DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0172552).
Re claims 1, 16, and 17. Moore discloses a casino system in a casino at which casino items with RFID tags that store identification information are used (see paragraph [00111]: gaming chip), the casino system is located at a casino item handling location, the casino system comprising:
a storage device configured to store a list of the identification information that is registered (see paragraph [0111]: memory);
a reading device configured to read the identification information from the RFID tag of a casino item of the casino items (see paragraph [0013]: “RFID antenna or interrogator”); and
a verification device configured to check the identification information read from the casino item by the reading device against the identification information stored in the storage device (see paragraph [0111]), and
wherein the storage device, the reading device, and the verification device are integrally configured (see paragraph [0019, 0032], and claim 1: the verification/validation feature, the reading feature, and storage feature are integrally configured within the table itself.).
Re claim 4: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 1, further comprising a holding mechanism configured to hold a predetermined number of the casino items for which the RFID tags are read by the reading device, wherein the verification device configured to inspect the casino item by comparing the number of the RFID tags read by the reading device with the predetermined number (see paragraph [0019]).
Re claim 5: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 4, further comprising a display device configured to display a result of reading by the reading device and/or a result of verification by the verification device (see Fig. 5B), wherein:
the reading device includes an antenna and a reader (see paragraph [0013]), and
the storage device, the antenna, the reader, the verification device, the display device, and the holding mechanism are integrally configure (See Fig. 3, objects 300 and 340, paragraph [0078]).
Re claim 6: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 1, wherein:
the RFID tag of the casino item is configured to store information that can identify a value of the casino item, wherein the reading device is further configured to read the information, the verification device is configured to compare a number of the RFID tags from which identification information is read by the reading device with an actual number of the casino items (see paragraph [0013, 0014, 0021, 0069-0070]), and
the casino system further comprises a display device configured to display a value of each of a plurality of casino items read by the reading device or a total value of the plurality of casino items read by the reading device, as a result of the reading by the reading device, and/or display a result of comparison between the number of RFID tags and the actual number of the casino items, as a result of verification by the verification device (Figs. 5A and 5B).
Re claim 8: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 1, further comprising a central system to which a plurality of casino systems are communicatively connected, wherein the central system is configured to update the list stored in the storage device of each of the plurality of casino systems (see paragraphs [0034-0035]).
Re claim 9: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 8, wherein the central system is configured to update the list on a regular basis or at a timing that satisfies a predetermined condition (see paragraphs [0034-0035]: when a central server is used, the central server performs all of the actions of updating list at each of the individual table systems, wherein said lists are updated when predetermined events occurred, e.g. inventory checks).
Re claim 10: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 1, further comprising a central system to which a plurality of casino systems are communicatively connected, wherein the central system comprises:
a central storage device configured to store the list of the identification information that is registered, and a central verification device configured to check the identification information read from the casino items and transmitted from the casino system against the identification information stored in the central storage device (see paragraph [0034]: Table Game Server).
Re claim 12: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 10, wherein the verification device is configured to, when the identification information read by the reading device includes new identification information that is not included in the identification information read by the reading device before, verify the new identification information read by the reading device with the identification information stored in the central storage device (see paragraph [0110]).
Re claim 13: Moore discloses with respect the casino system according to claim 10, wherein the verification device is configured to compare the identification information read by the reading device with the identification information read before by the reading device, and under predetermined conditions, check the identification information read by the reading device against the identification information of the casino items stored in the central storage device (see paragraph [0034-0035]: when the central server is used instead of the table device, the central server performs the same functions including verifying rfid chip tag data through identifying chips and comparing them to previously stored identification data)
Re claim 14: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 10, wherein the identification information includes tag identification information assigned by a manufacturer of the RFID tag and item identification information assigned by a manufacturer of the casino item to which the RFID tag is attached (see paragraph [0046]: “(v) a casino identifier that uniquely identifies a casino or other registered gaming corporation associated with the chip”).
Re claim 15: Moore discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 14, wherein the verification device is configured to compare the item identification information read from the casino items by the reading device with the item identification information read before by the reading device, and at a predetermined timing and/or under a predetermined condition, check the tag identification information read from the casino item by the reading device against the tag identification information of the casino item stored in the storage device (see paragraph [0022, 0023]: predetermined inventory checks).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore in view of Miller (U.S. PGPUB 2007/0184898).
Re claim 2: Moore fails to disclose with respect to the casino system according to claim 1, further
comprising an optical counting device configured to optically count a number of the casino items, wherein the verification device configured to inspect the casino item by comparing the number of the RFID tags read by the reading device with the number of the RFID tags counted by the optical counting device. However, Miller teaches “An optical sensing assembly is configured to optically scan each of the plurality of predetermined chip positions to detect the presence of a gaming chip in each of the plurality of predetermined chip positions if present therein and generate a count corresponding to a number of detected gaming chips. An RFID reader assembly is configured to interrogate the plurality of gaming chips disposed in the tray structure and generate a list of authenticated gaming chips, the RFID reader assembly further generating a system status based on a comparison of the list of authenticated gaming chips relative to the number of detected gaming chips counted by the optical sensing assembly.” (See Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the counting mechanism of Moore with the counting mechanism as such would have produced predictable results of using optical means to count gaming chips using RFID data.
Re claim 3: Miller discloses with respect to the casino system according to claim 2, further comprising a display device configured to display a result of reading by the reading device and/or a result of verification by the verification device (Fig. 5A and 5B), wherein:
the reading device includes an antenna and a reader, and
the storage device, the antenna, the reader, the verification device, the display device, and the optical counting device are integrally configured (see Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claims have been amended to state that a storage device, a verification device, and reading device are integrally configured. However, reading the limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this can mean that the devices are integrated within the same device, and here that is the casino table of Moore. As discussed above, the casino table of Moore contains all of said objects (see Figs. 3 and Fig. 4) and thus the devices are integrally configured.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
REGINALD A. RENWICK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3714
/REGINALD A RENWICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715