DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irwin (US 3,886,735) in view of Alber et. al (US 5,993,197).
With respect to claim 1 Irwin discloses a burner unit for combusting an air-fuel mixture, comprising: a combustion space [the interior of reference character 3]; a combustion air guide dome [reference character 4]; and a fuel inlet [reference character 15], wherein the fuel inlet opens into the combustion space, wherein the combustion air guide dome is located in the combustion space and has recesses [reference character 28 in Fig. 2], wherein the recesses have a larger width [see annotated Fig. below] on an inside of the combustion air guide dome than on an outside of the combustion air guide dome [see annotated Fig. below], wherein the recesses decrease in width in a radial direction extending outward from the longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome [see Fig. 2].
Irwin does not disclose that the recesses are axially oriented slots that extend along a longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome.
Alber discloses a burner unit for combusting an air fuel mixture, comprising a combustion space [the interior of housing 8, see flame holder 22], a combustion air guide dome [reference character 10], and a fuel inlet [reference character 34], wherein the combustion air guide dome is located in the combustion space and has recesses [reference character 40]. Alber further discloses that the recesses are axially oriented slots that extend along a longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome [see Fig. 13].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the burner unit taught by Irwin by forming the recesses as longitudinal slots, as taught by Alber, because “[t]he longitudinal slots can be manufactured in a markedly simpler manner than hole-like openings in the pipe wall according to the precision casting technology” [column 2 lines 55-58 of Alber].
With respect to claim 2 Irwin discloses that the recesses taper from the inside to the outside [see Fig. 2].
With respect to claim 3 Irwin discloses that such that the recesses produce a nozzle effect for air directed out of the combustion air guide dome [see column 3 lines 46-62 of Irwin].
With respect to claim 4 the combination of Irwin and Alber disclose that the recesses have a constant profile along the longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome [see Fig. 13 of Alber].
With respect to claim 5 Irwin discloses that the combustion air guide dome has a circular cylindrical shape [see Fig. 1].
With respect to claim 6 the combination of Irwin and Alber disclose that the recesses have a common height along the longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome [see Fig. 13 of Alber].
With respect to claim 8 the combination of Irwin and Alber disclose that sidewalls of the recesses have an even profile with a constant slope1 [see annotated Fig. of Irwin, below].
Conclusion
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 The examiner notes that the claim only requires that the sidewall of the recesses have an even profile with a constant slope, it does not preclude other profiles and does not require that the even profile with a constant slope extends from the inside of the combustion air guide dome to the outside of the combustion air guide dome.