DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1 – 3 5, 7 – 10, 13 – 18. Claims 19 – 22 are allowed.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Houle (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0255498 A1)
Regarding Independent claim 16, Houle teaches a surface cleaning method comprising simultaneously applying ultrasound emissions and RF frequency electromagnetic emissions to a surface to be cleaned (Paragraph [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 7 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houle (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0255498 A1).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Houle teaches a cleaning unit for a surface cleaning device (Fig. 15), the cleaning unit (applicator, 88) comprising: a body (body, 89); an arrangement of protrusions or cleaning elements on a face of the body (Paragraph [0303] – soft polymer bristles), for making operative contact with a surface-to-be-cleaned during use for enabling a mechanical cleaning action (Paragraph [0303]); an ultrasound transducer arrangement carried by the body (Paragraph [0303]), the transducer arrangement comprising one or more ultrasonic transducers (transducers, 93) adapted to generate ultrasonic emissions responsive to one or more drive signals; an electromagnetic emitter arrangement carried by the body (Paragraph [0156]), the electromagnetic emitter arrangement adapted to generate radio frequency electromagnetic emissions responsive to supply of a radiofrequency drive signal (Paragraph [0156]); wherein the ultrasound transducer arrangement and the emitter arrangement are arranged for generation of ultrasonic emissions and EM emissions which overlap spatially, to permit simultaneous ultrasound and RF stimulation of a surface-to-be-cleaned (Paragraph [0031]).
Although Houle does not explicitly say applying ultrasonic emissions and EM emissions which overlap spatially, the reference inherently teaches the limitation in that it explicitly teaches electromagnetic energy and/or ultrasound energy and/or thermal energy and/or electrical energy and/or an electric field and/or a magnetic field are delivered and/or applied to the treatment site; therefore, electromagnetic energy and ultrasound energy are applied to the site, thus overlapping since they would share a common site.
Regarding claim 2, Houle teaches the cleaning unit wherein the body (89) comprises a first outer surface (Fig. 15) forming a first face (sidewall, 92; Fig. 16) of the body (89), the first face (92) for positioning adjacent to surfaces to be cleaned during use (Fig. 16), and wherein the transducer arrangement and the electromagnetic emitter arrangement are each arranged to generate emissions which propagate in a direction out from at least a portion of the first face (92; Paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Houle teaches the cleaning unit wherein the body (89) comprises an acoustic wave directing element arranged to receive the ultrasonic emissions from the ultrasound transducer arrangement and to redirect the emissions along a pre-defined one or more propagation paths out from and/or away from the body (Paragraphs [0155] and [0160]).
Regarding claim 7, Houle teaches the cleaning unit wherein the body (89) comprises a first outer face (92), and wherein the transducer (93) arrangement is arranged for generating ultrasonic emissions which propagate out from at least a portion of the first face (92; Fig. 16), and wherein the first face (92) carries the arrangement of protrusions extending outwardly from the first face (Paragraph [0303]), the protrusions for making operative contact with a surface-to-be-cleaned
Houle does not explicitly teach the protrusions extend to a maximum height from the first face of less than or equal to 5 mm, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Houle to further include the protrusions extend to a maximum height from the first face of less than or equal to 5 mm, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). Such a modification would be beneficial in that the specific maximum height allows for effective cleaning of the surface to be cleaned
Regarding claim 8, Houle teaches the cleaning unit having protrusions as discussed in Paragraph [0303].
Houle does not explicitly teach the protrusions are formed of a material having a Shore A Scale hardness of between 5 to 120.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Houle to further include the protrusions are formed of a material having a Shore A Scale hardness of between 5 to 120, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the unit (MPEP 2144.04). Such a modification would be beneficial in that it would reduce the risk of damage to gums and other soft tissue.
Regarding claim 8, Houle teaches the cleaning unit having protrusions as discussed in Paragraph [0303].
Houle does not explicitly teach the protrusions are formed of a material having a Shore A Scale hardness of between 5 to 120.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Houle to further include the protrusions are formed of a material having a Shore A Scale hardness of between 5 to 120, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the unit (MPEP 2144.04). Such a modification would be beneficial in that it would reduce the risk of damage to gums and other soft tissue.
Regarding claim 9, Houle teaches the cleaning unit wherein the body (89) comprises at least a first (92) and second (92) section (Fig. 16), wherein the first face (92) is comprised by the first section (92).
Houle does not teach the first section is detachable from the second section and wherein the second section comprises the transducer arrangement and the electromagnetic emitter arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Houle to further include the first section is detachable from the second section, as claimed, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04). Such a modification would be beneficial in that it would allow for ease in replacing a component, thus saving cost in replacing a whole unit.
It would have been further obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Houle to further include the second section comprises the transducer arrangement and the electromagnetic emitter arrangement, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04). Such a modification would be beneficial in that it would allow for ease in replacing a component, thus saving cost in replacing a whole unit.
Regarding claim 10, Houle teaches the cleaning unit (Fig. 15) wherein the cleaning unit (88) is for an oral cleaning device (Fig. 15), and wherein the body is for being received in a mouth of a user (Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Houle teaches the cleaning unit having protrusions as discussed in Paragraph [0303].
Houle does not explicitly teach the protrusions are formed of a material having a Shore A Scale hardness of between 10 to 100.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Houle to further include the protrusions are formed of a material having a Shore A Scale hardness of between 10 to 100, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the unit (MPEP 2144.04). Such a modification would be beneficial in that it would reduce the risk of damage to gums and other soft tissue.
Regarding claim 18, Houle teaches the cleaning unit having protrusions as discussed in Paragraph [0303].
Houle does not explicitly teach the protrusions are formed of a material having a Shore A Scale hardness of between 20 to 70.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unit of Houle to further include the protrusions are formed of a material having a Shore A Scale hardness of between 20 to 70, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the unit (MPEP 2144.04). Such a modification would be beneficial in that it would reduce the risk of damage to gums and other soft tissue.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated December 2, 2025 with respect to the objection oof claims 2 – 11 and 13 – 14 have been fully considered and are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated December 2, 2025 with respect to claim interpretation of claims 12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated December 2, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
35 U.S.C. K 102 Rejection
Applicant argues “Houle does not present a single, enabling embodiment that simultaneously applies both ultrasound and RF to a surface to be cleaned, the reference cannot anticipate claim 16”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as the energy types are listed are explicitly taught as combinations (and optionally alternatives) The term and/or is INCLUSIVE first and alternative second. Further, Houle teaches electromagnetic energy and ultrasound energy and further teaches a surface cleaning method as cited in Paragraph [0031]. One having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that RF emissions include the radio frequency spectrum, thus Houle explicitly teaches the limitations of claim 16, as claimed.
35 U.S.C. K 103 Rejection
Applicant argues “Houle lacks any teaching of simultaneous, co-spatial RF and ultrasound application.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as the energy types are listed are explicitly taught as combinations (and optionally alternatives) The term and/or is INCLUSIVE first and alternative second. Further, Houle teaches the transducer, 93 and the surface of the body 89 has soft polymer bristles similar to those found on a toothbrush, and/or closed or open loop material, and/or polymer foam (e.g., open cell, closed cell), and/or a non-soluble gel, or combinations thereof. The surface features and/or materials are optionally transparent and/or transmissive and/or conductive to the energy emissions of the transducers, for example, the surface has polymer bristles that can transmit light energy and mechanical energy.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723