DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-14, 16, and 18-22 of the amended claim set received 6/22/2026 are pending. Claims 15 and 17 have been canceled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “driving mechanism” in claims 1 and 22 and “driving member”, “first driven member”, “second driven member” of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Golden (US 2009/0287188).
Regarding Claim 1, Golden discloses a deflectable catheter, comprising:
a sheath 24 (Figs. 1 and 2) having a bendable section 38;
a first traction wire 44 anchored to the bendable section of the sheath;
a second traction wire 44 anchored to the bendable section of the sheath at a location circumferentially different from that of the first traction wire (see Fig. 2);
a driving mechanism 70 connected to both the first traction wire 44 and the second traction wire 44;
a handle housing 50 having an accommodating cavity (see Fig. 3), the driving mechanism 70 located in the accommodating cavity of the handle housing (as shown in Fig. 3);
an adjusting member 62 connected to the driving mechanism 70 and comprising an adjusting component 62;
a stop mechanism comprising a first stop 130 and a second stop 96 (see Figs. 7A and 7B), the first stop 84 connected to the adjusting component 62 (as shown in Fig. 3), the second stop 130 remaining stationary relative to the sheath 24 (e.g. when the position of Fig. 7A is held constant);
wherein the driving mechanism 70 pulls and releases the first traction wire 44 and the second traction wire 44, and when the driving mechanism pulls any of the first traction wire and the second traction wire, the driving mechanism 70 will synchronously release the other one of the first traction wire 44 and the second traction wire 44 (see Fig. 4, read para. 0035: pair of wires 44 secured on opposite sides of pulley 70, such that rotation of the pulley pulls one wire while releasing the other); and
wherein the second stop 96 has a plurality of positioning recesses 122B arranged thereon in an annular layout (see Fig. 6), and the first stop 130 is elastically snap-fitted with a corresponding one of the plurality of positioning recesses 122B on the second stop 96 (as shown in Fig. 7B).
Regarding Claim 9, Golden discloses the claimed invention as discussed above and further discloses the first traction wire 44 and the second traction wire 44 are located in the same axial plane of the sheath 24 (see Fig. 2; a plane could be formed which contains any two of the wires 44 shown).
Regarding Claim 21, Golden discloses wherein the stop mechanism 130+96 is arranged opposite to the adjusting component 62 and is configured to maintain the bendable section 38 of the sheath in a corresponding bent state after it is bent to a preset position (the locked position shown in Fig. 7A as described, e.g., in paras. 0050-0052).
Regarding Claim 22, Golden discloses a deflectable catheter, comprising:
a sheath 24 (Figs. 1 and 2) having a bendable section 38;
a first traction wire 44 anchored to the bendable section of the sheath;
a second traction wire 44 anchored to the bendable section of the sheath at a location circumferentially different from that of the first traction wire (see Fig. 2); and
a driving mechanism 70 connected to both the first traction wire 44 and the second traction wire 44, wherein the driving mechanism 70 pulls and releases the first traction wire 44 and the second traction wire 44, and when the driving mechanism pulls any of the first traction wire and the second traction wire, the driving mechanism 70 will synchronously release the other one of the first traction wire 44 and the second traction wire 44 (see Fig. 4, read para. 0035: pair of wires 44 secured on opposite sides of pulley 70, such that rotation of the pulley pulls one wire while releasing the other);
an adjusting member 62 and a handle housing 50 (see Fig. 3);
wherein the adjusting member 62 is configured to adjust the driving mechanism 70 for selecting and adjusting a bending direction and a bending angle of the sheath 24 (read para. 0033), the adjusting member comprises an adjusting component 62 which is at least partially exposed outside the handle housing 50; wherein the deflectable catheter further comprises a stop mechanism 84 arranged opposite to the adjusting component 62 and is configured to maintain the bendable section 38 of the sheath in a corresponding bent state after it is bent to a preset position (the locked position as described in paras. 0050-0052).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanemasa (US 2016/0339208).
Regarding Claim 1, Kanemasa discloses a deflectable catheter, comprising:
a sheath 10 (Figs. 1A-1C and 2) having a bendable section DE;
a first traction wire 30a anchored to the bendable section of the sheath;
a second traction wire 30b anchored to the bendable section of the sheath at a location circumferentially different from that of the first traction wire (see Fig. 2);
a driving mechanism 64 connected to both the first traction wire 30a and the second traction wire 30b (read para. 0148);
a handle housing 80+65 having an accommodating cavity (recessed portion of 65 into which driving mechanism 64 positioned as read at para. 0180), the driving mechanism 64 located in the accommodating cavity of the handle housing (as shown in Figs. 4 and 5 and described above);
an adjusting member 61 connected to the driving mechanism 64 and comprising an adjusting component 61;
a stop mechanism comprising a first stop 62a and a second stop 63 (see Fig. 6), the first stop 62a connected to the adjusting component 61 (via fittings 62c and 61c), the second stop 63 remaining stationary relative to the sheath 10 (e.g. when the torque applied by the adjusting component 61 is too great, 62a slips while 63 remains stationary, read paras. 0152-0153);
wherein the driving mechanism 64 pulls and releases the first traction wire 30a and the second traction wire 30b, and when the driving mechanism pulls any of the first traction wire and the second traction wire, the driving mechanism 64 will synchronously release the other one of the first traction wire 30a and the second traction wire 30b (see Fig. 5, read para. 0148); and
wherein the second stop 63 has a plurality of positioning recesses 63b arranged thereon in an annular layout (see Figs. 6 and 8A), and the first stop 62a is elastically snap-fitted with a corresponding one of the plurality of positioning recesses 63b on the second stop 96 (as can be understood looking at Fig. 6 and reading para. 0153).
Regarding Claim 2, Kanemasa discloses wherein the driving mechanism 64 comprises a driving member 64b, a first driven member 66 linked with the driving 64b member, and a second driven member 66 linked with the driving member 64b, and wherein the first driven member 66 is connected to the first traction wire 30a (read para. 00148), the second driven member 66 is connected to the second traction wire 30b, and the driving member 64b drives one of the first driven member 66 and the second driven member 66 to pull the traction wire 30a or 30b connected thereto and synchronously drives the other one 66 of the first driven member and the second driven member to release the traction wire (the other of 30a and 30b) connected thereto (as can be understood looking at Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemasa (US 2016/0339208).
Regarding Claim 20, Kenemasa further discloses wherein the first stop 62a is fixed to the adjusting component 61 (via fittings 62c and 61c, as described in para. 0152), and the second stop 63 is opposite to the adjusting component 61 (63 is opposite to 61, relative to 62).
Although the specification and drawings do not clearly show the second stop 63 is spaced apart from the adjusting component 61 as claimed, it is one of two options (a) where there is contact or (b) where there is no contact, either of the two options would equally enable the apparatus to function as intended. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to produce the deflectable catheter of Kenemasa such that the second stop is spaced apart from the adjusting component given that it is one of two viable options and there is a design need to choose one in order to reproduce the invention, see MPEP 2144.05 II B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are allowable.
Claims 3-8, 10-14, and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art does not disclose or form a reasonable combination teaching the following in combination with the limitations of the base claim, “wherein the driving member is a driving bevel gear, the first driven member is a first driven bevel gear meshing with the driving bevel gear, the second driven member is a second driven bevel gear meshing with the driving bevel gear, the first driven bevel gear is connected to the first traction wire, the second driven bevel gear is connected to the second traction wire, the driving bevel gear drives one of the first driven bevel gear and the second driven bevel gear to pull the traction wire connected thereto and synchronously drives the other one of the first driven bevel gear and the second driven bevel gear to release the traction wire connected thereto.”
Regarding Claim 18, “wherein the first stop is connected to the driving bevel gear, the first stop rotates synchronously with the driving bevel gear, the second stop has a plurality of positioning recesses arranged thereon in an annular layout, and the first stop rotates synchronously with the driving bevel gear and is elastically snap-fitted with a corresponding one of the plurality of positioning recesses on the second stop.”
Claims 4-8, 10-14, 16, and 19 are allowable at least by basis on one of the claims discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
/R.D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741