DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08JUL2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant' s arguments, see p. 5, filed 08JUL2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 8 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the recitation of the heater and the projectile speed of the liquid overcomes the previous 35 USC 102 rejection. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Guo. Guo teaches a heat exchanger as cited below which acts as a heat, thereby fulfilling the claim requirements. While Guo is noted to teach speeds of >343 m/s, Guo similarly explores the ability to alter a number of parameters to control droplet conditions and it would be reasonable to optimize said values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108159807 A (Guo et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Guo teaches a production method for a high-speed nano mist [Summary of the Invention] for producing the high-speed nano mist which is a group of liquid droplets having a particle diameter of 1 nm to 10000 nm (disclosing a range of 10-60 nm, p. 2) and flying at a speed of at least 343 m/s (p. 2), and causing the high- speed nano mist to collide with a target object, the production device comprising:
a sealed container (4) configured to use water as the high-speed nano mist (p. 2) and to contain the water;
a gas supply source configured to supply a pressurized gas to the sealed container (p. 3 describing the formation of pressurized gas to eject water vapor);
a heater (18) configured to heat the water contained in the sealed container to a temperature at or below a boiling point of water (using gas at temperatures of 200-600°C, p. 1, which is capable of heating the water to below the boiling temperature of water at the cited 3.5-12 atm); and
a jet nozzle (9) (the nozzle being considered in the sealed container as it is the ejection point, similar to the layout shown in Instant Fig. 1) configured to eject water vapor from the water and the pressurized gas supplied to the sealed container, wherein the inside of the sealed container has an absolute pressure of 3.5 atm to 12 atm (p. 2 teachings a range of 0.1 – 1.0 MPa, corresponding to 1 – 10 atm).
While Guo teaches speeds of at least 343 m/s, Guo teaches control of particle size and count of nano-drop formation by adjusting flow parameters (“The Laval nozzle can control the number and particle size of nano-droplets generated by the condensation flow by adjusting the flow parameters of the inlet wet steam and the length of the supersonic expansion section”, p. 2).
When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem (improving steam sterilization) and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the speed of droplets), a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options (adjusting speed) within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Finally, although Guo discloses a speed of 343 m/s (as opposed to the 50-300 m/s required by the claim), the claimed amount would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in an effort to optimize particulate size and speed for creating the desired interactions which produce the desired cleaning effect (i.e., ensuring droplets are at high enough speed to interact as desired and taught by Guo).
Applicant's arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) 8. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a group of liquid droplets having a particle diameter of 1 nm to 10000 nm and flying at a speed of 50 m/s to 300 m/s” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention' s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Conclusion
/HANS KALIHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781