Status of claims
The following claims have been rejected or allowed for the following reasons:
Claim(s) 1-20 is rejected under 35 USC § 103
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2020-176568 filed on 10/21/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement/statements (IDS) were filed on 04/20/2023, 06/25/2024, 10/08/2024, 9/3/25 and 10/2/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 13-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Bareddy (US 9821455 B1), in further view of Baroudi (US 20200009729 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Bareddy teaches An information processing device comprising: a processor; and a storage unit, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program stored in the storage unit to perform a control method including; acquiring information on a selection condition; (Bareddy column 8 lines 58-61 reads “The available robot selection engine 152 is configured to determine if a robot is available that is suited to perform an identified robot task and, if so, to select the robot to perform the task.”);
setting a first robot as an operation target to be operated by a terminal device; (Bareddy column 1 lines 20 – 24 read “Also, for instance, some telepresence robots may be able to navigate to various locations autonomously, semi-autonomously, and/or based on control commands provided by a user via a computing device of the user.”);
Bareddy does not teach and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targewherein the information specified by the image recognition processing represents one or more objects identified in the images captured by the first robot.
Baroudi in analogous art, teaches wherein the plurality of operable robots further include robots selected based on information specified (Baroudi [0172 – 0174] reads “Method 1700 includes detecting 1702 a trigger event associated with a task to be performed. The trigger event may be detected by sensors placed on mobile objects, such as farm equipment, or other equipment placed within an predetermined environment, and configured to detect certain biological or hazardous situations. … Additionally, the sensors may be cameras that detect accidents, or certain situations where humans need assistance, such as overcrowding and the like. For example, a camera may detect an overcrowded area, within a stadium, an event, concert, pilgrimage or the like, and as a result, a few people may get hurt or injured. The camera can detect that people are on the floor and may need assistance or rescue. Accordingly, a trigger event associated with a task to perform a rescue operation, for example, is detected and transmitted.” And “The robotic network may be a network preconfigured to perform certain tasks (e.g., rescue operations) or the broadcast signal could be randomly transmitted to a plurality of robotic networks. The robotic network includes one or more robots, and the broadcast signal includes information associated with the task to be performed, the information including the trigger event (e.g., accident), the type of task to be performed (e.g., rescue)”
by image recognition processing for images captured by the first robot, wherein the information specified by the image recognition processing represents one or more objects identified in the images captured by the first robot (Baroudi [0095] reads “In one example, a scenario of imaging objects (plants) for a disease diagnostic system may be used to further illustrate the task allocation methodology. A team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors integrated with a remote sensing system, such as that illustrated in FIG. 6, can be used in a useful farming scenario application. This application includes two systems: remote sensing and near-range sensing. The aim of remote sensing is to detect and diagnose any unhealthy symptoms in an area of interest, such as diseases, weeds, and pests. If any disease is detected, the remote sensing advertises a new task for the near-range sensing system, which is a team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors, such as a camera, thermography, chlorophyll fluorescence and hyperspectral sensors. The remote sensing system provides necessary information about a task, such as its location, the amount of resources required (fertilizers/pesticides), and the required quality. A robot's quality is the quality of its camera resolution, whereas a task's quality requirement is the resolution of the image required (since different diseases require different image resolutions to be detected).”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy with that of Baroudi to include a method that would allow the robotic system to select robots for a task based on the situation around them. This would allow the system to have improved capabilities over a single robot. (Baroudi [0003] reads “Robotic networks attract researchers' attention, because of their ability to incorporate multiple technological platforms, including computational, sensing, communications and movement platforms. Additionally, such networks are suitable to be used in a wide range of applications where human intervention is limited or denied.”);
Bareddy/Baroudi does not teach and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targe
Shehata in analogous art, and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targe(Shehata [0036 – 0037] reads “A plurality of control display arrangements are provided that are easy to use, and easy for users to learn to use. These arrangements provide intuitive and logical access to key control functions for multi-UAV control on a relatively small screen display, and in a way that supports a number of important multi-UAV control workflows, as described in this disclosure. … The control display arrangements are also designed so that a user can easily switch between different panels or subpanels in a way that allows a user to process information rapidly, and react to new information rapidly, in order to meet multi-UAV flight objectives, as further explained below. In one aspect, the system displays a series of control interfaces or subpanels for monitoring and controlling the flight of the plurality of UAVs, based on user selections defined by one or more multi-UAV flight control workflows. The system displays in each control interface or subpanel a display object indicating a particular one of the plurality of UAVs being controlled in that control interface or subpanel, and continues to display this display object in any subsequently displayed control interface or subpanel until a user of the computing device selects one of the plurality of UAVs other than the particular UAV. This aspect may be seen for example in FIGS. 3-32 for example, where in the bottom left corner of the control interfaces is shown a highlighted portion that represents a display object indicating the particular UAV being controlled.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi with that of Shehata to include a method that would allow the user of a multi robot system to better select which robot should be controlled at a given time. This would allow for a single user to control the entire system which could reduce the operational complexity by allowing a single operator to have more control of the situation that all the devices were operating in. (Shehata abstract reads “A system is provided comprising a control station for remotely controlling unmanned aerial vehicles (“UAV”). The control station is configured to display vehicle status data received from each UAV, including displaying a location of each UAV in a single interface. Through the single interface, the control station may receive a control command input associated with one of the UAVs. The control station may transmit the received control command, or a command derived therefrom, to the respective UAV. The single interface may provide for a user to view and control flight operation of each of the UAVs independently through the single interface.”);
Regarding claim 2 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the enabling of the operation target to be switched is performed when predetermined conditions regarding a user's input, movement of the first robot, or an elapsed time are satisfied. (Bareddy column 17 lines 19 – 27 read “For example, the system may initiate the replacement of an active session between the task engaged robot and a computing device of the user with a new session between the selected available robot and the computing device of the user. In some implementations, the system may initiate the replacement in response to the available robot reaching the location proximal to the task engaged robot.”);
Regarding claim 3 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of operable robots further include a robot associated with the one of the robots selected in accordance with the selection condition. (Bareddy column 7 lines 42 – 58 read “although only a single user 101 and a single computing device 120 are illustrated in FIG. 1, it is understood that in many implementations multiple users and/or multiple computing devices may be provided. For example, in some implementations multiple users may utilize respective computing devices to establish sessions with multiple of the telepresence robots 130A-C (and/or additional unillustrated robots) to enable performance of multiple robot tasks.”);
Regarding claim 11 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of robots are located at places separated from each other by a predetermined distance or more. (Bareddy column 5 lines 28 – 36 read “For example, the telepresence robots 130A-C may be located in a building (e.g., a warehouse, a manufacturing facility, an office building), in one or more buildings of a collection of nearby buildings, in one or more floors of a multi-floor office or other building, etc. Additional and/or alternative robots may be provided in other implementations, such as additional telepresence robots that vary in one or more respects from those illustrated in FIG. 1.”);
Regarding claim 13 Bareddy teaches An information processing method performed by a computer, the information processing method comprising: acquiring information on a selection condition; (Bareddy column 8 lines 58-61 reads “The available robot selection engine 152 is configured to determine if a robot is available that is suited to perform an identified robot task and, if so, to select the robot to perform the task.”);
setting a first robot, among a plurality of operable robots including robots selected in accordance with the selection condition, as an operation target to be operated by a terminal device; (Bareddy column 1 lines 20 – 24 read “Also, for instance, some telepresence robots may be able to navigate to various locations autonomously, semi-autonomously, and/or based on control commands provided by a user via a computing device of the user.”);
Bareddy does not teach and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targeplurality of operable robots further include robots selected based on information specified by image recognition processing for images captured by the first robot, wherein the information specified by the image recognition processing represents one or more objects identified in the images captured by the first robot.
Baroudi in analogous art, teaches wherein the plurality of operable robots further include robots selected based on information specified (Baroudi [0172 – 0174] reads “Method 1700 includes detecting 1702 a trigger event associated with a task to be performed. The trigger event may be detected by sensors placed on mobile objects, such as farm equipment, or other equipment placed within an predetermined environment, and configured to detect certain biological or hazardous situations. … Additionally, the sensors may be cameras that detect accidents, or certain situations where humans need assistance, such as overcrowding and the like. For example, a camera may detect an overcrowded area, within a stadium, an event, concert, pilgrimage or the like, and as a result, a few people may get hurt or injured. The camera can detect that people are on the floor and may need assistance or rescue. Accordingly, a trigger event associated with a task to perform a rescue operation, for example, is detected and transmitted.” And “The robotic network may be a network preconfigured to perform certain tasks (e.g., rescue operations) or the broadcast signal could be randomly transmitted to a plurality of robotic networks. The robotic network includes one or more robots, and the broadcast signal includes information associated with the task to be performed, the information including the trigger event (e.g., accident), the type of task to be performed (e.g., rescue)”);
by image recognition processing for images captured by the first robot, wherein the information specified by the image recognition processing represents one or more objects identified in the images captured by the first robot. (Baroudi [0095] reads “In one example, a scenario of imaging objects (plants) for a disease diagnostic system may be used to further illustrate the task allocation methodology. A team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors integrated with a remote sensing system, such as that illustrated in FIG. 6, can be used in a useful farming scenario application. This application includes two systems: remote sensing and near-range sensing. The aim of remote sensing is to detect and diagnose any unhealthy symptoms in an area of interest, such as diseases, weeds, and pests. If any disease is detected, the remote sensing advertises a new task for the near-range sensing system, which is a team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors, such as a camera, thermography, chlorophyll fluorescence and hyperspectral sensors. The remote sensing system provides necessary information about a task, such as its location, the amount of resources required (fertilizers/pesticides), and the required quality. A robot's quality is the quality of its camera resolution, whereas a task's quality requirement is the resolution of the image required (since different diseases require different image resolutions to be detected).”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy with that of Baroudi to include a method that would allow the robotic system to select robots for a task based on the situation around them. This would allow the system to have improved capabilities over a single robot. (Baroudi [0003] reads “Robotic networks attract researchers' attention, because of their ability to incorporate multiple technological platforms, including computational, sensing, communications and movement platforms. Additionally, such networks are suitable to be used in a wide range of applications where human intervention is limited or denied.”);
Bareddy/Baroudi does not teach and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targe
Shehata in analogous art, teaches and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targe(Shehata [0036 – 0037] reads “A plurality of control display arrangements are provided that are easy to use, and easy for users to learn to use. These arrangements provide intuitive and logical access to key control functions for multi-UAV control on a relatively small screen display, and in a way that supports a number of important multi-UAV control workflows, as described in this disclosure. … The control display arrangements are also designed so that a user can easily switch between different panels or subpanels in a way that allows a user to process information rapidly, and react to new information rapidly, in order to meet multi-UAV flight objectives, as further explained below. In one aspect, the system displays a series of control interfaces or subpanels for monitoring and controlling the flight of the plurality of UAVs, based on user selections defined by one or more multi-UAV flight control workflows. The system displays in each control interface or subpanel a display object indicating a particular one of the plurality of UAVs being controlled in that control interface or subpanel, and continues to display this display object in any subsequently displayed control interface or subpanel until a user of the computing device selects one of the plurality of UAVs other than the particular UAV. This aspect may be seen for example in FIGS. 3-32 for example, where in the bottom left corner of the control interfaces is shown a highlighted portion that represents a display object indicating the particular UAV being controlled.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi with that of Shehata to include a method that would allow the user of a multi robot system to better select which robot should be controlled at a given time. This would allow for a single user to control the entire system which could reduce the operational complexity by allowing a single operator to have more control of the situation that all the devices were operating in. (Shehata abstract reads “A system is provided comprising a control station for remotely controlling unmanned aerial vehicles (“UAV”). The control station is configured to display vehicle status data received from each UAV, including displaying a location of each UAV in a single interface. Through the single interface, the control station may receive a control command input associated with one of the UAVs. The control station may transmit the received control command, or a command derived therefrom, to the respective UAV. The single interface may provide for a user to view and control flight operation of each of the UAVs independently through the single interface.”);
Regarding claim 14 Bareddy teaches A non-transitory storage medium storing a program for executing an information processing method including causing a computer to: acquire information on a selection condition; (Bareddy column 8 lines 58-61 reads “The available robot selection engine 152 is configured to determine if a robot is available that is suited to perform an identified robot task and, if so, to select the robot to perform the task.”);
set a first robot, among a plurality of operable robots including robots selected in accordance with the selection condition, as an operation target to be operated by a terminal device; (Bareddy column 1 lines 20 – 24 read “Also, for instance, some telepresence robots may be able to navigate to various locations autonomously, semi-autonomously, and/or based on control commands provided by a user via a computing device of the user.”);
Bareddy does not teach and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targe wherein the information specified by the image recognition processing represents one or more objects identified in the images captured by the first robot.
Baroudi in analogous art, teaches wherein the plurality of operable robots further include robots selected based on information specified (Baroudi [0172 – 0174] reads “Method 1700 includes detecting 1702 a trigger event associated with a task to be performed. The trigger event may be detected by sensors placed on mobile objects, such as farm equipment, or other equipment placed within an predetermined environment, and configured to detect certain biological or hazardous situations. … Additionally, the sensors may be cameras that detect accidents, or certain situations where humans need assistance, such as overcrowding and the like. For example, a camera may detect an overcrowded area, within a stadium, an event, concert, pilgrimage or the like, and as a result, a few people may get hurt or injured. The camera can detect that people are on the floor and may need assistance or rescue. Accordingly, a trigger event associated with a task to perform a rescue operation, for example, is detected and transmitted.” And “The robotic network may be a network preconfigured to perform certain tasks (e.g., rescue operations) or the broadcast signal could be randomly transmitted to a plurality of robotic networks. The robotic network includes one or more robots, and the broadcast signal includes information associated with the task to be performed, the information including the trigger event (e.g., accident), the type of task to be performed (e.g., rescue)”);
by image recognition processing for images captured by the first robot, wherein the information specified by the image recognition processing represents one or more objects identified in the images captured by the first robot. (Baroudi [0095] reads “In one example, a scenario of imaging objects (plants) for a disease diagnostic system may be used to further illustrate the task allocation methodology. A team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors integrated with a remote sensing system, such as that illustrated in FIG. 6, can be used in a useful farming scenario application. This application includes two systems: remote sensing and near-range sensing. The aim of remote sensing is to detect and diagnose any unhealthy symptoms in an area of interest, such as diseases, weeds, and pests. If any disease is detected, the remote sensing advertises a new task for the near-range sensing system, which is a team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors, such as a camera, thermography, chlorophyll fluorescence and hyperspectral sensors. The remote sensing system provides necessary information about a task, such as its location, the amount of resources required (fertilizers/pesticides), and the required quality. A robot's quality is the quality of its camera resolution, whereas a task's quality requirement is the resolution of the image required (since different diseases require different image resolutions to be detected).”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy with that of Baroudi to include a method that would allow the robotic system to select robots for a task based on the situation around them. This would allow the system to have improved capabilities over a single robot. (Baroudi [0003] reads “Robotic networks attract researchers' attention, because of their ability to incorporate multiple technological platforms, including computational, sensing, communications and movement platforms. Additionally, such networks are suitable to be used in a wide range of applications where human intervention is limited or denied.”);
Bareddy/Baroudi does not teach and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targe
Shehata in analogous art, teaches and enabling a user to freely switch the operation targe(Shehata [0036 – 0037] reads “A plurality of control display arrangements are provided that are easy to use, and easy for users to learn to use. These arrangements provide intuitive and logical access to key control functions for multi-UAV control on a relatively small screen display, and in a way that supports a number of important multi-UAV control workflows, as described in this disclosure. … The control display arrangements are also designed so that a user can easily switch between different panels or subpanels in a way that allows a user to process information rapidly, and react to new information rapidly, in order to meet multi-UAV flight objectives, as further explained below. In one aspect, the system displays a series of control interfaces or subpanels for monitoring and controlling the flight of the plurality of UAVs, based on user selections defined by one or more multi-UAV flight control workflows. The system displays in each control interface or subpanel a display object indicating a particular one of the plurality of UAVs being controlled in that control interface or subpanel, and continues to display this display object in any subsequently displayed control interface or subpanel until a user of the computing device selects one of the plurality of UAVs other than the particular UAV. This aspect may be seen for example in FIGS. 3-32 for example, where in the bottom left corner of the control interfaces is shown a highlighted portion that represents a display object indicating the particular UAV being controlled.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi with that of Shehata to include a method that would allow the user of a multi robot system to better select which robot should be controlled at a given time. This would allow for a single user to control the entire system which could reduce the operational complexity by allowing a single operator to have more control of the situation that all the devices were operating in. (Shehata abstract reads “A system is provided comprising a control station for remotely controlling unmanned aerial vehicles (“UAV”). The control station is configured to display vehicle status data received from each UAV, including displaying a location of each UAV in a single interface. Through the single interface, the control station may receive a control command input associated with one of the UAVs. The control station may transmit the received control command, or a command derived therefrom, to the respective UAV. The single interface may provide for a user to view and control flight operation of each of the UAVs independently through the single interface.”);
Regarding claim 15 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the robots selected based on the information specified by the image recognition processing are robots that are related to the one or more objects. (Baroudi [0095] reads “In one example, a scenario of imaging objects (plants) for a disease diagnostic system may be used to further illustrate the task allocation methodology. A team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors integrated with a remote sensing system, such as that illustrated in FIG. 6, can be used in a useful farming scenario application. This application includes two systems: remote sensing and near-range sensing. The aim of remote sensing is to detect and diagnose any unhealthy symptoms in an area of interest, such as diseases, weeds, and pests. If any disease is detected, the remote sensing advertises a new task for the near-range sensing system, which is a team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors, such as a camera, thermography, chlorophyll fluorescence and hyperspectral sensors. The remote sensing system provides necessary information about a task, such as its location, the amount of resources required (fertilizers/pesticides), and the required quality. A robot's quality is the quality of its camera resolution, whereas a task's quality requirement is the resolution of the image required (since different diseases require different image resolutions to be detected).”);
Regarding claim 16 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device of claim 15, wherein the robots that are related to the one or more objects are robots positioned at a location associated with an origin of a respective one of the one or more objects. (Baroudi [0095] reads “In one example, a scenario of imaging objects (plants) for a disease diagnostic system may be used to further illustrate the task allocation methodology. A team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors integrated with a remote sensing system, such as that illustrated in FIG. 6, can be used in a useful farming scenario application. This application includes two systems: remote sensing and near-range sensing. The aim of remote sensing is to detect and diagnose any unhealthy symptoms in an area of interest, such as diseases, weeds, and pests. If any disease is detected, the remote sensing advertises a new task for the near-range sensing system, which is a team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors, such as a camera, thermography, chlorophyll fluorescence and hyperspectral sensors. The remote sensing system provides necessary information about a task, such as its location, the amount of resources required (fertilizers/pesticides), and the required quality. A robot's quality is the quality of its camera resolution, whereas a task's quality requirement is the resolution of the image required (since different diseases require different image resolutions to be detected).” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that the origin location of a set of robots that would be used to monitor a farm would be located and kept at or near the farm, which would be considered the origin of the desired object.);
Regarding claim 17 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device of claim 15, wherein the robots that are related to the one or more objects are robots classified into a group corresponding to a category of the identified one or more objects. (Baroudi [0010 – 0011] reads “According to an exemplary embodiment, a dynamic multi-objective task allocation system within a robotic network may be deployed to assign one or more tasks in real-time as the tasks are detected, the dynamic multi-objective task allocation system comprising a sensing device including circuitry configured to detect a trigger event, the trigger event associated with a task to be performed, and transmit a broadcast signal to a designated robotic network, the robotic network including one or more robots, the broadcast signal including information associated with the task to be performed, the information including the trigger event, the type of task to be performed, and a location where the task is to be performed; a distribution robot within the robotic network, the distribution robot including circuitry configured to receive the broadcast signal from the sensing device, perform a self-assessment associated with performing the task and assign itself a self-assessment score, transmit, to one or more receiving robots within the robotic network, a request for submission of an assessment score of each one of the one or more robots, the assessment score being a self-generated score generated at each receiving robot and reflecting a score of each receiving robot's ability to perform the task, the assessment score based on a quality metric, a distance metric, and a workload metric, receive one or more submissions from the one or more robots, the one or more submissions including the assessment score, compare the received one or more assessment scores with the self-assessment score, and select an assessment score, the selected assessment score being the lowest score from among the self-score and the one or more assessment scores. In one embodiment, the distribution robot circuitry may further transmit a selection notification to one of the one or more receiving robots, the notification indicating that the one of the one or more receiving robots is selected to perform the task.”);
Regarding claim 18 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device of claim 15, wherein the robots that are related to the one or more objects are robots placed at a location thematically associated with a type of the identified one or more objects. (Baroudi [0095] reads “In one example, a scenario of imaging objects (plants) for a disease diagnostic system may be used to further illustrate the task allocation methodology. A team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors integrated with a remote sensing system, such as that illustrated in FIG. 6, can be used in a useful farming scenario application. This application includes two systems: remote sensing and near-range sensing. The aim of remote sensing is to detect and diagnose any unhealthy symptoms in an area of interest, such as diseases, weeds, and pests. If any disease is detected, the remote sensing advertises a new task for the near-range sensing system, which is a team of robots equipped with appropriate sensors, such as a camera, thermography, chlorophyll fluorescence and hyperspectral sensors. The remote sensing system provides necessary information about a task, such as its location, the amount of resources required (fertilizers/pesticides), and the required quality. A robot's quality is the quality of its camera resolution, whereas a task's quality requirement is the resolution of the image required (since different diseases require different image resolutions to be detected).”);
Regarding claim 20 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of operable robots are classified into groups that are determined based on information related to the one or more objects identified in the images captured by the first robot. (Baroudi [0010 – 0011] reads “According to an exemplary embodiment, a dynamic multi-objective task allocation system within a robotic network may be deployed to assign one or more tasks in real-time as the tasks are detected, the dynamic multi-objective task allocation system comprising a sensing device including circuitry configured to detect a trigger event, the trigger event associated with a task to be performed, and transmit a broadcast signal to a designated robotic network, the robotic network including one or more robots, the broadcast signal including information associated with the task to be performed, the information including the trigger event, the type of task to be performed, and a location where the task is to be performed; a distribution robot within the robotic network, the distribution robot including circuitry configured to receive the broadcast signal from the sensing device, perform a self-assessment associated with performing the task and assign itself a self-assessment score, transmit, to one or more receiving robots within the robotic network, a request for submission of an assessment score of each one of the one or more robots, the assessment score being a self-generated score generated at each receiving robot and reflecting a score of each receiving robot's ability to perform the task, the assessment score based on a quality metric, a distance metric, and a workload metric, receive one or more submissions from the one or more robots, the one or more submissions including the assessment score, compare the received one or more assessment scores with the self-assessment score, and select an assessment score, the selected assessment score being the lowest score from among the self-score and the one or more assessment scores. In one embodiment, the distribution robot circuitry may further transmit a selection notification to one of the one or more receiving robots, the notification indicating that the one of the one or more receiving robots is selected to perform the task.”);
Claim(s) 5-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata, in further view of Wood (US 20090326735 A1).
Regarding claim 3 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device according to claim 1.
Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata does not teach wherein the plurality of robots selected include the robot associated with the robot specified in accordance with the selection condition.
Wood in analogous art, teaches plurality of robots selected include the robot associated with the robot specified in accordance with the selection condition. (Wood [0017] teaches “Moreover, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle could operate in a group of vehicles. In this aspect, the group of vehicles may include one or more vehicles from each class of vehicle including one or more of land-based, one or more of water-based, and/or one or more of air-based vehicles.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata with that of Wood to include a method that would allow for a grouping of different vehicles to better work together. This would provide the system with an improved capability of remotely operated robots. (Wood 0004] reads “Traditional Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) are remotely piloted or execute a preplanned route plan. They have limited capability to respond to a dynamic battlespace environment without direct human intervention to replan and transmit new instructions to the UAS. Traditional UAS also have limited capability to collaborate with other manned or unmanned aircraft without human intervention. These limitations make it difficult to deploy large numbers of UAS to support a tactical mission without a large and expensive commitment of human resources to monitor and control each aircraft.”);
Regarding claim 5 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device according to claim 1.
Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata does not teach wherein the plurality of robots selected include the robots classified into the same group specified in accordance with the selection condition.
Wood in analogous art, teaches wherein the plurality of robots selected include the robots classified into the same group specified in accordance with the selection condition. (Wood [0017] reads “In the description that follows, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle will be described, merely for the convenience to the reader and to simplify the descriptions, as an aircraft or UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle). However, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle could be a land-based, water-based, or air-based. Moreover, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle could operate in a group of vehicles. In this aspect, the group of vehicles may include one or more vehicles from each class of vehicle including one or more of land-based, one or more of water-based, and/or one or more of air-based vehicles.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata with that of Wood to include a method that would allow for a grouping of different vehicles to better work together. This would provide the system with an improved capability of remotely operated robots. (Wood 0004] reads “Traditional Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) are remotely piloted or execute a preplanned route plan. They have limited capability to respond to a dynamic battlespace environment without direct human intervention to replan and transmit new instructions to the UAS. Traditional UAS also have limited capability to collaborate with other manned or unmanned aircraft without human intervention. These limitations make it difficult to deploy large numbers of UAS to support a tactical mission without a large and expensive commitment of human resources to monitor and control each aircraft.”);
Regarding claim 6 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata/Wood teaches The information processing device according to claim 5, wherein the classification of the robots into the group includes being determined in accordance with meta information which is set for the robots in advance. (Wood [0017] reads “Moreover, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle could operate in a group of vehicles. In this aspect, the group of vehicles may include one or more vehicles from each class of vehicle including one or more of land-based, one or more of water-based, and/or one or more of air-based vehicles.”);
Regarding claim 7 Bareddy/Baroudi/Wood teaches The information processing device according to claim 5, wherein the classification of the robots into the group includes being determined in accordance with contents capable of being experienced by a user through the robots. (Wood [0017] reads “In the description that follows, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle will be described, merely for the convenience to the reader and to simplify the descriptions, as an aircraft or UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle). However, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle could be a land-based, water-based, or air-based.”);
Regarding claim 8 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata/Wood The information processing according to claim 5, wherein the classification of the robots into the group includes being determined based on information specified (Wood [0017] reads “In the description that follows, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle will be described, merely for the convenience to the reader and to simplify the descriptions, as an aircraft or UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle). However, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle could be a land-based, water-based, or air-based. Moreover, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle could operate in a group of vehicles. In this aspect, the group of vehicles may include one or more vehicles from each class of vehicle including one or more of land-based, one or more of water-based, and/or one or more of air-based vehicles.”);
Regarding claim 10 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device according to claim 1.
Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata does not teach wherein the information on the selection condition includes information on contents capable of being experienced by the user through the robot.
Wood in analogous art, teaches wherein the information on the selection condition includes information on contents capable of being experienced by the user through the robot. (Wood [0017] reads “In the description that follows, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle will be described, merely for the convenience to the reader and to simplify the descriptions, as an aircraft or UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle). However, the unmanned and autonomous vehicle could be a land-based, water-based, or air-based.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata with that of Wood to include a method that would allow for a grouping of different vehicles to better work together. This would provide the system with an improved capability of remotely operated robots. (Wood 0004] reads “Traditional Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) are remotely piloted or execute a preplanned route plan. They have limited capability to respond to a dynamic battlespace environment without direct human intervention to replan and transmit new instructions to the UAS. Traditional UAS also have limited capability to collaborate with other manned or unmanned aircraft without human intervention. These limitations make it difficult to deploy large numbers of UAS to support a tactical mission without a large and expensive commitment of human resources to monitor and control each aircraft.”);
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata, in further view of Graca (US 20140148949 A1).
Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device according to claim 1.
Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata does not teach wherein the plurality of robots include a robot existing in the real world and a robot existing in a virtual world.
Graca in analogous art, teaches wherein the plurality of robots include a robot existing in the real world and a robot existing in a virtual world. (Graca [0009] reads “The system includes a robot simulation device having a processor disposed therein and configured for creating a simulation work cell of an operation of a real robot work cell, the robot simulation device configured to communicate with a real robot control system; and a software program executed by at least one of the robot simulation device and the real robot control system for calculating a part tracking offset between the simulation work cell and the real robot work cell.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata with that of Graca to include a digital twin of the robotic system. This would allow the system a method for improved development and testing. (Graca [0003] reads “Currently, graphical offline programming solutions simplify robotic path teach and paint process development. The solutions are specifically designed to create robotic paths that can be utilized by robot controller application software. These solutions include calibration features in which offset data is calculated and a method is provided to the user to manually shift or offset the taught paths.”);
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata, in further view of Beom-Su (US 20130123980 A1).
Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device according to claim 1.
Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata does not teach wherein the control method includes controlling the operation target so that an image for receiving an instruction for switching from the first robot to the second robot is displayed on a display unit of the terminal device.
Beom-Su in analogous art, teaches wherein the control method includes controlling the operation target so that an image for receiving an instruction for switching from the first robot to the second robot is displayed on a display unit of the terminal device. (Beom-Su [0039] reads “The cooperation unit 206 may also request the cooperation operators to permit the control of the other robots, i.e., request the cooperation operator to transfer the control authority for the other robots, according to the manipulation of the operator U1. A control request message generated for this purpose is transferred to the information transmitter/receiver 208. After that, if a control permission verification message is received through the information transmitter/receiver 208, the cooperation unit 206 may notify the operator U1 that the control permission verification message is received, using the video display 216.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata with that of Beom-Su to include a method of switching control of many small robots in an environment. This would allow for the system of robots to better act together. (Beom-Su [0008] reads “I in addition, in case of changing some missions or adding new missions during performing missions, there is no systematic method to substitute or cancel existing missions by considering the continuity of the existing missions or the overlapping of mission areas. Therefore, when considering a situation of using the small robot in an actual battlefield, a new scheme, which is capable of improving mission capability of the robot through information sharing between individual robots and the cooperation between operators operating the individual robots, needs to be introduced, but there is no suggestion or proposal on the new scheme.”);
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata, in further view of Suzuki (JP 2002101333 A).
Regarding claim 19 Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata teaches The information processing device of claim 18.
Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata does not teach wherein the location thematically associated with the type of the identified one or more objects includes a location where a user can experience specific content.
Suzuki in analogous art, teaches wherein the location thematically associated with the type of the identified one or more objects includes a location where a user can experience specific content. (Suzuki [0008] reads “Therefore, according to the first aspect of the present invention, even in a special place such as the universe or the deep sea, a driving device such as a robot installed in the place can be freely controlled by remote control of a user. Instead of letting some users monopolize the remote control of the drive, A service business that allows anyone to easily perform remote operation within the contract time simply by making a reservation for a time contract operation by a large number of users who desire the operation, and also plans and provides such remote operation. Even if the cost is enormous, it can be easily realized if the number of reservations is commensurate with it, and the burden on the user is reduced according to the number of reservations. A remote control device capable of enjoying operation can be provided.”);
I would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Bareddy/Baroudi/Shehata with that of Suzuki to include a system that would better allow the user to experience different and diverse environments. This would then give the user a better experience. (Suzuki [0004] reads “A first object of the present invention is to control a driving device such as a robot installed in a special place such as the universe or the deep sea by remote control by a user even in a special place. At the same time, rather than letting some users monopolize the remote operation of the drive unit, many users who want to operate it simply reserve an operation for a time contract and anyone can easily operate within the contract time. Can be remotely controlled, and For a service provider that plans and provides such remote control, even if the cost is enormous, it can be easily realized if there is a number of reservations commensurate with it, and the burden on the user is also reduced. An object of the present invention is to provide a remote control device which can be reduced according to the number and can enjoy remote operation at a low cost.”);
Other references not Cited
Throughout examination other references were found that could read onto the prior art. Though these references were not used in this examination they could be used in future examination and could read on the contents of the current disclosure. These references are, Johnson (Optimized tote recommendation process in warehouse order fulfillment operations, US 20200239233 A1). Johnson in analogous art, could be used to teach a selection condition which would reduce the total number of robots in a given system into a smaller subset or robot that are designed in a way that would allow them to fulfill a given criteria. Johnson could also teach that a user may select a given robot out of this more limited subset of robots. However, Johnson struggles to teach that the user may distinctively switch which robot that they have selected. Instead Johnson only allows for the user to switch the given robot for a task based on the result of an assessment that the selected robot is insufficient to complete the given task. For this reason and the availability of other pieces of prior art Johnson was not selected to be used in the current rejection of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues < In particular, Bareddy and Baroudi appear to disclose selections and replacement of robots. For example, Bareddy describes "selecting a first robot for a robot task of a user" and "[b]ased on determining the need, a second robot is selected to "replace" the first robot in performing the task." (Abstract, Bareddy.) Further, Baroudi describes, a "trigger event being associated with a task to be performed," "transmit[ting] a broadcast signal to a designated robotic network," and assigning one or more robots to perform the task based on a submission of a self-assessment score of each one of the one or more robots. (Abstract, Baroudi.) While Bareddy replaces one robot with another because of a system-determined need, and Baroudi relies on trigger events and self-assessment scores, neither reference, whether alone or in combination, teaches or suggests "enabling a user to freely switch the operation target from the first robot to a second robot." > [Remarks Page 8 First paragraph]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The amendment to the claimed invention clearly changes the BRI of the claimed invention from one in which anything could be used to switch the operation target to one in which the user could be able to switch the controlled robot at will. In light of this change the current rejection of record relies upon Shehata to teach this amended limitation. Shehata details a system in which a user can select any given robot out of a collection of robots that they would like to control. (Shehata [0018] reads “ The single interface may provide for a user to view and control flight operation of each of the vehicles 325 such that the location of each vehicle is shown in the single interface, and each vehicle 325 may be independently controlled through the interface by selecting a particular one of the vehicles 325 to control. In this way, multiple UAVs may be monitored and controlled through a single interface.”); Therefore, the combination teaches the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/JOHN MARTIN O'MALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658