DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of JP 2020-178302 filed October 23, 2020 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of WO 2022/085788, the WIPO publication of PCT/JP 2021/039115 filed October 22, 2021.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claims filed April 19, 2023 and Remarks filed June 5, 2026.
Claims Filing Date
April 19, 2023
Amended
3, 4, 6
New
7-14
Pending
1-14
Withdrawn
5, 6, 9-14
Under Examination
1-4, 7, 8
Response to Remarks filed June 5, 2026
Applicant's arguments filed June 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Ugi in view of JP ‘880
The applicant argues final annealing in the atmosphere or a combustion gas atmosphere of liquefied combustion gas (LNG) forms oxides of Al, Si, or the like and an outer layer oxides of some um thickness, such as (Fe,Cr)3O4 or Cr2O3, ([0074]) followed by nitric acid electrolysis so that internal oxides remain, while outer layer oxides are removed ([0075]) (para. spanning pp. 4-5), whereas Ugi bright anneals in an atmosphere with a dew point of -35 to -45 °C, which likely forms oxide (BA) films of some nm thickness consisting of spinel-type oxides such as FeCr2O4, FeMn2O4, Cr2O3, and amorphous SiO2, after which nitric acid electrolysis concentrates SiO2 in the BA films so they become densely passivated (p. 5 para. 2), such that the different annealing atmospheres result in different surface properties (p. 5 para. 3).
According to applicant’s specification the final annealing step has an atmosphere of the atmosphere or a combustion gas atmosphere of liquefied combustion gas (LNG) or the like (applicant’s specification [0074]). Applicant’s examples anneal in “Atmosphere” (applicant’s specification [0089]). While Ugi discloses the “dew point of the annealing atmosphere is preferably -35 to -45°C” (Ugi [0015]), this preferred disclosure is not required. It is within the scope of Ugi to anneal in atmosphere.
Further, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the outer layer oxides and their thickness) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The pending claims require “at least one type of oxides of oxides containing 5 mass% or more of Al and oxides containing 5 mass% or more of Si”. Ugi discloses producing and concentrating SiO2, silicon oxide, on the surface (Ugi [0005], [0008], [0014]-[0017]), and JP ‘880 discloses an Al-enriched layer is easily formed in the passivation film for the composition and processing (Ugi [0005], [0008], [0014]-[0017]; JP ‘880 [0022], [0024], [0029]-[0033]).
Determination of patentability is based on the product itself. If the product is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable. MPEP 2113(I).
The applicant argues the instant objective of providing ferritic stainless steel having excellent red scale resistance and a component for exhaust gas having excellent red scale resistance ([0007]) (p. 5 para. 5) is different from that of Ugi (p. 5 para. 7), which produces ferritic stainless steel for coating with a silicon-based resin ([0001]) (p. 5 para. 6).
In order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102, the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention. A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). MPEP 2141.01(a)(I).
Ugi is proper for use an in obviousness rejection because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention of ferritic stainless steel (Ugi [0001]) with an overlapping composition (Ugi [0006]-[0013]) and at least one type of oxides of oxides containing 5 mass% or more of Al and oxides containing 5 mass% or more of Si being present on a surface ([0005], [0008], [0014]-[0017]).
The applicant argues applicant’s nitric acid electrolysis results in internal oxides remaining and removal of outer layer oxides such as (Fe, Cr)3O4 or Cr2O3 (p. 6 para. 1) with a preferred 100 mA/cm2 or higher current density ([0078]) (p. 6 para. 4), whereas JP ‘880 discloses acid pickling promotes concentration of Al in the passive film ([0031]) (p. 6 para. 2) and a current density of 2.5 A/dm2 (25 mA/cm2) ([0037]) (p. 6 para. 5), such that the objective and effect of nitric acid electrolysis is different (p. 6 para. 3), where different current densities result in different surface properties (p. 6 para. 6).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The pending rejection is over the substantially similar process of Ugi, which includes nitric acid electrolysis to dissolve spinel oxides and remove the BA (bright annealing) film, such that amorphous SiO2 is concentrated (Ugi [0016]). Similarly, applicant discloses the nitric acid electrolysis step removes outer layer oxides such as (Fe,Cr)3O4 (spinel oxide), while internal oxides mainly of Al, Si, or the like remain (concentrate) (applicant’s specification [0075]).
The nitric acid electrolysis of Ugi has a current density of 1-100 coulombs/dm2 (10-1000 mA/cm2) (Ugi [0017]-[0018]), which overlaps with applicant’s current density of 100-150 mA/cm2 (applicant’s specification [0078]). Therefore, in the pending rejection, the prior art (Ugi) discloses substantially similar nitric acid electrolysis conditions.
JP ‘880 discloses the obviousness of the passivation film in Ugi including both silicon oxide and Al-enriched oxide due to the composition and processing (Ugi [0005], [0008], [0014]-[0017]; JP ‘880 [0022], [0024], [0029]-[0033]). The formation of Al-enriched oxides as rendered obvious by JP ‘880 occurs before nitric acid electrolysis and is not a result of the argued nitric acid electrolysis.
For the above cited reasons, the rejection of Ugi in view of JP ‘880 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ugi (JP H06-235100 machine translation) in view of JP ‘880 (JP H05-271880 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ugi discloses a ferritic stainless steel ([0001]) with an overlapping composition ([0006]-[0013]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Ugi is silent to 0.01 mass% or more and 0.50 mass% or less of Ni, 0.002 mass% or more and 0.200 mass% or less of Al, and 0 mass% or more and 0.500 mass% or less Ti.
JP ‘880 discloses a ferritic stainless steel ([0001], [0007]) with 0.01 mass% or more and 0.50 mass% or less of Ni (1.0% or less) ([0019]), 0.002 mass% or more and 0.200 mass% or less of Al (0.01 to 0.5%) ([0022]), and 0 mass% or more and 0.500 mass% or less Ti (0.05 to 0.3% Ti) ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the ferritic stainless steel of Ugi to include 1.0% or less Ni to improve toughness without increasing the cost (JP ‘880 [0019]) and 0.01 to 0.5% Al with 0.05 to 0.3% Ti to inhibit corrosion by forming an Al-enriched layer in the passivation film by annealing and pickling that improves weather resistance without deteriorating surface quality, weldability, and localized corrosion (JP ‘880 [0022], [0024]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Element
Claim 1
Ugi Disclosure
Ugi Citation
Si
0.05 to 2.50
0.3 to 3.0
[0008]
Mn
0.05 to 1.50
0.3 or less
[0009]
C
0.025 or less
0.1 or less
[0007]
P
0.040 or less
-
-
S
0.003 or less
-
-
N
0.025 or less
Below 0.1
[0012]
Ni
0.01 to 0.50
-
-
Cr
10.50 to 25.00
11 to 30
[0010]
Cu
0.01 to 1.80
0.1 to 1.0
[0011]
Al
0.002 to 0.200
-
-
Nb
0.001 to 1.00
0.1 to 1.0
[0013]
Fe
Remainder
Balance
[0006]
Ugi discloses at least one type of oxides of oxides containing 5 mass% or more of Al and oxides containing 5 mass% or more of Si are present on a surface (producing and concentrating SiO2, silicon oxide, on the surface) ([0005], [0008], [0014]-[0017]).
JP ‘880 discloses at least one type of oxides of oxides containing 5 mass% or more of Al and oxides containing 5 mass% or more of Si are present on a surface (Al-enriched layer is easily formed in the passivation film) ([0022], [0024], [0029]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the steel of Ugi in view of JP ‘880 to include both silicon oxide and Al-enriched oxide in the passive layer because the composition and processing forms both (Ugi [0005], [0008], [0014]-[0017]; JP ‘880 [0022], [0024], [0029]-[0033]).
The limitation of among the oxides present on the surface, the number of oxides having a diameter D of 0.1 um or more and 2.0 um or less being 10 or more per 93 um2, the diameter D being represented by the following formula (1) D= (Dmax + Dmin)/2 -- (1) in the formula (1), Dmax is a maximum diameter of the oxide on the surface, and Dmin is a minimum diameter of the oxide on the surface, has been considered and determined to recite a property that results from the claimed ferritic steel composition undergoing applicant’s disclosed process (applicant’s specification [0068]-[0080]), where the final annealing step form internal oxides of Al, Si, or the like, and outer layer oxides (applicant’s specification [0074]) and the nitric acid electrolysis removes oxides adhering to the surface, while the internal oxides remain (applicant’s specification [0075]).
Ugi discloses a process that is substantially similar to that disclosed by application (Ugi [0015]-[0019]), including overlapping conditions of final (bright) annealing followed by nitric acid electrolysis (Ugi [0015]-[0016]) to concentrate silicon oxide on the surface (Ugi [0005], [0008], [0014]-[0017]). The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Ugi [0006]-[0013]; JP ‘880 [0019], [0022], [0024]) and substantially similar processing (Ugi [0015]-[0019]). Therefore, the properties of the claimed invention naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including among the oxides present on the surface, the number of oxides having a diameter D of 0.1 um or more and 2.0 um or less being 10 or more per 93 um2, the diameter D being represented by the following formula (1) D= (Dmax + Dmin)/2 -- (1) in the formula (1), Dmax is a maximum diameter of the oxide on the surface, and Dmin is a minimum diameter of the oxide on the surface. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Applicant’s Disclosed Process
[0068]-[0080]
Ugi’s Disclosed Process
[0015]-[0019]
Pretreatment
1100-1300°C
Casting
-
Hot Rolling
Hot Rolling
Annealing, optional
Annealing
First Pickling
HCl or HNO3+HF
Descaling
Cold Rolling
Cold Rolling
Final Annealing
900-1100°C
30-90 seconds
Bright Annealing
950-1050°C
10-100 seconds
Nitric Acid Electrolysis
100-150 g/L
50-70°C
100-150 mA/cm2
60-120 seconds
Nitric Acid Electrolysis
1-30 wt% (10-300 g/L)
10-60°C
1-100 coulombs/dm2 (10-1000 mA/cm2)
-
Final Pickling
HNO3+HF
-
Regarding claim 2, regarding the surface, CIE1976 luminosity L* that is measured using a D65 light source in a diffuse lighting mode by receiving light in a direction at 80 with respect to a normal line to the surface at a visual field angle of 100 visual field for a measurement time of one second being 60 or more has been considered and determined to recite a property that results from the claimed ferritic steel composition undergoing applicant’s disclosed process (applicant’s specification [0068]-[0080]), where the nitric acid concentration during nitric acid electrolysis controls the luminosity (applicant’s specification [0076]) and the final pickling step of immersion in a liquid mixture of nitric acid and hydrofluoric acid improves the luminosity (applicant’s specification [0080]).
The process of Ugi ([0015]-[0019]) discloses an overlapping nitric acid concentration ([0017]), but is silent to final pickling.
JP ‘880 discloses annealing, nitric acid electrolysis, then final pickling in a mixed acid solution of nitric acid and hydrofluoric acid ([0031]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Ugi to final pickle in a mixed acid solution of nitric acid and hydrofluoric acid to remove porous oxide scale to achieve sufficient corrosion and weather resistance (JP ‘880 [0033]).
Therefore, the prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Ugi [0006]-[0013]; JP ‘880 [0019], [0022], [0024]) and substantially similar processing (Ugi [0015]-[0019]; JP ‘880 [0031]-[0033]), such that the properties of the claimed invention naturally flow from the prior art disclosure, including regarding the surface, CIE1976 luminosity L* that is measured using a D65 light source in a diffuse lighting mode by receiving light in a direction at 80 with respect to a normal line to the surface at a visual field angle of 100 visual field for a measurement time of one second being 60 or more. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 3, Ugi in view of JP ‘880 discloses 0.001 mass% or more and 0.500 mass% or less Ti (0.05 to 0.3% Ti) (JP ‘880 [0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Ugi in view of JP ‘880 discloses the passive film inhibits red rust (JP ‘880 [0006]) such that it has excellent weather resistance (JP ‘880 [0007], [0048]). The limitation of in a range from the surface to 1.0 um after the ferritic stainless steel is held in an atmosphere of 300°C to 900°C for 100 hours or longer, when a Cr content is represented by [Cr], a Si content is represented by [Si] and an Al content is represented by [Al] by unit mass%, the following formula (2) being satisfied, [Cr] + [Si] + [Al] > 18.0 ... (2), has been considered and determined to recite a property of the claimed ferritic stainless steel. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Ugi [0006]-[0013]; JP ‘880 [0019], [0022], [0024]) and substantially similar processing (Ugi [0015]-[0019]), such that the properties of the claimed invention naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including in a range from the surface to 1.0 um after the ferritic stainless steel is held in an atmosphere of 300°C to 900°C for 100 hours or longer, when a Cr content is represented by [Cr], a Si content is represented by [Si] and an Al content is represented by [Al] by unit mass%, the following formula (2) being satisfied, [Cr] + [Si] + [Al] > 18.0 ... (2).
Regarding claim 7, Ugi in view of JP ‘880 discloses the passive film inhibits red rust (JP ‘880 [0006]) such that it has excellent weather resistance (JP ‘880 [0007], [0048]). The limitation of in a range from the surface to 1.0 um after the ferritic stainless steel is held in an atmosphere of 300°C to 900°C for 100 hours or longer, when a Cr content is represented by [Cr], a Si content is represented by [Si] and an Al content is represented by [Al] by unit mass%, the following formula (2) being satisfied, [Cr] + [Si] + [Al] > 18.0 ... (2), has been considered and determined to recite a property of the claimed ferritic stainless steel. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Ugi [0006]-[0013]; JP ‘880 [0019], [0022], [0024]) and substantially similar processing (Ugi [0015]-[0019]; JP ‘880 [0031]-[0033]), such that the properties of the claimed invention naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including in a range from the surface to 1.0 um after the ferritic stainless steel is held in an atmosphere of 300°C to 900°C for 100 hours or longer, when a Cr content is represented by [Cr], a Si content is represented by [Si] and an Al content is represented by [Al] by unit mass%, the following formula (2) being satisfied, [Cr] + [Si] + [Al] > 18.0 ... (2).
Regarding claim 8, Ugi in view of JP ‘880 discloses the passive film inhibits red rust (JP ‘880 [0006]) such that it has excellent weather resistance (JP ‘880 [0007], [0048]). The limitation of in a range from the surface to 1.0 um after the ferritic stainless steel is held in an atmosphere of 300°C to 900°C for 100 hours or longer, when a Cr content is represented by [Cr], a Si content is represented by [Si] and an Al content is represented by [Al] by unit mass%, the following formula (2) being satisfied, [Cr] + [Si] + [Al] > 18.0 ... (2), has been considered and determined to recite a property of the claimed ferritic stainless steel. The prior art discloses a substantially similar composition (Ugi [0006]-[0013]; JP ‘880 [0019], [0022], [0024]) and substantially similar processing (Ugi [0015]-[0019]), such that the properties of the claimed invention naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including in a range from the surface to 1.0 um after the ferritic stainless steel is held in an atmosphere of 300°C to 900°C for 100 hours or longer, when a Cr content is represented by [Cr], a Si content is represented by [Si] and an Al content is represented by [Al] by unit mass%, the following formula (2) being satisfied, [Cr] + [Si] + [Al] > 18.0 ... (2).
Related Art
Hamada (JP 2012-112025 machine translation)
Hamada discloses a ferritic stainless steel ([0001], [0020]) with an overlapping composition ([0025], [0032]-[0045]), substantially similar processing ([0048], [0056]-[0062]), and concentration of Al in the surface passivation film ([0024]).
Element
Claim 1
Hamada Disclosure
Hamada Citation
Si
0.05 to 2.50
0.5 or less
[0034]
Mn
0.05 to 1.50
0.5 or less
[0035]
C
0.025 or less
0.0101 or less
[0032]
P
0.040 or less
-
-
S
0.003 or less
-
-
N
0.025 or less
0.020 or less
[0033]
Ni
0.01 to 0.50
3 or less
[0042]
Cr
10.50 to 25.00
10.0 to 20.0
[0036]
Cu
0.01 to 1.80
1.5 or less
[0041]
Al
0.002 to 0.200
0.03 to 0.5
[0039]
Nb
0.001 to 1.00
0.05 or less
[0040]
Fe
Remainder
Remainder
[0025]
Ti
0.05 to 0.30
[0037]
Mo
1.5 or less
[0038]
V
1 or less
[0043]
Sn
0.5 or less
[0044]
B
0.0020 or less
[0045]
Applicant’s Disclosed Process
[0068]-[0080]
Hamada’s Disclosed Process [0048], [0056]-[0062]
Pretreatment
1100-1300°C
Casting
Casting
Hot Rolling
Hot Rolling
Annealing, optional
-
First Pickling
HCl or HNO3+HF
Pickling
Cold Rolling
Cold Rolling
Final Annealing
900-1100°C
30-90 seconds
Annealing
850-950°C
-
Nitric Acid Electrolysis
100-150 g/L concentration
50-70°C
100-150 mA/cm2 current density
60-120 seconds
Pickling in Nitric Acid
50 to 200 g/L
50-80°C
-
4-100 seconds
Final Pickling
HNO3+HF
-
JP ‘595 (JP H01-234595 machine translation)
JP ‘595 discloses a ferritic stainless steel (p. 1) with a similar composition (Table 1) manufactured by bright annealing to increase Si oxide then nitric acid electrolysis to selectively dissolve manganese oxide (p. 2).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735