Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of Figs. 7-15, readable on claims 1-11, in the reply filed on April 15, 2026, is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/14/24, 8/6/25, 3/9/26, and 4/18/23 were filed and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Japanese Publication (JP 2003-94368) (See IDS).
RE claim 1, the Japanese Publication (JP 2003-94368) discloses a gripping hand (See Figs. 1-6) comprising: a hand part (37, 37’) capable of taking out a workpiece (5); a workpiece holding part (35, 35’) capable of holding the taken out workpiece by pressing the workpiece against a predetermined position; and a base part (3, 11) (see Exhibit A) capable of supporting the hand part and the workpiece holding part.
Exhibit A
RE claims 10 and 11, the Japanese Publication (JP 2003-94368), as presented above, further and a conveying device (11) (see paragraph [0017] of translation) to which the hand is attached and a method of taking out the workpiece by the hand; conveying the taken out workpiece to the vicinity of a predetermined position by the conveying device; and holding the taken out workpiece by pressing the workpiece against the predetermined position (see paragraph [0030] and [0032] of translation).
RE claism 7 and 8, Figs. 1 and 2 of the Japanese Publication (JP 2003-94368) show that the workpiece holding part is capable of pressing and holding the workpiece (5) in one direction wherein the workpiece holding part has one or a plurality of movable members (15, 17) (see Fig. 2) configured to move forward and backward in a predetermined direction.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629) (See IDS).
RE claim 1, Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629) discloses a gripping hand (See Figs. 1-12B) comprising: a hand part (21, 22) capable of taking out a workpiece (C); a workpiece holding part (101) (see Figs. 3 & 4) capable of holding the taken out workpiece by pressing the workpiece against a predetermined position; and a base part (23) (see Fig. 2 ) capable of supporting the hand part and the workpiece holding part.
RE claim 2, Fig. 2 of Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629) teaches the base part (23) has a hand rotating part capable of rotating an entirety of the hand when being assembly or disassembled by a mechanic.
RE claims 10 and 11, Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629), as presented above, further and a conveying device (100, 102) (see paragraphs [0043-0049]) to which the hand is attached and a method of taking out the workpiece by the hand; conveying the taken out workpiece to the vicinity of a predetermined position by the conveying device; and holding the taken out workpiece by pressing the workpiece against the predetermined position (see paragraphs [0043-0049]).
RE claism 7 and 8, Figs. 3-6 of Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629) show that the workpiece holding part is capable of pressing and holding the workpiece (C) in one direction or more directions wherein the workpiece holding part has one or a plurality of movable members (21, 22, 30) (see Figs. 3 & 4) configured to move forward and backward in a predetermined direction.
RE claim 9, Figs. 3-6 of Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629) teach the workpiece holding part further has a supporting member (20) configured to support the movable member (210 or 30), and the supporting member has a contact surface (31 oe 32) capable of contacting the predetermined position against which the workpiece is pressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Japanese Publication (JP 2003-94368) (See IDS) in view of the Japanese Publication (JP 2019-152447) (See IDS).
RE claims 2 and 3, the Japanese Publication (JP 2003-94368), as presented above, does not specifically show the base part has a hand rotating part configured to rotate an entirety of the hand the hand wherein the hand part is configured to rotate in units of 180 degrees corresponding to a motion of the hand rotating part. However, Figs. 1 and 2 of
the Japanese Publication (JP 2019-152447) teach the base part has a hand rotating part (see Fig. 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the lifting and supporting art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a hand rotating part on the Japanese Publication (JP 2003-94368) as taught by the Japanese Publication (JP 2019-152447) to provide a flexibility to rotate so that a user can grasp the workpieces in angles.
RE claims 7 and 8, Figs. 1 and 2 of the Japanese Publication (JP 2019-152447) teach workpiece holding part has one or a plurality of movable members (105, 106, 102). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the lifting and supporting art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide one of a plurality of movable members on the Japanese Publication (JP 2003-94368) as taught by the Japanese Publication (JP 2019-152447) to provide a flexibility to rotate so that a user can grasp the workpieces in angles.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629).
Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629), as presented above, does not specifically show the hand part (23) is configured to rotate in units of 180 degrees corresponding to a motion of the hand rotating part (23) or the workpiece holding part (30, 40) is configured to rotate in units of 90 degrees. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the lifting and supporting art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the hand rotating part (23) or the workpiece holding part (30, 40) on the Matsuzaki et al. (US 2020/0254629) for a mechanic or an assembly to be able to rotate to grasp a workpiece.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654