DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2006049135. The reference is directed to a fuel cell power generation system comprising a first fuel cell module (2) supplied with a fuel gas, and a second fuel cell module (3) supplied with the exhaust fuel gas of the first fuel cell (Fig. 1). First and second fuel exhaust lines (8, 11) are immediately downstream of each fuel cell module. A first recirculation line (14) recirculates exhaust gas from the second exhaust line to the fuel-side electrode (3a) of the second fuel cell module (3) ([0012]-[0015]). Thus, claim 1 is anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2006046135 in view of JP 2018081747.
JP ‘135 is applied to claim 1 for the reasons stated above. Further with regard to claim 5, JP ‘135 teaches a control device (43) ([0036]). However, the reference does not expressly teach that the controller controls the first and second modules based on a required system load, such that the controller variably controls an output of the first module according to the required system load, and controls an output of the second module to a preset constant target value regardless of the required system load as recited in claim 5.
JP ‘747 is directed to a fuel cell system that comprises two fuel cells (16, 18). In [0055], the reference teaches that the controller 24 performs control so that the system is operated with changing output such that the rated output is the upper limit according to the load power required, specifically, the second stack 18 has a constant output, and the output of the first stack 16 is controlled so that the output of the system follows the output of the load.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007). As such, the artisan would have used the control scheme of JP ‘747 in the system of JP ‘135.
Claims 6-10 are rendered obvious for similar reasons, as being directed to obvious variations of the control scheme. For example, regarding claim 6, it would be obvious that the constant target value of the second module is a rated output of that module. Regarding claim 7, the rated outputs of the modules could be different according to the needs of the skilled artisan. Regarding claim 8, it would be obvious to control the first module to enter a no-load state if the system load is not greater than a rated output value of the second module (in other words, the second module would be able to meet all power needs of the load). Regarding claim 9, it would be obvious to maintain no load operation of the first module by performing recirculation such that the second module has adequate reactant supply. Finally, regarding claim 10, it would also be obvious to control the second module to generate minimum power necessary for the system as a whole to maintain a no load operation state (e.g., if the system is idle).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2006046135 in view of JP 2011008990.
JP ‘135 is applied to claim 1 for the reasons stated above. The reference does not expressly teach that a supply line connects the second exhaust gas line with an oxidant supply line of the first module (claim 11) or second module (claim 12).
JP ‘990 is directed to a fuel cell system. In Figure 6 and [0067] et seq, the reference teaches that the fuel exhaust gas is recirculated to the oxidant supply line to keep the oxygen partial pressure in the supply line low.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing because the artisan would be motivated to supply the second fuel exhaust to the first and/or second oxidant supply lines of JP ‘135. In [0004], JP ‘990 discloses that a large energization effect can be obtained even if a lower current is applied to the fuel cell during energization to realize an improvement in fuel consumption. As such, the artisan would be motivated to supply the second fuel exhaust to the first and/or second oxidant supply lines of JP ‘135.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12046779. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 8 of ‘779 anticipate instant claims 1, 11, and 12.
Claims 5-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12046779 in view of JP 2018081747. The JP ‘747 reference is applied for substantially the same reasons as described in item 6 above. Accordingly, instant claims 5-10 are obvious variants of the ‘779 patent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 recites that a second recirculation line from the first exhaust fuel gas line to the fuel electrode of the first fuel cell module is present, and wherein the first recirculation line is connected so as to join the first fuel gas exhaust line upstream of a branch portion from the second recirculation line. JP ‘135 teaches first and second recirculation lines (14, 9 respectively) and teaches that the first line enters downstream of the branch point for the second line, but does not teach or fairly suggest that the first line is connected so as to enter upstream of the branch point as claimed.
Conclusion
/Jonathan Crepeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725
November 1, 2025