DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayamizu et al (JP2020070334, of record, English equivalent US 20210060993, of record, ‘993 hereafter is cited in this office action).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-6, ‘993 discloses an inkjet ink comprising water ([0169]-[0170]); a pigment([0112]-[0121]); an organic solvent being a dihydric alcohol-based solvent propyl glycol having boiling point of 188°C ([0064], 1,2 PD in Examples, Table 4), or a glycol monoalkyl ether solvent ([0065]); a binder resin ([0122], [0123], [0140]-[0149], Examples); and a wax being a polyolefin wax having melting point 130°C falling within the present claimed range as in claim 5 ([0150]-[0153], AQUACER 515, Examples, [0273]); wherein the amount of the organic solvent having a boiling point at 1 atmosphere of 150°C or higher (S) to the amount of the binder resin (R) relative to the total amount of ink (S/R) can be 2.97 (Table 4, Example 8, S/R=17/13x44%=2.97 ) satisfying the presently claimed range of less than 3.0 and also satisfying the limitations of the present claim 6 with organic solvent having boiling point over 190 °C of amount being 0 and S/R being 2.97 within the range of 2.3 to 3.0. Regarding claim 4, ‘993 also discloses that the ink composition is used for an inkjet printing device ([0191]-[0198]). It is also noted that the ink composition as recited in the present claim 4 is in intended use format, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, if prior art discloses the ink composition in this claim, then the prior art ink composition will be capable of being used for the printing device, even if the prior art does not disclose the use is for the printing device as recited.
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al (WO2020/195360, of record, English equivalent US 2021/0403735, of record, ‘735 hereafter is cited in this office action ).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6, ‘735 discloses an ink composition comprising water ([00042]-[0046]), a pigment ([0047]-[0054]); an organic solvent being dihydric alcohol-based solvent propyl glycol having boiling point of 188°C ([0107]-[0114], Examples 1-10, [0412], Comparative Example 2) and a glycol monoalkyl ether solvent with difference of boiling points satisfying present claims 2 and 3 ([0122]-[0132], [0413], Examples 1-10, Comparative Example 2, the difference of boiling points can be 188-120=68°C); a binder resin ([0145]-[0172], [0414], Examples, Comparative Example 2); and a wax ([0219]); wherein the amount of the organic solvent having a boiling point at 1 atmosphere of 150°C or higher (S) to the amount of the binder resin (R) relative to the total amount of ink (S/R) can be 2.50 ([0414], Comparative Example 2, S/R=15/6 =2.50 ) satisfying the range of less than 3.0 and also satisfying the limitations of the present claim 6 with an organic solvent having boiling point over 190°C of amount being 0 and S/R being 2.5 within the range of 2.3 to 3.0. It is noted that the ink composition as recited in the present claim 4 is in intended use format, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, if prior art discloses the ink composition in this claim, then the prior art ink composition will be capable of being used for the printing device, even if the prior art does not disclose used is for the printing device as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al (WO2020/195360, of record, English equivalent US 2021/0403735, of record, ‘735 hereafter is cited in this office action ) in view of Hayamizu et al (JP2020070334, of record, English equivalent US 20210060993, of record, ‘993 hereafter is cited in this office action).
Regarding claim 5, ‘735 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘735 discloses the ink composition may contains a wax ([0219]), but does not specifically set forth that the wax is a polyolefin wax as recited in the present claim 5; however, in the same field of endeavor of ink composition, ‘993 discloses an ink composition comprising water, a pigment, an organic solvent, a binder resin and a wax; wherein the wax is a polyolefin wax having melting point 130°C falling in the present claimed range ([0150]-[0153], AQUACER 515, Examples, [0273]), which is used to improve adhesin and rub fastness of the printed matter([0150]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the polyolefin-based wax as taught by 993, to modify the ink composition of ‘735, in order to render an ink composition having better adhesion to substrates and better rub fastness of printed matter.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782