DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 01/28/2026. Claims 1-3 and 6-16 are currently pending for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (CN 205609601 with English Machine Translation) (of record).
Regarding claim 13, Yu discloses a multi-battery pack (title; abstract) comprising: a plurality of stacked battery packs (1) (see Fig. 1; [0029]); and a plurality of long bolts (3) configured to couple the plurality of battery packs (1) to each other and to fix the plurality of battery packs (1) to a device (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0029]; [0042]), wherein each of the battery packs (1) comprises a plurality of battery cells (10) and a case (11+13+7) configured to receive the plurality of battery cells (10) therein (see Fig. 2; [0029]-[0030]), wherein the case (11+13+7) comprises: a case frame (11) defining a space (111) configured to receive the battery cells (10) therein (see Fig. 2; [0029]-[0030]), the case frame (11) being provided at an outside thereof with a plurality of through-holes (1120) through which the long bolts (3) are inserted (see Fig. 2; [0030]-[0031]); a lower cover coupled to a lower part (13) of the case frame (11) (see Modified Figure 6 below; [0008]; [0030]; [0042]); and an upper cover (13+7) coupled to an upper part of the case frame (11) (see Figs. 2 and 6; [0029]-[0030]; [0042]), wherein the upper cover (13+7) includes first, second, third, and fourth corner areas (see Modified Figure 2 below), wherein the first corner area includes a first fastening hole having a complete circle shape, each of the second, third, and fourth corner areas includes a respective second fastening hole having one side open in a C-shape (see Modified Figures 2 and 6 below), and wherein the first fastening hole and each of the second fastening holes being configured to allow respective ones of the long bolts (3) to be fastened therethrough (see Figs. 2 and 6).
Modified Figure 6, Yu
Modified Figure 2, Yu
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 205609601 with English Machine Translation) (of record) in view of Ruehle et al. (US 2017/0237113) (Ruehle) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a multi-battery pack (title; abstract) comprising: a plurality of stacked battery packs (1) (see Fig. 1; [0029]); and a plurality of long bolts (3) configured to couple the plurality of battery packs (1) to each other and to fix the plurality of battery packs (1) to a device (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0029]; [0042]), wherein each of the battery packs (1) comprises a plurality of battery cells (10) and a case (11+13+7) configured to receive the plurality of battery cells (10) therein (see Fig. 2; [0029]-[0030]), wherein the case (11+13+7) comprises: a case frame (11) defining a space (111) configured to receive the battery cells (10) therein (see Fig. 2; [0029]-[0030]), the case frame (11) being provided at an outside thereof with a plurality of through-holes (1120) through which the long bolts (3) are inserted (see Fig. 2; [0030]-[0031]); a lower cover coupled to a lower part (13) of the case frame (11) (see Modified Figure 6 below; [0008]; [0030]; [0042]); and an upper cover (13+7) coupled to an upper part of the case frame (11) (see Figs. 2 and 6; [0029]-[0030]; [0042]), and wherein the upper cover (13+7) comprises a circular first fastening hole having a complete circle shape and a second fastening hole having one side open in a C-shape (see Modified Figures 2 and 6 below), the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole being configured to allow respective ones of the long bolts (3) to be fastened therethrough (see Figs. 2 and 6). Yu fails to disclose, however, that the case (11+13+7) comprises a plurality of hollow cylindrical bushings which are disposed through the first and second fastening holes, wherein each bushing protrudes and extends upward from the upper cover (13+7) to be inserted into the lower cover (13) of another battery pack stacked thereon, wherein each long bolt (3) is inserted through a respective bushing to extend through the lower cover (13), the case (11+13+7), and the upper cover (13+7), and wherein the bushings are configured to prevent deformation of the case (11+13+7) due to fastening of the long bolts (3).
Modified Figure 6, Yu
Modified Figure 2, Yu
Ruehle teaches a similar battery pack (title; abstract), wherein the battery pack comprises a plurality of battery cells (12) and a case (10) configured to receive the plurality of battery cells (12) (see Figs. 1 and 2; abstract; [0053]), wherein the case (10) comprises a case frame (14a, 14b) defining a space configured to receive the battery cells (12) therein (see Fig. 2; [0054]-[0055]), the case frame (14a, 14b) being provided with a plurality of through-holes (see Figs. 1, 5, and 6), wherein a hollow cylindrical bushing (44a, 44b) is inserted into each of the through holes over the entire extent of the through holes (see Figs. 1, 5, and 6; [0061]). Ruehle further teaches that the bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) protrudes and extends upward from an upper cover (Ruehle: 16a) (Ruehle: see Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-14; [0061]-[0069]). Ruehle further teaches that providing these bushings (44a, 44b) to the case frame (14a, 14b, 16a-16d) helps to prevent damage to the case frame (14a, 14b) ([0032]-[0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the through-holes disclosed by Yu such that a cylindrical bushing is inserted into each one, as taught by Ruehle, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would help to prevent damage to the case frame.
Furthermore, given the teachings from Ruehle, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the bushing in modified Yu such that the bushing protrudes and extends upward from the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) through the first and second fastening holes. Additionally, since Yu discloses that the through-holes (Yu: 1120) of adjacent battery packs (Yu: 1) are aligned and that the long bolts (Yu: 3) are intended to extend through the through-holes (Yu: 1120) of each of the battery packs (Yu: 1) (Yu: see Fig. 2; [0030]-[0031]; [0042]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least tried configuring the extension length of the bushing upward from the upper cover so as to be inserted into a lower cover of a battery pack stacked thereon in order to further prevent damage to the battery pack and to further secure the battery packs together. Finally, because Yu already discloses that the long bolts (Yu: 3) extend through the lower cover (Yu: 13), the case frame (Yu: 11), and the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) (Yu: see Figs. 1 and 2; [0029]; [0031]; [0042]), it would have been obvious for the long bolts (Yu: 3) in modified Yu to extend through a respective bushing in the lower cover, case frame, and upper cover. Thus, modified Yu satisfies all of the limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Yu further discloses that the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) further comprises a third fastening hole configured to allow the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) to be fastened to the case frame (Yu: 11) therethrough (see Modified Figure 2 below).
Modified Figure 2, Yu
Regarding claim 3, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Modified Yu further discloses that each case (Yu: 11+13+7) includes a pair of the case frames (Yu: 11) and a cover (Yu: 13+7) assembled on each of the frames (Yu: 11), wherein the cover (Yu: 13+7) assembled on the upper case frame (Yu: 11) is considered the upper cover (Yu: 13+7), and the cover (Yu: 13) assembled on the lower case frame (Yu: 11) is considered the lower cover (Yu: 13) (see Modified Figure 6 above; [0008]; [0030]; [0042]). Modified Yu further discloses that the lower cover (Yu: 13) is provided at positions thereof corresponding to the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole of the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) (see Modified Figure 6 above). Furthermore, since modified Yu indicates that each of the covers (Yu: 13) are configured identically (Yu: see Figs. 2 and 6; [0008]; [0030]; [0042]), it is clear that modified Yu suggests the limitation that the lower cover (Yu: 13) is provided with an equal number of fastening holes having identical shapes as those of the upper cover (Yu: 13+7).
Regarding claim 6, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Examiner notes that each of the holes in the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) through which the long bolts (Yu: 3) pass through into the through-holes (Yu: 1120) are considered to be either a first fastening hole or a second fastening hole. Thus, with this interpretation, modified Yu necessarily discloses that a sum in number of the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole is equal to a number of the through-holes (Yu: 1120) of the case frame (Yu: 11) (Yu: see Figs. 2 and 6; [0030]-[0031]; [0042]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 6. Examiner notes that under BRI, only one of the fastening holes in the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) needs to be interpreted as the first fastening hole. Thus, with this interpretation, Yu clearly reads on the limitation that the first fastening hole is singly formed in the upper cover (see also Modified Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 8, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 5. Modified Yu further discloses that the case frame (Yu: 11) is made of plastic (Yu: [0030]). Furthermore, it is conventional in the art to form plastic case frames of battery packs by injection molding (see [0059] of Ruehle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the plastic case frame disclosed by modified Yu by injection molding because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would be an effective way of creating the case frame.
Regarding claim 10, modified Yu discloses a device (electric vehicle) comprising the multi-battery pack according to claim 1 (Yu: [0002]; [0008]-[0026]; [0029]; [0034]; [0039]; [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Yu further discloses that the case frame (Yu: 11) includes plastic (Yu: [0030]). Examiner notes that the limitation “wherein the bushings have a higher compressive stress than the case frame to prevent deformation of the case frame due to fastening of the long bolts” is merely an intended use limitation based on an intended compressive force to be applied to the bushings, and thus, it fails to add any further structure to the battery pack. However, examiner also notes that the bushings in modified Yu would be capable of having a higher compressive stress than the plastic case frame (Yu: 11) since the bushings (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) are made of metal (Ruehle: [0033]). Ruehle further teaches that the metal bushings (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) are intended to prevent deformation of the case frame when a high force is applied (Ruehle: [0033]). Thus, modified Yu satisfies all of the limitations in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Ruehle further teaches that each bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) has an outer diameter corresponding to an inner diameter of a respective one of the through-holes of the case frame (Ruehle: 14a, 14b), and wherein each bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) has an inner diameter corresponding to an outer diameter of a bolt (Ruehle: 48) (Ruehle: see Fig. 7; [0062]). Therefore, since modified Yu includes all of the teachings from Ruehle regarding the bushings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Yu to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 13. Yu fails to disclose, however, that the case (11+13+7) comprises a plurality of hollow cylindrical bushings which are disposed through the first and second fastening holes, wherein each bushing protrudes and extends upward from the upper cover (13+7) to be inserted into the lower cover (13) of another battery pack stacked thereon, and wherein each long bolt (3) is inserted through a respective bushing to extend through the lower cover (13), the case (11+13+7), and the upper cover (13+7).
Ruehle teaches a similar battery pack (title; abstract), wherein the battery pack comprises a plurality of battery cells (12) and a case (10) configured to receive the plurality of battery cells (12) (see Figs. 1 and 2; abstract; [0053]), wherein the case (10) comprises a case frame (14a, 14b) defining a space configured to receive the battery cells (12) therein (see Fig. 2; [0054]-[0055]), the case frame (14a, 14b) being provided with a plurality of through-holes (see Figs. 1, 5, and 6), wherein a hollow cylindrical bushing (44a, 44b) is inserted into each of the through holes over the entire extent of the through holes (see Figs. 1, 5, and 6; [0061]). Ruehle further teaches that the bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) protrudes and extends upward from an upper cover (Ruehle: 16a) (Ruehle: see Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-14; [0061]-[0069]). Ruehle further teaches that providing these bushings (44a, 44b) to the case frame (14a, 14b, 16a-16d) helps to prevent damage to the case frame (14a, 14b) ([0032]-[0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the through-holes disclosed by Yu such that a cylindrical bushing is inserted into each one, as taught by Ruehle, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would help to prevent damage to the case frame.
Furthermore, given the teachings from Ruehle, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the bushing in modified Yu such that the bushing protrudes and extends upward from the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) through the first and second fastening holes. Additionally, since Yu discloses that the through-holes (Yu: 1120) of adjacent battery packs (Yu: 1) are aligned and that the long bolts (Yu: 3) are intended to extend through the through-holes (Yu: 1120) of each of the battery packs (Yu: 1) (Yu: see Fig. 2; [0030]-[0031]; [0042]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least tried configuring the extension length of the bushing upward from the upper cover so as to be inserted into a lower cover of a battery pack stacked thereon in order to further prevent damage to the battery pack and to further secure the battery packs together. Finally, because Yu already discloses that the long bolts (Yu: 3) extend through the lower cover (Yu: 13), the case frame (Yu: 11), and the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) (Yu: see Figs. 1 and 2; [0029]; [0031]; [0042]), it would have been obvious for the long bolts (Yu: 3) in modified Yu to extend through a respective bushing in the lower cover, case frame, and upper cover. Thus, modified Yu satisfies all of the limitations in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 14. Modified Yu further discloses that the case frame (Yu: 11) includes plastic (Yu: [0030]). Examiner notes that the limitation “wherein the bushings have a higher compressive stress than the case frame to prevent deformation of the case frame due to fastening of the long bolts” is merely an intended use limitation based on an intended compressive force to be applied to the bushings, and thus, it fails to add any further structure to the battery pack. However, examiner also notes that the bushings in modified Yu would be capable of having a higher compressive stress than the plastic case frame (Yu: 11) since the bushings (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) are made of metal (Ruehle: [0033]). Ruehle further teaches that the metal bushings (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) are intended to prevent deformation of the case frame when a high force is applied (Ruehle: [0033]). Thus, modified Yu satisfies all of the limitations in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 14. Ruehle further teaches that each bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) has an outer diameter corresponding to an inner diameter of a respective one of the through-holes of the case frame (Ruehle: 14a, 14b), and wherein each bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) has an inner diameter corresponding to an outer diameter of a bolt (Ruehle: 48) (Ruehle: see Fig. 7; [0062]). Therefore, since modified Yu includes all of the teachings from Ruehle regarding the bushings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Yu to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 16.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 205609601 with English Machine Translation) (of record) in view of Ruehle et al. (US 2017/0237113) (Ruehle) (of record) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Shimoda (JP 2001057202 with English Machine Translation) (of record).
Regarding claim 9, modified Yu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. As set forth above, modified Yu suggests the limitation in claim 8 that the case frame (Yu: 11) is formed by injection molding (Ruehle: [0059]). Furthermore, Ruehle specifically teaches that the bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) is inserted into each of the though-holes of the case frame (Ruehle: see Figs. 1, 5, and 6; [0061]). However, modified Yu fails to explicitly disclose that the case frame (Yu: 11) is injection-molded in a state in which the bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) is inserted therein.
However, it is known in the art to integrally form bushings in battery pack cases. For instance, Shimoda teaches a similar battery pack (10) in which a plurality of bushings (31a, 32a, 31b, 32b, 31c, 32c) are insert-molded into the battery case frame (12) (see Figs. 1 and 4; [0010]; [0025]) in order to secure the bushings (31a, 32a, 31b, 32b, 31c, 32c) to the battery case frame (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the case frame and the bushing disclosed by modified Yu such that the case frame is injection-molded in a state in which the bushing is inserted therein, as taught by Shimoda, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would be an effective way of securing the bushing to the case frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/03/2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments related to newly amended claim 1, examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant specifically argues that Yu fails to disclose or make obvious an arrangement in which the first fastening hole has a complete circle shape and the second fastening hole has a C-shape. However, as can be seen in the above rejection, the upper cover disclosed by Yu can be interpreted to include not only the “separator” plate (13) but also at least one of the “protector” plates (7) since each of these plates constitute an upper covering to the battery pack (1) (see Fig. 2; [0029]-[0030]; [0042]). Thus, because the protector plate (7) includes fastening holes that have a complete circle shape, and the separator plate (13) includes fastening holes that have a C-shape (see Modified Figures 2 and 6 above), it is clear that the upper cover (13+7) disclosed by Yu still satisfies the amended limitations in claim 1.
Applicant further argues that Yu and Ruehle either singly or in combination fails to disclose that each bushing protrudes and extends upward from the upper cover to be inserted into the lower cover of another battery pack stacked thereon, wherein each long bolt is inserted through a respective bushing to extend through the lower cover, the case, and the upper cover. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, examiner notes that Ruehle teaches that a hollow cylindrical bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) should be inserted into each of the through holes of the case frame (Ruehle: 14a, 14b) over the entire extent of the through holes (Ruehle: see Figs. 1, 5, and 6; [0061]) in order to prevent damage to the case frame (Ruehle: 14a, 14b) (Ruehle: [0032]-[0033]). Second, Yu already discloses that long bolts (Yu: 3) extend through the case frame (Yu: 11), the lower cover (Yu: 13), and the upper cover (Yu: 13+7) of each of the stacked battery packs (Yu: 1) such that each of the through-holes (Yu: 1120) of each case frame (Yu: 11) are aligned (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0029]; [0031]; [0042]). Thus, in combining the bushings (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) taught by Ruehle to the through-holes (Yu: 1120) disclosed by Yu, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have configured the bushings (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) to likewise extend over the entire extent of the stacked through-holes (Yu: 1120) such that each bushing (Ruehle: 44a, 44b) protrudes and extends upward from the upper cover to be inserted into the lower cover of another battery pack thereon because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would further prevent damage to the case frames (Yu: 11). Thus, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
As such, claims 1-3 and 6-16 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749