DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on April 08, 2026.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-6, 11-19 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (US 20230247631 A1, hereinafter Hao).
Claim 1: Hao teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (abstract, “for transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report from a user equipment (UE). The CSI report may be a UE initiated CSI report or may be based on a downlink grant”), the method comprising:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) report related configuration that includes periodicity and offset information related to a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (Fig. 27, element 2710, [0028-0030], [0062-0064], disclose reserved uplink resource in the CSI report configuration includes a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, and related periodicity and offset );
receiving downlink control information (DCI) that triggers a CSI report (Fig. 27, element 710, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, [0146-0147], disclose the base station may transmit an uplink related DCI for requesting an aperiodic CSI feedback, controlling whether the UE reports CSI, triggering a new CSI report, [0153], “ the DCI 710 may request a CSI report”);
receiving a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) (Fig. 27, element 510, Fig. 5, element 510, Fig, 7, element 510, Fig. 9, element 510, Fig. 19, element 510, [0153], disclose The UE 104 may measure the CSI-RS 510 to determine the CSI including any combination of CRI, RI, PMI or CQI, and transmit the CSI report 550 in uplink slots 506 in response to the request in the DCI 710);
computing CSI for the CSI report based on the CSI-RS (Fig. 9, Fig.19, [0146], “The UE may measure one or more CSI-RS transmissions (e.g., periodic CSI-RS 510) no later than the CSI reference resource 512 and generate a CSI report 550 for transmission”, [0149], “The UE 104 may measure a CSI including a CQI based on the CSI-RS 510. The UE 104 may determine to transmit a CSI report based on the measured CQI or feasible MCS”);
determining a PUCCH occasion for the CSI report based on the CSI report related configuration (Fig. 9, Fig. 19, [0153], “ CSI reporting scheduling 900 for downlink grant triggered CSI reporting based on a CSI-RS ... The UE 104 may transmit the NACK on the PUCCH 530 and may transmit the CSI report 550 in uplink slots 506 in response to the request in the DCI 710”, Fig. 17, 18, [0166-0168], disclose CSI reporting scheduling for a PUCCH/PUSCH resource based on configured slot offset to a reference slot and CSI-RS periodicity);
and transmitting the CSI report including the CSI in the PUCCH occasion for the CSI report (Fig. 27, element 550, Fig. 5, element 550, Fig.17, element 550, Fig.18, element 550, Fig. 9, element 550, Fig. 19, element 550, [0166], “The CSI report 550 may be transmitted on PUCCH/PUSCH resources on slot s, s+T, s+2T, and so forth”, [0169], “UE 104 may transmit the CSI report 550 in an uplink slot 506 based on the k0′ slot offset from the downlink grant 710”), wherein, among PUCCH occasions based on the periodicity and offset information ([0166], “The UE 104 may determine the slot of the PUCCH/PUSCH carrying the CSI report 550 based on the measurement resource… the periodicity and slot offset (relative to slot 0) may configured via RRC together with the resource configuration … The CSI report 550 may be transmitted on PUCCH/PUSCH resources on slot s, s+T, s+2T, and so forth”, [0169], “UE 104 may transmit the CSI report 550 in an uplink slot 506 based on the k0′ slot offset from the downlink grant 710”), a first PUCCH occasion that does not start earlier than a time T + X and a time T' + Y is determined as the PUCCH occasion for the CSI report (Fig. 9, element 550, Fig. 19, element 510, 550, [0153], disclose the UE measure the adjacent CSI-RS 510 after receiving DCI trigger signal 710, and transmit the CSI report 550 in uplink slots 506 in response to the request in the DCI 710, [0169], “UE 104 may transmit the CSI report 550 in an uplink slot 506 based on the k0′ slot offset from the downlink grant 710”), where a time T is an end of a reception of the DCI, X is a minimum CSI computation time from the reception of the DCI (Fig. 9, element 710, [0153],disclose DCI request a CSI report on the adjacent upcoming CSI-RS measurement, DCI is serving as a signal to trigger or activate CSI report, [0166], “The UE may transmit the CSI report via the most recent PUCCH that satisfies the CSI timeline. The CSI timeline specifies a minimum gap (Z′) between the UL resource carrying the CSI and the measurement resource, and may also specify a minimum gap (Z) between the UL resource carrying the CSI and the CSI request”, [0181], “there may also be a minimum amount of time between the downlink grant (e.g., DCI 710) and the CSI report. The minimum amount of time between the DCI 710 and the CSI report may be defined as a number of symbols (Z) … The latest symbol of the DMRS/PDSCH 520 used for channel/interference measurement should be at least a number (Z′) symbols earlier than the first symbol of the uplink channel that carries the CSI report 550”, wherein Z is reading as X. ), a time T' is an end of a reception of the CSI-RS, and Y is a minimum CSI computation time from the reception of the CSI-RS ( [0166], “The UE may transmit the CSI report via the most recent PUCCH that satisfies the CSI timeline. The CSI timeline specifies a minimum gap (Z′) between the UL resource carrying the CSI and the measurement resource, and may also specify a minimum gap (Z) between the UL resource carrying the CSI and the CSI request”, [0181], “The latest symbol of the DMRS/PDSCH 520 used for channel/interference measurement should be at least a number (Z′) symbols earlier than the first symbol of the uplink channel that carries the CSI report 550”, [0182], “If the CSI is transmitted on the same slot as the HARQ-ACK, or transmitted in the same PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK, the CSI timeline should follow the largest of Z′ and the timeline of HARQ-ACK”, wherein Z′ is reading as Y).
Claim 6 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Hao further teaches the UE (Fig. 3, element 350, [0133], “FIG. 3 is a diagram of an example of a base station 310 and a UE 350 in an access network”) comprising: at least one transceiver (FIG.3, element 354, 352); at least one processor (FIG.3, element 356,359, 368, 358); and at least one computer memory (FIG.3, element 360) operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions ([0136], “The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data”).
Claim 11 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Hao further teaches the BS (Fig. 3, element 310, [0133], “FIG. 3 is a diagram of an example of a base station 310 and a UE 350 in an access network”) comprising: at least one transceiver (FIG.3, element 320, 318); at least one processor (FIG.3, element 316,375,374,370); and at least one computer memory (FIG.3, element 376) operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions ([0140], “The controller/processor 375 can be associated with a memory 376 that stores program codes and data”).
Claim 2: Hao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, among the PUCCH occasions based on the periodicity and offset information, the first PUCCH occasion for the CSI report is an earliest PUCCH occasion after the time T + X and the time T' + Y (Fig.9, element 550, Fig, 19, element 550, [0166], “The UE may transmit the CSI report via the most recent PUCCH that satisfies the CSI timeline. The CSI timeline specifies a minimum gap (Z′) between the UL resource carrying the CSI and the measurement resource, and may also specify a minimum gap (Z) between the UL resource carrying the CSI and the CSI request”, [0168-0169], disclose the UE transmit a HARQ-ACK and CSI report based on configurable k0 offset and k0′ slot offset individually, reporting CSI before HARQ-ACK when k0 offset greater than k0′, [0182], “ If the CSI is transmitted on the same slot as the HARQ-ACK, or transmitted in the same PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK, the CSI timeline should follow the largest of Z′ and the timeline of HARQ-ACK”).
Claim 12 is analyzed and rejected according claim 6 and claim 2.
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected according claim 11 and claim 2.
Claim 3: Hao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the DCI is DCI scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0040], “configuring a UE with a channel state information (CSI) report configuration including a downlink measurement resource and an associated reserved uplink resource … include transmitting a downlink grant that schedules a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”, [0033], “ the downlink measurement resource is the DMRS, the PDSCH, or a combination thereof and a reference resource for CQI reporting is a slot in which the DMRS or the PDSCH is received”).
Claim 13 is analyzed and rejected according claim 6 and claim 3.
Claim 17 is analyzed and rejected according claim 11 and claim 3.
Claim 4: Hao teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the DCI comprises a physical downlink shared channel to hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (PDSCH-to- HARQfeedback) timing indicator related to a second PUCCH occasion, and wherein: based on the second PUCCH occasion not starting earlier than the time T + X and the time T'+ Y, the second PUCCH occasion is determined as the PUCCH occasion for the CSI report; and based on the second PUCCH occasion starting earlier than the time T + X or the time T'+ Y, the first PUCCH occasion is determined as the PUCCH occasion for the CSI report (Fig.9, element 550, Fig, 19, element 550, [0168-0169], disclose the UE transmit a HARQ-ACK and CSI report based on configurable k0 offset and k0′ slot offset individually, reporting CSI before HARQ-ACK when k0 offset greater than k0′, [0182], “ If the CSI is transmitted on the same slot as the HARQ-ACK, or transmitted in the same PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK, the CSI timeline should follow the largest of Z′ and the timeline of HARQ-ACK”, [0166], “The UE may transmit the CSI report via the most recent PUCCH that satisfies the CSI timeline. The CSI timeline specifies a minimum gap (Z′) between the UL resource carrying the CSI and the measurement resource, and may also specify a minimum gap (Z) between the UL resource carrying the CSI and the CSI request”).
Claim 14 is analyzed and rejected according claim 6 and claim 4.
Claim 18 is analyzed and rejected according claim 11 and claim 4.
Claim 5: Hao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the minimum CSI computation time from the reception of the CSI-RS is determined based on a type of the CSI included in the CSI report ([0181], “For downlink grant based feedback, there may also be a minimum amount of time between the downlink grant (e.g., DCI 710) and the CSI report. The minimum amount of time between the DCI 710 and the CSI report may be defined as a number of symbols (Z). The minimum amount of time may depend on whether there are multiple CSI reports using CPU or DMRS resources and a complexity of the CSI calculation”).
Claim 15 is analyzed and rejected according claim 6 and claim 5.
Claim 19 is analyzed and rejected according claim 11 and claim 5.
Conclusion
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472