DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 02/09/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 11/07/2025. No claims are added or cancelled. Therefore, claims 21-40 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 21-22, 24-26, 31-32 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2021/0359826, as submitted in IDS), Wang826 hereinafter, in view of Raghavan et al. (2022/0070834), Raghavan834 hereinafter.
Re. Claims 21 and 31, Wang826 teaches a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig.4, terminal / Fig.5), and a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig.4, terminal / Fig.5) comprising: a processor (Fig. 5, 502); and a transceiver (Fig. 5, 501 & ¶0153 - The communications module may be a transceiver circuit…,); the transceiver (Fig. 5, 501 & ¶0153) configured to receive configuration information identifying one or more channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resources in a first frequency range (FR), wherein at least one of the CSI-RS resources in the first FR is associated with one or more CSI-RS resources in a second FR and the second FR is a lower FR than the first FR (Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0008 - A terminal device receives first information that is sent by a network device and that is used to indicate a first reference signal group that is on a first carrier, and receives the first reference signal group that is sent by the network device and that is on the first carrier, where there is a correspondence between the first reference signal group that is on the first carrier and a first reference signal that is on a second carrier, and the first reference signal group includes at least two reference signals. Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0009 - the terminal device may receive, from the network device, reference signal groups that are on the first carrier and that correspond to reference signals that are on the second carrier, so that the terminal device determines, by measuring the reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, a reference signal with optimal signal quality in the reference signals that are on the second carrier, ….. when the first carrier is a low frequency carrier (i.e., FR1, below or equal to 6 GHz, see ¶0059), and the second carrier is a high frequency carrier (i.e., FR2, above 6 GHz, see ¶0058-¶0059). Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0012 - the first information includes the correspondence between the first reference signal group and the first reference signal, the first information includes a correspondence between a group identifier of the first reference signal group and an identifier of the first reference signal, or the first information includes a correspondence between an identifier of the first-type reference signal included in the first reference signal group and an identifier of the first reference signal. … to indicate the first reference signal that is on the second carrier and that corresponds to the first reference signal group that is on the first carrier. Also, ¶0095-¶0096, where reference signals are CSI-RSs); the processor (Fig. 5, 502) and the transceiver (Fig. 5, 501 & ¶0153) configured to measure a signal quality of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR (Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0009 - the terminal device may receive, from the network device, reference signal groups that are on the first carrier and that correspond to reference signals that are on the second carrier, so that the terminal device determines, by measuring the reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, a reference signal with optimal signal quality in the reference signals that are on the second carrier, ….. when the first carrier is a low frequency carrier (i.e., FR1, below or equal to 6 GHz, see ¶0059), and the second carrier is a high frequency carrier (i.e., FR2, above 6 GHz, see ¶0058-¶0059). Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0116 - the network device may indicate a reference signal group that is on a low frequency carrier and that corresponds to a reference signal that is on a high frequency carrier to the terminal device, so that the terminal device receives the reference signal group that is on the low frequency carrier, determines the reference signal that is on the high frequency carrier by measuring the reference signal group that is on the low frequency carrier. Also, see ¶0123); the processor (Fig. 5, 502) configured to select a subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR; on a condition that the measured signal quality of at least the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR is lower than a threshold (Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0011 - the first reference signal group that is on the first carrier includes a first-type reference signal, a direction of the first-type reference signal is the same as a direction of the first reference signal that is on the second carrier, and in the direction of the first-type reference signal, signal quality of the first-type reference signal is less than or equal to a preset threshold. Also, see ¶0123, where the threshold for selection of the optimal CSI-RS group can be considered to be the signal quality corresponding to any of the other CSI-RS that turns out to be suboptimal): the processor (Fig. 5, 502) and the transceiver (Fig. 5, 501 & ¶0153) are configured to measure a respective signal quality of each of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the second FR that are associated with the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR (Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0009 - the terminal device may receive, from the network device, reference signal groups that are on the first carrier and that correspond to reference signals that are on the second carrier, so that the terminal device determines, by measuring the reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, a reference signal with optimal signal quality in the reference signals that are on the second carrier, ….. when the first carrier is a low frequency carrier (i.e., FR1, below or equal to 6 GHz, see ¶0059), and the second carrier is a high frequency carrier (i.e., FR2, above 6 GHz, see ¶0058-¶0059). Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0011 - the first reference signal group that is on the first carrier includes a first-type reference signal, a direction of the first-type reference signal is the same as a direction of the first reference signal that is on the second carrier, and in the direction of the first-type reference signal, signal quality of the first-type reference signal is less than or equal to a preset threshold. Also, see ¶0123, where the threshold for selection of the optimal CSI-RS group can be considered to be the signal quality corresponding to any of the other CSI-RS that turns out to be suboptimal); and the processor (Fig. 5, 502) and the transceiver (Fig. 5, 501 & ¶0153) are configured to send a report including one or more of: the respective signal quality for each of the CSI-RS resources in the second FR that are associated with the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR (Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0116 - the network device may indicate a reference signal group that is on a low frequency carrier and that corresponds to a reference signal that is on a high frequency carrier to the terminal device, so that the terminal device receives the reference signal group that is on the low frequency carrier, determines the reference signal that is on the high frequency carrier by measuring the reference signal group that is on the low frequency carrier, and feeds back a determining result to the network device. In this way, when a beam that is on the high frequency carrier and that is used to transmit data is selected, a large quantity of reference signals that are on the high frequency carrier do not need to be configured, thereby reducing system overheads. See ¶0005-¶0006, Wang826’s invention eliminates system overhead as because the existing a beam management process (i.e., analog beamforming with reference signals on a high frequency carrier), the access network device used to configure the large quantity of beam management resources that are on the high frequency carrier. Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0117 - when the first information is used to indicate a plurality of first reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, and the plurality of first reference signal groups correspond to a plurality of first reference signals that are on the second carrier, after the terminal device receives the plurality of first reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, the terminal device may measure signal quality of the plurality of first reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, determine, based on a measurement result, some first reference signals with optimal quality in the first reference signals that are on the second carrier, and feed back a determining result to the network device. Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0118 - The terminal device measures the signal quality of the plurality of first reference signal groups, determines N first reference signal groups with optimal signal quality in the plurality of first reference signal groups, and sends feedback information to the network device. Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0119 - the feedback information may include an identifier of each of the N first reference signals, may include a group identifier of each of the N first reference signal groups corresponding to the N first reference signals, may include an identifier of a first-type reference signal included in each of the N first reference signal groups. Also, see ¶0123, where the group ID can be considered information indicating measured signal quality, namely, it indicates that the quality corresponds to that group is optimal with respect to the other available groups. Also, see claims 17-18); or an indication of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the second FR that are associated with the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR (See ¶0117-¶0119 & ¶0123 along with Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4).
Even though, Wang826 teaches wherein at least one of the CSI-RS resources in the first FR is associated with one or more CSI-RS resources in a second FR and ……………………………; yet Wang826 does not expressly teach the claimed feature “the second FR is a lower FR than the first FR”, however, in the analogous art, Raghavan834 explicitly discloses wherein at least one of the CSI-RS resources in the first FR is associated with one or more CSI-RS resources in a second FR and the second FR is a lower FR than the first FR (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0005 - methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support beam correlation across frequency bands. …. provide for a user equipment (UE) to utilize a physical mapping between beam identifiers (IDs) and beam angle coverage ranges to select a beam ID in the event of a frequency switch. For example, the UE may transmit an indication of a set of operating frequencies to the base station. In response, the base station may determine a mapping which indicates an association between beam IDs and angle coverage ranges for a set of frequency ranges which includes the set of indicated operating frequencies. The base station may transmit the mapping to the UE and in the event of a frequency switch, the UE may select a beam ID for subsequent communication with the base station based on the mapping. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0020 - method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, each of the set of beam IDs corresponds to….. a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)… . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0086 - a UE 115 may utilize a physical mapping between beam IDs and beam angle coverage ranges to select a beam ID in the event of a frequency switch. For example, the UE 115 may transmit an indication of a set of operating frequencies to the base station 105. In response, the base station 105 may determine a mapping which indicates an association between beam IDs and angle coverage ranges for a set of frequency ranges which include the set of indicated operating frequencies. The base station 105 may transmit the mapping to the UE 115 and in the event of a frequency switch, the UE 115 may select a beam ID for subsequent communication with the base station 105 based on the mapping. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - Base station and UE 115-a may also utilize other types of reference signals to perform beam management techniques such as SRSs or CSI-RSs. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0089 - UE 115-a and base station 105-a may operate within an upper mmW band (e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) and beyond, interpreted as first FR) and may utilize an ultrawide bandwidth (e.g., 14 GHz from 57-71 GHz). The wavelength at upper mmW bands may be smaller than the wavelength at other frequencies (e.g., 28 GHz or 39 GHz, interpreted as second FR) and as such, more antenna elements may be packed in the same physical aperture in the upper mmW bands (interpreted as first FR, e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) and beyond) when compared with other frequencies (interpreted as second FR, e.g., 28 GHz) resulting in large antenna arrays.);
Also, Wang826 doesn’t expressly teach the processor and the transceiver are configured to determine to switch from the first FR range to the second FR;
However, in the analogous art, Raghavan834 explicitly discloses the processor (Fig. 9, 940) and the transceiver (Fig. 9, 930) are configured to determine to switch from the first FR range to the second FR (Fig. 3/Fig. 4B & ¶0083 - a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions and may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal that the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. Fig. 3/Fig. 4B & ¶0086 - a UE 115 may utilize a physical mapping between beam IDs and beam angle coverage ranges to select a beam ID in the event of a frequency switch. For example, the UE 115 may transmit an indication of a set of operating frequencies to the base station 105. In response, the base station 105 may determine a mapping which indicates an association between beam IDs and angle coverage ranges for a set of frequency ranges which include the set of indicated operating frequencies. The base station 105 may transmit the mapping to the UE 115 and in the event of a frequency switch, the UE 115 may select a beam ID for subsequent communication with the base station 105 based on the mapping. Fig. 3/Fig. 4B & ¶0090 - UE 115-a may receive a mapping which may include an association between operating frequencies and beam IDs (e.g., SSB ID, CSR-RS ID, or SRS ID) from base station 105-a. The mapping ….. indicate an offset between a first beam ID conveyed using a first operating frequency relative to a second beam ID conveyed using a second operating frequency. For example, the mapping may indicate that SSB0 at 71 GHz maps to SSB1 at 57 GHz. In some examples, UE 115-a may utilize this mapping in the event of a frequency switch. For example, if the operating frequency switches from 57 GHz to 71 GHz, UE 115-a may identify a beam associated with SSB1 as opposed to a beam associated with SSB0 for communication with base station 105-a in order to account for the effects of frequency switching. Fig. 3/Fig. 4B & ¶0102 - UE may select a first beam to communicate with the base station at a first frequency (e.g., 71 GHz). For example, the UE may select CSI-RS beam 410-b which may have an associated beam ID CSI-RS5. …. the UE may undergo a frequency switch, such that the UE switches from an operating frequency of 71 GHz to 57 GHz. ….the UE may select CSI-RS beam 410 that covers a similar angle range (e.g., overlapping frequency range) or a current angle range of the UE when compared to CSI-RS beam 410-b using the mapping…..UE may select CSI-RS beam 410-a or CSI-RS beam 410-c at 57 GHz. As shown FIG. 4B, CSI-RS beam 410-a may deviate slightly in array gain when compared to CSI-RS beam 410-b, whereas CSI-RS beam 410-c may deviate greatly in array gain when compared to CSI-RS beam 410-b. As such, the UE may select CSI-RS beam 410-a for subsequent communication with the base station at 57 GHz. Fig. 5 & ¶0107 - At 515, base station 105-c may transmit a first beam which corresponds to a first beam ID at a first frequency to UE 115-c…. the first frequency may be located in the upper mmW band. For examples, the first frequency may be 57 GHz. Fig. 5 & ¶0108 - At 520, UE 115-c or base station 105-c may trigger a frequency switch. That is, UE 115-c and base station 105-c may switch from operating according to the first frequency to a second frequency. For examples, UE 115-c and base station 105-c may switch from 57 GHz to 64 GHz. Also, see claims 1-3, for example, “ method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating a mapping between a plurality of beam identifiers and a plurality of angle coverage ranges for each beam identifier of the plurality of beam identifiers, wherein each angle coverage range of the plurality of angle coverage ranges corresponds to an operating frequency of a plurality of operating frequencies within at least one frequency band; determining a frequency switch from a first operating frequency of the plurality of operating frequencies to a second operating frequency of the plurality of operating frequencies; and selecting a second beam identifier of the plurality of beam identifiers based at least in part on the frequency switch and the mapping, the selected second beam identifier corresponding to the second operating frequency and a second angle coverage range based on the mapping, performing a set of beam search measurements associated with the base station based at least in part on the second beam identifier; and communicating with the base station using the second beam identifier based at least in part on the set of beam search measurements. “ );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang826’s invention of reference signal management in a wireless communication system to include Raghavan834’s invention of supporting beam correlation across frequency bands for beam selection in the event of a frequency switch in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient beam management techniques in order to provide accurate beam parameters or channel estimations across an ultrawide bandwidth range while operating in an upper millimeter wave band (e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) to 71 GHz) in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0004, ¶0089, Raghavan834)
Re. Claims 22 and 32, Wang826 and Raghavan834 teach claims 21 and 31.
Wang826 further teaches wherein the report includes an identifier associated with the second FR. (Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0119 - the feedback information may include an identifier of each of the N first reference signals, may include a group identifier of each of the N first reference signal groups corresponding to the N first reference signals, may include an identifier of a first-type reference signal included in each of the N first reference signal groups. Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0123 - feed back an ID of the FR2 CSI-RS #2 to the network device, or feed back a group identifier of the reference signal group 2 to the network device, or feed back an ID of the first-type reference signal CSI-RS #b included in the reference signal group 2 to the network device.)
Re. Claims 24 and 34, Wang826 and Raghavan834 teach claims 21 and 31.
Wang826 further teaches wherein the reported signal quality of each of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the second FR that are associated with the selected one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR is a reference signal received power (RSRP). (Fig. 1-2/Fig. 4 & ¶0123 - After receiving the three reference signal groups, the terminal device obtains, through measurement, RSRPs of the three reference signal groups as follows: The RSRP of the reference signal group 2 is greater than the RSRP of the reference signal group 3, and the RSRP of the reference signal group 3 is greater than the RSRP of the reference signal group 1. In this case, the terminal device may determine that signal quality of the FR2 CSI-RS #2 corresponding to the reference signal group 2 is optimal, and feed back an ID of the FR2 CSI-RS #2 to the network device, or feed back a group identifier of the reference signal group 2 to the network device, or feed back an ID of the first-type reference signal CSI-RS #b included in the reference signal group 2 to the network device.)
Re. Claims 25 and 35, Wang826 and Raghavan834 teach claims 21 and 31.
Yet, Wang826 does not expressly teach wherein the first FR is between 52.6 GHz and 71 GHz.
However, in the analogous art, Raghavan834 explicitly discloses wherein the first FR is between 52.6 GHz and 71 GHz. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0089 - UE 115-a and base station 105-a may operate within an upper mmW band (e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) and beyond, interpreted as first FR) and may utilize an ultrawide bandwidth (e.g., 14 GHz from 57-71 GHz). The wavelength at upper mmW bands may be smaller than the wavelength at other frequencies (e.g., 28 GHz or 39 GHz, interpreted as second FR) and as such, more antenna elements may be packed in the same physical aperture in the upper mmW bands (interpreted as first FR, e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) and beyond) when compared with other frequencies (interpreted as second FR, e.g., 28 GHz) resulting in large antenna arrays.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang826’s invention of reference signal management in a wireless communication system to include Raghavan834’s invention of supporting beam correlation across frequency bands for beam selection in the event of a frequency switch in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient beam management techniques in order to provide accurate beam parameters or channel estimations across an ultrawide bandwidth range while operating in an upper millimeter wave band (e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) to 71 GHz) in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0004, ¶0089, Raghavan834)
Re. Claims 26 and 36, Wang826 and Raghavan834 teach claims 21 and 31.
Yet, Wang826 does not expressly teach wherein the first FR is between 52.6 GHz and 71 GHz.
However, in the analogous art, Raghavan834 explicitly discloses wherein the second FR is a 28 GHz band. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0089 - UE 115-a and base station 105-a may operate within an upper mmW band (e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) and beyond, interpreted as first FR) and may utilize an ultrawide bandwidth (e.g., 14 GHz from 57-71 GHz). The wavelength at upper mmW bands may be smaller than the wavelength at other frequencies (e.g., 28 GHz or 39 GHz, interpreted as second FR) and as such, more antenna elements may be packed in the same physical aperture in the upper mmW bands (interpreted as first FR, e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) and beyond) when compared with other frequencies (interpreted as second FR, e.g., 28 GHz) resulting in large antenna arrays.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang826’s invention of reference signal management in a wireless communication system to include Raghavan834’s invention of supporting beam correlation across frequency bands for beam selection in the event of a frequency switch in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient beam management techniques in order to provide accurate beam parameters or channel estimations across an ultrawide bandwidth range while operating in an upper millimeter wave band (e.g., 52.6 Gigahertz (GHz) to 71 GHz) in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0004, ¶0089, Raghavan834)
Claims 23 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang826, in view of Raghavan834, further in view of Liu et al. (2023/0064881), Liu hereinafter.
Re. Claims 23 and 33, Wang826 and Raghavan834 teach claims 21 and 31.
Yet, Wang826 and Raghavan834 do not expressly teach wherein the report includes an identifier associated with a bandwidth part (BWP) of the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly discloses wherein the report includes an identifier associated with a bandwidth part (BWP) of the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources. (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0099 - communication device may transmit a CSI report indicating a RSRP value for the at least one CSI-RS resource and an index of the at least one CSI-RS resource. …. the CSI report may further indicate a subset index or a BWP index of a subset of aperiodic CSI-RS resources to which the at least one aperiodic CSI-RS resource belongs. The index of the at least one CSI-RS resource may be determined according to one of the methods described above with respect to FIGS. 1-5. Fig. 1-7 & ¶0104 - the base station side apparatus may receive a CSI report indicating a RSRP value for the at least one CSI-RS resource and an index of the at least one CSI-RS resource…. the CSI report may further indicate a subset index or a BWP index of a subset of aperiodic CSI-RS resources to which the at least one aperiodic CSI-RS resource belongs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang826’s invention of reference signal management in a wireless communication system and Raghavan834’s invention of supporting beam correlation across frequency bands for beam selection in the event of a frequency switch in a wireless communication system to include Liu’s invention of resource configuration and measurement reporting in a 5G/new radio (NR) communication system, because it provides an efficient beam management techniques for measurement reporting (e.g., channel state information (CSI) report) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) as deployed in the 5G/new radio (NR) communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Liu)
Claims 27 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang826, in view of Raghavan834, further in view of Park et al. (2021/0368477), Park hereinafter.
Re. Claims 27 and 37, Wang826 and Raghavan834 teach claims 21 and 31.
Yet, Wang826 and Raghavan834 do not expressly teach wherein the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR has a highest measured signal quality among the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses wherein the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR has a highest measured signal quality among the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR. (Fig. 3 & ¶0079 - The first step of the two-step hybrid CSI procedure may include slightly different operations depending on whether the subject communications occur over the lower frequency range for 5G networks, frequency range 1 (FR1) or the higher mmWave frequency range for 5G networks, frequency range 2 (FR2) (interpreted as first FR). FR1 may typically include the sub-6 GHz frequency bands, while FR2 (interpreted as first FR) may typically include the mmWave range between 24.25 GHz and 52.6 GHz. Fig. 3 & ¶0081 - UE 115 observes the multiple channel quality reference signal beams (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB, etc.), and selects the most favorable beam, such as the beam having the highest signal quality, reference signal receive power (RSRP), etc. CSI report 301FR2 includes identification of the beam index of the selected beam, which may include the CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), in the case where the channel quality reference signal is a CSI-RS, or an SSB-index, in the case where the channel quality reference signal is an SSB. The UE transmits this CSI report 301FR2including the beam index (e.g., CRI or SSB-index) for each of sectors 1 and 2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wang826’s invention of reference signal management in a wireless communication system and Raghavan834’s invention of supporting beam correlation across frequency bands for beam selection in the event of a frequency switch in a wireless communication system to include Park’s invention of Frequency-selective single frequency network (SFN) operation based on a modified Type-II port selection codebook in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reporting channel state information (CSI) feedback in a high-quality beam with a highest received signal power among a set of beams measured by a user equipment (UE), when CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource configured by a serving base station with two ports configured over multiple sectors of the serving base station with a precoder from Type-II port selection codebook over a plurality of frequency ranges/a plurality of frequency bands in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0007/¶0053, Park)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-30 and 38-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 28 – wherein the report is a second report, and wherein the method comprises, on a condition the measured signal quality of at least the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR is not lower than the threshold, sending a first report including the measured signal quality of the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR.
Claim 29 – communicating with a base station using a beam that is quasi-co-located (QCLed) with the subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR; and subsequent to switching from the first FR to the second FR, communicating with the base station using another beam that is QCLed with the one or more CSI- RS resources in the second FR that are associated with the selected one or more CSI- RS resources in the first FR..
Claim 30 – wherein the beam that is QCLed with the subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR is wider than the another beam that is QCLed with the one or more CSI-RS resources in the second FR that are associated with the selected one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR.
Claim 38 – wherein the report is a second report, and wherein the processor and the transceiver are configured to, on a condition the measured signal quality of at least the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR is not lower than the threshold, send a first report including the measured signal quality of the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR.
Claim 39 – wherein the processor and the transceiver are configured to communicate with a base station using a beam that is quasi-co-located (QCLed) with the subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR; and the processor and the transceiver are configured to, subsequent to switching from the first FR to the second FR, communicate with the base station using another beam that is QCLed with the one or more CSI-RS resources in the second FR that are associated with the selected one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR.
Claim 40 – wherein the beam that is QCLed with the subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR is wider than the another beam that is QCLed with the one or more CSI-RS resources in the second FR that are associated with the selected one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR. associated with a main radio of the UE, or a time drift associated with a main radio clock of the UE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/09/2026 for 35 USC §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks at pages 9-10 for independent claim 21, applicant argues by stating that Wang826 does not disclose receiving or measuring any reference signal that is actually transmitted on the second carrier. To the contrary, Wang826 repeatedly teaches in numerous paragraphs (e.g., [0019], [0030], [0037], [0038], [0091], [0116], among others), that reference signals on the second carrier are not transmitted, not configured at a terminal device, and not measured by the terminal device, that the terminal device disables a radio frequency module configured to receive reference signals on the second carrier, and that signal quality on the second carrier is inferred based on measurements performed on the first carrier. Wang's stated motivation, at least in paragraph [0116] for this approach is to reduce system overhead by avoiding the configuration and transmission of reference signals on a high-frequency carrier. See page 10 of remarks as submitted on 02/09/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Wang826 discloses that the network device may indicate a reference signal group that is on a low frequency carrier and that corresponds to a reference signal that is on a high frequency carrier to the terminal device, so that the terminal device receives the reference signal group that is on the low frequency carrier, determines the reference signal that is on the high frequency carrier by measuring the reference signal group that is on the low frequency carrier, and feeds back a determining result to the network device. In this way, when a beam that is on the high frequency carrier and that is used to transmit data is selected, a large quantity of reference signals that are on the high frequency carrier do not need to be configured, thereby reducing system overheads…. as disclosed in ¶0116 along with Fig.1-2 & Fig.4. Also, see ¶0005-¶0006, Wang826’s invention eliminates system overhead as because the existing a beam management process (i.e., analog beamforming with reference signals on a high frequency carrier), the access network device used to configure the large quantity of beam management resources that are on the high frequency carrier, quite contrary to applicant’s remarks at least at page 10 of remarks as submitted on 02/09/2026.
In line with the aforesaid disclosure, Wang826 further discloses that when the first information is used to indicate a plurality of first reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, and the plurality of first reference signal groups correspond to a plurality of first reference signals that are on the second carrier, after the terminal device receives the plurality of first reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, the terminal device may measure signal quality of the plurality of first reference signal groups that are on the first carrier, determine, based on a measurement result, some first reference signals with optimal quality in the first reference signals that are on the second carrier, and feed back a determining result to the network device. The terminal device measures the signal quality of the plurality of first reference signal groups, determines N first reference signal groups with optimal signal quality in the plurality of first reference signal groups, and sends feedback information to the network device. …the feedback information may include an identifier of each of the N first reference signals, may include a group identifier of each of the N first reference signal groups corresponding to the N first reference signals, may include an identifier of a first-type reference signal included in each of the N first reference signal groups. See ¶0117-¶0119 along with Fig.1-2 & Fig.4.
Also, see ¶0123, where the threshold for selection of the optimal CSI-RS group can be considered to be the signal quality corresponding to any of the other CSI-RS that turns out to be suboptimal as mentioned in ¶103 rejection, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks on page 10 as submitted on 02/09/2026, in particular to the allegation that Wang826 not only fails to disclose reference signal measurement in a second frequency range, but affirmatively teaches away from it. Because Wang826 does not teach "measuring a respective signal quality of each of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the second FR," it also cannot teach that such measurement is performed "a condition the measured signal quality of at least the selected subset of the one or more CSI-RS resources in the first FR is lower than a threshold,", quite contrary to the disclosures of Wang826 as mentioned supra.
Examiner would like to point out to claims 17-18 of Wang826 ‘s invention, for example, in claims 17-18, it recites, “A terminal device, comprising: a receiver; and a processor coupled to the receiver that is configured to: receive first information sent by a network device, wherein the first information is used to indicate a first reference signal group on a first carrier, a correspondence between the first reference signal group and a first reference signal on a second carrier, and the first reference signal group comprises at least two reference signals and receive the first reference signal group sent by the network device, wherein a band of the first carrier is lower than a band of the second carrier.”, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks on page 10 as submitted on 02/09/2026.
Applicant further asserts that Wang826 does not disclose the amended claimed limitation, such as, “determine to switch from the first FR range to the second FR”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, of Raghavan834 discloses the limitation, for example, Raghavan834 discloses that a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions and may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal that the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. Fig. 3/Fig. 4B & ¶0086 - a UE 115 may utilize a physical mapping between beam IDs and beam angle coverage ranges to select a beam ID in the event of a frequency switch. For example, the UE 115 may transmit an indication of a set of operating frequencies to the base station 105. In response, the base station 105 may determine a mapping which indicates an association between beam IDs and angle coverage ranges for a set of frequency ranges which include the set of indicated operating frequencies. The base station 105 may transmit the mapping to the UE 115 and in the event of a frequency switch, the UE 115 may select a beam ID for subsequent communication with the base station 105 based on the mapping….. a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions and may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal that the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. Fig. 3/Fig. 4B & ¶0086 - a UE 115 may utilize a physical mapping between beam IDs and beam angle coverage ranges to select a beam ID in the event of a frequency switch. For example, the UE 115 may transmit an indication of a set of operating frequencies to the base station 105. In response, the base station 105 may determine a mapping which indicates an association between beam IDs and angle coverage ranges for a set of frequency ranges which include the set of indicated operating frequencies. The base station 105 may transmit the mapping to the UE 115 and in the event of a frequency switch, the UE 115 may select a beam ID for subsequent communication with the base station 105 based on the mapping…… UE 115-a may receive a mapping which may include an association between operating frequencies and beam IDs (e.g., SSB ID, CSR-RS ID, or SRS ID) from base station 105-a. The mapping ….. indicate an offset between a first beam ID conveyed using a first operating frequency relative to a second beam ID conveyed using a second operating frequency. For example, the mapping may indicate that SSB0 at 71 GHz maps to SSB1 at 57 GHz. In some examples, UE 115-a may utilize this mapping in the event of a frequency switch. For example, if the operating frequency switches from 57 GHz to 71 GHz, UE 115-a may identify a beam associated with SSB1 as opposed to a beam associated with SSB0 for communication with base station 105-a in order to account for the effects of frequency switching. …. UE may select a first beam to communicate with the base station at a first frequency (e.g., 71 GHz). For example, the UE may select CSI-RS beam 410-b which may have an associated beam ID CSI-RS5. …. the UE may undergo a frequency switch, such that the UE switches from an operating frequency of 71 GHz to 57 GHz. ….the UE may select CSI-RS beam 410 that covers a similar angle range (e.g., overlapping frequency range) or a current angle range of the UE when compared to CSI-RS beam 410-b using the mapping…..UE may select CSI-RS beam 410-a or CSI-RS beam 410-c at 57 GHz. As shown FIG. 4B, CSI-RS beam 410-a may deviate slightly in array gain when compared to CSI-RS beam 410-b, whereas CSI-RS beam 410-c may deviate greatly in array gain when compared to CSI-RS beam 410-b. As such, the UE may select CSI-RS beam 410-a for subsequent communication with the base station at 57 GHz. See ¶0083/¶0086/¶0090/ ¶0102 along Fig. 3/Fig. 4B.
Raghavan834 further discloses that at 520 in Fig.5, UE 115-c or base station 105-c may trigger a frequency switch. That is, UE 115-c and base station 105-c may switch from operating according to the first frequency to a second frequency. For examples, UE 115-c and base station 105-c may switch from 57 GHz to 64 GHz. See ¶0108. Also, see claims 1-3.
There are NO specific allegations for any other references, hence, moot.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang826, in view of Raghavan834.
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang826, in view of Raghavan834.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 21 and 31, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467