DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark, applicant argued (1) the reference ETRI does not describe anything related to an idle period-u (IP-u) configuration. (2) ETRI does not teach a collision between the beginning of the FFP-u and the IP-g.
Examiner traverse the argument.
As to point (1), ETRI teaches proposal 1 to allow simultaneous configuration of DL FFP (i.e. FFP-g) and UL FFP (i.e. FFP-u) in a serving cell (see Proposal 1 in Section 2.3). This means the FFP-g configuration and FFP-u configuration are simultaneous received and configured. ETRI further discloses in figures 2 and 3 that the DL FFP (i.e. FFP-g) and UL FFP (i.e. FFP-u) to include idle periods (the figures specifically show the length of UL FFP and DL FFP to include idle period). Therefore, it is clearly that the configuration of the FFP-g and FFP-u includes IP-g and IP-u configurations respectively.
As to point (2), ETRI specifically disclosed in figure 3 to leave a transmission gap to prevent the UL transmission (i.e. FFP-u) during the idle periods (IP-g and IP-u according to Section 2.2) to solve the problem of “if a configured PUSCH for URLLC is to be transmitted in the front of a FFP, the validation of the PUSCH would be an issue and still some DL processing delay should be there” stated in Section 2.2. This meet the claimed limitation of “in a case the beginning of the FFP-u collides with an IP-g, a PUSCH transmission overlapping with a period after the sensing slot and before the end of the IP-g is not scheduled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ETRI, Discussion on enhancements for URLLC in unlicensed bands, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e R1-2006356, 2020.08.28 (hereinafter ETRI).
ETRI is cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 1, ETRI teaches the invention including a terminal device comprising:
Reception circuitry configured to:
sense a channel (Section 2.2, Section 2.3), and
receive a fixed frame period-g (FFP-g) configuration including an idle period-g (IP-g) configuration, and an FFP-u configuration including an IP-u configuration (Section 2.3 UE-initiated COT in FBE: simultaneous configuration of DL FFP and UL FFP; figures 2 and 3 show DL FFP and UL FFP configured with corresponding idle periods); and
Transmission circuitry configured to:
attempt to initiate a channel occupancy time-u (COT-u) at a beginning of an FFP-u after the channel is sensed to be idle in a sensing slot (Section 2.2., Section 2.3), and
transmit an uplink transmission burst within the COT-u (Section 2.3 UE-initiated COT in FBE: When UE initiates a COT, the UE can immediately transmit a PUSCH without waiting for a successful DL detection), wherein
In a case that the beginning of the FFP-u collides with an IP-g, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, overlapping with a period after the sensing slot and before an end of the IP-g, is not scheduled (Section 2.2, figures 2 and 3: Transmission gap due to idle period, slot format, etc.); and
In a case that the beginning of the FFP-u does not collide with the IP-g, the PUSCH transmission is scheduled and a PUSCH transmitted (figure 3: UL transmission).
As per claim 2, ETRI teaches the invention including a base station device comprising:
transmission circuitry configured to signal a fixed frame period-g (FFP-g) configuration including an idle period-g (IP-g) configuration and an FFP-u configuration including an IP-u configuration (Section 2.3 UE-initiated COT in FBE: simultaneous configuration of DL FFP and UL FFP; figures 2 and 3 show DL FFP and UL FFP configured with corresponding idle periods); and
Reception circuitry configured to:
attempt to detect a channel occupancy time-u (COT-u) at a beginning of an FFP-u after a channel is sensed to be idle in a sensing slot (Section 2.2., Section 2.3), and
receive an uplink transmission burst within the COT-u (Section 2.3 UE-initiated COT in FBE: When UE initiates a COT, the UE can immediately transmit a PUSCH without waiting for a successful DL detection), wherein
In a case that the beginning of the FFP-u collides with an IP-g, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, overlapping with a period after the sensing slot and before an end of the IP-g, is not scheduled (Section 2.2, figures 2 and 3: Transmission gap due to idle period, slot format, etc.); and
In a case that the beginning of the FFP-u does not collide with the IP-g, the PUSCH transmission is scheduled and a PUSCH is transmitted (figure 3: UL transmission).
As per claim 3, ETRI teaches the invention including a communication method performed by a terminal device, the communication method comprising:
Sensing a channel (Section 2.2, Section 2.3);
receiving a fixed frame period-g (FFP-g) configuration including an idle period-g (IP-g) configuration, and an FFP-u configuration including an IP-u configuration (Section 2.3 UE-initiated COT in FBE: simultaneous configuration of DL FFP and UL FFP; figures 2 and 3 show DL FFP and UL FFP configured with corresponding idle periods); and
Attempting to initiate a channel occupancy time-u (COT-u) at a beginning of an FFP-u after the channel is sensed to be idle in a sensing slot (Section 2.2., Section 2.3); and
transmitting an uplink transmission burst within the COT-u (Section 2.3 UE-initiated COT in FBE: When UE initiates a COT, the UE can immediately transmit a PUSCH without waiting for a successful DL detection), wherein
In a case that the beginning of the FFP-u collides with an IP-g, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, overlapping with a period after the sensing slot and before an end of the IP-g, is not scheduled (Section 2.2, figures 2 and 3: Transmission gap due to idle period, slot format, etc.); and
In a case that the beginning of the FFP-u does not collide with the IP-g, the PUSCH transmission is scheduled and a PUSCH is transmitted (figure 3: UL transmission).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
August 27, 2025