DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues on pp. 5-7 of the remarks that the examiner’s motivation to combine Irwin and Alber is inappropriate because Irwin discloses a ceramic component and Alber teaches a precision casting process for metal components that is superior to manufacturing the same components from sheet metal. Therefore, the motivation that “[t]he longitudinal slots can be manufactured in a markedly simpler manner than hole-like openings in the pipe wall according to the precision casting technology" [see column 2 lines 55-58 of Alber and pp. 3 of the Non-Final rejection dated 02/24/2026] cannot be applied to Irwin. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The motivation relied on in the rejection does not compare slots versus holes in a cast versus sheet metal component but rather states that longitudinal slots are simpler to cast in a pipe wall than holes. Irwin discloses that the air guide dome is formed from a silicon carbide ceramic material [column 2 lines 42-44]; a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the lost wax process is used to form silicon carbide components1 and therefore the teachings of Alber regarding precision casting are applicable to Irwin. For this reason, the rejections are maintained.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irwin (US 3,886,735) in view of Alber et. al (US 5,993,197).
With respect to claim 1 Irwin discloses a burner unit for combusting an air-fuel mixture, comprising: a combustion space [the interior of reference character 3]; a combustion air guide dome [reference character 4]; and a fuel inlet [reference character 15], wherein the fuel inlet opens into the combustion space, wherein the combustion air guide dome is located in the combustion space and has recesses [reference character 28 in Fig. 2], wherein the recesses have a larger width [see annotated Fig. below] on an inside of the combustion air guide dome than on an outside of the combustion air guide dome [see annotated Fig. below], wherein the recesses decrease in width in a radial direction extending outward from the longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome [see Fig. 2].
Irwin does not disclose that the recesses are axially oriented slots that extend along a longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome.
Alber discloses a burner unit for combusting an air fuel mixture, comprising a combustion space [the interior of housing 8, see flame holder 22], a combustion air guide dome [reference character 10], and a fuel inlet [reference character 34], wherein the combustion air guide dome is located in the combustion space and has recesses [reference character 40]. Alber further discloses that the recesses are axially oriented slots that extend along a longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome [see Fig. 13].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the burner unit taught by Irwin by forming the recesses as longitudinal slots, as taught by Alber, because “[t]he longitudinal slots can be manufactured in a markedly simpler manner than hole-like openings in the pipe wall according to the precision casting technology” [column 2 lines 55-58 of Alber].
With respect to claim 2 Irwin discloses that the recesses taper from the inside to the outside [see Fig. 2].
With respect to claim 3 Irwin discloses that such that the recesses produce a nozzle effect for air directed out of the combustion air guide dome [see column 3 lines 46-62 of Irwin].
With respect to claim 4 the combination of Irwin and Alber disclose that the recesses have a constant profile along the longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome [see Fig. 13 of Alber].
With respect to claim 5 Irwin discloses that the combustion air guide dome has a circular cylindrical shape [see Fig. 1].
With respect to claim 6 the combination of Irwin and Alber disclose that the recesses have a common height along the longitudinal axis of the combustion air guide dome [see Fig. 13 of Alber].
With respect to claim 8 the combination of Irwin and Alber disclose that sidewalls of the recesses have an even profile with a constant slope2 [see annotated Fig. of Irwin, below].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 See Prochazka (US 3,852,099) column 2 line 45 to column 3 line 10.
2 The examiner notes that the claim only requires that the sidewall of the recesses have an even profile with a constant slope, it does not preclude other profiles and does not require that the even profile with a constant slope extends from the inside of the combustion air guide dome to the outside of the combustion air guide dome.