Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22, 25, 29-31, 53, 56, 57, 59, 60 and 64-66 are and 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WERNER (US 2017/0008813). WERNER discloses a micronutrient composition in a liquid carrier such as propylene glycol in an amount of at least 10%. (See the Abstract and Paragraph [0079].) WERNER teaches in Paragraph [0054] that the formulation may be in the form of a concentrate suspension. WERNER teaches in Paragraph [0054] that the average particle size of the solid micronutrients is from 50 microns to 100 microns, and in Paragraph [0052] that the amount of micronutrients in the concentrate is at least 40 wt.%.. The difference between the composition disclosed by WERNER, and that recited in claims 20, 22, 25, 29-31, 53, 56, 57, 59, 60 and 64-66, is that WERNER does not disclose an average particle size of greater than 30 microns. It would be obvious to provide micronutrient particles having an average particle size of from 50 to 100 microns in the formulation, since WERNER discloses such average particle size before the wet milling step.
Regarding claim 22, WERNER discloses in Paragraph [0062] that the concentrate can include 10-70 wt.% water.
Regarding claim 30, WERNER discloses in Paragraph [0079] that the solvent is typically included in an amount of from 5 wt.% to 500 wt.%.
Regarding claims 31 and 34, WERNER discloses in Paragraph [0050] that the micronutrient may be zinc, calcium, manganese or magnesium
Claims 22, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WERNER. WERNER is relied upon as discussed hereinbefore.
Regarding claim 22, it would have been obvious to provide a formulation comprising up to 20 weight percent water in the formulation of WERNER, since WERNER teaches in Paragraph [0079] that the solvent is typically included in an amount of from 5 wt.% to 500 wt.%.
Regarding claims 29 and 30, it would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable amount of the micronutrient particles and propylene glycol in the formulation of WERNER
Claims 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WERNER as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of MCLAUGHLIN et al (US 2023/0295057). It would have been further obvious from MCLAUGHLIN et al to coat fertilizer granules with the formulation of WERNER. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since MCLAUGHLIN et al teach in Paragraph [0008] that suspensions of micronutrients have been used to coat fertilizers, and the composition of MCLAUGHLIN et al is identical to that of WERNER in that both entail suspension of micronutrients in media which includes organic solvents.
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEERNER as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Ward et al (US 2015/0376076 (newly cited)). It would have been further obvious from Ward et al to include a pigment in the composition of Ward et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Ward et al establish the conventionality of including pigments in agricultural formulations in Paragraph [0027]..
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WERNER as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of ZAMORA REA et al (US 2021/0040004) (newly cited). It would have been even further obvious from ZAMORA REA et al to include a biostimulant in the composition of WEERNER. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since ZAMORA REA et al disclose the benefits of biostimulants on crops in Paragraph [0011].
Claim 62 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WERNER in view of ZAMORA REA et al, as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Martinez US 2017/0273312) (newly cited). It would have been even further obvious from Martinez to include a protein hydrolysate as the biostimulant in the composition of WEERNER. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Martinez discloses protein hydrolysates as biostimulants in Paragraph [0017], and ZAMORA REA et al suggest the benefits of biostimulants on crops in Paragraph [0011].
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WERNER in view of ZAMORA REA et al, as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Hartmann (US 9,359,263 (newly cited). It would have been further obvious from Hartmann to include dicyandiamide in the composition of WERNER. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Hartmann discloses the benefits of dicyandiamide for reducing nitrogen leaching in col. 20, lines 12-20
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that WERNER, viewed as a whole, fails to teach or suggest a suspension that contains at least 10 weight percent water-miscible solvent, is not convincing. WERNER teaches in Paragraph [0064] that the concentrate may be formulated as a suspension concentrate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated from such teaching that the solvent concentrations disclosed in Paragraph [0079] of WERNER would be suitable for a suspension, since Paragraph [0079] is directed broadly to the “agrochemical formulation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Clams 20, 22, 25 and 29-31 /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0485225 A1. EP 0485225 A1 discloses a dispersion of micronutrients in ethylene glycol in EXAMPLES 1-3 on page 5. The difference between the composition disclosed by EP 0485225 A1, and that recited in claims 20,22,25 and 29-31, is that EP 0485225 A1 does not disclose that that the micronutrient particles have an average particle size of greater than 30 microns. It would have been obvious to provide the micronutrient particles of EP 0485225 A1 with an average particle size of greater than 30 microns. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do, since EP 0485225 A1 discloses a particles size in the range of 0.5 to 50 microns in the Abstract and col. 1, lines 38-43. One would have appreciated that the average particle size of 31 microns, for example, would be suitable, so long as the particles are in the range of o.5 to 50 microns.
Claims 38, 40, 53 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0485225 A1 as applied to claims 20,22,25 above, and further in view of MCLAUGHLIN ethe t al (US 2023/0295057). It would have been further obvious from MCLAUGHLIN et al to coat fertilizer granules with the composition of EP 0485225 A1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since MCLAUGHLIN et al teach in Paragraph [0008] that suspensions of micronutrients have been used to coat fertilizers, and the composition of MCLAUGHLIN et al is analogous to that of EP 0485225 A1 in that both entail suspensions of micronutrients in media which includes organic solvents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that the average particle size in EP 0485225 A1 is not defined and is not necessarily greater than 30 microns, is not convincing, since there is no evidence on record of unexpected results which would emanate from the use of particles having an average particle size greater than 30 microns, but which are also of a size in the range of 0.5 to 50 microns. Applicant’s argument, that EP 0485225 A1 discloses a preferred particle size of from 1 to 10 microns, with at least 80 or 90 percent of the particles having a size in that range, since non-preferred embodiments constitute teachings upon which a case of prima facie obviousness. can be based, and EP 0485225 A1 clearly discloses particles sizes as high as 50 microns
Double Patenting
Claims 20, 22, 25, 29-31, 38, 40, 53 and 56-66 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3,6,8,10,11,13,15,18 and 21-31 of copending Application No.18/140405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 58 is objected to as being ungrammatical. The word - - of - - should be inserted before “claim” to avoid this objection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736