DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 02/17/2026 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 04/19/2023.
Claims 11-12 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20230276458A1) in view of Kwon et al. (US 20250309969 A1).
With regarding Claim 11: Lee disclose User equipment (UE), comprising a processor configured to: receive a medium access control (MAC) packet data unit (PDU) a medium access control (MAC), packet data unit (PDU) for a multicast broadcast service (MBS) identifier, which is a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) (See FIG. 13-14 and ¶[0005], [0242]-[0243], [0005], [0128], [0200]-[0201], [0177]-[0180]. Disclosed a UE comprising one or more processors configured to implement the disclosed methods. And receiving a PDCCH (DCI) scrambled with a G-RNTI for a multicast service and receiving the corresponding PDSCH(which carries the MAC PDU/TB). And that the BS inform); and in response to receiving the MAC PDU for the G-RNTI, determine whether hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is enabled for the G-RNTI (See ¶[0177]-[0180], [0263]. Disclosed the UE checks the HARQ enablement configuration (received via RRC/SIB) upon reception of MBMS service data to decide whether to transmit feedback. This is standard MAC layer behavior triggered by PDU reception.), and
Lee may not explicitly disclose in a case that the HARQ feedback is enabled for the G-RNTI, start a timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for a corresponding HARQ process in a first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the HARQ feedback, wherein the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL defines a minimum duration before a downlink assignment for HARQ retransmission, and the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is per downlink (DL) HARQ process except for the broadcast process. However, in analogous art, Kwon disclose in a case that the HARQ feedback is enabled for the G-RNTI, start a timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for a corresponding HARQ process in a first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the HARQ feedback (See ¶[0078]-[0088]. Disclosed start the Drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback), wherein the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL defines a minimum duration before a downlink assignment for HARQ retransmission (See ¶[0075]-[0076]. Disclosed define the timer and the minimum duration before a downlink assignment for HARQ retransmission.), and the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is per downlink (DL) HARQ process except for the broadcast process (See ¶[0075]-[0076]. Disclosed per downlink HARQ process-expect for the broadcast process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kwon teaches to Lee teachings. Lee teaches DRX configuration for MBS/G-RNTI reception in RRC_CONNECTED state ¶[0128], [0256]-[0269], and Kwon teaches DRX timer mechanism for downlink HARQ processes including drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL ¶[0075]-[0088]. This combination solve the configure UE DRX behavior to reduce power consumption while maintaining reliable data reception with HARQ retransmission support. receiving PDCCH with G-RNTI for MBS services. Lee teaches starting drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL upon HARQ feedback reception. Combining them yields the predictable results of improved HARQ coordination in a multicast-enable system and more efficient HARQ retransmission timing and improved DRX operation. With regarding Claim 12: Lee disclose a communication method for user equipment (UE), comprising: receive a medium access control (MAC) packet data unit (PDU) a medium access control (MAC), packet data unit (PDU) for a multicast broadcast service (MBS) identifier, which is a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) (See FIG. 13-14 and ¶[0005], [0242]-[0243], [0005], [0128], [0200]-[0201], [0177]-[0180]. Disclosed a UE comprising one or more processors configured to implement the disclosed methods. And receiving a PDCCH (DCI) scrambled with a G-RNTI for a multicast service and receiving the corresponding PDSCH(which carries the MAC PDU/TB). And that the BS inform); and in response to receiving the MAC PDU for the G-RNTI, determine whether hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is enabled for the G-RNTI (See ¶[0177]-[0180], [0263]. Disclosed the UE checks the HARQ enablement configuration (received via RRC/SIB) upon reception of MBMS service data to decide whether to transmit feedback. This is standard MAC layer behavior triggered by PDU reception.), and
Lee may not explicitly disclose in a case that the HARQ feedback is enabled for the G-RNTI, start a timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for a corresponding HARQ process in a first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the HARQ feedback, wherein the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL defines a minimum duration before a downlink assignment for HARQ retransmission, andthe timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is per downlink (DL) HARQ process except for the broadcast process. However, in analogous art, Kwon disclose in a case that the HARQ feedback is enabled for the G-RNTI, start a timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for a corresponding HARQ process in a first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the HARQ feedback (See ¶[0078]-[0088]. Disclosed start the Drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback), wherein the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL defines a minimum duration before a downlink assignment for HARQ retransmission (See ¶[0075]-[0076]. Disclosed define the timer and the minimum duration before a downlink assignment for HARQ retransmission.), and the timer drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is per downlink (DL) HARQ process except for the broadcast process (See ¶[0075]-[0076]. Disclosed per downlink HARQ process-expect for the broadcast process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kwon teaches to Lee teachings. Lee teaches DRX configuration for MBS/G-RNTI reception in RRC_CONNECTED state ¶[0128], [0256]-[0269], and Kwon teaches DRX timer mechanism for downlink HARQ processes including drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL ¶[0075]-[0088]. This combination solve the configure UE DRX behavior to reduce power consumption while maintaining reliable data reception with HARQ retransmission support. receiving PDCCH with G-RNTI for MBS services. Lee teaches starting drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL upon HARQ feedback reception. Combining them yields the predictable results of improved HARQ coordination in a multicast-enable system and more efficient HARQ retransmission timing and improved DRX operation.
Conclusion
The prior art Lee et al.(US 20230276458 A1) cited in the previously made of record.
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468