknesses, temperature changes, and humidity changes of each layer as inputs}}}
Haynes Page 78:
{{{Haynes teaches (with reference to Jones) inputs of coefficients of thermal expansion and water expansion for each layer.}}}
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Haynes because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts to reduce warpage that causes gaps/decoupling, to look to Haynes, which provides necessary stress design features that significantly increase the level of coupling. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly. […] Therefore, it would be desirable to have a method and device that takes into account at least some of the above issues and other possible issues.”; Haynes Abstract “The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal curvature stability of composite laminates have been derived previously, and their development is summarized in this work. These conditions are shown to be material independent. A constrained optimization routine is implemented to arrive at hygrothermally stable stacking sequences that are optimal for each of bend-twist and extension-twist coupling. The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal stability are used as constraints, while the compliance coefficients from classical lamination Theory are used as the objective functions. […] A geometrically nonlinear model is presented to predict the response of bend-twist-coupled laminates. Comparison with the previous state-of-the-art stacking sequence for achieving extension-twist coupling with hygrothermal stability demonstrates a nearly 80% increase in the level of coupling.”)
Despite Jones merely being provided to explain the math and variables in Haynes, separate motivation statements are provided for each for the avoidance of doubt.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Jones because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts based on stress relationships in composite materials, to look to Jones, which provides a fundamental knowledge of stress relationships for design of composite materials. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly; Jones Preface “The objective of this book is to introduce the student to the basic concepts of the mechanical behavior of composite materials. Actually, only an overview of this vast set of topics is offered. The balance of subject areas is intended to give a fundamental knowledge of the broad scope of composite materials.”) Also, it would have been obvious to reference Jones based on the express reference in Haynes to the equations and variables from Jones.
Regarding claim 11, claim 3 includes all of the features of claim 11, so claim 11 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 3.
Claims 4 and 12
Regarding claim 4, Beh teaches the features of claim 1 (and 9). While Beh teaches using the disclosed input parameters to design multilayer materials to be sufficiently strong and avoid warping by stress analysis (Beh Page 7, Paragraph 10 ” Composite component designer 110 can perform stress analysis 130 using a set of candidate orientations 128 in stacking order 120 to produce results 210. Result 210 provides data or information about at least one of strength, safety margin, warpage, stacking efficiency, or other information about composite part 102 having candidate orientation 128 of stacking order 120 of composite part 102.”), Beh does not appear to explicitly teach all of, but Beh in view of Haynes with Jones teaches all of:
wherein the control unit is configured to: calculate stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and transverse direction (2) of each layer (k) using elastic moduli (Ek1,2) Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) and shear moduli (Gk1,2),
Haynes Page 75:
As explained in Jones On Pages, 63 and 64
set inverse matrices ([S]k1,2) for the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k),
As explained in Jones On Pages, 63 and 64
reset stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of each layer (k) by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2),
Haynes Page 76
Haynes Page 77
calculate stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material using the values of the reset stiffness matrices by receiving the thickness information of each layer (k), set compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, calculate free lamina hydrothermal strains (ek1,2) generated by water expansion of each layer (k) in a major direction of each layer (k) using coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k),
Haynes Page 77
Haynes Page 76
calculate hygrothermal strain transformations of each layer (k) by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the free lamina hydrothermal strains (eki,2),
Haynes Page 78
calculates hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), generated in the multilayer material, based on the hygrothermal strain transformations of the multilayer material, the stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of the multilayer material, which is the entire laminate, and the thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), form total forces (/N) and total moments (/M) by adding external forces (N, M) to the hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and the hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), and
Haynes Page 76
calculates a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) and coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material.
Haynes Page 77
Haynes Page 78
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Haynes because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts to reduce warpage that causes gaps/decoupling, to look to Haynes, which provides necessary stress design features that significantly increase the level of coupling. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly. […] Therefore, it would be desirable to have a method and device that takes into account at least some of the above issues and other possible issues.”; Haynes Abstract “The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal curvature stability of composite laminates have been derived previously, and their development is summarized in this work. These conditions are shown to be material independent. A constrained optimization routine is implemented to arrive at hygrothermally stable stacking sequences that are optimal for each of bend-twist and extension-twist coupling. The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal stability are used as constraints, while the compliance coefficients from classical lamination Theory are used as the objective functions. […] A geometrically nonlinear model is presented to predict the response of bend-twist-coupled laminates. Comparison with the previous state-of-the-art stacking sequence for achieving extension-twist coupling with hygrothermal stability demonstrates a nearly 80% increase in the level of coupling.”)
Despite Jones merely being provided to explain the math and variables in Haynes, separate motivation statements are provided for each for the avoidance of doubt.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Jones because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts based on stress relationships in composite materials, to look to Jones, which provides a fundamental knowledge of stress relationships for design of composite materials. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly; Jones Preface “The objective of this book is to introduce the student to the basic concepts of the mechanical behavior of composite materials. Actually, only an overview of this vast set of topics is offered. The balance of subject areas is intended to give a fundamental knowledge of the broad scope of composite materials.”) Also, it would have been obvious to reference Jones based on the express reference in Haynes to the equations and variables from Jones.
Regarding claim 12, claim 4 teaches substantially the same features as claim 12, so claim 4 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 12.
Claims 5 and 13
Regarding claim 5, Beh in view of Haynes with reference to Jones teach the features of claim 4 (and 12) and further teach:
wherein the control unit is configured to calculate strains (
∈
0x,y) and curvatures (kx,y,s) of a middle plane using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, and
calculate a warpage of the multilayer material by utilizing the curvature (kx,y,s) of the middle plane, and sample size (x, y) information.
Haynes Page 75
Haynes Page 78
Regarding claim 13, claim 5 teaches substantially the same features as claim 13, so claim 5 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 13.
Claims 6 and 14
Regarding claim 6, Beh teaches the features of claim 1 (and 9). Beh does not appear to explicitly teach, but Beh in view of Haynes with reference to Jones teaches:
wherein (after the setting of the compliance matrices) the control unit also is further configured to calculate elastic moduli (Ex,y), shear moduli (Gx,y), and Poisson's ratios (
v
x,y) of the multilayer material using the total thickness (h) of the multilayer material and the values of compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y).
Haynes Page 77
Haynes Page 78
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Haynes because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts to reduce warpage that causes gaps/decoupling, to look to Haynes, which provides necessary stress design features that significantly increase the level of coupling. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly. […] Therefore, it would be desirable to have a method and device that takes into account at least some of the above issues and other possible issues.”; Haynes Abstract “The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal curvature stability of composite laminates have been derived previously, and their development is summarized in this work. These conditions are shown to be material independent. A constrained optimization routine is implemented to arrive at hygrothermally stable stacking sequences that are optimal for each of bend-twist and extension-twist coupling. The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal stability are used as constraints, while the compliance coefficients from classical lamination Theory are used as the objective functions. […] A geometrically nonlinear model is presented to predict the response of bend-twist-coupled laminates. Comparison with the previous state-of-the-art stacking sequence for achieving extension-twist coupling with hygrothermal stability demonstrates a nearly 80% increase in the level of coupling.”)
Despite Jones merely being provided to explain the math and variables in Haynes, separate motivation statements are provided for each for the avoidance of doubt.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Jones because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts based on stress relationships in composite materials, to look to Jones, which provides a fundamental knowledge of stress relationships for design of composite materials. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly; Jones Preface “The objective of this book is to introduce the student to the basic concepts of the mechanical behavior of composite materials. Actually, only an overview of this vast set of topics is offered. The balance of subject areas is intended to give a fundamental knowledge of the broad scope of composite materials.”) Also, it would have been obvious to reference Jones based on the express reference in Haynes to the equations and variables from Jones.
Regarding claim 14, claim 6 teaches substantially the same features as claim 14, so claim 6 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 14.
Claims 7 and 15
Regarding claim 7, Beh teaches the features of claim 1 (and claim 9) and further teaches:
wherein the input unit is configured for inputting elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in a machine direction (1) and a transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k), an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material, (Beh Page 7, Paragraphs 5-8 “As shown, the composite part design 150 includes a stacking order 120 of plies 122 forming the composite part 102. In this exemplary embodiment, stacking order 120 can be obtained from design 108 of FIG. 1 of composite component 102. In this exemplary embodiment, worker 136 can select candidate orientation 128. As shown, the user input 208 can also select which plies in the stacking order 120 have a particular orientation. In short, the worker 136 maintains the same proportion of candidate orientations 128, but can change which layer in the stacking order 120 has a particular orientation. As shown, a plurality of sets of candidate orientations 128 can be displayed on the graphical user interface 206 as a ply ratio envelope 220. A set of candidate orientations 128 is the ply ratio of this exemplary embodiment. For example, the orientation of a set of candidates can be 35/50/15, where in the stacking order 120, 35 is the proportion of plies 122 with a 0 degree orientation and 50 is +/- 45 degrees. It is the ratio of the ply 122 having the orientation, and 15 is the ratio of the ply 122 having the orientation of 90 degrees. These ply percentage envelopes can be percentages of plies with different orientations. These proportions can be specific variables or ranges such as 0 degree ply, +/- 45 degree ply, and 90 degree ply. In this exemplary embodiment, the +/- 45 degree ply is an equal proportion of the + 45 degree ply and the -45 degree ply. For example, choosing 30 percent of a +/- 45 degree ply means that 15 percent of the ply is + 45 degrees and 15 percent of the ply is -45 degrees.” – This teaches input of an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material {NOTE THE 35 USC 112 REJECTIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MACHINE AND X DIRECTIONS AS WELL AS ALL OF THE REST OF THE INSUFFICIENTLY DESCRIBED DIMENSIONS}. Page 9, Last Paragraph – Page 10, First Paragraph “As shown, column 306 contains a modulus of elasticity in the x direction and column 308 contains a value of modulus of elasticity in the y direction. Column 310 includes a Poisson's ratio value, where Vxy indicates the strain of the laminate having the plane XY in the y direction caused by the load in the x direction. As shown in column 312, Vyx is Poisson's ratio when distortion in the x direction is caused by a load in the y direction on the XY plane.” – This teaches input of elastic moduli in the machine direction or transverse direction of each layer, Poisson's ratios in the machine direction or the transverse direction of each layer.)
Beh teaches using the disclosed input parameters to design multilayer materials to be sufficiently strong and avoid warping by stress analysis (Beh Page 7, Paragraph 10 ” Composite component designer 110 can perform stress analysis 130 using a set of candidate orientations 128 in stacking order 120 to produce results 210. Result 210 provides data or information about at least one of strength, safety margin, warpage, stacking efficiency, or other information about composite part 102 having candidate orientation 128 of stacking order 120 of composite part 102.”, but does not appear to explicitly teach all of, but Beh in view of Haynes teaches all of:
wherein the input unit is configured for inputting elastic moduli (Ek1,2) in a machine direction (1) and a transverse direction (2) of each layer (k),
Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k),
shear moduli (GK1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k),
an angle (θk) in the machine direction (1) of each layer with respect to the x direction of the multilayer material, wherein the x direction means an arbitrarily set direction in a plane of the multilayer material,
a thickness (Zk) of each layer (k),
coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2),
a temperature change (ΔT), and
a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k).
Haynes Page 75:
As explained in Jones On Pages, 63 and 64
Jones Page 81:
Jones Page 217:
{{{Haynes teaches (with reference to Jones) inputs of Young Moduli, Poisson’s Ratios, and Shear Moduli in transverse directions in each layer as well as the claimed angle in one direction relative to an “arbitrary axis,” as well as thicknesses, temperature changes, and humidity changes of each layer as inputs}}}
Haynes Page 78:
{{{Haynes teaches (with reference to Jones inputs of coefficients of thermal expansion and water expansion for each layer.}}}
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Haynes because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts to reduce warpage that causes gaps/decoupling, to look to Haynes, which provides necessary stress design features that significantly increase the level of coupling. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly. […] Therefore, it would be desirable to have a method and device that takes into account at least some of the above issues and other possible issues.”; Haynes Abstract “The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal curvature stability of composite laminates have been derived previously, and their development is summarized in this work. These conditions are shown to be material independent. A constrained optimization routine is implemented to arrive at hygrothermally stable stacking sequences that are optimal for each of bend-twist and extension-twist coupling. The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal stability are used as constraints, while the compliance coefficients from classical lamination Theory are used as the objective functions. […] A geometrically nonlinear model is presented to predict the response of bend-twist-coupled laminates. Comparison with the previous state-of-the-art stacking sequence for achieving extension-twist coupling with hygrothermal stability demonstrates a nearly 80% increase in the level of coupling.”)
Despite Jones merely being provided to explain the math and variables in Haynes, separate motivation statements are provided for each for the avoidance of doubt.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Jones because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts based on stress relationships in composite materials, to look to Jones, which provides a fundamental knowledge of stress relationships for design of composite materials. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly; Jones Preface “The objective of this book is to introduce the student to the basic concepts of the mechanical behavior of composite materials. Actually, only an overview of this vast set of topics is offered. The balance of subject areas is intended to give a fundamental knowledge of the broad scope of composite materials.”) Also, it would have been obvious to reference Jones based on the express reference in Haynes to the equations and variables from Jones.
Regarding claim 15, claim 7 teaches the features of claim 15, so claim 15 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 7.
Claims 8 and 16
Regarding claim 8, Beh teaches the features of claim 1 (and claim 9). While Beh teaches using the disclosed input parameters to design multilayer materials to be sufficiently strong and avoid warping by stress analysis (Beh Page 7, Paragraph 10 ” Composite component designer 110 can perform stress analysis 130 using a set of candidate orientations 128 in stacking order 120 to produce results 210. Result 210 provides data or information about at least one of strength, safety margin, warpage, stacking efficiency, or other information about composite part 102 having candidate orientation 128 of stacking order 120 of composite part 102.”), Beh does not appear to explicitly teach all of, but Beh in view of Haynes with reference to Jones teaches all of:
wherein the control unit is configured to: calculate stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and transverse direction (2) of each layer (k) using elastic moduli (Ek1,2) Poisson's ratios (
v
k1,2) and shear moduli (Gk1,2),
Haynes Page 75:
As explained in Jones On Pages, 63 and 64
set inverse matrices ([S]k1,2) for the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2) in the machine direction (1) and the transverse direction (2) of each layer (k),
As explained in Jones On Pages, 63 and 64
reset stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of each layer (k) by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the stiffness matrices ([Q]k1,2),
Haynes Page 76
Haynes Page 77
calculate stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material using the values of the reset stiffness matrices by receiving the thickness information of each layer (k), set compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, calculate elastic moduli (Ex,y), shear moduli (Gx,y), and Poisson's ratios (
v
x,y) of the multilayer material using the total thickness (h) of the multilayer material and the values of the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y), calculate free lamina hydrothermal strains (ek1,2) generated by water expansion of each layer (k) in a major direction of each layer (k) using coefficients of thermal expansion (αk1,2), coefficients of water expansion (βk1,2), a temperature change (ΔT), and a humidity change (ΔC) of each layer (k),
Haynes Page 77
Haynes Page 76
calculate hygrothermal strain transformations of each layer (k) by reflecting a lamination angle (θk) of the multilayer material in the free lamina hydrothermal strains (eki,2),
Haynes Page 78
calculate hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), generated in the multilayer material, based on the hygrothermal strain transformations of the multilayer material, the stiffness matrices ([Q]kx,y) of the multilayer material, which is the entire laminate, and the thickness (Zk) of each layer (k), form total forces (/N) and total moments (/M) by adding external forces (N, M) to the hygrothermal forces (NHTx,y,s) and the hygrothermal moments (MHTx,y,s), and
Haynes Page 76
calculates a coefficient of thermal expansion (α) and coefficient of water expansion (β) of the multilayer material using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material.
Haynes Page 77
Haynes Page 78
calculate strains (
∈
0x,y) and curvatures (kx,y,s) of a middle plane using the total forces (/N) and the total moments (/M), and the compliance matrices ([a]x,y, [b]x,y, [c]x,y, [d]x,y) for the stiffness matrices ([A]x,y, [B]x,y, [D]x,y) of the multilayer material, and
Haynes Page 77
Haynes Page 78
calculate a warpage of the multilayer material by utilizing the curvature (kx,y,s) of the middle plane, and sample size (x, y) information.
Haynes Page 78
Haynes Page 79
Haynes Page 80
NOTE: These calculate warping via twisting forces.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Haynes because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts to reduce warpage that causes gaps/decoupling, to look to Haynes, which provides necessary stress design features that significantly increase the level of coupling. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly. […] Therefore, it would be desirable to have a method and device that takes into account at least some of the above issues and other possible issues.”; Haynes Abstract “The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal curvature stability of composite laminates have been derived previously, and their development is summarized in this work. These conditions are shown to be material independent. A constrained optimization routine is implemented to arrive at hygrothermally stable stacking sequences that are optimal for each of bend-twist and extension-twist coupling. The necessary and sufficient conditions for hygrothermal stability are used as constraints, while the compliance coefficients from classical lamination Theory are used as the objective functions. […] A geometrically nonlinear model is presented to predict the response of bend-twist-coupled laminates. Comparison with the previous state-of-the-art stacking sequence for achieving extension-twist coupling with hygrothermal stability demonstrates a nearly 80% increase in the level of coupling.”)
Despite Jones merely being provided to explain the math and variables in Haynes, separate motivation statements are provided for each for the avoidance of doubt.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the generic mention of stress design determinations of the component designer in Beh by the specific stress design determinations of Jones because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim in Beh to design multilayer parts based on stress relationships in composite materials, to look to Jones, which provides a fundamental knowledge of stress relationships for design of composite materials. (Beh Page 2, Third-Ninth Paragraphs “Warpage can cause a composite part to not fit as desired with other composite parts when assembling aircraft parts. As a result, gaps may be present when the parts are placed together for assembly; Jones Preface “The objective of this book is to introduce the student to the basic concepts of the mechanical behavior of composite materials. Actually, only an overview of this vast set of topics is offered. The balance of subject areas is intended to give a fundamental knowledge of the broad scope of composite materials.”) Also, it would have been obvious to reference Jones based on the express reference in Haynes to the equations and variables from Jones.
Regarding claim 16, claim 8 recites substantially the same features as claim 16, so claim 16 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL: “Families of Hygrothermally Stable Asymmetric Laminated Composites” by Cross et al. (Teaches hygrothermal expansion calculations)
NPL: “Dimensional stability of multi-layered wood-based panels: a review” by Rindler et al. (Teaches hygrothermal deformation calculations for composite materials)
NPL: “Anisotropic behaviors of moisture absorption and hygroscopic swelling of unidirectional flax fiber reinforced composites” by Wang et al. (Teaches hygrothermal expansion calculations in anisotropic composites)
NPL: “Die and Package Level Thermal and Thermal/Moisture Stresses in 3-D Packaging: Modeling and Characterization” by Chen et al. (Teaches modeling thermal and moisture stresses in composite materials)
NPL: “Effect of anisotropic thermo-elastic properties of woven-fabric laminates on diagonal warpage of thin package substrates” by Lee et al. (Teaches calculating warpage due to thermal expansion on laminates)
NPL: “Warpage Estimation of a Multilayer Package Including Cure Shrinkage Effects” by Jansen et al. (Teaches warpage calculation of laminates from thermal expansion)
CN 107531037 A to Nozawa et al. (Teaches internal stress calculations for laminates)
KR 20200083567 A to Yoshaiki (Teaches structures of laminates and internal stress calculations therefor)
/J.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188