DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on November 26, 2021.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on April 18, 2023.
Claims 1 – 25 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on April 18, 2023 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 14 define Formula I as containing LB wherein LB is represented by Formula 3
. However, the claim does not define Y4 or Y5. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which atoms or groups, the variables are allowed to be.
For examination purposes, the variables are interpreted as being any atom or group.
Claims 2 – 13 and 15 – 25 are rejected as being dependent on claims 1 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 8 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US20190013490A1) in view of Kwon (US20220069237A1).
As per claims 1 – 8 and 24, Cho teaches:
An organic light emitting diode, including a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an emissive layer disposed between the first and second electrodes and including at least one emitting material layer ([0008]: “The present invention provides an organic light emitting device comprising: a cathode, an anode, and at least one light emitting layer interposed between the cathode and the anode.”)
The emitting material layer including a host including a first host represented by Formula 7
([0042 – 0049]: “Preferably, the light emitting layer includes a first host compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1-1
… and a second host compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 2
.” A particular host compound within Formula 2 taught by Cho is
on Page 25. This reads on the claimed Formula 7 wherein R41 is an unsubstituted C10 aryl, R42 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl; p and 1 are 0 so that R43 and R44 do not exist. This host material is the same host material as GHH7
in claim 7.)
The emitting material layer including a host including a second host represented by Formula 9
([0042 – 0049]: “Preferably, the light emitting layer includes a first host compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1-1
… and a second host compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 2
.” A particular host compound within Formula 1-1 taught by Cho is
on Page 9, which reads on claimed Formula 1-1 wherein R51 and R52 are each a C6 aryl group; R53 is hydrogen; L is a single bond; Y1 to Y3 are each N; Z is O. This compound is the same as compound GEH3
in claim 8.)
Cho teaches that the light emitting material layer may include a dopant and that the dopant may be an iridium metal complex, but the dopant is not particularly limited ([0074 – 0075]). Cho does not specifically teach:
The emitting material layer including a dopant represented by Formula 1
wherein LA has a structure represented by Formula 2
Kwon teaches organometallic compounds with a ligand represented by Formula 1A
([0007]). Kwon teaches that organometallic compound within this Formula provide low driving voltage, high efficiency and long lifespan when used as dopants in organic electroluminescent devices ([0146]). A specific compound within the scope of Formula 1A taught by Kwon is compound 1
([0145]). The compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 to X9 is independently CR, wherein the R groups are protium; and a is 0. The compound reads on Formula 4A in claim 2 and Formula 4C in claim 3 wherein c is 0. LB has a structure represented by Formula 5A
, wherein R21 and R22 are both protium. The compound is the same as compound 1in claim 6
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dopant within the scope of claimed Formula 1 in the OLED of Cho because Cho does not limit the particular dopant material and teaches that the dopant can be iridium metal complexes ([0074 – 0075] and because Kwon teaches that the claimed compounds provide low driving voltage, high efficiency and long lifespan when used as dopants in organic electroluminescent devices ([0146]).
As per claim 24, Cho teaches:
An organic light emitting device including a substrate wherein the organic light emitting diode is disposed on the substrate ([0085]: “For example, the organic light emitting device according to the present invention may be manufactured by sequentially laminating the cathode, the organic material layer and the anode on the substrate.”)
Claims 9 – 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US20190013490A1) in view of Kwon (US20220069237A1) as applied to claims 1 – 8 and 24 above, and further in view of Shin (US20180166647A1).
As per claims 9 – 13, the prior art combination does not teach:
A second emitting part disposed between the first emitting part and the second electrode and including a second emitting material layer, and a first charge generation layer disposed between the first and second emitting materials, a third emitting part disposed between the second emitting part and the second electrode and including a third emitting material layer, and a second charge generation layer disposed between the second and third emitting parts (In Fig. 2, as described in [0096], Shin teaches a device structure in which three emitting units, namely ST1, ST2, and ST3 are provided in between the anode and the cathode, with two charge generation layer CGL1 and CGL2 in between each of the emitting units.)
A first layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second electrode and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the second electrode, wherein the second emitting material layer further includes a third layer disposed between the first layer and the second layer (Since the claims requires three layers, but does not define the layers compositionally, the layers can be interpreted as sublayers of any of the layers in ST2.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed compounds as the host and dopant materials in the emissive layer in a stacked OLED because Shin demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because the prior art combination teaches that the compounds are suitable for use in emissive layers, it would have been obvious to use the compounds in one of the limited, finite number of emissive layers, such as the first and second emitting material layers as claimed.
As per claims 14 – 18, the teachings of the prior art above with respect to the host materials and dopant are incorporated herein. The prior art combination does not specifically teach:
The first emitting part including a blue emitting material layer, and a second emitting part disposed between the first emitting part and the second electrode, and including at least one emitting material layer, and first charge generation layer disposed between the first and second emitting parts (In Fig. 2, as described in [0096], Shin teaches a device structure in which three emitting units, namely ST1, ST2, and ST3 are provided in between the anode and the cathode, with two charge generation layer CGL1 and CGL2 in between each of the emitting units. In [0066], Shin teaches that the first emitting material layer may emit a blue light.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed compounds as the host and dopant materials in the emissive layer in a stacked OLED because Shin demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because the prior art combination teaches that the compounds are suitable for use in emissive layers, it would have been obvious to use the compounds in one of the limited, finite number of emissive layers, such as the first and second emitting material layers as claimed.
As per claim 19, Shin teaches:
A first layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second electrode, the first layer including a red emitting material layer (In [0066], Shin teaches that the second emitting material layer may include a red emitting material layer.)
As per claim 20, Shin teaches:
Wherein the at least one emitting material layer further includes a third layer disposed between the first layer and the second layer, wherein the third layer includes a yellow green emitting material layer (In [0075], Shin teaches that to improve red efficiency, a material unit may include two emitting material layers, such as a yellow-green emitting material layer and a red emitting material layer.)
As per claim 21, Shin teaches:
Wherein the emissive layer further includes a third emitting part disposed between the second emitting part and the second electrode and including a blue emitting material layer, and a second charge generation layer disposed between the second and third emitting parts (In Fig. 2, as described in [0096], Shin teaches a device structure in which three emitting units, namely ST1, ST2, and ST3 are provided in between the anode and the cathode, with two charge generation layer CGL1 and CGL2 in between each of the emitting units. In [0104], Shin teaches that the third emitting material layer may emit a blue light.)
As per claim 22, Shin teaches:
Wherein the at least one emitting material layer further includes a first layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second electrode, the first layer including a red emitting layer, and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the second electrode (In [0066], Shin teaches that the second emitting material layer may include a red emitting material layer.)
As per claim 23, Shin teaches:
Wherein the at least one emitting material layer further includes a third layer disposed between the first layer and the second layer, and wherein the third layer includes a yellow green emitting material layer (In [0075], Shin teaches that to improve red efficiency, a material unit may include two emitting material layers, such as a yellow-green emitting material layer and a red emitting material layer.)
As per claim 25, Cho teaches:
An organic light emitting device including a substrate wherein the organic light emitting diode is disposed on the substrate ([0085]: “For example, the organic light emitting device according to the present invention may be manufactured by sequentially laminating the cathode, the organic material layer and the anode on the substrate.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789