DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In an Amendment filed on 11/07/2025, claims 1-2 were amended and claim was added as a new claim. Therefore, Claims 1-3 are pending in this Application. In the Amendment, various portions of the Specification were also amended.
Response to amendments/Remarks
The amendments to the specification Title overcome the objections to the specifications. Therefore, the amendments are acceptable since they do not introduce new matter and they are entered.
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on page 5, with respect to claim interpretations under 35 USC § 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretations have been withdrawn based on the amendments. The Applicant' s amendments clarify the subject matter and has not been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Applicant' s argument/remarks, on page 5, with respect to rejections to claims 1-2 under 35 USC § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn. However, see the new rejections below.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 13-15, with respect to rejections to claims 1-6 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive for claims 1-2. Therefore, rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 102 have been withdrawn. However upon further consideration a new rejection has been presented.
On page 7, the Applicant argues:
“a control device manages a procedure of reference and setting of data related to industrial machines that differ for respective industrial machines (referred to as a data access logic) and a procedure of operation performed on the industrial machines (referred to operation logic) (see, 0011),
Nishi, however, does not describe storing and managing the logic for data access
and operation for each industrial machine as data access logic or operation logic, Nishi also does not describe the system reads the data access logic specific to each machine, programs the corresponding operation logic for each industrial machine in advance, and selects and uses the appropriate logic based on a target/uniquely identified industrial machine, which enables communication with each machine using the common interface provided when a command for data access or operation of a machine is issued via a common interface”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “…industrial machines that differ for respective industrial machines …selects and uses the appropriate logic based on a target/uniquely identified industrial machine, which enables communication with each machine using the common interface provided when a command for data access or operation of a machine is issued via a common interface”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s) 1-2. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims as recited does not require different machines. However, Nishi taches performing logic with respect to different machines (see Col 18 lines 26-30). Nixon teaches a common interface that axes data of different machines vendors using different protocols or logic.
Claim 3 recites some of the argued limitations above such as “receive input information for uniquely identifying a machine to be accessed and information for uniquely identifying a data item to be accessed..”. However, Nishi teaches this broad recited limitations (see Fig. 7 and see Col 12 lines 34-46, and see the expanded rationale in the rejection below).
The claim terminology such as “common interface” is recited in a broad manner and has been interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure. In claim 1, the common interface was recited as encompassing a software implemented interface while in claim 3 encompasses a hardware interface and/or software interface. It is understood in the art of computer that any physical interface (link, cable, serial, wireless, wired, ) when transmitting/receiving data requires an interface that includes physical and software connection.
The common interface structure in the current invention has been depicted as black box 140 without exemplifying the internal components or structure. Thus, this common interface has been interpreted in the BRI as explained previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishi et al (US 9802286, cited in the IDS).
As per Claim 3, Nishi teaches a control device that controls an industrial machine, the control device comprising a processor (see Fig. 3 control device 18; also, see Col 7 lines 40-67 “The robot 18 includes a CPU (central processing unit) 48 as a processing section executing various processes as described later. A memory 52, such as a RAM, and a storage unit 54, such as a hard disk, are connected to a bus 50 extending from the CPU 48. The CPU 48 executes various
programs stored in the memory 52, and thereby controls the operation of the robot 12. The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. …the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54…The robot controller 18 can make respective servo motors of the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 operate, due to an operation command transmitted through the robot cable 66 and the traveling unit cable 68. The network interface 60 is connected to the machine tool controllers 20, 22/industrial machines through the network cable 42…”) configured to:
store at least one data access logic for data stored at the control device (data access logic has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for calculating, accessing, and/or updating data related to an industrial machine stored in a memory section/unit. Some examples given are alarm programs or calculations and programs to update parameters by inputting information or calculate parameters (see original published disclosure 0029, 0033, 0044, 0049 of this instant application); Thus, Nishi teaches CPU 52 and memory unit 52 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data or memory 54 which stores the same programs of memory 52, see Col 7 lines 40-53 “…. The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54”; Also, see Fig. 4 alarm screen program and see Fig. 5-6 alarm section; This program occupy a storage unit/section of a memory; also, Nishi further teaches logic data for update/reference data, see Col 12 lines 1-45 “The update/reference mode switching button 126 is provided for switching the mode of the current position screen between an update mode and a reference mode. An operator can select either one of the update mode and the reference…When the reference mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Reference”, the internal data of the selected machine tool controller 20 or 22 is not changed, even if the operator performs any manipulation on the current position screen. Therefore, the internal data is not affected by erroneous operation, which ensures safety. On the other hand, when the update mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Update”, it is possible to manipulate to change the data displayed in the feed speed display area 108,… the operator can select a desired machine tool controller 20 or 22 by using the CNC selection button 100, from among the machine tool controllers 20, 22 connected to the robot controller 18 through the network interface 60 and network cable 42…”;), and another data access logic to acquire data not stored at the control device (also, see Fig. 3 and 4 memory stores data 84 and 86 in the controller 18, which is accessed, see Col 8 lines 52-64 “…given parameter information 84 in the machine tool 14 and given parameter information 86 in the machine tool 16 are stored in the memory 52 of the robot controller 18. The given parameter information 84, 86 include the formats and names of the respective control axes of the machine tools 14, 16 (e.g., X-, Y-, Z-, R-axis), the maximum and minimum stroke lengths in each control axis, …The given parameter information 84, 86 is obtained by the CPU 48 from each machine tool controller 20, 22 through the network interface 60, and used for preparing various screens for the teach pendant 46 in relation to each machine tool 14, 16”, thus, a program or data access logic is executed to acquire data not stored at the control device),
wherein the data access logic and the another data access logic are used for performing at least any one of reference and update of data related to the industrial machine (see Col 7 lines 47-53 “ The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54.”; also, see Col 8 lines 52-64 “…The given parameter information 84, 86 is obtained by the CPU 48 from each machine tool controller 20, 22 through the network interface 60, and used for preparing various screens for the teach pendant 46 in relation to each machine tool 14, 16” ; also, see Col 10 lines 56-63 “ The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54…”; see Col 10 lines 56 -65 “The absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106 are updated at regular intervals. When any one of the control axes provided in the machine tool 14, 16 operates, the current position of the corresponding control axis displayed in the absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106 is changed in real time. In the depicted embodiment, it is possible to display the current positions of five control axes in each of the absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106);
based on the data access logic for data acquired at the control device and the another data access logic for data acquired directly from the industrial machine, perform at least any one of reference and update of the data related to the industrial machine (see Col 7 lines 47-53 “ The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54.”; also, see Col 8 lines 52-64 “…The given parameter information 84, 86 is obtained by the CPU 48 from each machine tool controller 20, 22 through the network interface 60, and used for preparing various screens for the teach pendant 46 in relation to each machine tool 14, 16” ; also, see Col 10 lines 56-63 “ The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54…”; see Col 10 lines 56 -65 “The absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106 are updated at regular intervals. When any one of the control axes provided in the machine tool 14, 16 operates, the current position of the corresponding control axis displayed in the absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106 is changed in real time. In the depicted embodiment, it is possible to display the current positions of five control axes in each of the absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106);
store at least one operation logic used for performing a control process of the industrial machine (see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also Nishi see memory unit 52 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data or memory 54 which stores the same programs of memory 52, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention; also, see claim 1 above for the expanded rationale/citations);
based on the operation logic, perform an operation related to the industrial machine (the operation management unit has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for executing for performing control functions; Some examples given are programs for controlling operation of the industrial machines; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention. thus, a software/operation management unit such as routine that selects the respective programs to perform each function/subprogram/operations for different tool controller is included in the system software; also, see claim 1 above for the expanded rationale/citations); and
receive input information for uniquely identifying a machine to be accessed (see Fig. 7 and see Col 12 lines 34-46 “in the current position screen, the operator can select a desired machine tool controller 20 or 22 by using the CNC selection button 100, from among the machine tool controllers 20, 22 connected to the robot controller 18 through the network interface 60 and network cable 42…”) and information for uniquely identifying a data item to be accessed (see Fig 5-7 via the displayed interface, the position is data that identifies a data item, also, see Col 12 lines 34-46) and output a value of the data (see Fig. 7 different data items are displayed including the position in coordinates) and perform a process related to a designated machine used for accessing the data (see Fig. 7 a process of retrieving and displaying) and the operation (see Fig. 7 and see the operation has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for executing for performing control functions; Some examples given are programs for controlling operation of the industrial machines; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention. thus, a software/operation management unit such as routine that selects the respective programs to perform each function/subprogram/operations for different tool controller is included in the system software; also, see claim 1 above for the expanded rationale/citations ),
wherein a function related to the industrial machine is available via a common interface (see Fig. 3 all of the functions/programs of control and calculation of the industrial machines are available via the common interface 50; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi et al (US 9802286, cited in the IDS) in view of Nixon et al (US 20080301703).
As per claim 1, Nishi teaches a control device that controls an industrial machine, the control device comprising a processor, (see Fig. 3 control device 18; also, see Col 7 lines 40-67 “The robot 18 includes a CPU (central processing unit) 48 as a processing section executing various processes as described later. A memory 52, such as a RAM, and a storage unit 54, such as a hard disk, are connected to a bus 50 extending from the CPU 48. The CPU 48 executes various
programs stored in the memory 52, and thereby controls the operation of the robot 12. The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. …the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54…The robot controller 18 can make respective servo motors of the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 operate, due to an operation command transmitted through the robot cable 66 and the traveling unit cable 68. The network interface 60 is connected to the machine tool controllers 20, 22/industrial machines through the network cable 42…”), the processor is configured to:
store at least one data access logic used for performing at least any one of reference and update of data related to the industrial machine; (data access logic has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for calculating, accessing, and/or updating data related to an industrial machine stored in a memory section/unit. Some examples given are alarm programs or calculations and programs to update parameters by inputting information or calculate parameters (see original published disclosure 0029, 0033, 0044, 0049 of this instant application); Thus, Nishi teaches CPU 52 and memory unit 52 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data or memory 54 which stores the same programs of memory 52, see Col 7 lines 40-53; Fig. 4 alarm screen program and see Fig. 5-6 alarm section; This program occupy a storage unit/section of a memory; also, Nishi further teaches logic data for update/reference data, see Col 12 lines 1-45 “The update/reference mode switching button 126 is provided for switching the mode of the current position screen between an update mode and a reference mode. An operator can select either one of the update mode and the reference…When the reference mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Reference”, the internal data of the selected machine tool controller 20 or 22 is not changed, even if the operator performs any manipulation on the current position screen. Therefore, the internal data is not affected by erroneous operation, which ensures safety. On the other hand, when the update mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Update”, it is possible to manipulate to change the data displayed in the feed speed display area 108,… the operator can select a desired machine tool controller 20 or 22 by using the CNC selection button 100, from among the machine tool controllers 20, 22 connected to the robot controller 18 through the network interface 60 and network cable 42…”);
based on the data access logic, perform at least any one of reference and update of the data related to the industrial machine (the access logic has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for executing the calculating, accessing, and/or updating data related to an industrial machine stored in a memory section/unit. Some examples given are alarm programs or calculations and programs to update parameters by inputting information or calculate parameters (see original published disclosure 0029, 0033, 0044, 0049 of this instant application ), reference or update has been interpreted as read or write, calculate data, retrieve data; Thus, Nishi teaches the CPU and memory unit 52 and 54 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53; Fig. 4 alarm screen program and see Fig. 5-6 alarm section; This program occupy a storage unit/section of a memory; also, Nishi further teaches logic data for update/reference data, see Col 12 lines 1-45 “The update/reference mode switching button 126 is provided for switching the mode of the current position screen between an update mode and a reference mode. An operator can select either one of the update mode and the reference…When the reference mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Reference”, the internal data of the selected machine tool controller 20 or 22 is not changed, even if the operator performs any manipulation on the current position screen. Therefore, the internal data is not affected by erroneous operation, which ensures safety. On the other hand, when the update mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Update”, it is possible to manipulate to change the data displayed in the feed speed display area 108,… the operator can select a desired machine tool controller 20 or 22 by using the CNC selection button 100, from among the machine tool controllers 20, 22 connected to the robot controller 18 through the network interface 60 and network cable 42…”, thus, a software/data access logic such as routine that selects the respective programs to perform each function/subprogram for different tool controller is included in the system);
store at least one operation logic used for performing a control process of the industrial machine (see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also Nishi see memory unit 52 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data or memory 54 which stores the same programs of memory 52, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50 “a control program 76, working programs 78, 80 and a ladder program 82, saved in the storage unit 54, are extracted and stored in the memory 52 35 of the robot controller 18. The robot controller 18 performs a control operation according to the control program 76. The working program 78 allow the robot 12 to perform an operation for the workpiece Wl by using the working tool 24, and the working program 80 allow the robot 12 to 40 perform an operation for the workpiece W2 by using the working tool 24. The working programs 78, 80 are interpreted by the control program 76 and converted into movements of the robot 12, the working tool 24 and the traveling unit 30. Operation commands from the robot controller 18 to 45 the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 are transferred through the servo interface 58. The ladder progran1 82 is a program for inputting/outputting digital signals to/from the working tool 24 and/or the positioning jigs 34a, 34b. However, the working programs 78, 80 may directly use the digital signal 50 input/output circuit 62 so as to input/output the digital signals”; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention);
based on the operation logic, perform an operation related to the industrial machine (the operation has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for executing for performing control functions; Some examples given are programs for controlling operation of the industrial machines; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50 “a control program 76, working programs 78, 80 and a ladder program 82, saved in the storage unit 54, are extracted and stored in the memory 52 35 of the robot controller 18. The robot controller 18 performs a control operation according to the control program 76. The working program 78 allow the robot 12 to perform an operation for the workpiece Wl by using the working tool 24, and the working program 80 allow the robot 12 to 40 perform an operation for the workpiece W2 by using the working tool 24. The working programs 78, 80 are interpreted by the control program 76 and converted into movements of the robot 12, the working tool 24 and the traveling unit 30. Operation commands from the robot controller 18 to 45 the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 are transferred through the servo interface 58. The ladder progran1 82 is a program for inputting/outputting digital signals to/from the working tool 24 and/or the positioning jigs 34a, 34b. However, the working programs 78, 80 may directly use the digital signal 50 input/output circuit 62 so as to input/output the digital signals”; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention. thus, a software/operation management unit such as routine that selects the respective programs to perform each function/subprogram/operations for different tool controller is included in the system software); and
(see Fig. 3 interface unit 50 provides a common interface to access the data or functions in memory 52 of Fig. 4 related to the data management and operation managements units; also, see the CPU 48 is also connected via the bus 50 with an operating board interface 56, a servo interface 58 and a network interface 60), wherein a function related to the industrial machine is available via the common interface (see Fig. 3 all of the functions/programs of control and calculation of the industrial machines are available via the common interface 50; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53).
While Nishi teaches a common interface 50 for accessing data access logic for accessing data and operation logic for performing operations, Nishi does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to provide a common interface used for accessing the data and the operation (while the original disclosure does not define the structure of the common interface, the common interface has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation as a software interface executed by CPU, as suggested in the PGPUB [0032] of this instant application. It is understood that while a software executed interface is used, this interface has some physical interface/link to communicate the CPU with memory and other devices).
Nixon teaches a device and method for accessing information comprising processor configured to provide a common interface used for accessing the data (see Fig. 3 a general data access interface/common interface 302 and /or 304; also, see [0025] “…universal interface module may be implemented in an application station coupled to a lab data system…”; also, see [0042] “..2. Some or all of the features of a universal interface module may be implemented using instructions, code, and/or other software and/or firmware, etc. stored on a machine accessible medium that, when executed by, for example, a processor system (e.g., the example processor system 1410 of FIG. 14), perform the operations represented in the flowcharts of FIGS. 13A-13B.”; also, see [0046] “The universal interface class 302 is provided with a general data access interface 304 via which the data in data sources can be accessed in a manner substantially similar or identical to the way in which data is accessed in other modules (e.g., process control routine modules) of the enterprise network 100. The general data access interface 304 may define a plurality of universal data access functions that native components of the enterprise network 100 can use to request access to information stored in one or more native data sources (e.g., the field devices 120 and 122 and the PLC's 124 and 126 of FIGS. 1 and 2).”, thus, the interface access data) and operation (operation has been interpreted in the BRI as operation data to perform a process; also, see [0055] “] To enable each of the universal interface modules 206, 210, and 212 to perform data processing operations (e.g., data filtering, data type conversion, etc.), the universal interface class 302 is provided with one or more data processing functions 320. The data processing functions 320 may include, for example, data type conversions, data conditioning functions (e.g., an averaging function, data filters, etc.), logic functions (e.g., a bit invert). A user may select which of the data processing functions 320 to use in connection with selected ones of the data source interfaces 306 and 308a-c. To generate alarms based on user-specified data, the universal interface class 302 is provided with one or more alarms 322. A user may select one or more of the alarms 322 for any desired data from a data source. The alarms 322 may be configured to monitor particular data and generate notifications when the monitored data values exceed or fall below a threshold value. The data source interfaces 306 and 308a-c, the data store interface 310, the data valid monitor 314, the rules 316, the converters 318, the functions 320, and the alarms 322 may be implemented as data members and/or function members of the universal interface class 302.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Nishi’s invention to include the processor configured to provide a common interface used for accessing the data as taught by Nixon in order to avoid having different interfaces for the plurality of different devices in a system and enable and use a single common interface/universal data source access interface (i.e., a universal interface) to access information or data associated with (e.g., originating in or stored in) various types of data sources without requiring a user to have a substantial amount of knowledge of the communication interfaces, communication protocols, etc. of the different types of data sources (see [0022] and [0023]).
As per claim 2, Nishi-Nixon teaches the control device according to claim 1, Nishi clearly teaches performing function and/or operation related to a machine tool, wherein the function is at least any one of a function of performing an operation related to a tool used in the industrial machine (see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 14 lines 28-59), a function of accessing data related to the tool (see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 14 lines 28-59 and see Fig. 10 path rendering of the tool is a function the accesses the current data of the tool such as position; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention), and a function of life management related to the tool (the functions are in the alternative, Nishi teaches or suggest at least one of the or the other functions enumerated above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
May et al (US 20190121320) teaches an interface module executed by a processor comprising which uses data logic to access/read data by a controller 2, the interface comprises routines/plug-ins/software to read data of different type of machines (0036), the interface receive requests of specific data items which is read (see 0038).
Krause et al (US 6560513) teaches an common interface that comprises a physical serial interface and software implemented interface portion and a user interface to read and write data to a controller (see Fig. 7 interface 728) , the interface 728 of pendant allows an operator to request data or download data to the controller 102 (see Col 7 line 65-to Col 8), the local common interface 124 receive requests for data in controller 102 and accesses the data for reference or update (see Col 3 line 51 to col 4 line 15 and lines 61-67).
Yasue (US 20050268038) teaches a common software application interface to read and write data to a memory, wherein the memory and data is associated to an identification such as an address or element ID (see 0030).
Auerbach et al (US 6549937) teaches an application program interface (API) provided/executed by a processor (see Claim 15), where the API receives requests or messages for providing data, and wherein , the function of the API 126 is to provide a standardized set of data structures that allow programmers to develop software independently of the underlying implementation of the API (see Col 6 line 50-63).
Nixon (CN 101315558 A, which is the same reference as 20080301703) teaches the common interface. This reference has been cited because the US version cites the term as “general data access interface 304” while the Chinese version recites “common data access interface 304”.
The common interface acquires different configurations including different software and hardware components and also different interpretations in light of the state of the art above.
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117