DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Three information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted: one on April 19th, 2023; one on August 30th, 2024; and one on November 19th, 2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Some of the schemes are not clearly legible. Particularly Reaction Formulae 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 10 (pages 23, 24, 30, 32, 33, and 38, respectively).
Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7 and 9-12), drawn to the compounds of Formula 1 and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, in the reply filed on November 4th, 2025 is acknowledged.
Upon election of Group I, Applicant was further required to elect a single compound of Formula 1 with all variables defined. Applicant elected the compound below:
The elected compound was found to be free of the prior art, therefore the search was expanded to encompass the compounds of Formula 1 when R1 is -S-R2, and R2 is phenyl substituted with any C3 to C12 heterocycloalkyl, heteroaryl, or halide.
Claims 8 and 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 4th, 2025
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application. Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are under examination herein. Claims 8 and 13-16 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims refer to different compounds by the same name, namely compounds are labeled 1-10, which have different structures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cummins et al. (WO 2008/036747 A2) (“Cummins”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-12, Cummins discloses the compounds of Formula I below (page 7, line 20 and claims 1-21), which anticipate the instant claims when R2 is -NHCO2Me; and R1 is -SR3, wherein R3 is phenyl or
, wherein R4 is a halogen. Cummins also discloses the preferred embodiment II shown below (anticipating the instant compounds when R2 is unsubstituted aryl) (page 9, line 16).
(I)
(II)
Regarding claims 6-7, claim read “the thiobenzimidazole derivative OR the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof”. Cummins discloses the thiobenzimidazole derivatives, and thus anticipates the instant claims.
Regarding claims 9-12, Cummins discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising their compounds above and an acceptable carrier (Cummins’ claim 15).
Further regarding claims 5 and 9-12, Applicant is advised that recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention, such as the use of Cummins’ compounds for inhibition of tubulin and treatment of cancers in the instant application, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Note: MPEP 2111.02.
In the present case, Cummins’ discloses administration of their compounds and pharmaceutical compositions orally or via IV to warm blooded vertebrates, including humans (Cummins’ claims 1-10). Furthermore, Cummins teaches their methods can be used to potentiate an immune response to cancers that are tumorigenic, including lymphomas, melanomas, etc. (page 11, lines 3-16). Therefore, the compounds and compositions as disclosed are capable of performing the claimed intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummins et al. (WO 2008/036747 A2) (“Cummins”); as applied to claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-12; in view of Morita et al. (Obtained From gousei.f.u-tokyo.ac.jp [Retrieved on September 11th, 2025] <URL: https://gousei.f.u-tokyo.ac.jp/seminar/index.html#2012> - Published May 2012) (“Morita”).
The teachings of Cummins are disclosed in the 102-section above and incorporated herein.
While Cummins doesn’t specifically teach the claimed compounds with one or more fluoro-substituents on the group corresponding to instant R2; the teachings of Morita are relied upon for these disclosures.
Morita teaches fluorine as an isostere of hydrogen and discloses fluorine incorporation into drugs or lead compounds can productively modulate a range of properties of interest, like metabolic stability pKa, and lipophilicity etc. (page 7).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed compounds prima facie obvious, since they are generically embraced by Cummins’ disclosed formula in view of Morita; In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2144.08. The requisite motivation for arriving at the claimed compounds stems from the fact that they fall within the generic class of compounds disclosed by Cummins, who teaches halide substitution of the phenyl corresponding to instant R2; further in view of Morita’s disclosure that H and F are bioisosteres and the benefits of fluoride incorporation into lead compounds and drugs to improve metabolic stability pKa, and lipophilicity etc. Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare any of the compounds embraced by the disclosed generic formula, particularly the ones shown below:
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zetter et al. (WO 2017/095950 A2 – cited in IDS – previously cited) (“Zetter”).
Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention, such as the use of the instant compounds for inhibition of tubulin and treatment of cancers in the instant application, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claims 1-7, Zetter discloses the compounds of Formula I [0085] and II below [0094], which render the instant compounds obvious when R1 is alkyl (particularly -Me [0086]); and RA is substituted aryl (particularly substituted or unsubstituted phenyl [0089]).
(II)
Zetter discloses the preferred embodiments below (pages 54, 61). While preferred embodiment I-10 shows the group corresponding to Zetter’s R1 as an oxetane, Zetter teaches their R1 can be preferably methyl (as in their example 8, shown below). Furthermore, while Zetter’s example 8 shows an oxygen instead of a sulfur in the position corresponding to their R2 in formula I, Zetter teaches their R2 can be -SRA, as in compound I-10). Therefore, Zetter’s Formulae I and II correspond to a small genus of compounds, which encompasses the instantly claimed invention.
(I-10)
(ex. 8)
Therefore, regarding instant claims 1-7, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed compounds prima facie obvious, since they are generically embraced by Zetter’s disclosed formulae and preferred embodiments. The requisite motivation for arriving at the claimed compounds stems from the fact that they fall within the generic class of compounds disclosed by Zetter. Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare any of the compounds embraced by the disclosed generic formula, particularly the compound shown below:
Applicant is advised that a novel useful compound that is isomeric with the prior art compound is unpatentable unless it possesses some unobvious or unexpected beneficial property not possessed by the prior art compound. In re Norris, 179 F.2d. 970, 84 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1970). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to expect similar properties of structurally similar compounds since they are suggestive of one another. It has been held that a compound, which is structurally isomeric with a compound of the prior art, is prima facie obvious absent unexpected results. In re Finely, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949); 84 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1950).
Further regarding claim 5, Zetter discloses their compounds inhibit tubulin polymerization [0080] and Figure 2.
Further regarding claims 6-7, Zetter discloses their compounds and pharmacutically acceptable salts thereof, as discussed above. Zetter also teaches “pharmaceutically acceptable salts” include hydrochloric acid salts and benzenesulfonate, etc. [0052].
Regarding claims 9-12, Zetter discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising their compounds and an acceptable excipient [0097]. Zetter also discloses their compounds as part of methods of treating cancers in subjects in need thereof comprising administration of said compounds. Therefore, the compounds and compositions as disclosed are capable of performing the claimed intended use.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/851,728 (Copending ‘728). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 1-7 and 9-12, Copending ‘728 claims a method of preparing the compounds of Formula 1 below, which anticipate the instant compounds and the instantly elected species when: A is phenyl (aryl group) and R is C1-10 heterocyclic or halogen (Copending ‘728’s claim 1). Copending ‘728 also claims methods of making HCl and other salts (Copending ‘728’s claim 14).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/851,918 (Copending ‘918). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 1-7 and 9-12, Copending ‘918 claims the thiobenzimidazole derivatives of Formula 1 below, which anticipate the instant compounds and the instantly elected species when: X is C and R1-3 are selected from is C1-10 heterocyclic or halogen (Copending ‘918’s claim 1). Copending ‘918 also claims methods of making HCl and other salts (anticipating instant claims 6-7) (Copending ‘918’s claims 6-7). Copending ‘918 also claims pharmaceutical compositions for treating cancers (anticipating instant claims 9-12) (Copending ‘918’s claims 8-11).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JACKSON J HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627