DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the end of line 1 appears to have been amended to replace the comma with a period, and as such, the period at the end of line 1 should be replaced with a comma. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 2007/0270832 A1) in view of Baker et al. (US 2006/0217716 A1) and Fang et al. (US 2011/0066187 A1).
Claim 1. Moore discloses a composite material device for connecting an orthopedic rod to a pedicle screw, the device comprising:
a housing (coupling mechanism 10) having a substantially annular body (see Figs. 2 and 3, which show that coupling mechanism 10 is substantially annular in shape) and comprising:
two opposite concave indents (see Fig. 2 inset) at a proximal end (see Fig. 2 inset) of the housing and in a longitudinal direction along the housing, the concave indents being configured to receive an orthopedic rod (stabilization member 30); and
an internal thread (internal threads 12) on an internal surface of a proximal portion (see Fig. 2 inset) of the housing;
an adapter (seat 13) configured to lock at least a portion of a pedicle screw head (anchor head 41) within a distal portion (see Fig. 2 inset) of the housing (when the system is fully assembled, seat 13 in conjunction with coupling mechanism 10 and additional components acts to lock anchor head 41 within coupling mechanism 10);
an internal bolt (set screw member 20) comprising an external thread (external threads 21) configured to mate with the internal thread of the housing, the internal bolt being configured to be screwed into the proximal portion of the housing so as to lock the orthopedic rod between the adapter and the internal bolt (see Fig. 1); and
a spacer (saddle member 50) inserted into the housing between the adapter and the internal bolt (see Fig. 4), the spacer comprising:
a central circular portion (see Fig. 9 inset) configured to be inserted into an interior of the housing (see Fig. 4); and
two opposite radial protrusions (see Fig. 9 inset) radially protruding from opposing sides of the central circular portion; and
a concave indent (distal interface surface 51) on a surface facing the adapter, the concave indent extending along a longitudinal dimension of the spacer (see Fig. 9) and configured to receive a portion of the orthopedic rod (see Fig. 1);
wherein the internal bolt comprises composite materials (see para. 0034, which states that set screw member 20 can be fabricated from a carbon fiber composite material) (Figs. 1-12; paras. 0030-0038).
[AltContent: textbox (Distal Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Proximal End)][AltContent: textbox (Concave Indent)][AltContent: textbox (Concave Indent)][AltContent: textbox (Proximal Portion)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Circular Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Radial Protrusion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Radial Protrusion)]
Claim 17. Moore discloses wherein the spacer is connected at its center point (defined by hole 52) to a distal end (locking nub 23) of the internal bolt (Figs. 1-12; paras. 0030-0038).
Moore fails to disclose wherein the housing and the adapter comprise composite materials and wherein the radial protrusions are configured to be inserted into the opposite concave indents of the housing (claim 1).
Baker teaches a composite material device comprising: a housing (seat 102); an adapter (locking element 108); and an internal bolt (retaining element 110); wherein the housing, the adapter, and the internal bolt comprise composite materials (see para. 0031, which states that seat 102, locking element 108, and retaining element 110 can be made from well-known biocompatible materials, such as carbon composite materials) (Fig. 1; para. 0031).
Fang teaches a device comprising: a housing (head portion 14) comprising two opposite concave indents (see Fig. 2 inset) configured to receive an orthopedic rod (connecting member 22); an internal bolt (threaded screw 36) configured to mate with the housing; and a spacer (insert 38) connected to the internal bolt (via boss 40 as shown in Fig. 3) and configured to be inserted into the housing, wherein the spacer comprises a concave indent (concave lower surface 44) extending along a longitudinal dimension of the spacer and configured to receive a portion of the orthopedic rod, wherein the spacer comprises a central circular portion (see Fig. 2 inset) and two opposite radial protrusions (see Fig. 2 inset) protruding from opposite sides of the central circular portion, wherein the radial protrusions are configured to be inserted into the opposite concave indents of the housing (see Fig. 1) (Figs. 1-3).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Radial Protrusion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Radial Protrusion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Circular Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Concave Indent)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Concave Indent)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moore such that the housing and the adapter comprise composite materials (claim 1), as suggested by Baker, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moore such that the radial protrusions are configured to be inserted into the opposite concave indents of the housing (claim 1), as suggested by Fang, as such a configuration ensures that the concave indent of the spacer remains aligned with the concave indents of the housing during assembly, thereby ensuring that the concave indent of the spacer remains aligned with the orthopedic rod.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 2007/0270832 A1) in view of Baker et al. (US 2006/0217716 A1) and Fang et al. (US 2011/0066187 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garamszegi (US 2008/0045953 A1).
Moore, Baker, and Fang fail to teach wherein the housing and the adapter are configured to at least limit rotational and axial motion of the adapter with respect to the housing when the adapter is received within the housing (claim 8).
Garamszegi teaches a device for connecting an orthopedic rod to a pedicle screw, the device comprising: a housing (coupling element 115); and an adapter (saddle 320) configured to lock at least a portion of a pedicle screw head within a distal portion (see Fig. 4 inset) of the housing (see Fig. 4), wherein the housing and the adapter are configured to at least limit rotational and axial motion of the adapter with respect to the housing when the adapter is received within the housing (see para. 0086, which states that the configuration of projections 335 of saddle 320 and apertures 340 of coupling element 115 limits rotational and axial motion of saddle 320 within coupling element 115 such that only slight movement is possible) such that the position and orientation of the adapter can be varied slightly to adjust into a secure engagement with the orthopedic rod and the pedicle screw (see para. 0086) (Figs. 3, 4, 6A, and 6B; paras. 0065-0086).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Distal Portion)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Moore such that the housing and the adapter are configured to at least limit rotational and axial motion of the adapter with respect to the housing when the adapter is received within the housing (claim 8), as suggested by Garamszegi, as such would allow the position and orientation of the adapter to be varied slightly to adjust the adapter into a secure engagement with the orthopedic rod and the pedicle screw.
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 2007/0270832 A1) in view of Baker et al. (US 2006/0217716 A1) and Fang et al. (US 2011/0066187 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lange et al. (US 2008/0262548 A1).
Claim 22. Moore in view of Baker and Fang teaches wherein the housing comprises carbon composite materials (see para. 0031 of Baker, which states that seat 102, which is the housing, can be made from well-known biocompatible materials, such as carbon composite materials).
Claim 24. Moore in view of Baker and Fang teaches wherein the internal bolt comprises carbon composite materials (see para. 0031 of Baker, which states that retaining element 110, which is the internal bolt, can be made from well-known biocompatible materials, such as carbon composite materials).
Moore, Baker, and Fang fail to teach wherein the housing comprises composite material fibers being arranged along at least a portion of the housing in at least one of: an axial direction of the housing, a radial direction of the housing, a clockwise helical direction along the housing, a counterclockwise helical direction along the housing, or any combination thereof (claim 22), wherein the housing comprises two or more layers of composite material fibers, wherein the composite material fibers in at least a portion of the two or more layers are arranged in different direction with respect to each other (claim 23), wherein the internal bolt comprises composite material fibers being arranged along at least a portion of the internal bolt in at least one of: an axial direction of the internal bolt, a radial direction of the internal bolt, a clockwise helical direction along the internal bolt, a counterclockwise helical direction along the internal bolt, or any combination thereof (claim 24), and wherein the internal bolt comprises two or more layers of composite material fibers, wherein the composite material fibers in at least a portion of the two or more layers are arranged in different direction with respect to each other (claim 25).
Lange teaches a structure (rod R) comprising composite material fibers (fibers 30, which are carbon fibers as stated in para. 0043) being arranged along at least a portion of the structure, wherein the composite material fibers comprise two or more layers (ply 26, ply 27, and ply 28) of composite material fibers, wherein the composite material fibers are arranged in an axial direction of the structure (see para. 0043, which states that fibers 30 of ply 26 and ply 28 are parallel to the longitudinal axis of rod R) and a radial direction of the structure (see para. 0043, which states that fibers 30 of ply 27 are crossed and oblique to the longitudinal axis of rod R) such that the composite material fibers are arranged in different directions with respect to each other, wherein such a configuration results in varying stiffness along the structure (see para. 0043) (Fig. 11; para. 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Moore such that the housing comprises composite material fibers being arranged along at least a portion of the housing in at least one of: an axial direction of the housing, a radial direction of the housing, a clockwise helical direction along the housing, a counterclockwise helical direction along the housing, or any combination thereof (claim 22), the housing comprises two or more layers of composite material fibers, wherein the composite material fibers in at least a portion of the two or more layers are arranged in different direction with respect to each other (claim 23), the internal bolt comprises composite material fibers being arranged along at least a portion of the internal bolt in at least one of: an axial direction of the internal bolt, a radial direction of the internal bolt, a clockwise helical direction along the internal bolt, a counterclockwise helical direction along the internal bolt, or any combination thereof (claim 24), and the internal bolt comprises two or more layers of composite material fibers, wherein the composite material fibers in at least a portion of the two or more layers are arranged in different direction with respect to each other (claim 25), as suggested by Lange, in order to vary the stiffness along the housing and the internal bolt, thereby allowing the housing and the internal bolt to be manufactured in a way to better accommodate varying stresses acting on them during assembly and use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Moore fails to disclose that the radial protrusions engage the concave indents of the housing (see pgs. 12-13 and restated on pg. 14). The Examiner notes that Moore was not relied upon to teach such a feature.
Applicant argues that Moore fails to disclose radial protrusions protruding from opposing sides of the circular portion (see pg. 14). The Examiner disagrees as such radial protrusions were identified on page 9 of the Non-Final Rejection and are identified on page 5 above.
Applicant argues that Baker fails to disclose the spacer (see pg. 15). The Examiner notes that Baker was not relied upon to teach such a feature.
Applicant argues that the insert of Fang is not a spacer inserted into the housing between an adapter and an internal bolt (see pg. 17). The Examiner notes that Fang was not relied upon to teach such a feature of the spacer. Furthermore, the position of insert 38 of Fang (located between the threaded screw 36 and rod 22 as shown in Figs. 1 and 2) is the same as that of saddle member 50 of Moore (located between set screw member 20 and stabilization member 30 as shown in Fig. 1).
Applicant argues that the insert of Fang does not include radial protrusions (see pg. 17). The Examiner disagrees as such radial protrusions were identified on page 10 of the Non-Final Rejection and are identified on page 7 above.
Applicant argues that the insert of Fang does not have a central circular portion (see pg. 17). The Examiner disagrees as such circular portion was identified on page 10 of the Non-Final Rejection and is identified on page 7 above.
Applicant argues that Fang does not have radial protrusions configured to be inserted into opposite concave indents of the housing (see pgs. 17-18). The Examiner disagrees. As stated above, Fang includes radial protrusions. Furthermore, the Examiner has noted that Fig. 1 of Fang shows the radial protrusions inserted into the opposite concave indents of the housing (see page 10 of the Non-Final rejection and page 6 above).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Garamszegi have been considered but are moot as the arguments focus on a spacer (see pgs. 23-25). The Examiner notes that Garamszegi has not been relied upon to teach a spacer.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Lange have been considered but are moot as the arguments focus on a spacer (see pgs. 25-26). The Examiner notes that Lange has not been relied upon to teach a spacer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773