DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species a) figures 1-3c, claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, 13, 14, 18-19, 23, 25, 28, and 30-31 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 9, 10, 15, 20, 26-27, and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/23/2025.
In regards to applicant’s remarks that claims 1, 2, 8, 11, 18-19, 25, 28, and 31 are generic, the examiner agrees with Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, 18-19, 23, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kourtis et al (US 20210146052 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kourtis discloses a drug delivery device assembly 20 comprising:
an injector housing having a body with a proximal end, a distal end, a longitudinal axis extending between the proximal end and the distal end, and at least one window 110;
a needle assembly 22 at least partially disposed within the body, the needle assembly comprising a syringe barrel 30 containing a medicament, a plunger stopper 32 disposed in the syringe barrel, and a needle or a cannula 34;
a drive assembly 24 at least partially disposed within the body and operably coupled with the needle assembly to urge the medicament through the needle or cannula during an injection sequence; and
a dose feedback accessory 104, including:
an accessory body 125 configured to be selectively coupled with the injector housing; and
a feedback indicator ([0055, 0058, 0078]; figs 8, 12-17; abstract) configured to convey to a user information relating to an injection status event.
Regarding claim 2, Kourtis discloses the dose feedback accessory 104 further includes a sensor 28,104 configured to detect the injection status event (figs 8-16; [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Kourtis discloses the accessory body 125 is configured to slide on to the injector housing and/or slide off of the injector housing (figs 8-9); [0086].
Regarding claim 8, Kourtis discloses the accessory body 125 includes an opening 128 configured to receive and selectively couple with at least a portion of the injector housing.
Regarding claim 11, Kourtis discloses the feedback indicator includes (a) at least one light source that signifies a movement or a position of the plunger stopper [0003,0052, 0054, 0076-0078].
Regarding claim 18, Kourtis discloses an accessory 104 for a drug delivery device 20, comprising:
an accessory body 125 configured to be selectively coupled with an injector; and
a feedback indicator ([0055, 0058, 0078]; figs 8, 12-17; abstract) configured to convey to a user information relating to an injection status event.
Regarding claim 19, Kourtis discloses the feedback indicator comprises a sensor 28,104 configured to detect an injection status event of the drug delivery device (figs 8-16; [0005]).
Regarding claim 23, Kourtis discloses the accessory body 125 is configured to slide on to the drug delivery device and/or off of the drug delivery device (figs 8-9; [0086]).
Regarding claim 25, Kourtis discloses the accessory body 125 includes an opening 128 configured to receive and selectively couple with at least a portion of the drug delivery device 20.
Regarding claim 28, Kourtis discloses the feedback indicator includes (a) at least one light source that signifies a movement or a position of a plunger stopper of the drug delivery device [0003,0052, 0054, 0076-0078].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kourtis et al. (US 20210146052 A1) in view of Cabiri et al (US 20190022323 A1/see US 11311674 B2 drawings).
Regarding claims 13, 14, 30 and 31, Kourtis discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Kourtis discloses in [0057, 0055, 0058, 0078] the feedback indicator can include a plurality of lights and detectors aligned with a window [0052,0059 and provide an injection completion countdown [0052, 0053, 0066, 0073, 0074]], but does not specifically state how the plurality of light sources that each signify a movement or a position of the plunger stopper of the drug delivery device and the plurality of light sources are generally aligned with the window 118.
Cabiri teaches a drug delivery device including a status indicator light 104 [0024, 0121- 0124, 0166] viewing of a plunger position [0161, 0166] along a window 162 and provide an injection completion countdown [0125, 0205].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kourtis’s plurality light sources in the feedback indicator with the teachings of Cabiri’s plurality of light sources where each signify a movement or a position of the plunger stopper since such modification would allow the user to have more information of the drug delivery device status.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Cris L. Rodriguez/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783