DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, and 13-14 are examined in this office action of which claims 1, 8 and 13 were amended reply dated 2/3/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the application only includes one figure, but nonetheless numbers this “FIG. 1”. 37 C.F.R 1.84(u)(1) requires that where “only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear”, see MPEP § 608.02(V). Therefore, the drawing must be corrected to state merely “Figure”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites “~4.4 %~4.6 % of Ti”. As there cannot be a negative amount of titanium in the composition, this “~“ symbol appears to be an errant typo and should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low stacking fault energy” in claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, and 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low stacking fault energy” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While stacking fault energy is discussed in the specification, there is no disclosure of what makes the stacking fault energy “low” and therefore the scope of the claim is unclear. Claim 14 is also rejected as it depends from claim 13 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the structural member is made by the superalloy with low stacking fault energy according to claim 1” in lines 1-2. It is not clear how a structural member can be “made by” a composition. An alloy composition is a statement of the percentages of elements that compose the alloy, however this composition does not “make” anything. Claim 14 is also rejected as it depends from claim 13 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the structural member comprises any one of a forging member, a casting member, and an additively manufactured structural member”. As there not a tense agreement between the recited members – where forging and casting are in present tense while additively manufactured is in past tense – it is not clear if these members are being described by how they are made (i.e. by being forged, cast, and additively manufactured), whether they are describing an intended use (i.e. a structural member for forging, casting or additive manufacturing), or some other meaning. Claim 14 is also rejected as it depends from claim 13 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the mixture” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the previous limitations refers to “dosing according to ingredients of the superalloy”, there is no previous recitation of “a mixture” and it is not clear what “the mixture” refers back to. Claim 14 is also rejected as it depends from claim 13 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “then making the same forged into a shape” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the previous limitations refers to “an ingot”, there is no previous recitation of “a same” and it is not clear what “the same” refers back to. Claim 14 is also rejected as it depends from claim 13 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “pulverizing the same” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the previous limitations refers to “an electrode rod”, there is no previous recitation of “a same” and it is not clear what “the same” refers back to. Claim 14 is also rejected as it depends from claim 13 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the preset model” in the 3rd from last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the previous limitations refers to “performing 3D printing”, there is no previous recitation of any model much less “a preset model”. Claim 14 is also rejected as it depends from claim 13 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the profile” in the 2nd from last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the previous limitations refers to “performing 3D printing”, there is no previous recitation of “a profile”. Claim 14 is also rejected as it depends from claim 13 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the structural member” in line 1. As claim 13 from which it depends recites both “a structural member” as well as “an additively manufactured structural member”, it is not clear which of these structural members is referred back to by this later recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0023176 A1 of Han.
Table A
Element
Claim limitation (mass %)
Han claim 7 (mass %)
C
0.01-0.09%
0.01-0.04% (claim 8)
0.001 to 0.250%
Co
23.5-27.5%
23.5-26.5% (claim 2)
24-26% (claim 8)
not more than 28.0%
Cr
12-15%
12-14% (claim 8)
8.0 to 22.0%
W
0.1-1.8%
1-1.8% (claim 4)
1-1.5% (claim 8)
not more than 6.0%
Al
2.2-2.6%
2.3-2.5% (claim 8)
2.0 to 8.0%
Ti
3.5-5.5%
-4.4-4.6% (claim 8)
0.5 to 7.0%
Nb
0-2%
0.5-1.5% (claim 8)
not more than 4.0%
Ta
0-2%
0.1-2.0% (claim 8)
not more than 3.0%
Nb + Ta
≥ 0.8%
0-7%
Mo
2.1-3.5%
2.1-3.0% (claim 4)
2.0 to 7.0%
Sum of W and Mo (claim 4)
≥ 3%
2.0 to 13.0%
B
0.0001-0.05%
0.001-0.03% (claim 8)
0.001 to 0.300%
Zr
0.0001-0.05%
0.001-0.03% (claim 8)
0.001 to 0.300%
Fe
0-2.5%
not more than 10.0%
Mg
0-0.04%
Sum of Al, Ti, Nb, and Ta (claim 7)
≥ 7%
2.5 to 22.0%
Ni
balance
balance
As to claims 1-2, 4, and 7-8, Han discloses a Ni-based heat-resistant super alloy with the composition in comparison to the claim limitations as shown in Table A above. Thus, Han discloses a composition in claim 7 that overlaps the compositional ranges in claims 1, 2, 4, and 7-8. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches produces an alloy which is easy to hot work (Han, paragraph [0017[) throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) . See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
As Han discloses where a sum of Nb and Ta is 0-7% (Han, claim 7), Han is disclosing where the ratio of a sum of Nb and Ta to a mass fraction of Al is from 0.31 to 3.18 overlapping the claimed range of ≥ 0.4. Also, the ratio in Han of the mass fraction of Ti to Al is 0.0625 to 3.5 overlapping the claimed range of ≤2.1. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”, see MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Finally, Han discloses where the Ni-based super alloy has a γ′ molar ratio of not less than 40% (Han, paragraph [0017]), meeting the claim limitation of where the volume fraction of γ′ strengthening phase is above 30 %.
While it is not clear what is meant by “low stacking fault energy”, see 112(b) rejection above, for the purposes of applying prior art this will be interpreted as requiring some stacking fault energy in the superalloy. While Han does not explicitly disclose the stacking fault energy of its composition, as Han discloses a patentably indistinct composition, this composition would necessarily have a stacking fault energy meeting the claim limitations. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), see MPEP § 2112.01(II).
As to claim 13, it is not clear what is meant by being “made by the superalloy” nor what is meant by the use of “forging”, “casting”, and “additively manufactured”, see 112(b) rejections above. For the purposes of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as the structural member comprising the superalloy of claim 1 and where it is formed using casting, forging, or additive manufacturing. Han discloses where ingots of the superalloy is cast and forging is performed (Han, paragraphs [0034]-[0035]), meeting the limitations of a cast or forged part. While Han does not disclose the specific steps involved in its casting or forging process, these limitations are claiming a product in a product-by-process manner. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product, see MPEP § 2113(I). In the instant case, these exemplary methods do not create a structure beyond what is already recited, namely a cast, forged or additively manufactured member. As such, as Han discloses a cast and forged member with the composition of claim 1, it meets the claim limitations.
As to claim 14, Han discloses where the superalloy is used in the production of a turbine disk (Han, paragraph [0017]), meeting the limitation of a turbine disc.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the drawing objection, as the drawing submitted on 2/3/26 still recites FIG. 1, the objection is maintained for the reasons stated above.
With respect to the claim objection of claim 8, while the amendments received 2/3/26 remove the inadvertent “-“, now an inadvertent “~” has been added before the compositional range and should be removed.
With respect to the 112(b) rejection concerning term “low stacking fault energy” in claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, and 13, applicant argues that as chemical compositions and their properties are inseparable, this property is the inevitable result of the components of the superalloy (Applicant’s remarks, 2/3/26, pg 7 next to last paragraph). Applicant also argues that as page 3 of the specification reductions of stacking fault energy improves the mechanical performance of the alloy it is clear this is not an indefinite concept (Applicant’s remarks, 2/3/26, pg 7 next to last paragraph).
However, just because a property is inherent does not make the use of “low” with that property clear. While the composition must have some stacking fault energy, what constitutes a “low” stacking fault energy is not inherent to the composition. Further, the issue is not that stacking-fault energy is an indefinite concept, but the use of a relative term “low” renders this indefinite. Neither the claim nor the specification provides an explanation for what constitutes “low” as opposed to normal or high stacking fault energy and this is why the limitation is indefinite as it is unclear what stacking fault energy must be present to satisfy the claim limitation. Therefore applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
With respect to “the Al element”, applicant’s deletion of “the” and “element” cures the issue and the rejection is withdrawn.
With respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 13, applicant argues that by incorporating manufacturing methods from the specification, this clarifies how they are made and suggests that the tenses of the members are to describe how they are made (Applicant’s remarks, 2/3/26, pg 8, last three paragraphs).
However, while this provides example methods of how these members are formed, this does not cure the problems with tense agreement and how this tense of these words affect what these claimed members are. The use of present tense creates the meaning that these are members for forging or casting, not that they are made by forging or casting. If the members were made by forging or casting, it should be in past tense because this forging or casting was already done to form the member. The fact that applicant uses both present and past tense makes it unclear what the scope of the claim is. Applicant may be intending to claim a member which is formed by being forged, cast, or additively manufactured, but this is not reflected by using present tense.
Also, an object cannot be “made by” a composition. Objects can be made of or otherwise comprise a composition, but a composition alone cannot “make” an object. Thus, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained. Further, see new 112(b) rejections concerning claim 13 above.
As to claim 14, applicant argues that the antecedent basis of “the structural member” is clear and it is not referring to the additively manufactured structural member (Applicant’s remarks, 2/3/26, pg 9, first two paragraphs).
However, applicant has created two different structural members in claim 13 and by merely referring to “the structural member”, it is not clear which of these structural members is referred to. Thus applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
With respect to the 103 rejection over Han, applicant argues that the compositional range of the claimed invention is unique as the claims define narrower ranges for Nb, Ta and W and higher amounts of Ta, Nb, and W result in lower tensile properties, poorer durability and poorer temperature plasticity (Applicant’s remarks, 2/3/26, pg 9 last paragraph – pg 10 1st two paragraphs).
However, the comparison applicant makes between example 1 and examples 6 & 7 with higher amounts of Nb and Ta only shows a few percent difference in tensile properties, the plasticity only differs by 9%, and after aging neither examples produces TCP phase precipitation. Even the durability which differs by being 15% lower is nonetheless higher than other inventive examples such as #3 and #5. Also, with respect to W, while comparative example 1 includes 2.12% of W, it also includes a higher amount of 3.63% of Mo and therefore this does not show that the amount of tungsten alone is linked to the lower durability and plasticity.
Applicant also argues that Han reference is concerned with high ɣ’ phase heat-resistant superalloys whereas the instant claimed invention is stacking fault energy of the matrix is reduced, the temperature resistance and high-temperature strength of the alloy are enhanced, the precipitation rate of the strengthening phase is slowed down, the redissolution temperature of the strengthening phase is lowered, the heat processing window is expanded, and the process performance of the alloy is effectively improved (Applicant’s remarks, 2/3/26, pg 10 las two paragraphs).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., stacking fault energy of the matrix, the temperature resistance and high-temperature strength of the, the precipitation rate of the strengthening phase, the redissolution temperature of the strengthening phase, the heat processing window) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). What applicant has claimed is a superalloy composition with a volume fraction of ɣ’ phase. As Han discloses the composition and microstructure, Han meets the claim limitations. Therefore applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733