DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The antecedent basis of “the aromatic vinyl-vinyl cyanide copolymer” in claim 3 is indefinite. In claim 3, there is an aromatic vinyl-vinyl cyanide copolymer in the continuous phase, and there is an aromatic vinyl-vinyl cyanide copolymer in the dispersed phase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2019/0203036) in view of Yang et al. (2018/0112056).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 7-10: Kim et al. teach a thermoplastic resin composition comprising:
100 parts by weight of a base resin (A) including (A-1) 50 to 70 wt% of a polycarbonate resin with a Mw of 24,000 g/mol [0099; Examples] and (A-2) 30 to 50 wt% of a rubber modified vinyl-based copolymer that comprises a continuous phase of a styrene-acrylonitrile copolymer and a dispersed phase having a core-shell structure including a core of butadiene having an average particle diameter of 1,000 nm and a shelf from by graft-polymerization of a styrene-acrylonitrile copolymer on the core [0012-0016; Examples; claim 2]; and
1 to 3 parts by weight of an acrylic copolymer having a Mw of 1,000,000 to 5,000,000, with an example at 2,000,000 g/mol [0011-0017, 0103; Examples]; and additives [0079].
Kim et al. fail to teach zinc oxide.
However, Yang et al. teach adding 0.5 to 30 parts, with examples of 2 parts by weight, of the claimed zinc oxide to an analogous thermoplastic resin composition to improve weather resistance, antibacterial properties, and/or mechanical properties [0009-0030; Examples; Tables].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to add 2 parts by weight of the zinc oxide of Yang et al. to the composition of Kim et al. to improve the weather resistance, antibacterial properties, and/or mechanical properties of the compositon.
Regarding claim 5: Kim et al. teach an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene graft copolymer with an average particle diameter of 1,000 nm [0012].
Regarding claim 6: Kim et al. teach a methyl methacrylate-butyl acrylate copolymer with a Mw of 2,000,000 g/mol [0103; Examples].
A methyl methacrylate-butyl acrylate copolymer is very structurally similar to a methyl methacrylate-ethyl acrylate copolymer.
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c).
Regarding claim 11: Kim et al. teach the claimed additives [0079-0087].
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763