DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2020-0138666, filed on October 23rd, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on April 19th, 2023; February 20th, 2024; November 22nd, 2024; July 11th, 2025; and September 25th, 2025 have been received and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Prior Art
Yanagi US PG Publication 2014/0017546 (“Yanagi”)
Lee US PG Publication 2018/0019508 (“Lee”)
Yu KR20180045373 (“Yu”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yanagi US PG Publication 2014/0017546.
Regarding Claim 1, Yanagi discloses a battery pack 10 (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising:
at least one battery [module] 20 comprising a plurality of battery cells 21 ([0030]-[0040]); and
a cooling unit 60 (Fig. 4, [0037]) having an air flow passage 42 (refrigerant passage) configured to receive a flow of cooled air (a refrigerant) therein (Fig. 4, [0052]-[0057]), the coolant unit having a plate shape corresponding to the shape of battery tray 30 (Fig. 4, [0052]), the at least one battery module 20 being mounted on the cooling unit 60 via the battery tray 30 (Figs. 3-4, [0037]-[0041]), the cooling unit having a region on which the at least one battery module is not mounted, the region having at least one of a convex part protruding in an upper direction (see Fig. 5 wherein the air flow passage 42 which is incorporated within the cooling unit 60 protrudes away from the battery cells 21) and a concave part protruding in a lower direction towards the battery cells 21 (as defined by 42a in Fig. 5).
Figure 4 of Yanagi
Figure 5 of Yanagi
Regarding Claim 9, Yanagi discloses a vehicle 100 comprising at least one battery pack 10 according to the battery pack 10 as described in the rejection of Claim 1 ([0027]-[0032]).
Regarding Claim 10, Yanagi teaches the instantly claimed vehicle according to Claim 9, and Yanagi discloses a vehicle body, the at least one battery pack 10 mounted on the vehicle body ([0031]).
Claim 10 puts forth the limitations that the battery pack comprises a convex part within the cooling unit. However, Claim 1, from which Claim 10 depends, fails to require that the cooling unit comprises a convex part. Therefore, Yanagi is considered to meet the requisite claim limitations of Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagi US PG Publication 2014/0017546, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Lee US PG Publication 2018/0019508.
Regarding Claim 2, Yanagi teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 1. Yanagi fails to disclose an electric module.
However, Lee discloses a battery module for ensuring efficient cooling of a battery pack (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon).
Lee teaches that a battery management system can be used to control the charging and discharging of the battery module ([0137]) and that the battery module in which the battery management system is incorporated within may comprise at least a concave portion to compliment the shape of the cooling plate of the battery pack ([0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of Yanagi to further comprise an electric module configured to control charging and discharging of the at least one battery module, wherein the electric module is incorporated within the battery module and, thereby, faces the convex part of the cooling unit, and the electric module comprises at least one curved surface to compliment the shape of the cooling unit of Yanagi, as taught by Lee.
Regarding Claim 6, Yanagi in view of Lee teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 2, and Yanagi discloses wherein the battery pack 10 further comprises a front plate coupled to a front end of the cooling unit 60, a rear plate coupled to a rear end of the cooling unit 60, a left plate coupled to a left end of the cooling unit 60, and a right plate coupled to a right end of the cooling unit 60 as defined by battery case 50 (Fig. 4, [0030]), the front plate, the rear plate , the left plate, and the right plate each extending in the upper direction away from a top surface of the cooling unit 60 (wherein the top surface is the surface furthest from the battery module 20) and together extending around a periphery of the cooling unit 60 (Fig. 4, [0030]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yanagi in view of Lee teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 6, and Yanagi discloses a battery cover 40 (pillar member) extending across the left plate and right place and having at least one curved surface facing the convex part and having the same shape (Fig. 5, [0038]-[0039], [0051]).
Regarding Claim 8, Yanagi in view of Lee teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 7, and Yanagi discloses wherein the pillar member 40 comprises an accommodation portion positioned on the convex part of the cooling unit and recessed in the upper direction that the convex part is inserted into the accommodation part ([0051]).
Claim 8 puts forth the limitations that the battery pack comprises a concave part within the cooling unit. However, Claim 1, from which Claim 8 depends, fails to require that the cooling unit comprises a concave part. Therefore, Yanagi in view of Lee is considered to meet the requisite claim limitations of Claim 10.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagi US PG Publication 2014/0017546 in view of Lee US PG Publication 2018/0019508, as applied to Claim 2, further in view of Yu KR20180045373 (as noted in the IDS submitted on September 25th, 2025; machine translation provided).
Regarding Claims 3-5, Yanagi in view of Lee teaches the instantly claimed battery pack according to Claim 2. Yanagi fails to disclose a heat transfer member.
However, Yu discloses a battery pack comprising a battery module assembly having a cooling channel through which refrigerant flows in a pack case (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon).
Yu teaches the use of an exothermic electrical component embedded with a heat generating component 400 and disposed adjacent to the battery module assembly 200 comprising a plurality of battery modules 210 and battery management device 216 that facilitates charging and discharging of the batteries and has a shape corresponding to the curved shape of the assembly (Abstract, Fig. 2, [0032]-[0037], [0053]) and wherein the electrical component is bolted to a vertical plate 512 and bonded to at least a first heat transfer bracket 510 to couple the exothermic electrical component and the battery module and transfer heat via the tubular cooling channel connector 600 located within the internal space of the heat generating component 400 ([0032]-[0036], [0053]-[063]) such that the assembly can be coupled together and the temperature can be controlled to be a temperature sufficient for the operation of the battery module via the appropriate connections ([0054]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery pack of Yanagi in view of Lee to further comprise a heat transfer member such as a heat generating component having a first side connected to the electrical module and a second side in contact with an adjacent one of the at least one battery module, the heat transfer member having at least one curved surface facing at least one of the convex part or the concave part of the cooling unit; the heat transfer member comprising an internal space through which a cable extends to connect the electric module and at least one the battery modules to receive the refrigerant from the cooling channel connector; and wherein at least one of the battery modules comprises a coupling portion extending from one side surface thereof and having a first bolting hole formed therein for receiving a bonding bolt and wherein the heat transfer member comprises a support portion, each support portion having a second bolting hole formed therein for receiving a bonding bolt and bolted to the coupling portion of a corresponding battery module such that the assembly can be coupled together and the temperature can be controlled to be a temperature sufficient for the operation of the battery module via the appropriate connections, as taught by Yu.
Conclusion
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729