Priority
This Application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/079209, filed Oct. 21, 2021, and claims foreign priority to EP20203311.4 and EP21192154.9, filed Oct. 22, 2020 and Aug. 19, 2021, respectively, with the European Patent Office.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 8-21 and 23-26 are currently pending and subject to examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Previously Presented
“A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.”
The rejection of claim(s) 1-4, 8-14, 18-21 and 23-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig et al. (WO 2020/168011 A1, published August 20, 2020) (of record, IDS 04/21/2023, cite no. A5) in view of McCurdy & Cohen (Drug Design Org, Feb. 2007, p. 1-138) is maintained.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 15-21 and 23-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig et al. (WO 2019/046779 A1, published March 7, 2019) (of record, IDS 04/21/2023, cite no. A3) in view of McCurdy & Cohen (Drug Design Org, Feb. 2007, p. 1-138) is maintained.
Response to Arguments
(1) Applicant argues that the rejection rebuilds the claimed compounds by starting from Craig and swapping ring atoms using Applicant’s disclosure as a roadmap (Remarks, pp. 16-17, 20, 26). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The rejection only relies on prior-art knowledge.
Craig 2020 discloses Example 5 as a potent ISR inhibitor with an IC50 of 13.4 nM (Craig 2020, ¶ [0264]).
Craig 2020 discloses compounds of the same scaffold with either a tetrahydropyran or a cyclohexane central ring, as Applicant acknowledges (Remarks, p. 17).
Craig 2019 discloses examples 56 and 75 as a potent ISR inhibitor with an IC50 of less than 1 nM (Craig 2019, Table 3, ¶ [0469])
McCurdy teaches that -CH2-, -NH- and -O- are recognized divalent bioisosteres (p. 12) and that saturated rings containing these atoms are recognized ring equivalents
None of these teachings come from the Applicant’s specification. The motivation to start with Examples 5, 56 and 75 comes from the prior art because Craig 2019 and Craig 2020 identify these compounds as potent in the very same ISR activity assays that the Applicant relies on. A lead compound need not be the single best compound in the art. See Altana Pharma AG v. Teva Pharms. USA, Inc., 566 F.3s 999 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
(2) Applicant argues that Craig 2020 does not teach or suggest a piperidine or 1,3-dioxane ring, or identify one as preferred or equivalent (Remarks, p. 17, 24). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Contrary to Applicant’s assertion that Craig 2020 “requires a central tetrahydropyran rng or a central cyclohexane ring (Remarks, p. 17), Craig 2020 teaches that ring A, the central ring between the amide nitrogen and ring B is “cycloalkyl or heterocyclyl” (Craig 2020, ¶¶ [0086], [0087], [0090]), e.g.
(Craig 2020, ¶ [0086]). Craig defines “heterocyclyl” as a saturated ring with 2-8 ring carbon atoms, having one to three ring heteroatoms “independently selected from nitrogen, oxygen and sulfur,” and expressly names piperdinyl and dioxolanyl as examples (¶ [0059]). Craig’s specifically illustrated ring A embodiments include tetrahydropyran, cyclohexane, and nitrogen containing rings including piperidine, pyrrolidine and azetidine (¶ [0092]).
Carig 2020 therefore does not only teach or require tetrahydropyran or cyclohexane. Craig 2020 discloses a genus of central rings that encompasses the claimed piperidine and 1,3-dioxane rings, and it expressly identifies nitrogen-containing saturated rings as embodiments of ring A. While example 5 and the other examples are preferred embodiments, preferred embodiments do not teach away from the broader disclosure (MPEP § 2123). A reference is prior art for all that it teaches, including nonpreferred embodiments (id.).
(3) Applicant argues that McCurdy is a generalized discussion that does not teach the modification in Craig’s framework (Remarks, pp. 18, 22, 24). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The suggestion to use a nitrogen containing heterocyclyl as the central ring is found in Craig 2020 itself (¶¶ [0059], [0086], [0090], [0092]). McCurdy confirms what Craig already teaches, that -CH2-, -NH-, and -O- are recognized divalent bioisosteres and saturated rings containing these atoms are recognized ring equivalents (McCurdy, pp. 12, 14). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore reasonably expect that replacing the ring oxygen of Craig’s example 5 with -NH-, a ring A embodiment within Craig’s own disclosed genus, would retain ISR activity.
Applicant’s argument that McCurdy does not address Craig’s specific chemotype attacks the references individually where the rejection is based on their combination. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
(4) Applicant’s argument that McCurdy’s statement that the modified analog “is then tested” shows the substitution is exploratory and not predictive (Remarks, pp. 18, 23-24). This argument was fully considered but is not persuasive. Obviousness requires a reasonable expectation of success, not absolute predictability. See OSI Pharm., LLC v. Apotex Inc., 939 F.3d 1375, 1385 (Fed. Cir. 2019). That a medicinal chemist would need to test an analog after making it does not show that the result was unexpected. See Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1364, 1367–68 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (verifying expected properties through routine testing does not negate a reasonable expectation of success).
Moreover, every drug candidate undergoes testing, including candidates whose activity is fully expected. Under Applicant’s reasoning, no analog of a known compound could ever be obvious because all are tested, but this is not consistent with the law. “A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.” (MPEP § 2144.09). McCurdy states the reasonable expectation directly: bioisosteric replacement is based on “the principle that similar molecules tend to have similar properties” (McCurdy, p. 1). Testing confirms that expectation and does not negate it.
(5) Applicant argues that bioisosterism is a general heuristic and that ring-atom replacement can alter electronics, basicity, hydrogen bonding, conformation and so on (Remarks, p. 19, 27). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant lists properties that have a possibility to change but provides no evidence that any of the changed for the claimed compounds in a way that impacts biological activity. Attorney arguments cannot replace evidence of record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). MPEP § 2145(I); MPEP § 716(c).
The record shows the opposite because activity is retained across this ring variation. The compounds from Craig 2020 and Craig 2019 inhibit the ISR. Applicant’s own data show that the claimed piperidine and 1,3-dioxane compounds inhibit the ISR at potencies in the same range as Craig 2019 and Craig 2020. The asserted unpredictability is therefore unsupported and contradicted by the evidence of record.
(6) The Applicant argues that the diazepam/clobazam example shows closely related analogs can have materially different properties (Remarks, p. 19). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. In McCurdy’s example, the bioisosteric analog (clobazam) kept the same pharmacological activity as the parent and was more effective (p. 1). This is a successful bioisosteric replacement. It supports a reasonable expectation that the replacement keeps the activity of interest. Obviousness does not require identical properties, but rather only a reasonable expectation that compounds with a close structural relationship will have similar properties (See MPEP § 2144.09).
(7) The Applicant argues that the art provides only an “invitation to experiment” (Remarks, pp. 19-20, 28; citing In re Stepan Co., 868 F.3d 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2017)). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Stepan merely restates the requirement of a motivation to combine and a reasonable expectation of success. The rejection sets out both because Craig teaches potent ISR inhibitors which an artisan would naturally use as a starting point for further drug development as well as variation at the ring A position, and the expectation is supported by McCurdy. This is not a case of varying every parameter or trying every possibility with no direction. The modification is a single atom change at one identified position, among three divalent atoms McCurdy identifies as interchangeable.
(8) Applicant argues unexpected activity because the claimed compounds modulate the ISR in a tunicamycin-induced ATF4 activity assay (Remarks, pp. 20-21, 27). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant concedes that the activity is not the point: Applicant states its position “is not merely that the compounds are active” (Remarks, p. 27). That position is effectively that the art did not predict activity, which is addressed in items (4) and (5) above.
The results are not unexpected because ISR inhibition that Craig teaches for the parent compounds, measured in the same type of assay, at potencies in the same range. Evidence that a compound has the properties expected from the prior art supports, rather than rebuts obviousness (MPEP § 716.02(c)).
Moreover, the data are not sufficient to rebut the prima facie case. The Applicant has not compared the compounds with the closest prior art, such as Craig 2020 Example 5 or Craig 2019 Example 56 (MPEP § 716.02(e)). Applicant has not shown a difference in kind or a difference in degree that is unexpected or of practical significance (MPEP § 716(a)-(b)). The therapeutic relevance discussion (pp. 20-21) does not distinguish the prior art. It describes the value of ISR inhibitors generally, which is the same utility that Craig teaches (e.g. Craig 2020, ¶¶ [0002]-[0008]; Craig 2019, ¶¶ [0002]-[0008]).
(9) Applicant argues that Craig 2019 discloses only a tetrahydropyran core and does not teach or suggest modifying it to a piperidine or 1,3-dioxane (Remarks, p. 22). Applicant further argues that McCurdy does not show that such substitutions “would be suitable in Craig 2019’s particular chemotype” (id.). These arguments were fully considered but are not persuasive.
Craig 2019 teaches that its compounds, including Example 56, inhibit the integrated stress response pathway with high potency, the majority having an IC50 of less than 1 nM (¶¶ [0018], [0468]-[0469]). While Craig 2019 does not teach a piperidine or 1,3-dioxane central ring, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in substituting NH for O, or O for CH2 in Craig’s central ring because the interchange of -O-, -NH- and -CH2- in saturated rings is a bioisosteric replacement commonly known in the art to produce compounds with similar properties.
Craig 2019 does not present the central ring as invariant. Craig teaches that R14 and R19 on the central tetrahydropyran may “together form a C1-3 alkylene bridge” (¶ [0087]). Craig therefore contemplates structural variation of this ring in its ISR modulating compounds.
Applicant asserts that the substitution “would materially alter the compound’s physiochemical and conformational properties in ways that can materially affect biological function” (Remarks, p. 23). This assertion is unsupported by evidence. Attorney arguments cannot replace evidence of record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). MPEP § 2145(I); MPEP § 716(c). The record shows the opposite because activity is retained across this ring variation.
(10) Applicant argues that the Craig 2019 rejection lacks motivation and a reasonable expectation of success (Remarks, p. 23). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive for the reasons given in (3)-(5) and (9). Craig 2019 teaches that its compounds potently inhibit the ISR. McCurdy confirms that -O-/-NH- interchange in saturated rings is a recognized bioisosteric replacement. Applicant’s assertion that the change “would materially alter the compound’s physiochemical and conformational properties in ways that can materially affect biological function” (Remarks, p. 23), is unsupported by evidence and is contradicted by Applicant’s own data showing retained activity.
(11) Applicant argues that the Advisory Action did not address Applicant’s core and hindsight arguments (Remarks, pp. 23-24, 26). These arguments are fully addressed above in items (1) (hindsight), (3) (generality of McCurdy) and 9 (chemotype specific teaching in Craig 2019).
(12) Applicant argues that In re Merck and In re Payne do not control (Remarks, pp. 25-26). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant characterizes Merck as turning on “prior-art teaching of the precise interchange of issue.” That is what this record contains:
In In re Merck, 800 F.2d 1091 (Fed. Cir. 1986), the claimed compound differed from the prior art by a single ring-atom change in the central ring. The court found it obvious in view of the art recognizing that interchange and the compounds’ similar use.
Here, the claimed compounds differ from Craig 2020 Example 5 by a single ring atom (O to NH or CH2 to O). The prior art recognizes this interchange generally (McCurdy, pp. 12, 14) and within this scaffold (Craig 2020, ring A is heterocyclyl as explained in item (2)). The compounds share the same utility.
In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313-314 (CCPA 1979), holds that structural similarity between claimed and prior art compounds, with a reason to make the claimed compounds creates a prima facie case. Once that case is established, the burden shifts to the Applicant to come forward with rebuttal evidence. See In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692-93 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Applicant has not done so (item 8). Neither case is applied as a rule per se, but is applied to the specific findings on this record.
(13) The Applicant argues that the art does not single out the claimed modification from “many possible alternatives” (Remarks, p. 25). This argument was fully considered but is not persuasive. The modification at issue is a single atom at one position, chosen from the three divalent bioisosteres McCurdy identifies (-CH2-, -NH-, -O-). Craig 2020 and Craig 2019 specifically embody CH2 and O at these positions and choosing the third alternative member from a small, art-recognized group is not a selection from a vast field of possibilities.
Reiterated Rejection
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-14, 18-21 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig et al. (WO 2020/168011 A1, published August 20, 2020) (of record, IDS 04/21/2023, cite no. A5) in view of McCurdy & Cohen (Drug Design Org, Feb. 2007, p. 1-138).
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
. For example,
(Specification, p. 61).
Craig teaches the compound:
(Craig, Specification, paragraph 165, Table 1, example 5). Craig teaches that this compound is “useful in treating and/or preventing diseases mediated, at least in part, by eukaryotic initiation factor 2B, such as neurodegenerative diseases (e.g., neurodegeneration in prion disease) and cancer.” (Id. paragraph 8)
Although Craig’s example 5 differs from instant example 2 by a single atom (oxane vs. piperidine), one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute O for NH in the six membered ring because this is a bioisosteric replacement commonly known to produce compounds with similar properties.
For example, McCurdy teaches that NH is equivalent to O:
McCurdy, p. 12.
Although Craig’s example 5 has a different stereochemistry from example 2, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that the stereoisomers would have similar properties because stereoisomers are prima facie obvious and are presumed to have similar properties. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978).
For example, Craig teaches both (3S, 6R) isomers and (3R, 6S) isomers and that they have similar properties:
(Craig, Specification, paragraph 239).
(Craig, Specification, paragraph 236).
Therefore, claim 1 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claims 2, 4-14, 18-20, and 25 read on example 2 and are therefore prima facie obvious for the reasons given in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 3 is directed towards the compound of claim 1, wherein the compound is a compound of formula (I-2):
While a compound of formula (I-2) differs from Craig’s example 5 by a single atom (X1 and X2 are both O in the compound of formula (I-2), while only X is O in Craig’s example 5), one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute O for CH2 as X2 because this is a bioisosteric replacement commonly known to produce compounds with similar properties. For example, see McCurdy, p. 12 cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Therefore, claim 3 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 21 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising:
At least one compound of claim 1 and
At least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, optionally in combination with one or more other bioactive compounds or pharmaceutical compositions.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to formulate such a pharmaceutical composition because similar compositions are commonly known in the art. For example, Craig teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound comparable to claim 1 in combination with “one or more pharmaceutically acceptable vehicles selected from carriers, adjuvants, and excipients” (Craig, Specification, paragraph 195).
Therefore, claim 21 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 23 is directed towards a method of treating or preventing one or more diseases or disorders associated with the integrated stress response comprising administering to the subject in need a compound of claim 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to treat or prevent one or more diseases or disorders associated with the integrated stress response with the compound of claim 1 because similar compounds are known for the treatment of conditions associated with the integrated stress response.
For example, Craig teaches compounds such as example 5 for treating diseases mediated by eukaryotic initiation factor 2B (Craig, specification, paragraph 2) which is associated with the integrated stress response: “The interaction between eukaryotic initiation factor 2B and eukaryotic initiation factor 2 plays an important role in the integrated stress response (ISR) pathway.” (Id., paragraph 6). Craig teaches that the compound inhibit the integrated stress response pathway:
In another embodiment, provided is a method for inhibiting the integrated stress response pathway, the method comprising administering an effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound.
Id., paragraph 18.
Craig evaluated the compounds in an integrated stress response assay (Id., paragraph 263-264).
Therefore, claim 23 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 24 is directed towards the method of claim 23, wherein the disease or disorders are selected from the group consisting of leukodystrophies, intellectual disability syndrome, neurodegenerative diseases and disorders, neoplastic diseases, infectious diseases, inflammatory diseases, musculoskeletal diseases, metabolic diseases, ocular diseases, organ fibrosis, chronic and acute diseases of the liver, chronic and acute diseases of the lung, chronic and acute diseases of the kidney, myocardial infarction, cardiovascular disease, arrhythmias, atherosclerosis, spinal cord injury, ischemic stroke, and neuropathic pain.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation to treat such conditions with the compound of claim 1 because similar compounds are known for the treatment of these conditions.
For example, Craig teaches the treatment of:
cancer, pre- cancerous syndromes and diseases/injuries associated with activated unfolded protein response pathways, such as Alzheimer's disease, neuropathic pain, spinal cord injury, traumatic brain injury, ischemic stroke, stroke, Parkinson's disease, diabetes, metabolic syndrome, metabolic disorders, Huntington's disease, Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease, fatal familial insomnia, Gerstmann-Straussler-Scheinker syndrome, and related prion diseases, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, progressive supranuclear palsy, myocardial infarction, cardiovascular disease, inflammation, organ fibrosis, chronic and acute diseases of the liver, fatty liver disease, liver steatosis, liver fibrosis, chronic and acute diseases of the lung, lung fibrosis, chronic and acute diseases of the kidney, kidney fibrosis, chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE), neurodegeneration, dementias, frontotemporal dementias, tauopathies, Pick's disease, Neimann-Pick's disease, amyloidosis, cognitive impairment, atherosclerosis, ocular diseases, arrhythmias, in organ transplantation and in the transportation of organs for transplantation.
Craig, Specification, paragraph 176.
Therefore, claim 24 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 15-21 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig et al. (WO 2019/046779 A1, published March 7, 2019) (of record, IDS 04/21/2023, cite no. A3) in view of McCurdy & Cohen (Drug Design Org, Feb. 2007, p. 1-138).
Claim 1 is directed towards a compound of formula (I):
. For example,
(Specification, p. 86, example 52).
Craig teaches the compound:
(Craig, Specification, paragraph 234, Table 1, example 56). Craig teaches that is “useful in treating and/or preventing diseases mediated, at least in part, by eukaryotic initiation factor 2B, such as neurodegenerative diseases (e.g., neurodegeneration in prion disease) and cancer.” (Id. paragraph 8)
Although Craig’s example 56 differs from instant example 52 in two rings, oxane vs. piperidine and the point of attachment to the quinoline, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute O for NH in the six membered ring and change the point of attachment to the quinoline because these are a bioisosteric replacements commonly known to produce compounds with similar properties.
For example, McCurdy teaches that NH is equivalent to O and CH to N:
McCurdy, p. 12;
McCurdy, p. 13;
Therefore, claim 1 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claims 2, 4-10, 15-18, 20 and 25 read on the compound example 52. Therefore, claims 2, 4-10, 15-18 and 20 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 3 is directed towards the compound of claim 1, wherein the compound is a compound of formula (I-2):
While a compound of formula (I-2) differs from Craig’s example 56 by a single atom (X1 and X2 are both O in the compound of formula (I-2), while only X is O in Craig’s example 5), one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute CH2 for O as X2 because this is a bioisosteric replacement commonly known to produce compounds with similar properties. For example, see McCurdy, p. 12 cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Therefore, claim 3 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 19 is directed towards a compound of formula (IIb):
.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to generate a compound of formula (IIb) with similar properties to the compound of Craig because Craig teaches compounds with this stereochemistry. For example,
(Craig, Specification, paragraph 234, Table 1, compound 75). For the reasons given in the rejection of claims 1 and 3, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to modify X1 and X2 to be as instantly claimed.
Therefore, claim 19 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 21 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising:
At least one compound of claim 1 and
At least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, optionally in combination with one or more other bioactive compounds or pharmaceutical compositions.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to formulate such a pharmaceutical composition because similar compositions are commonly known in the art. For example, Craig teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound comparable to claim 1 in combination with “one or more pharmaceutically acceptable vehicles selected from carriers, adjuvants, and excipients” (Craig, Specification, paragraph 262).
Therefore, claim 21 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 23 is directed towards a method of treating or preventing one or more diseases or disorders associated with the integrated stress response comprising administering to the subject in need a compound of claim 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to treat or prevent one or more diseases or disorders associated with the integrated stress response with the compound of claim 1 because similar compounds are known for the treatment of conditions associated with the integrated stress response.
For example, Craig teaches compounds such as example 56 for treating diseases mediated by eukaryotic initiation factor 2B (Craig, specification, paragraph 2) which is associated with the integrated stress response: “The interaction between eukaryotic initiation factor 2B and eukaryotic initiation factor 2 plays an important role in the integrated stress response (ISR) pathway.” (Id., paragraph 6). Craig teaches that the compound inhibit the integrated stress response pathway:
In another embodiment, provided is a method for inhibiting the integrated stress response pathway, the method comprising administering an effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound.
Id., paragraph 18.
Craig evaluated the compounds in an integrated stress response assay (Id., paragraph 468-469).
Therefore, claim 23 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 24 is directed towards the method of claim 23, wherein the disease or disorders are selected from the group consisting of leukodystrophies, intellectual disability syndrome, neurodegenerative diseases and disorders, neoplastic diseases, infectious diseases, inflammatory diseases, musculoskeletal diseases, metabolic diseases, ocular diseases, organ fibrosis, chronic and acute diseases of the liver, chronic and acute diseases of the lung, chronic and acute diseases of the kidney, myocardial infarction, cardiovascular disease, arrhythmias, atherosclerosis, spinal cord injury, ischemic stroke, and neuropathic pain.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation to treat such conditions with the compound of claim 1 because similar compounds are known for the treatment of these conditions.
For example, Craig teaches the treatment of:
cancer, pre- cancerous syndromes and diseases/injuries associated with activated unfolded protein response pathways, such as Alzheimer's disease, neuropathic pain, spinal cord injury, traumatic brain injury, ischemic stroke, stroke, Parkinson's disease, diabetes, metabolic syndrome, metabolic disorders, Huntington's disease, Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease, fatal familial insomnia, Gerstmann-Straussler-Scheinker syndrome, and related prion diseases, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, progressive supranuclear palsy, myocardial infarction, cardiovascular disease, inflammation, organ fibrosis, chronic and acute diseases of the liver, fatty liver disease, liver steatosis, liver fibrosis, chronic and acute diseases of the lung, lung fibrosis, chronic and acute diseases of the kidney, kidney fibrosis, chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE), neurodegeneration, dementias, frontotemporal dementias, tauopathies, Pick's disease, Neimann-Pick's disease, amyloidosis, cognitive impairment, atherosclerosis, ocular diseases, arrhythmias, in organ transplantation and in the transportation of organs for transplantation.
Craig, Specification, paragraph 243.
Therefore, claim 24 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 15-21 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig et al. (WO 2019/046779 A1, published March 7, 2019) (of record, IDS 04/21/2023, cite no. A3) in view of McCurdy & Cohen (Drug Design Org, Feb. 2007, p. 1-138).
Claim 26 is directed towards the compound of claim 1, wherein R3 is A1 wherein A1 is phenyl optionally substituted with one or more R13, which are the same or different.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 8-10, 15-21 and 23-26 is incorporated herein by reference. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to generate a compound of claim 1, wherein R3 is phenyl substituted with one or more R13 because Craig teaches potent ISR inhibitors in which R3 is phenyl substituted with one or more R13 (halogen). For example,
Craig, Spec., p. 108-109, ¶ [0409].
Therefore, claim 26 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/HEATHER DAHLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629