DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) in view of Reis have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Knippel/Hansen.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 23 of claim 1, “being arranged pull the pull tab” should be changed to “being arranged to pull the pull tab”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an engagement feature”, “a first interference feature”, “a first release mechanism” in claim 1, 5, 6, 7, and 10, “a second interference feature” in claim 5 and 6, and “a second release mechanism” in claim 6.
A review of the specification identifies the following structures disclosed as performing the claims functions:
engagement feature – a protrusion (18)
first interference feature – a narrow opening provided inside the handle (26)
first release mechanism – a button (28)
second interference feature – a leaf spring (20)
second release mechanism – a slider (24)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knippel et al. (US 2012/0123528) in view of Hansen et al. (US 2010/0004606).
Regarding claim 1, Knippel et al. discloses a system (10, FIG 1) for deploying an implant ([0028]), the system comprising: a handle (20), a catheter (26) extending from the handle (FIG 1), the catheter being arranged for holding an implant at an implant holding portion (compartment 23, [0028]) at a distal end of the catheter (FIG 1), an implant retaining sheath (24), the implant retaining sheath being arranged so as to surround the implant holding portion so as to retain an implant that is arranged at the implant holding portion (FIG 1, [0028-0031]), a pull tab (22/40, FIG 1-2), the pull tab being connected to the implant retaining sheath ([0030] “The distal sheath 24 is affixed at its proximal end to an outer shaft 22”) so that a proximal pull on the pull tab pulls back the implant retaining sheath so as to release an implant arranged at the implant holding portion ([0030, 0031, 0046]), the pull tab further comprising an engagement feature (51, FIG 2) that is arranged on the pull tab (40 is integrally connected to 22 and moves proximally and distally together. 51 is arranged on element 40 of the pull tab) and that is moved proximally as the pull tab is moved proximally (because 51 is constrained to 40, [0039-0040]), the engagement feature being arranged to engage with a first interference feature (52, FIG 2, [0039-0042]) arranged at a first fixed longitudinal position on the system for deploying the implant (52 is arranged at a longitudinal position of the handle housing in slot 54, FIG 2), wherein an engagement between the engagement feature and the first interference feature provides tactile feedback to a user of the system that the implant retaining sheath has been pulled back a pre-set distance (The user can feel the engagement when 51 abuts with 52 because further proximal retraction is completely prevented, [0039, 0049]), wherein the tactile feedback is complete blocking of further withdrawal of the pull tab ([0054], proximal retraction is completely blocked by the engagement between 51 and 52 until button 50 is pressed to retract the pin [0054]), the system further comprises a first release mechanism (50) for selectively releasing the complete blocking of further withdrawal of the pull tab ([0038-0040 and 0054]), the system further comprising a pull tab withdrawal mechanism (21, IFG 1-2) the pull tab withdrawal mechanism being arranged pull the pull tab proximally so as to release an implant arranged at the implant holding portion ([0046]), the pull tab withdrawal mechanism comprising a thumbwheel FIG 1 shows that 21 is a thumbwheel).
Knippel discloses the thumbwheel causes proximal retraction via a threaded rod mechanism ([0035-0036, 0046-0047]) and therefore is silent regarding the thumbwheel being coupled to a spindle, the spindle being arranged for winding up the pull tab so as to exert a proximal pull on the pull tab.
However, Hansen et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor of systems for deploying an implant (FIG 1 and 3-5) wherein a stent is housed within an implant retaining sheath (14) at the distal end of a catheter ([0051]) and the stent is deployed via proximal retraction of the retaining sheath ([0051, 0054]) and further discloses wherein the mechanism for releasing the stent includes a pull tab (44) and a pull tab withdrawal mechanism comprising a wheel (50) coupled to a spindle (48) arranged for winding up the pull tab ([0056-0058]) to exert proximal pull on the pull tab ([0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the threaded rod mechanism taught by Knippel with the spindle taught by Hansen, for the purpose of substituting a mechanism commonly known in the art for retracting an outer sheath to expose a stent for deployment at the distal end of the catheter. In the device as modified, at least the proximal end of the pull tab of Knippel is modified to be windable around a spindle to perform the retraction, as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Knippel/Hansen disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Knippel further discloses the system further comprising a stent graft implant arranged at the implant holding portion ([0028, 0029, 0031]; although not shown in the figures, it is understood that the device comprises the stent received within the compartment 23 as described).
Regarding claim 9, Knippel/Hansen disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 8. Knippel further discloses the implant being a self-expanding implant ([0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Knippel/Hansen disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 8. Knippel further discloses the engagement between the engagement feature and the first interference feature corresponds to a partial deployment of the implant ([0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Knippel/Hansen disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Knippel further discloses he first release mechanism is operable by a user operable button ([0038-0040] describes the control member 50 as a user operable button).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knippel et al. (US 2012/0123528) in view of Hansen et al. (US2010004606), further in view of Cully et al. (US 2019/0125517).
Regarding claim 15, Knippel/Hansen disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 8.
Knippel is silent regarding the stent graft implant being a TIPS stent graft.
However, Cully teaches in the same filed of endeavor a stent graft implant (10, FIG 1) which is deployable to a form a transjugular intrahepatic portosystemic shunt ([0002, 0007, and 0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select a stent graft configured to form a TIPS stent graft, as taught by Cully ([0029] discloses preferable sizing for a stent graft used for this particular procedure), for the purpose of configuring the device for treatment at a particular site, i.e. between the portal vein and the vena cava.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knippel et al. (US 2012/0123528) in view of Hansen et al. (US2010004606), further in view of Wuebbeling et al. (US 2010/0174290).
Regarding claim 16, Knippel/Hansen disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
Knippel is silent regarding the handle further comprising a flexible distal tip.
However, Wuebbeling teaches in the same filed of endeavor a handle (1, FIG 2) for retracting a sheath to deploy a stent ([0004, 0037, 0063]) wherein the handle comprises a flexible distal tip (18, FIG 1-2, [0068] discloses the tip “relieves localised compression and bending forces at the catheter proximal end where it is connected to the housing 10”, which is understood to mean that the tip is flexible to provide strain relief).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the handle of Knippel to comprise a flexible distal tip, as taught by Wuebbeling, for the purpose of providing a structure at the distal end of the handle where the handle connects to the catheter sheath such that the user can apply controlled forces to the surgical catheter, and relieves localised compression and bending forces at the catheter shaft proximal end where it is connected to the housing of the handle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771