DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 5, 15, in the paper of 4/28/2026, is acknowledged. Applicants' arguments filed on 4/28/2026, have been fully considered and are deemed to be persuasive to overcome some of the rejections previously applied. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12, 15, 18 and 21 are still at issue and are present for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of the invention of Group 1, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 13-19 and 21, to a protein having DNA polymerase activity, in the paper of 8/27/2025, is acknowledged. Applicant's election without traverse of the following species:
Species Group 1: position 485;
Species Group 2: position 451;
Species Group 3: position 451;
Species Group 4: KH222 (E485I+S451L);
Species Group 5: position 453;
Species Group 6: KH227 (E485I+L453A);
Species Group 7: position 465 and 584;
Species Group 8: QH305 (E485I+K465Q+K584T);
Species Group 9: positions 465, 718 and 480;
in the paper of 8/27/2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 9, 11 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “wherein the protein is further added with a first tag sequence at the terminal of the protein” which is awkward. It is suggested this be amended to ““wherein the protein further comprises a tag sequence at the terminus of the protein”.
Appropriate correction and/or comment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claim(s) 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 9,765,309) is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims in the paper of 4/1/2026.
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 9,765,309) and BGI Research WO 2020047695-A1.
Chen et al. (US 9,765,309) teach modified recombinant DNA polymerases for improved incorporation of nucleotide analogs, in particular nucleotides which are modified at the 3’ sugar hydroxyl, as well as methods and kits using the same. Chen et al. teach an altered family B archael DNA polymerase comprising a substitution mutation functionally equivalent to A485L or A485V in the 9oN polymerase sequence. Chen et al. further teach additional mutations in said modified DNA polymerase and methods of using said modified DNA polymerase to amplify and sequence nucleic acids.
BGI Research WO 202004769541 teach a number of recombinant KOD polymerases and KOD polymerase mutants useful for preparing DNA polymerization applications. BGI Research WO 202004769541 teach a KOD polymerase mutant which is derived from SEQ ID NO: 1 of BGI Research and modified as provided in example 2 which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1.
One of skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to modify the DNA polymerase taught by BGI Research WO 202004769541 with similar amino acid substitutions at the positions taught by Chen et al. for its use in nucleic acid synthesis reactions. One would have been motivated to modify the substitutions with amino acids with similar properties, such as hydrophobicity characteristics. As Chen et al. teach the substitution of A485 with the hydrophobic side chain amino acids “L” and “V”, one would have been motivated to substitute other similar amino acids such as “I”. Thus one of would have been motivated to create a A485I substitution in the background of the polymerase taught by BGI Research WO 202004769541. One would have been further motivated to modify the protein of Chen et al. with an additional tag on the terminus of the protein for use in isolating the protein. The expectation of success is high based upon the high degree of skill in the art in the area of recombinant protein engineering as exemplied by Chen et al. and BGI Research WO 202004769541.
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 9,765,309) and BGI Research WO 202004769541.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 9,765,309) is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claim in the paper of 4/1/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 12, 15, 18 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 11, 14, 15 of copending Application No. 18/564,400 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7, 14, 15 of copending Application No. 18/564,400 (reference application) drawn to a mutant protein, based on a thermostable B-family DNA polymerase and having DNA polymerase activity, wherein the mutant protein is obtained by mutated at positions 408, 409 and 485 at least two amino acid residues of an amino acid sequence of the thermostable B-family DNA polymerase anticipate/make obvious instant claims 1, 5, 12, 15, 18 and 21 drawn to a protein having DNA polymerase activity, wherein the protein has an amino acid sequence with a substitution at position 485 of SEQ ID NO: 1
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicants have acknowledged this rejection and stated that they will consider filing a Terminal Disclaimer when allowable claims are indicated in the present application and copending application 18/564,400. Applicants response is being treated as if applicants have asked that the rejection be held in abeyance until the claims are determined to be otherwise allowable.
Remarks
No claim is allowed.
rgh
6/1/2026
/RICHARD G HUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652