DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/033,237 (the instant application), filed on 04/21/2023.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-3, 5, 12-14, and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8-11 section “Rejection of claims 1-9 and 12-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103”, filed 18 November 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-9 and 12-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. The applicant argues that Li does not disclose that the face image is tracked from a series of frames of an input video. The examiner agrees. The applicant argues that Shi’s methods are different from and do not disclose the amendments to claim 1 in claim 1 lines 11-16. The examiner finds that Shi discloses:
determining a reference image of the plurality of face images ([0059] a key image frame, i.e. a reference image, is obtained from the video stream, i.e. the plurality of face images), performing inter-frame motion estimation between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images ([0061] the face is tracked in the complete sequence from the target image frame. Tracking the face is understood as inter-frame motion estimation), combining the reference image and the at least one other face image so as to generate the reconstructed face image ([0064] the facial sequence, which includes the reference image and other images, is used to obtain a super-resolution facial image. As plural images are the input and the output is a singular super-resolution facial image, it is understood that the input images are in some way combined);
However, Shi does not disclose expressly warping between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Wheeler et al. ("Multi-Frame Super-Resolution for Face Recognition", full reference on the PTO-892 included in this action; hereafter, Wheeler).
Wheeler discloses:
warping between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images (pg. 3 col. 1 para. 1, the images are warped to a mean face shape which is understood as the reference image),
The full rejection including motivations to combine is included below in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103”. Therefore, claim 1 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claim 12 recites subject matter substantially similar to claim 1 and is likewise rejected. Claims 2-9 and 13-18 depend on claims 1 and 12 respectively and likewise remain rejected.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11-12 section “Rejection of claims 10, 11, 19 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103”, filed 18 November 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 10, 11, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and, in light of the above response to arguments of claims 1-9 and 12-18, are not persuasive. Therefore, claims 10, 11, 19, and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. ("Learning Face Image Super-Resolution Through Facial Semantic Attribute Transformation and Self-Attentive Structure Enhancement" the full reference is contained on the PTO-892 included in this action; hereafter, Li) in view of Shi et al. (CN 111488779 A; hereafter, Shi) in further view of Wheeler et al. ("Multi-Frame Super-Resolution for Face Recognition", full reference on the PTO-892 included in this action; hereafter, Wheeler).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses:
A face image reconstruction method executed by a face image reconstruction device comprising a processor (pg. 476 col. 2 para. 4, the method is performed on a GPU which is a processor),
the method comprising: acquiring training data (pg. 476 col. 2 para. 5, training data is acquired from large databases);
and training a video identity clarification model (video identity clarification network (VICN)) on the basis of the training data (pg. 471 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 3, the model this method is based around generates high resolution face images from low resolution images and is therefore understood to clarify the identity. Pg. 476 col. 1 para. 4, the model is trained),
wherein the training comprises: generating, by executing a generator of the video identity clarification model, a reconstructed face image (it is commonly understood in the art that a model is trained by operating the model and then adjusting factors within the model according to some loss function. Therefore, references which describe the operating of a model are understood to include the operation during training of a model. pg. 471 col. 2 last para. through pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 3, a "hallucinated" face is generated which is understood as a reconstructed face image) in which identity of a face shown in the at least one face image has been clarified (pg. 471 col. 2 last para. through pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 3, the hallucinated face is an optimized attempt to approximate the high resolution face image which is understood as the face image being clarified),
and discriminating the reconstructed face image on the basis of the ground truth face image by executing a discriminator of the video identity clarification model (pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 3, several discriminators are run comparing the generated image against the ground truth image),
which is in a generative adversarial network (GAN) competition relationship with the generator (pg. 471 col. 2 para. 2, the generator is in a relationship with the discriminator).
Li does not disclose expressly acquiring training data comprising a plurality of face images tracked from a series of frames of an input video, acquiring ground truth images for the plurality of face images, determining a reference image of the plurality of face images, performing inter-frame motion estimation between the reference image and at least one other face image, and combining the reference image and the at least one other face image so as to generate the reconstructed face image.
Shi discloses:
acquiring training data comprising a plurality of face images ([0058] at least two images containing a face are extracted from a video which is a plurality of face images) tracked from a series of frames of an input video ([0060] the face image is tracked through continuous frames, [0061] such as a video) and a ground truth face image for the plurality of face images ([0069] the video data used includes high definition videos, i.e. ground-truth, and blurred videos. [0073] generate a facial feature pair between images of two resolutions, high and low, see [0071]. [0074] Use the feature pair to train the neural network. Therefore, the high definition video is understood as ground truth face images);
determining a reference image of the plurality of face images ([0059] a key image frame, i.e. a reference image, is obtained from the video stream, i.e. the plurality of face images), performing inter-frame motion estimation between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images ([0061] the face is tracked in the complete sequence from the target image frame. Tracking the face is understood as inter-frame motion estimation), combining the reference image and the at least one other face image so as to generate the reconstructed face image ([0064] the facial sequence, which includes the reference image and other images, is used to obtain a super-resolution facial image. As plural images are the input and the output is a singular super-resolution facial image, it is understood that the input images are in some way combined);
Li and Shi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the resolution of face images (Li, pg. 468 col. 2 para. 2; Shi, [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the face image selection comprising a plurality of images of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been to "obtain the complete face sequence corresponding to the face to be identified" (Shi, [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using the reference face image operations of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been “the target image frame [i.e. reference image] contains complete image information of the face to be recognized” (Shi, [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shi with Li.
Li in view of Shi does not disclose expressly warping between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images.
Wheeler discloses:
warping between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images (pg. 3 col. 1 para. 1, the images are warped to a mean face shape which is understood as the reference image),
Wheeler is combinable with Li in view of Shi because it is from the same field of endeavor of facial image super-resolution (Wheeler, pg. 1 col. 1 para. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the warping of Wheeler with the invention of Li in view of Shi.
The motivation for doing so would have been "The warping scales up and aligns each face image" (Wheeler, pg. 4 col. 1 para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wheeler with Li in view of Shi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 1.
Li does not disclose expressly that the one face image is extracted from a series of frames based on face feature point information.
Shi discloses:
wherein the acquiring of the training data comprises extracting the plurality of face images from the series of frames ([0058] at least two images containing a face are extracted from a video which is a plurality of face images), based on face feature point tracking information ([0063] facial key points are identified in the image frames) between successive frames of the series of frames (the above calculation of facial feature points is performed on the [0061] sequence of frames containing the face which is understood as successive frames).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the face image selection of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been to "obtain the complete face sequence corresponding to the face to be identified" (Shi, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shi with Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 1.
Li further discloses:
wherein the generating of the reconstructed face image comprises executing a multi- frame face resolution enhancer of the generator (pg. 472 col. 1 last para. through pg. 472 col. 2 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, portions of the Attribute Transformation Network may be understood as a multi-frame face resolution enhancer) so as to generate an intermediate-reconstructed face image (pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, an intermediate high resolution face image is generated which is understood as the reconstructed face. It is generated from the low resolution image which may be understood as at least one face image).
Li does not disclose expressly to generate an intermediate-reconstructed face image from the plurality of face images.
Shi discloses:
to generate an intermediate-reconstructed face image from the plurality of face images ([0064] the reconstructed image is generated from a model which may be understood as a face resolution enhancer. The model receives as input a facial feature point heat map. [0063] the facial feature point heat map is a probability distribution graph. As this is generated after the input step of the process and before the reconstruction step and as a graph is an image this is understood as an intermediate image and is generated from a sequence of images, see [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the generation of the intermediate image from the plurality of images of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been that "It is understandable that the face contained in the video image may be one face or multiple faces. Therefore, it is necessary to track the image information of the face to be identified in the target image frame and obtain the complete face sequence corresponding to the face to be identified" (Shi, [0061]). In other words, because there may be more than one face present, it is necessary to generate the intermediate image from a tracked sequence of the target face to avoid identifying plural faces as the target face.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shi with Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 3.
Li further discloses:
wherein the generating of the reconstructed face image comprises: executing a face landmark estimator of the generator (pg. 474 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 5 and Fig. 7, the Boundary Extraction Unit is understood as a landmark estimator)
so as to estimate multiple face landmarks on the basis of the intermediate-reconstructed face image (pg. 474 col. 1 para. 2, the Boundary Extraction Unit estimates facial boundaries which under the broadest reasonable interpretation may be understood as estimates of multiple face landmarks);
and executing a face upsampler of the generator so as to upsample the intermediate-reconstructed face image (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the Feature Fusion Unit may be understood as a face upsampler because it upsamples the facial boundary heatmaps which are extracted from the intermediate image) by using the multiple face landmarks (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the facial boundary heatmaps are upsampled which is understood as upsampling by using the multiple landmarks).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 4.
Li further discloses:
wherein: the generating of the reconstructed face image further comprises generating an intermediate image (pg. 472 col. 1 last para. through pg. 472 col. 2 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, an intermediate high resolution face image is generated),
which is the intermediate-reconstructed face image having enhanced resolution (pg. 472 col. 1 last para. through pg. 472 col. 2 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, the intermediate image is mapped to the same item as the intermediate-reconstructed face image and has an enhanced resolution as shown by upsampling the low resolution image to the same size as the target image), by using an intermediate image generator comprising multiple residual blocks (pg. 472 col. 1 last para. through pg. 472 col. 2 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, portions of the Attribute Transformation Network may be understood as an intermediate image generator and comprises multiple residual blocks);
wherein the estimating comprises estimating the multiple face landmarks (pg. 474 col. 1 para. 2, the Boundary Extraction Unit estimates facial boundaries which under the broadest reasonable interpretation may be understood as estimates of multiple face landmarks)
on the basis of the intermediate image (Fig. 5, the Boundary Extraction Unit receives as input the intermediate image);
and wherein the upsampling comprises upsampling the intermediate image (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the Feature Fusion Unit may be understood as a face upsampler because it upsamples the facial boundary heatmaps which are extracted from the intermediate image) by using the estimated multiple face landmarks (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the facial boundary heatmaps are upsampled which is understood as upsampling by using the multiple landmarks).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 1.
Li discloses:
wherein the training of the video identity clarification model (pg. 475 col. 2 para. 6, Heatmap loss is considered and compares the boundary features of the output image and the ground truth image showing that this is used in training the model) further comprises extracting, by executing a face feature extractor of the video identity clarification model (pg. 474 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 5 and Fig. 7, the Boundary Extraction Unit is understood as a face feature extractor),
a feature map of the reconstructed face image (pg. 475 col. 2 para. 3, the output of the SE-Net, including the Boundary Extraction Unit, is a facial boundary heatmap which is understood as the feature map of the reconstructed face image)
and a feature map of the ground truth face image (pg. 477 col. 1 para. 2, the boundary map, i.e. face features, of the ground truth image are determined).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 1.
Li further discloses:
wherein the training of the video identity clarification model further comprises: calculating a training objective function (training loss function) (pg. 473 col. 2 para. 3, a total training loss function is determined);
and alternately training the generator and the discriminator (pg. 473 col. 2 para. 3, the total loss considers individually the reconstruction loss and the adversarial loss and then combines them which is understood as alternatively training the generator and the discriminator) so as to minimize a function value of the training objective function (it is commonly understood in the art to minimize the value of a loss function when training. For example, in training the adversarial loss, Li expressly states in pg. 473 col. 1 para. 5 that the function is minimized).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 7.
Li further discloses:
wherein the training objective function comprises: a first objective function comprising a GAN loss function for the generator (pg. 473 col. 1 para. 5, the reconstruction loss is on the generator);
and a second objective function based on a GAN loss function for the discriminator (pg. 473 col. 1 para. 6, the adversarial loss considers the function of the discriminator).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 8.
Li further discloses:
wherein the first objective function comprises a pixel reconstruction accuracy function between the reconstructed face image and the ground truth face image (pg. 473 col. 1 para. 5, the reconstruction loss is pixel wise and compares the generated image to the ground truth image),
an estimation accuracy function of face landmarks estimated during the generating of the reconstructed face image (pg. 473 col. 2 para. 2, the attribute loss considers the accuracy of attributes. Attributes may be understood as facial landmarks),
and a face feature similarity function between the reconstructed face image and the ground truth face image (pg. 475 col. 2 last para., the heatmap loss is considered to compare face features between the generated face image and the ground truth face image).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses:
A face image reconstruction device comprising: a memory (pg. 476 col. 2 para. 4, the workstation includes a memory)
configured to store a video identity clarification model (pg. 471 col. 1 para. 2, the model this method is based around generates high resolution face images from low resolution images and is therefore understood to clarify the identity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the model would be stored on the memory)
comprising a generator and a discriminator which is in a generative adversarial network competition relationship with the generator (pg. 471 col. 2 para. 2, the generator is in a relationship with the discriminator);
and a processor (pg. 476 col. 2 para. 4, the method is performed on a GPU which is a processor)
configured to execute training of the video identity clarification model (pg. 471 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 3, the model this method is based around generates high resolution face images from low resolution images and is therefore understood to clarify the identity. Pg. 476 col. 1 para. 4, the model is trained)
on the basis of training data (pg. 476 col. 2 last para. through pg. 477 col. 1 para. 1, faces are cropped from images. Face images are downsampled as the low resolution image which is understood as the at least one face image),
wherein the processor is configured, in order to perform the executing of the training, to: generate, by executing the generator, a reconstructed face image (it is commonly understood in the art that a model is trained by operating the model and then adjust factors within the model according to some loss function. Therefore, references which describe the operating of a model are understood to include the operation during training of a model. pg. 472 col. 2 last para. through pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 3, a "hallucinated" face is generated which is understood as a reconstructed face image) in which identity of a face shown in the at least one face image has been clarified (pg. 472 col. 2 last para. through pg. 473 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 3, the hallucinated face is an optimized attempt to approximate the high resolution face image which is understood as the face image being clarified);
and discriminate the reconstructed face image on the basis of the ground truth face image by executing the discriminator (pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 3, several discriminators are run comparing the generated image against the ground truth image).
Li does not disclose expressly acquiring training data comprising a plurality of face images tracked from a series of frames of an input video, acquiring ground truth images for the plurality of face images, determining a reference image of the plurality of face images, performing inter-frame motion estimation between the reference image and at least one other face image, and combining the reference image and the at least one other face image so as to generate the reconstructed face image.
Shi discloses:
a face image tracked from a series of frames of an input video ([0060] the face image is tracked through continuous frames, [0061] such as a video)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the face image selection of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been to "obtain the complete face sequence corresponding to the face to be identified" (Shi, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shi with Li.
training data comprising a plurality of face images ([0058] at least two images containing a face are extracted from a video which is a plurality of face images) tracked from a series of frames of an input video ([0060] the face image is tracked through continuous frames, [0061] such as a video) and a ground truth face image for the plurality of face images ([0069] the video data used includes high definition videos, i.e. ground-truth, and blurred videos. [0073] generate a facial feature pair between images of two resolutions, high and low, see [0071]. [0074] Use the feature pair to train the neural network. Therefore, the high definition video is understood as ground truth face images);
determining a reference image of the plurality of face images ([0059] a key image frame, i.e. a reference image, is obtained from the video stream, i.e. the plurality of face images), performing inter-frame motion estimation between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images ([0061] the face is tracked in the complete sequence from the target image frame. Tracking the face is understood as inter-frame motion estimation), combining the reference image and the at least one other face image so as to generate the reconstructed face image ([0064] the facial sequence, which includes the reference image and other images, is used to obtain a super-resolution facial image. As plural images are the input and the output is a singular super-resolution facial image, it is understood that the input images are in some way combined);
Li and Shi are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the resolution of face images (Li, pg. 468 col. 2 para. 2; Shi, [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the face image selection comprising a plurality of images of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been to "obtain the complete face sequence corresponding to the face to be identified" (Shi, [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using the reference face image operations of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been “the target image frame [i.e. reference image] contains complete image information of the face to be recognized” (Shi, [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shi with Li.
Li in view of Shi does not disclose expressly warping between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images.
Wheeler discloses:
warping between the reference image and at least one other face image of the plurality of face images (pg. 3 col. 1 para. 1, the images are warped to a mean face shape which is understood as the reference image),
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the warping of Wheeler with the invention of Li in view of Shi.
The motivation for doing so would have been "The warping scales up and aligns each face image" (Wheeler, pg. 4 col. 1 para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wheeler with Li in view of Shi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 12.
Li further discloses:
wherein the processor is configured to acquire the training data (pg. 476 col. 2 para. 5, training data is acquired from large databases),
Li does not disclose expressly that the one face image is extracted from the plurality of face images series of frames based on face feature point information.
Shi discloses:
and the processor is configured, in order to acquire the training data, to extract the plurality of face images from the series of frames ([0058] at least two images containing a face are extracted from a video which is a plurality of face images), based on face feature point tracking information ([0063] facial key points are identified in the image frames) between successive frames of the series of frames (the above calculation of facial feature points is performed on the [0061] sequence of frames containing the face which is understood as successive frames).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the face image selection of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been to "obtain the complete face sequence corresponding to the face to be identified" (Shi, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shi with Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 12.
Li further discloses:
wherein the generator comprises a multi-frame face resolution enhancer (pg. 472 col. 1 last para. through pg. 472 col. 2 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, portions of the Attribute Transformation Network may be understood as a multi-frame face resolution enhancer), and the processor is configured, in order to perform the generating of the reconstructed face image, to generate an intermediate-reconstructed face image from the at least one face image (pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, an intermediate high resolution face image is generated which is understood as the reconstructed face. It is generated from the low resolution image which may be understood as at least one face image) by executing the multi-frame face resolution enhancer.
Li does not disclose expressly to generate an intermediate-reconstructed face image from the plurality of face images.
Shi discloses:
to generate an intermediate-reconstructed face image from the plurality of face images ([0064] the reconstructed image is generated from a model which may be understood as a face resolution enhancer. The model receives as input a facial feature point heat map. [0063] the facial feature point heat map is a probability distribution graph. As this is generated after the input step of the process and before the reconstruction step and as a graph is an image this is understood as an intermediate image and is generated from a sequence of images, see [0061]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the generation of the intermediate image from the plurality of images of Shi with the invention of Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been that "It is understandable that the face contained in the video image may be one face or multiple faces. Therefore, it is necessary to track the image information of the face to be identified in the target image frame and obtain the complete face sequence corresponding to the face to be identified" (Shi, [0061]). In other words, because there may be more than one face present, it is necessary to generate the intermediate image from a tracked sequence of the target face to avoid identifying plural faces as the target face.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shi with Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 14.
Li further discloses:
wherein the generator further comprises a face landmark estimator (pg. 474 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 5 and Fig. 7, the Boundary Extraction Unit is understood as a landmark estimator)
and a face upsampler (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the Feature Fusion Unit may be understood as a face upsampler), and the processor is configured, in order to perform the generating of the reconstructed face image, to: execute the face landmark estimator so as to estimate multiple face landmarks on the basis of the intermediate-reconstructed face image (pg. 474 col. 1 para. 2, the Boundary Extraction Unit estimates facial boundaries which under the broadest reasonable interpretation may be understood as estimates of multiple face landmarks);
and execute the face upsampler so as to upsample the intermediate-reconstructed face image (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the Feature Fusion Unit may be understood as a face upsampler because it upsamples the facial boundary heatmaps which are extracted from the intermediate image) by using the multiple face landmarks (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the facial boundary heatmaps are upsampled which is understood as upsampling by using the multiple landmarks).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 15.
Li further discloses:
wherein the generator further comprises an intermediate image generator comprising multiple residual blocks (pg. 472 col. 1 last para. through pg. 472 col. 2 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, portions of the Attribute Transformation Network may be understood as an intermediate image generator and comprises multiple residual blocks), and the processor is configured, in order to perform the generating of the reconstructed face image, to: generate an intermediate image (pg. 472 col. 1 last para. through pg. 472 col. 2 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, an intermediate high resolution face image is generated), which is the intermediate-reconstructed face image having enhanced resolution (pg. 472 col. 1 last para. through pg. 472 col. 2 para. 1 and Fig. 4a, the intermediate image is mapped to the same item as the intermediate-reconstructed face image and has an enhanced resolution as shown by upsampling the low resolution image to the same size as the target image), by using the intermediate image generator;
execute the face landmark estimator so as to estimate the multiple face landmarks (pg. 474 col. 1 para. 2, the Boundary Extraction Unit estimates facial boundaries which under the broadest reasonable interpretation may be understood as estimates of multiple face landmarks)
on the basis of the intermediate image (Fig. 5, the Boundary Extraction Unit receives as input the intermediate image);
and execute the face upsampler so as to upsample the intermediate image (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the Feature Fusion Unit may be understood as a face upsampler because it upsamples the facial boundary heatmaps which are extracted from the intermediate image) by using the multiple face landmarks estimated based on the intermediate image (pg. 474 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 8, the facial boundary heatmaps are upsampled which is understood as upsampling by using the multiple landmarks).
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 12.
Li further discloses:
wherein the video identity clarification model further comprises a face feature extractor (pg. 474 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 5 and Fig. 7, the Boundary Extraction Unit is understood as a face feature extractor),
and the processor is configured, in order to perform the executing of the training (pg. 475 col. 2 para. 6, Heatmap loss is considered and compares the boundary features of the output image and the ground truth image showing that this is used in training the model) to extract a feature map of the reconstructed face image (pg. 475 col. 2 para. 3, the output of the SE-Net, including the Boundary Extraction Unit, is a facial boundary heatmap which is understood as the feature map of the reconstructed face image)
and a feature map of the ground truth face image by executing a face feature extractor (pg. 477 col. 1 para. 2, the boundary map, i.e. face features, of the ground truth image are determined).
Regarding claim 18, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 12.
Li further discloses:
wherein: the processor is configured, in order to perform the executing of the training, to calculate a training objective function (pg. 473 col. 2 para. 3, a total training loss function is determined), and alternately train the generator and the discriminator (pg. 473 col. 2 para. 3, the total loss considers individually the reconstruction loss and the adversarial loss and then combines them which is understood as alternatively training the generator and the discriminator)
so as to minimize a function value of the training objective function (it is commonly understood in the art to minimize the value of a loss function when training. For example, in training the adversarial loss, Li expressly states in pg. 473 col. 1 para. 5 that the function is minimized);
the training objective function comprises a first objective function comprising a GAN loss function for the generator (pg. 473 col. 1 para. 5, the reconstruction loss is on the generator)
and a second objective function based on a GAN loss function for the discriminator (pg. 473 col. 1 para. 6, the adversarial loss considers the function of the discriminator);
and the first objective function comprises a pixel reconstruction accuracy function between the reconstructed face image and the ground truth face image (pg. 473 col. 1 para. 5, the reconstruction loss is pixel wise and compares the generated image to the ground truth image),
an estimation accuracy function of face landmarks estimated during the generating of the reconstructed face image (pg. 473 col. 2 para. 2, the attribute loss considers the accuracy of attributes. Attributes may be understood as facial landmarks),
and a face feature similarity function between the reconstructed face image and the ground truth face image (pg. 475 col. 2 last para., the heatmap loss is considered to compare face features between the generated face image and the ground truth face image).
Claims 10-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. ("Learning Face Image Super-Resolution Through Facial Semantic Attribute Transformation and Self-Attentive Structure Enhancement" the full reference is contained on the PTO-892 included in this action; hereafter, Li) in view of Shi et al. (CN 111488779 A; hereafter, Shi) in further view of Wheeler et al. ("Multi-Frame Super-Resolution for Face Recognition", full reference on the PTO-892 included in this action; hereafter, Wheeler) and of Prince et al. (US 20220058438 A1; hereafter, Prince).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 1.
Lin in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler does not disclose expressly a second training of fine-tuning the model based on second training data.
Prince discloses:
executing second training of fine-tuning the video identity clarification model ([0053] the EDSR model is pre-trained and fine-tuned, i.e. second training. The EDSR [0044] is a deep residual network for image super resolution. When considered in combination with Li, it is understood as an identity clarification model), based on second training data comprising at least one face image of a search target (Claim 10, the data that a network is pre-trained on and fine-tuned with are different data, i.e. second training data. [0053] the image data includes an aliased low resolution image which is the target low resolution image with aliasing added. When considered in combination with Li, it is understood that the process represented here with an aliased low resolution image may be performed with a down sampled face image, Li pg. 476 col. 2 last para. through pg. 477 col. 1 para. 1, i.e. a face image of a search target. The reason for this is that the aliased low resolution image performs the same function as the face image that is downsampled from full resolution of Li, pg. 476 col. 2 last para. through pg. 477 col. 1 para. 1, because both are an edited original or target image which are edited in order to train a network to reconstruct the original or target image) and a reference face image for the at least one face image of the search target (Claim 10, the data that a network is pre-trained on and fine-tuned with are different data. [0053] the image data includes a low resolution image without aliasing which is understood as the reference image).
Prince is combinable with Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler because it is solving the same problem of processing images to improve resolution (Prince, [0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second training of Prince with the invention of Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler.
The motivation for doing so would have been “fine-tuning a pre-trained model is accurate and fast “ (Prince, [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Prince with Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler and Prince discloses the subject matter of claim 10.
Li further discloses:
wherein the executing of the second training comprises executing the generating and the discriminating of the reconstructed face image (it is commonly understood in the art that a model is trained by operating the model and then adjusting factors within the model according to some loss function. Therefore, references which describe the operating of a model are understood to include the operation during training of a model. pg. 472 col. 2 last para. through pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 3, a "hallucinated" face is generated and discriminated which is understood as a reconstructed face image. Performing a second training is understood as repeating the training process which the system may perform),
Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler does not disclose a second training data.
Prince discloses:
training based on the second training data (Claim 10, the data that a network is pre-trained on and fine-tuned with are different data, therefore, the second training is performed based on second training data).
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler discloses the subject matter of claim 12.
Lin in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler does not disclose expressly a second training of fin-tuning the model based on second training data.
Prince discloses:
execute second training of fine-tuning the video identity clarification model ([0053] the EDSR model is pre-trained and fine-tuned, i.e. second training. The EDSR [0044] is a deep residual network for image super resolution. When considered in combination with Li, it is understood as an identity clarification model), based on second training data comprising at least one face image of a search target (Claim 10, the data that a network is pre-trained on and fine-tuned with are different data, i.e. second training data. [0053] the image data includes an aliased low resolution image which is the target low resolution image with aliasing added. When considered in combination with Li, it is understood that the process represented here with an aliased low resolution image may be performed with a down sampled face image, Li pg. 476 col. 2 last para. through pg. 477 col. 1 para. 1, i.e. a face image of a search target. The reason for this is that the aliased low resolution image performs the same function as the face image that is downsampled from full resolution of Li, pg. 476 col. 2 last para. through pg. 477 col. 1 para. 1, because both are an edited original or target image which are edited in order to train a network to reconstruct the original or target image) and a reference face image for the at least one face image of the search target (Claim 10, the data that a network is pre-trained on and fine-tuned with are different data. [0053] the image data includes a low resolution image without aliasing which is understood as the reference image).
It would have been It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second training of Prince with the invention of Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler.
The motivation for doing so would have been “fine-tuning a pre-trained model is accurate and fast “ (Prince, [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Prince with Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler and Prince discloses the subject matter of claim 19.
Li further discloses:
wherein the executing of the second training comprises executing the generating and the discriminating of the reconstructed face image (it is commonly understood in the art that a model is trained by operating the model and then adjusting factors within the model according to some loss function. Therefore, references which describe the operating of a model are understood to include the operation during training of a model. pg. 472 col. 2 last para. through pg. 472 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 3, a "hallucinated" face is generated and discriminated which is understood as a reconstructed face image. Performing a second training is understood as repeating the training process which the system may perform),
Li in view of Shi in further view of Wheeler does not disclose a second training data.
Prince discloses:
training based on the second training data (Claim 10, the data that a network is pre-trained on and fine-tuned with are different data, therefore, the second training is performed based on second training data).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 111563427 A, Ning et al., discloses a system which performs aligning of facial images which may be understood as warping so that it can improve the resolution of facial images.
/JOSHUA B. CROCKETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2661 /JOHN VILLECCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2661