DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In an Amendment filed on 5/12/2026, claims 1 and 3 were amended and claim 2 was cancelled. Therefore, Claims 1 and 3 are still pending in this Application.
Request for Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to amendments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments on pages 4-7, with respect to rejections to claims 3 under 35 USC § 102 and 103(a) have been fully considered but they are respectfully unpersuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 102 have been maintained.
On page 4-5, the Applicant argues:
“Further, respective data access logics (or operation logics) may be created by a
subprogram or the like running on the CPU 11 or the PLC 16 of the control device 1 (id., pg. 17, lines 12-17 and pg. 20, lines 19-21). These data access logic (or operation logic) may be created in advance by a machine manufacturer of a machine to be controlled or may be developed independently by the user of the machine (id.). A plurality of operation logics may be combined with a single operation execution request for execution in accordance with a predetermined definition. When a plurality of operation logics is combined and executed, respective operation logics may be executed in an exclusive relationship. The definition of such a correspondence between an operation execution request and an operation logic may be stored in advance in the operation storage unit 230. Applicant respectfully submits Nishi fails to teach the above-described and recited features of Applicant's invention.” These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
The claims do not recite these combination of limitations as argued.
On page 6, the Applicant further argues that:
“Applicant notes that the Office Action alleges that while the Applicant argued that the feature-selecting and using appropriate logic based on the specific industrial machine, its subject matter, and individually identified industrial machines --- is not described in Nishi, and the claim does not define it in that manner (see, Office Action, pg. 3). Independent claim 1 is amended, as indicated above, to clarify and specify that the operation logic corresponding to each industrial machine is mutually distinct (i.e., "read an appropriate and different operation logic corresponding to each piece of industrial machinery"). Additionally, the subject matter of dependent claim 2 is incorporated into independent claim 1”. These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
Nishi clearly teaches performing controlling and accessing data of two different type of industrial machine tools 16 and 20 (see Fig. 1 machine tools 14 and 16, robot 12, conveyor 30 are pieces of industrial machinery; see Col 7 lines 10-53; also, see Col 18 lines 26-30 “The robot controller may be configured to be connected through the communication network to a plurality of machine tool controllers respectively controlling different machine tools. In this configuration, the processing section 30 may be configured to detect the plurality of machine tool controllers connected through the communication network to the robot controller,…”; also, see Col 17 lines 26-28).
Also, Nishi teaches the limitations of claim 2 incorporated into claim 3 (see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 7 lines 10-53…).
On page 6, the Applicant further argues that:
“Applicant also submits Nixon fails to teach or suggest "the function is at least any one of a function of performing an operation related to a tool used in the industrial machine, a function of accessing data related to the tool, and a function of life management related to the tool.” These arguments are respectfully unpersuasive.
Nixon was not cited to teach these limitations. On the other hand, Nishi was cited to teach these limitations originally presented in claim 2 (see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 14 lines 28-59; see Nishi see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 14 lines 28-59 and see Fig. 10 path rendering of the tool is a function the accesses the current data of the tool such as position; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 3 should have a colon ( “:” ) after the word “comprising
Appropriate correction is required. This is necessary to differentiate the preamble and the body of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishi et al (US 9802286, cited in the IDS).
As per Claim 3, Nishi teaches a control device that controls an industrial machine, the control device comprising a processor (see Fig. 3 control device 18; also, see Col 7 lines 40-67 “The robot 18 includes a CPU (central processing unit) 48 as a processing section executing various processes as described later. A memory 52, such as a RAM, and a storage unit 54, such as a hard disk, are connected to a bus 50 extending from the CPU 48. The CPU 48 executes various
programs stored in the memory 52, and thereby controls the operation of the robot 12. The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. …the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54…The robot controller 18 can make respective servo motors of the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 operate, due to an operation command transmitted through the robot cable 66 and the traveling unit cable 68. The network interface 60 is connected to the machine tool controllers 20, 22/industrial machines through the network cable 42…”) configured to:
store at least one data access logic for data stored at the control device (data access logic has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for calculating, accessing, and/or updating data related to an industrial machine stored in a memory section/unit. Some examples given are alarm programs or calculations and programs to update parameters by inputting information or calculate parameters (see original published disclosure 0029, 0033, 0044, 0049 of this instant application); Thus, Nishi teaches CPU 52 and memory unit 52 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data or memory 54 which stores the same programs of memory 52, see Col 7 lines 40-53 “…. The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54”; Also, see Fig. 4 alarm screen program and see Fig. 5-6 alarm section; This program occupy a storage unit/section of a memory; also, Nishi further teaches logic data for update/reference data, see Col 12 lines 1-45 “The update/reference mode switching button 126 is provided for switching the mode of the current position screen between an update mode and a reference mode. An operator can select either one of the update mode and the reference…When the reference mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Reference”, the internal data of the selected machine tool controller 20 or 22 is not changed, even if the operator performs any manipulation on the current position screen. Therefore, the internal data is not affected by erroneous operation, which ensures safety. On the other hand, when the update mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Update”, it is possible to manipulate to change the data displayed in the feed speed display area 108,… the operator can select a desired machine tool controller 20 or 22 by using the CNC selection button 100, from among the machine tool controllers 20, 22 connected to the robot controller 18 through the network interface 60 and network cable 42…”;), and another data access logic to acquire data not stored at the control device (also, see Fig. 3 and 4 memory stores data 84 and 86 in the controller 18, which is accessed, see Col 8 lines 52-64 “…given parameter information 84 in the machine tool 14 and given parameter information 86 in the machine tool 16 are stored in the memory 52 of the robot controller 18. The given parameter information 84, 86 include the formats and names of the respective control axes of the machine tools 14, 16 (e.g., X-, Y-, Z-, R-axis), the maximum and minimum stroke lengths in each control axis, …The given parameter information 84, 86 is obtained by the CPU 48 from each machine tool controller 20, 22 through the network interface 60, and used for preparing various screens for the teach pendant 46 in relation to each machine tool 14, 16”, thus, a program or data access logic is executed to acquire data not stored at the control device),
wherein the data access logic and the another data access logic are used for performing at least any one of reference and update of data related to the industrial machine (see Col 7 lines 47-53 “ The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54.”; also, see Col 8 lines 52-64 “…The given parameter information 84, 86 is obtained by the CPU 48 from each machine tool controller 20, 22 through the network interface 60, and used for preparing various screens for the teach pendant 46 in relation to each machine tool 14, 16” ; also, see Col 10 lines 56-63 “ The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54…”; see Col 10 lines 56 -65 “The absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106 are updated at regular intervals. When any one of the control axes provided in the machine tool 14, 16 operates, the current position of the corresponding control axis displayed in the absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106 is changed in real time. In the depicted embodiment, it is possible to display the current positions of five control axes in each of the absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106);
based on the data access logic for data acquired at the control device and the another data access logic for data acquired directly from the industrial machine, perform at least any one of reference and update of the data related to the industrial machine (see Col 7 lines 47-53 “ The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54.”; also, see Col 8 lines 52-64 “…The given parameter information 84, 86 is obtained by the CPU 48 from each machine tool controller 20, 22 through the network interface 60, and used for preparing various screens for the teach pendant 46 in relation to each machine tool 14, 16” ; also, see Col 10 lines 56-63 “ The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. When the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54…”; see Col 10 lines 56 -65 “The absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106 are updated at regular intervals. When any one of the control axes provided in the machine tool 14, 16 operates, the current position of the corresponding control axis displayed in the absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106 is changed in real time. In the depicted embodiment, it is possible to display the current positions of five control axes in each of the absolute coordinate display area 104 and the machine coordinate display area 106);
store at least one operation logic used for performing a control process of the industrial machine (see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also Nishi see memory unit 52 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data or memory 54 which stores the same programs of memory 52, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention; also, see claim 1 above for the expanded rationale/citations);
read an appropriate and different operation logic corresponding to each piece of industrial machinery (see Fig. 1 machine tools 14 and 16, robot 12, conveyor 30 are pieces of industrial machinery; see Col 7 lines 10-53; also, see Col 18 lines 26-30 “The robot controller may be configured to be connected through the communication network to a plurality of machine tool controllers respectively controlling different machine tools. In this configuration, the processing section 30 may be configured to detect the plurality of machine tool controllers connected through the communication network to the robot controller,…”; also, see Col 17 lines 26-28 “The robot controller may be configured to be connected through the communication network to a plurality of machine tool controllers respectively controlling different machine tools”, different machine tools suggest different type of industrial machinery and different operation logic) and based on the operation logic, perform an operation related to the industrial machine (the operation has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for executing for performing control functions; Some examples given are programs for controlling operation of the industrial machines; also, see Col 7 lines 10-25 “the robot controller 18 transmits a machining start command to the machine tool controller 20, and the machine tool controller 20 makes the 15 machine tool 14 start the machining of the attached workpiece W1 in accordance with the machining start command…the robot 12 removes and transfers the machined workpiece W1 from the machine tool 14 and places it on the pallet P3…the robot controller 18 transmits a machining start command to the machine tool controller 22, and the machine tool controller 22 makes the machine tool 16 start the machining of the attached workpiece W2 in accordance with the machining start command. ”, thus, different operation logic corresponding to each different piece of machinery such as robot, conveyors, tool 14/20 and tool 16/22 are read and executed/performed; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50 “a control program 76, working programs 78, 80 and a ladder program 82, saved in the storage unit 54, are extracted and stored in the memory 52 35 of the robot controller 18. The robot controller 18 performs a control operation according to the control program 76. The working program 78 allow the robot 12 to perform an operation for the workpiece W1 by using the working tool 24, and the working program 80 allow the robot 12 to 40 perform an operation for the workpiece W2 by using the working tool 24. The working programs 78, 80 are interpreted by the control program 76 and converted into movements of the robot 12, the working tool 24 and the traveling unit 30. Operation commands from the robot controller 18 to 45 the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 are transferred through the servo interface 58. The ladder progran1 82 is a program for inputting/outputting digital signals to/from the working tool 24 and/or the positioning jigs 34a, 34b. However, the working programs 78, 80 may directly use the digital signal 50 input/output circuit 62 so as to input/output the digital signals”; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention. thus, a software/operation management unit such as routine that selects the respective programs to perform each function/subprogram/operations for different tool controller is included in the system software); and
receive input information for uniquely identifying a machine to be accessed (see Fig. 7 and see Col 12 lines 34-46 “in the current position screen, the operator can select a desired machine tool controller 20 or 22 by using the CNC selection button 100, from among the machine tool controllers 20, 22 connected to the robot controller 18 through the network interface 60 and network cable 42…”) and information for uniquely identifying a data item to be accessed (see Fig 5-7 via the displayed interface, the position is data that identifies a data item, also, see Col 12 lines 34-46) and output a value of the data (see Fig. 7 different data items are displayed including the position in coordinates) and perform a process related to a designated machine used for accessing the data (see Fig. 7 a process of retrieving and displaying) and the operation (see Fig. 7 and see the operation has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for executing for performing control functions; Some examples given are programs for controlling operation of the industrial machines; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention. thus, a software/operation management unit such as routine that selects the respective programs to perform each function/subprogram/operations for different tool controller is included in the system software; also, see claim 1 above for the expanded rationale/citations ),
wherein a function related to the industrial machine is available via a common interface (see Fig. 3 all of the functions/programs of control and calculation of the industrial machines are available via the common interface 50; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53);
wherein the function is at least any one of a function of performing an operation related to a tool used in the industrial machine (see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 7 lines 10-53 “the robot controller 18 transmits a machining start command to the machine tool controller 20, and the machine tool controller 20 makes the 15 machine tool 14 start the machining of the attached workpiece W1 in accordance with the machining start command…the robot controller 18 transmits a machining start command to the machine tool controller 22, and the machine tool controller 22 makes the machine tool 16 start the machining of the attached workpiece W2 in accordance with the machining start command…”; also, see Col 14 lines 28-59), a function of accessing data related to the tool (see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 14 lines 28-59 and see Fig. 10 path rendering of the tool is a function the accesses the current data of the tool such as position; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention), and a function of life management related to the tool (the functions are in the alternative, Nishi teaches or suggest at least one of the or the other functions enumerated above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi et al (US 9802286, cited in the IDS) in view of Nixon et al (US 20080301703).
As per claim 1, Nishi teaches a control device that controls an industrial machine, the control device comprising a processor, (see Fig. 3 control device 18; also, see Col 7 lines 40-67 “The robot 18 includes a CPU (central processing unit) 48 as a processing section executing various processes as described later. A memory 52, such as a RAM, and a storage unit 54, such as a hard disk, are connected to a bus 50 extending from the CPU 48. The CPU 48 executes various
programs stored in the memory 52, and thereby controls the operation of the robot 12. The various programs to be extracted on the memory 52 are saved in the storage unit 54. …the robot controller 18 is powered on, the various programs are read out from the storage unit 54 and extracted on the memory 52, so that the CPU 48 can directly execute the programs saved in the storage unit 54…The robot controller 18 can make respective servo motors of the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 operate, due to an operation command transmitted through the robot cable 66 and the traveling unit cable 68. The network interface 60 is connected to the machine tool controllers 20, 22/industrial machines through the network cable 42…”), the processor is configured to:
store at least one data access logic used for performing at least any one of reference and update of data related to the industrial machine; (data access logic has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for calculating, accessing, and/or updating data related to an industrial machine stored in a memory section/unit. Some examples given are alarm programs or calculations and programs to update parameters by inputting information or calculate parameters (see original published disclosure 0029, 0033, 0044, 0049 of this instant application); Thus, Nishi teaches CPU 52 and memory unit 52 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data or memory 54 which stores the same programs of memory 52, see Col 7 lines 40-53; Fig. 4 alarm screen program and see Fig. 5-6 alarm section; This program occupy a storage unit/section of a memory; also, Nishi further teaches logic data for update/reference data, see Col 12 lines 1-45 “The update/reference mode switching button 126 is provided for switching the mode of the current position screen between an update mode and a reference mode. An operator can select either one of the update mode and the reference…When the reference mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Reference”, the internal data of the selected machine tool controller 20 or 22 is not changed, even if the operator performs any manipulation on the current position screen. Therefore, the internal data is not affected by erroneous operation, which ensures safety. On the other hand, when the update mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Update”, it is possible to manipulate to change the data displayed in the feed speed display area 108,… the operator can select a desired machine tool controller 20 or 22 by using the CNC selection button 100, from among the machine tool controllers 20, 22 connected to the robot controller 18 through the network interface 60 and network cable 42…”);
based on the data access logic, perform at least any one of reference and update of the data related to the industrial machine (the access logic has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for executing the calculating, accessing, and/or updating data related to an industrial machine stored in a memory section/unit. Some examples given are alarm programs or calculations and programs to update parameters by inputting information or calculate parameters (see original published disclosure 0029, 0033, 0044, 0049 of this instant application ), reference or update has been interpreted as read or write, calculate data, retrieve data; Thus, Nishi teaches the CPU and memory unit 52 and 54 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53; Fig. 4 alarm screen program and see Fig. 5-6 alarm section; This program occupy a storage unit/section of a memory; also, Nishi further teaches logic data for update/reference data, see Col 12 lines 1-45 “The update/reference mode switching button 126 is provided for switching the mode of the current position screen between an update mode and a reference mode. An operator can select either one of the update mode and the reference…When the reference mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Reference”, the internal data of the selected machine tool controller 20 or 22 is not changed, even if the operator performs any manipulation on the current position screen. Therefore, the internal data is not affected by erroneous operation, which ensures safety. On the other hand, when the update mode is selected and the update/reference mode switching button 126 indicates “Update”, it is possible to manipulate to change the data displayed in the feed speed display area 108,… the operator can select a desired machine tool controller 20 or 22 by using the CNC selection button 100, from among the machine tool controllers 20, 22 connected to the robot controller 18 through the network interface 60 and network cable 42…”, thus, a software/data access logic such as routine that selects the respective programs to perform each function/subprogram for different tool controller is included in the system);
store at least one operation logic used for performing a control process of the industrial machine (see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also Nishi see memory unit 52 in Fig. 4 for storing data access logic/programs used for performing read and update of data or memory 54 which stores the same programs of memory 52, see Col 7 lines 40-53; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50 “a control program 76, working programs 78, 80 and a ladder program 82, saved in the storage unit 54, are extracted and stored in the memory 52 35 of the robot controller 18. The robot controller 18 performs a control operation according to the control program 76. The working program 78 allow the robot 12 to perform an operation for the workpiece W1 by using the working tool 24, and the working program 80 allow the robot 12 to 40 perform an operation for the workpiece W2 by using the working tool 24. The working programs 78, 80 are interpreted by the control program 76 and converted into movements of the robot 12, the working tool 24 and the traveling unit 30. Operation commands from the robot controller 18 to 45 the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 are transferred through the servo interface 58. The ladder progran1 82 is a program for inputting/outputting digital signals to/from the working tool 24 and/or the positioning jigs 34a, 34b. However, the working programs 78, 80 may directly use the digital signal 50 input/output circuit 62 so as to input/output the digital signals”; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention);
read an appropriate and different operation logic corresponding to each piece of industrial machinery (see Fig. 1 machine tools 14 and 16, robot 12, conveyor 30 are pieces of industrial machinery; see Col 7 lines 10-53; also, see Col 18 lines 26-30 “The robot controller may be configured to be connected through the communication network to a plurality of machine tool controllers respectively controlling different machine tools. In this configuration, the processing section 30 may be configured to detect the plurality of machine tool controllers connected through the communication network to the robot controller,…”; also, see Col 17 lines 26-28 “The robot controller may be configured to be connected through the communication network to a plurality of machine tool controllers respectively controlling different machine tools”, different machine tools suggest different type of industrial machinery and different operation logic) and based on the operation logic, perform an operation related to the industrial machine (the operation has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as threads/programs/software/routines for executing for performing control functions; Some examples given are programs for controlling operation of the industrial machines; also, see Col 7 lines 10-25 “the robot controller 18 transmits a machining start command to the machine tool controller 20, and the machine tool controller 20 makes the 15 machine tool 14 start the machining of the attached workpiece W1 in accordance with the machining start command…the robot 12 removes and transfers the machined workpiece W1 from the machine tool 14 and places it on the pallet P3…the robot controller 18 transmits a machining start command to the machine tool controller 22, and the machine tool controller 22 makes the machine tool 16 start the machining of the attached workpiece W2 in accordance with the machining start command. ”, thus, different operation logic corresponding to each different piece of machinery such as robot, conveyors, tool 14/20 and tool 16/22 are read and executed/performed; also, see lines 40-53; also, see Fig. 4 memory section/storage unit 76 or 82 or 78 or 80 storing operation logic (programs/routine/software) for performing a control process of the industrial machine/robot or traveling unit 30; also, see Col 8 lines 32-50 “a control program 76, working programs 78, 80 and a ladder program 82, saved in the storage unit 54, are extracted and stored in the memory 52 35 of the robot controller 18. The robot controller 18 performs a control operation according to the control program 76. The working program 78 allow the robot 12 to perform an operation for the workpiece W1 by using the working tool 24, and the working program 80 allow the robot 12 to 40 perform an operation for the workpiece W2 by using the working tool 24. The working programs 78, 80 are interpreted by the control program 76 and converted into movements of the robot 12, the working tool 24 and the traveling unit 30. Operation commands from the robot controller 18 to 45 the robot 12 and the traveling unit 30 are transferred through the servo interface 58. The ladder progran1 82 is a program for inputting/outputting digital signals to/from the working tool 24 and/or the positioning jigs 34a, 34b. However, the working programs 78, 80 may directly use the digital signal 50 input/output circuit 62 so as to input/output the digital signals”; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention. thus, a software/operation management unit such as routine that selects the respective programs to perform each function/subprogram/operations for different tool controller is included in the system software); and
(see Fig. 3 interface unit 50 provides a common interface to access the data or functions in memory 52 of Fig. 4 related to the data management and operation managements units; also, see the CPU 48 is also connected via the bus 50 with an operating board interface 56, a servo interface 58 and a network interface 60), wherein a function related to the industrial machine is available via the common interface (see Fig. 3 all of the functions/programs of control and calculation of the industrial machines are available via the common interface 50; also, see Col 7 lines 40-53);
wherein the function is at least any one of a function of performing an operation related to a tool used in the industrial machine (see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 7 lines 10-53 “the robot controller 18 transmits a machining start command to the machine tool controller 20, and the machine tool controller 20 makes the 15 machine tool 14 start the machining of the attached workpiece W1 in accordance with the machining start command…the robot controller 18 transmits a machining start command to the machine tool controller 22, and the machine tool controller 22 makes the machine tool 16 start the machining of the attached workpiece W2 in accordance with the machining start command…”; also, see Col 14 lines 28-59), a function of accessing data related to the tool (see Fig. 9 tool correction; also, see Col 14 lines 28-59 and see Fig. 10 path rendering of the tool is a function the accesses the current data of the tool such as position; also, see Fig. 5 and Col 9 lines 30-65 and Col 10 lines 34-65 which describe the operation of an operation logic to perform a control process equivalent to the tool path rendering describe in the original disclosure of the instant invention), and a function of life management related to the tool (the functions are in the alternative, Nishi teaches or suggest at least one of the or the other functions enumerated above);
While Nishi teaches a common interface 50 for accessing data access logic for accessing data and operation logic for performing operations, Nishi does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to provide a common interface used for accessing the data and the operation (while the original disclosure does not define the structure of the common interface, the common interface has been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation as a software interface executed by CPU, as suggested in the PGPUB [0032] of this instant application. It is understood that while a software executed interface is used, this interface has some physical interface/link to communicate the CPU with memory and other devices).
Nixon teaches a device and method for accessing information comprising processor configured to provide a common interface used for accessing the data (see Fig. 3 a general data access interface/common interface 302 and /or 304; also, see [0025] “…universal interface module may be implemented in an application station coupled to a lab data system…”; also, see [0042] “..2. Some or all of the features of a universal interface module may be implemented using instructions, code, and/or other software and/or firmware, etc. stored on a machine accessible medium that, when executed by, for example, a processor system (e.g., the example processor system 1410 of FIG. 14), perform the operations represented in the flowcharts of FIGS. 13A-13B.”; also, see [0046] “The universal interface class 302 is provided with a general data access interface 304 via which the data in data sources can be accessed in a manner substantially similar or identical to the way in which data is accessed in other modules (e.g., process control routine modules) of the enterprise network 100. The general data access interface 304 may define a plurality of universal data access functions that native components of the enterprise network 100 can use to request access to information stored in one or more native data sources (e.g., the field devices 120 and 122 and the PLC's 124 and 126 of FIGS. 1 and 2).”, thus, the interface access data) and operation (operation has been interpreted in the BRI as operation data to perform a process; also, see [0055] “] To enable each of the universal interface modules 206, 210, and 212 to perform data processing operations (e.g., data filtering, data type conversion, etc.), the universal interface class 302 is provided with one or more data processing functions 320. The data processing functions 320 may include, for example, data type conversions, data conditioning functions (e.g., an averaging function, data filters, etc.), logic functions (e.g., a bit invert). A user may select which of the data processing functions 320 to use in connection with selected ones of the data source interfaces 306 and 308a-c. To generate alarms based on user-specified data, the universal interface class 302 is provided with one or more alarms 322. A user may select one or more of the alarms 322 for any desired data from a data source. The alarms 322 may be configured to monitor particular data and generate notifications when the monitored data values exceed or fall below a threshold value. The data source interfaces 306 and 308a-c, the data store interface 310, the data valid monitor 314, the rules 316, the converters 318, the functions 320, and the alarms 322 may be implemented as data members and/or function members of the universal interface class 302.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Nishi’s invention to include the processor configured to provide a common interface used for accessing the data as taught by Nixon in order to avoid having different interfaces for the plurality of different devices in a system and enable and use a single common interface/universal data source access interface (i.e., a universal interface) to access information or data associated with (e.g., originating in or stored in) various types of data sources without requiring a user to have a substantial amount of knowledge of the communication interfaces, communication protocols, etc. of the different types of data sources (see [0022] and [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hayashi (US 20200033836) teaches a system comprising accessing data with respect to different industrial machine tools (see 0011, 0095 “Since the tool management data held by the CNCs 3 have different contents, the tool object data to be retrieved can also be different. Therefore, in the CNC 3 for controlling the machine tool A, for example, tool exchange is performed for either a tool name “MILL_005_0107” or “MILL_005_0108”. In the CNC 3 for controlling the machine tool B, the tool exchange is performed for a tool name “MILL_005_0109”. Moreover, in the CNC 3 for controlling the machine tool C, the tool exchange is performed for a tool name “MILL_005_0109”. Moreover, in the CNC 3 for controlling the machine tool C, the tool exchange is performed for the tool name “MILL_005_0105”).
Davison et al (US 6834214) teaches a system comprising a datastore storing a plurality of operation logic/NC programs for different machine tools (see Fig. 2B; see Col 3 lines 41-45 “in this regard, the system of the present invention is format independent in that it can transfer NC programs to machine tool controllers executing NC programs according to different formats”; see Col 5 line 1-5 “by delivering the NC programs across the WAN, the system of the present invention can control a plurality of different machine tools located in different locations using fewer mainframe databases than required by conventional DNC systems, which require a mainframe database for each shop.”)
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117