DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato (JP2019000852), copy provided by applicants with the IDS filed 4/17/2023 with English Abstract
Regarding claim 1. An apparatus for preventing welding distortion, comprising:
Sato discloses:
at least one counterweight(12) disposed to be in contact with one side of a flange(Fig. 3, 12 in contact with 8), to be welded to a pipe(4), and having a hollow portion therein(44 and 34 being hollow); and
a fastener (23)fixing the counterweight to the flange(23 fixing 12 to 8), wherein the hollow portion(44 and 34) of the counterweight accommodates a refrigerant(See abstract, 34 and 44 housing coolant).
Regarding claim 6.
Sato discloses:
A method for welding a pipe and a flange, comprising operations of: fixing a counterweight of the apparatus for preventing welding distortion according to claim 1, to one side of a flange; and welding the flange to a pipe on the other side of the flange. (See abstract and fig. 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2019000852), copy provided by applicants with the IDS filed 4/17/2023 with English Abstract.
Regarding claim 3.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Sato does not disclose:
The apparatus for preventing welding distortion of claim 1, wherein the counterweight is formed of the same material as the flange, or a material having higher thermal conductivity than that of the material of the flange.
Howver, the device of Sato could be made of the same or different material, having the same, or higher or lower thermal conductivity of the flange. Sato discloses that he purpose of the device is to provide cooling in during the welding operation. As such, it would have been obvious to try to make the device 12 of the same, or different material having a higher thermal conductivity for the purpose of removing heat from the weld. Thus, the features of claim 3 would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP2143(I)(E).
Regarding claim 4.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Sato does not disclose:
The apparatus for preventing welding distortion of claim 1, wherein a plurality of through-holes for installing the fastener are formed in the counterweight.
However, Sato disclose that the device is clamped onto a pipe using 23.
However, However, using the though-holes is merely applying a known technique to obtain a predictable result which as been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(D). Here there is no evidence that the recited features would provide a different result and as such, the features of claim 4 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 8.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 6.
Sato does not disclose:
The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 6, wherein, when the flange and the pipe are welded, Y-type improvement is applied.
However, Sato discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of enhanced cooling and heat sinking of the welded part. As such, it would have been obvious that at least a portion of the improvement would be y-type, and as such, the features of claim 8 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 2, 5, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2019000852), copy provided by applicants with the IDS filed 4/17/2023 with English Abstract in view of Matherne (U.S. Patent No. 5,706,863).
Regarding claim 2.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Sato does not disclose:
The apparatus for preventing welding distortion of claim 1, wherein a flow path communicating the hollow portion and external portions in the counterweight, in order to inject or discharge the refrigerant.
IN related art, Matherne discloses:
a flow path communicating the hollow portion and external portions in the counterweight, in order to inject or discharge the refrigerant. (40D and 40C being the flow path of fluid and col. 4, lines 28-41).
Matherne discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of enhanced cooling of the weld area. As such, it would have been obvious to provide the fluid exchange system of Matherne to the device of Sato for the benefit of enhancing the cooling of weld areas. Thus the features of claim 2 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Sato does not disclose:
The apparatus for preventing welding distortion of claim 1, further comprising: a support interposed between the counterweight and the flange to impart distortion to the flange when fastened by the fastener.
In related art, Matherne discloses:
The apparatus for preventing welding distortion of claim 1, further comprising: a support interposed(8) between the counterweight(21) and the flange(4) to impart distortion to the flange when fastened by the fastener(44). (See Fig. 5-13).
Matherne disclose that the recited features provide the benefit of reduced formation due to heat from the welding operation. It would have been obvious to provide the recited features to the device of Sato for the obvious benefit of providing less deformation.
Regarding claim 7.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 6.
Sato does not disclose:
The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 6, further comprising: an operation of imparting distortion to the flange by interposing a support between the counterweight and the flange, in the fixing operation.
In related art, Matherne discloses:
The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 6, further comprising: an operation of imparting distortion to the flange by interposing (8) a support between the counterweight(21) and the flange(4), in the fixing operation(44).. (See Fig. 5-13, and abstract).
Matherne disclose that the recited features provide the benefit of reduced formation due to heat from the welding operation. It would have been obvious to provide the recited features to the device of Sato for the obvious benefit of providing less deformation.
Regarding claim 9.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 8.
Sato does not disclose:
The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 8, wherein, among the Y-type improvements, high heat input welding is performed on a smooth portion of a central portion, as compared to an inclined portion thereof.
In related art, Matherne discloses welding at the bevel, 42, at col. 4, lines 27-41. It would Matherne depicts a smooth portion of the bevel. As such, the welding would be performed on the smooth portion of the of the bevel, in the central area. Matherne discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing the features to be joined using welding with minimized deformation. As such, the features of claim 9 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 9.
Sato does not disclose:
The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 9, wherein a radial length of the smooth portion does not exceed 30 mm.
Howveer, the features of Matherne discloses a smooth portion, in fig. 16 may be over or under 30mm. IT would have been obvious to make the area under 30mm, for the obvious benefit of making the welds between a thinner pipe sections. As such, the features of claim 10 would have been obvious to try. See MPEP 2143(I)(E)
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2019000852), copy provided by applicants with the IDS filed 4/17/2023 with English Abstract in view of Schmit (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0053154).
Regarding claims 11-13.
Sato discloses all of the features of claim 6.
Sato does not disclose:
The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 6, further comprising: an operation of performing a heat-treatment of the pipe to correct welding distortion, generated in the pipe, after the welding operation is completed.
Regarding claim 12. The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 11, wherein the operation of performing the heat-treatment is performed for the pipe in an opposite side of the flange in a welded portion, and heating is controlled so that a maximum temperature on a surface of the pipe does not exceed 500° C.
Regarding claim 13. The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 11, further comprising operations of: cooling the pipe when the operation of performing the heat-treatment is completed; and separating the apparatus for preventing welding distortion from the flange.
In related art, Schmit discloses:
The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 6, further comprising: an operation of performing a heat-treatment of the pipe to correct welding distortion, generated in the pipe, after the welding operation is completed.(Abstract, [0004], [0401] [00441] [00465])
Regarding claim 12. The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 11, wherein the operation of performing the heat-treatment is performed for the pipe in an opposite side of the flange in a welded portion, and heating is controlled so that a maximum temperature on a surface of the pipe does not exceed 500° C. (Abstract, [0004], [0401] [00441] [00465])
Regarding claim 13. The method for welding a pipe and a flange of claim 11, further comprising operations of: cooling the pipe when the operation of performing the heat-treatment is completed; and separating the apparatus for preventing welding distortion from the flange. (Abstract, [0004], [0401] [00441] [00465])
Schmit discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of reduced distortion from welding. As such, the recited features of claims 11-13 would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898