DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Amendments filed on 11/12/2025.
Claims 1-25 are pending for examination with Claims 19-22 and 24 cancelled through preliminary amendment and Claims 1, 10, and 23 being independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-18, 23, and 25 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 8/12/2025.
Claim 3 has been amended with Claims 1, 10, and 23 being independent.
Claims 1-18, 23, and 25 remain pending for examination.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendments to the claims received on 11/12/2025 in order to overcome objections in prior Office Action. These amendments are acceptable and objections listed in previous Office Action to the claims have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-18, 23 and 25 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-18, 23 and 25 has been withdrawn
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 12-15, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to claims 1, 10, and 23 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose “the specific act of the MAC layer itself identifying that the physical layer has stopped transmission and, in response to the identification, stopping the CGT and/or CGRT timers and transmitting the same first data packet after stopping the CGT and/or CGRT,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the MAC layer specifically stopping the CGT and/or CGRT timers and resuming transmission of the first data packet after identifying that the transmission of the first data packet is stopped) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Here, Lee et al. (US 20230111565 A1; hereinafter Lee) was relied upon to disclose independent claims 1, 10, and 23. As provided in the previous office action, Lee discloses that if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant to start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PUSCH transmission and stop the drx-Retransmission TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process (¶196-198). Lee further discloses that there may be a priority of each configured grant and may be based on the highest priority of logical channels and/or a MAC control element (CE) carried in a MAC PDU over the configured grant and the TX UE may start and/or restart the CG timer and stop the CG retransmission timer for transmissions of the MAC PDU in the HARQ process for the configured grant when the TX UE performs a new transmission or when the transmission of the MAC PDU with the configured grant is not performed because this transmission is deprioritized over the other overlapped transmission or listen before talk (LBT) fails for this transmission (¶ 243-264; ¶ 335-353; ¶359-389; Fig. 11). Lee further discloses that a retransmission of the MAC PDU may be performed based on a retransmission grant (¶ 167-168).
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-15, 18, 23, and 25 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2023/0111565 A1; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee disclose(s):
A data transmission method, applied to a user equipment, comprising:
delivering, by a media access control (MAC) layer of the user equipment, a first data packet to a physical layer of the user equipment, and starting a configured grant timer (CGT) and/or a configured grant retransmission timer (CGRT); [Lee discloses a user plane protocol stack including the MAC layer and the physical (PHY) layer where the PHY layer is a lower layer and offers to the MAC sublayer transport channels and where MAC sublayer services and functions include mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing/de-multiplexing MAC Service data packets (SDUs) belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TBs) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels, scheduling information reporting, error correction through hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), priority handling between UEs by means of dynamic scheduling, and priority handling between logical channels of one UE by means of logical channel prioritization (¶100-102; Fig. 5 and 8). Lee further discloses a method of performing HARQ transmission using timers for configured grants including a discontinuous (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer and a DRX retransmission timer and that if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant, start the drx-HARQ-RTT-timerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PUSCH transmission (¶ 6-8; ¶182-187; ¶ 196-¶197; Fig. 9)]
stopping the CGT and/or the CGRT, and transmitting the first data packet after stopping the CGT and/or the CGRT, in a case that the MAC layer of the user equipment identifies that transmission of the first data packet is stopped at the physical layer of the user equipment. [Lee discloses that if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant to start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PUSCH transmission and stop the drx-Retransmission TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process (¶196-198). Lee further discloses that there may be a priority of each configured grant and may be based on the highest priority of logical channels and/or a MAC control element (CE) carried in a MAC PDU over the configured grant and the TX UE may start and/or restart the CG timer and stop the CG retransmission timer for transmissions of the MAC PDU in the HARQ process for the configured grant when the TX UE performs a new transmission or when the transmission of the MAC PDU with the configured grant is not performed because this transmission is deprioritized over the other overlapped transmission or listen before talk (LBT) fails for this transmission (¶ 167-168; ¶ 243-264; ¶ 335-353; ¶359-389; Fig. 11).]
Regarding Claim 2, 11, and 25, Lee disclose(s):
The data transmission method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in a case that a target scenario is detected when transmitting the first data packet at the physical layer of the user equipment, stopping transmission of the first data packet, and feeding back notification information to the MAC layer of the user equipment, [Lee discloses a scenario where a transmission of a MAC PDU is not performed due to de-prioritization of the transmission over other overlapped transmissions or due to LBT failure and a NACK feedback as a result of the de-prioritization (¶346; ¶368-372; Fig. 11)]
wherein the MAC layer of the user equipment identifies that transmission of the first data packet is stopped according to the notification information. [Lee discloses a scenario where a transmission of a MAC PDU is not performed due to de-prioritization of the transmission over other overlapped transmissions or due to LBT failure and a NACK feedback as a result of the de-prioritization (¶346; ¶368-372; Fig. 11)]
Regarding Claim 3 and 12, Lee disclose(s):
The data transmission method according to claim 2, wherein in a case that the target scenario is detected when transmitting the first data packet at the physical layer, stopping transmission of the first data packet, comprises one of:
in a case that a second data packet meeting a preset condition is obtained when transmitting the first data packet at the physical layer of the user equipment, stopping, transmission of the first data packet; [Lee discloses a scenario where a transmission of a MAC PDU is not performed due to receiving a PDCCH addressed to a particular RNTI such as SLCS-RNTI which includes retransmission grant for a configured grant (¶346)]
in a case that a first indication information transmitted by a network device indicating that the transmission of the first data packet is interrupted is received when transmitting the first data packet at the physical layer of the user equipment, stopping transmission of the first data packet; [Lee discloses a scenario where a transmission of a MAC PDU is not performed when the TX UE reports NACK to the transmission of the PACK PDU to the network (¶346)]
in the case that a second indication information transmitted by the network device indicating that the user equipment changes a time slot is received when transmitting the first data packet at the physical layer of the user equipment, stopping transmission of the first data packet.
Regarding Claim 4 and 13, Lee disclose(s):
The data transmission method according to claim 3, wherein in a case that the second data packet meeting the preset condition is obtained when transmitting the first data packet at the physical layer of the user equipment, stopping transmission of the first data packet, comprises:
in a case that a second media access control protocol data unit (MAC PDU) submitted by the MAC layer of the user equipment or an uplink control information (UCI) generated at the physical layer of the user equipment is received when transmitting the first data packet at the physical layer of the user equipment, stopping transmission of the first data packet, [Lee discloses that UCI is mapped to physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in the PHY layer and that a CG grant CG timer and/or retransmission timer may be determined based on PUCCH configuration and that HARQ NACK may be sent on PUCCH to the network (¶119; ¶ 339-346; ¶377). Lee also discloses a scenario where a transmission of a MAC PDU is not performed due to the TX UE reporting a NACK to the transmission of the MAC PDU to the network, de-prioritization of the transmission over other overlapped transmissions or due to LBT failure and a NACK feedback as a result of the de-prioritization (¶346; ¶366-372; Fig. 11).
wherein the second data packet is the second MAC PDU or the UCI, the first data packet is the first MAC PDU, the first data packet is transmitted to the network device through a first configured grant resource, and the second data packet is transmitted to the network device through a first target uplink resource, a priority of the second data packet is higher than a priority of the first data packet and/or a priority of the first target uplink resource is higher than a priority of the first configured grant resource. [Lee discloses that UCI is mapped to physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in the PHY layer and that a CG grant CG timer and/or retransmission timer may be determined based on PUCCH configuration and that HARQ NACK may be sent on PUCCH to the network; furthermore that the UE may determine a priority of each configured grant by itself based on the highest priority of logical channels and/or based on the priority of a destination (¶119; ¶ 335-346; ¶377). Lee also discloses a scenario where a transmission of a MAC PDU is not performed due to the TX UE reporting a NACK to the transmission of the MAC PDU to the network, de-prioritization of the transmission over other overlapped transmissions or due to LBT failure and a NACK feedback as a result of the de-prioritization (¶346; ¶366-372; ¶377; Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 5 and 14, Lee disclose(s):
The data transmission method according to claim 3, wherein in a case that the second data packet meeting the preset condition is obtained when transmitting the first data packet at the physical layer of the user equipment, after the stopping transmission of the first data packet, the method further comprises:
transmitting the second data packet by the physical layer of the user equipment. [Lee discloses a scenario where a transmission of a MAC PDU is not performed due to the TX UE performing a new transmission (¶346; Fig. 11).]
Regarding Claim 6 and 15, Lee disclose(s):
The data transmission method according to claim 1,wherein the transmission of the first data packet comprises:
selecting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, a second target uplink resource from at least one uplink resource; and [Lee discloses autonomous resource selection where resources are selected for multiple transmissions of different transport blocks (TB) and a dynamic scheme where resources are selected for each TB transmission and where the UE may reselect sidelink resources from a resource pool to create a grant used for transmission and the configured grant may be used for either uplink or sidelink transmission (¶ 124-138; ¶329-330). Lee also discloses that a UE can perform a retransmission of TB2 on the second resource, but it may be skipped when it overlaps with a prioritized transmission and so it can be transmitted on a third resource (¶369-375; Fig. 11)]
transmitting, by the physical layer of the user equipment, the buffered first data packet to the network device through the second target uplink resource. [Lee discloses autonomous resource selection where resources are selected for multiple transmissions of different transport blocks (TB) and a dynamic scheme where resources are selected for each TB transmission and where the UE may reselect sidelink resources from a resource pool to create a grant used for transmission and the configured grant may be used for either uplink or sidelink transmission (¶ 124-138; ¶329-330). Lee also discloses that a UE can perform a retransmission of TB2 on the second resource, but it may be skipped when it overlaps with a prioritized transmission and so it can be transmitted on a third resource (¶369-375; Fig. 11)]
Regarding Claim 9 and 18, Lee disclose(s):
The data transmission method according to claim 1, wherein after the starting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the CGT and/or the CGRT, the method further comprises:
setting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process to a non-suspended state capable of transmitting; [Lee discloses starting a DRX HARQ RTT Timer for the HARQ process ID after end of reception of the sidelink HARQ feedback for the MAC PDU (¶151-161; Fig. 9)]
after the stopping, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the CGT and/or the CGRT, the method further comprises:
setting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the HARQ process to a suspended state in which data to be transmitted is buffered, [Lee discloses that when PUCCH occasion occurs after transmission of TB1, the TX UE sends sidelink HARQ ACK on PUCCH to the network, and flushes the buffer of the HARQ process A1 and that in some implementations no PUCCH may be transmitted when PUCCH overlaps with any prioritized transmission (¶367-369; ¶382; Fig. 11)]
wherein the MAC layer of the user equipment transmits the first data packet after setting the HARQ process to the suspended state. [Lee discloses that if the CG timer is running and/or if the buffer of the HARQ process is not empty or occupied for the associated HARQ process ID, the TX UE may stop the CG retransmission timer for the HARQ process and perform retransmission of the MAC PDU by using the retransmission grant (¶ 382-384; Fig. 11)]
Regarding Claim 10, Lee disclose(s):
A user equipment, comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured for storing computer program; the transceiver is configured for sending and receiving data under control of the processor; and the processor is configured for reading the computer program in the memory and performing the following operations of: [Lee discloses wireless devices with a transceiver, processor, and memory coupled together such that the memory stores code for the processor to execute and may generate to transmit and receive signals through the transceiver (¶64-75; Fig. 2)]
controlling a media access control (MAC) layer of the user equipment to submit a first data packet to a physical layer of the user equipment, and controlling the MAC layer of the user equipment to start a configured grant timer (CGT) and/or a configured grant retransmission timer (CGRT); [Lee discloses a user plane protocol stack including the MAC layer and the physical (PHY) layer where the PHY layer is a lower layer and offers to the MAC sublayer transport channels and where MAC sublayer services and functions include mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing/de-multiplexing MAC Service data packets (SDUs) belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TBs) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels, scheduling information reporting, error correction through hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), priority handling between UEs by means of dynamic scheduling, and priority handling between logical channels of one UE by means of logical channel prioritization (¶100-102; Fig. 5 and 8). Lee further discloses a method of performing HARQ transmission using timers for configured grants including a discontinuous (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer and a DRX retransmission timer and that if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant, start the drx-HARQ-RTT-timerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PUSCH transmission (¶ 6-8; ¶182-187; ¶ 196-¶197; Fig. 9)]
controlling the MAC layer of the user equipment to stop, in a case that transmission of the first data packet is stopped at the physical layer of the user equipment is identified, the CGT and/or the CGRT, and transmit the first data packet after stopping the CGT and/or the CGRT. [Lee discloses that if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant to start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PUSCH transmission and stop the drx-Retransmission TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process (¶196-198). Lee further discloses that there may be a priority of each configured grant and may be based on the highest priority of logical channels and/or a MAC control element (CE) carried in a MAC PDU over the configured grant and the TX UE may start and/or restart the CG timer and stop the CG retransmission timer for transmissions of the MAC PDU in the HARQ process for the configured grant when the TX UE performs a new transmission or when the transmission of the MAC PDU with the configured grant is not performed because this transmission is deprioritized over the other overlapped transmission or listen before talk (LBT) fails for this transmission (¶ 167-168; ¶ 243-264; ¶ 335-353; ¶359-389; Fig. 11).]
Regarding Claim 23, Lee disclose(s):
A processor-readable storage medium, wherein the processor- readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is configured for enabling the processor to execute a data transmission method applied to a user equipment, the method comprising: [Lee discloses wireless devices with a transceiver, processor, and memory coupled together such that the memory stores code for the processor to execute and may generate to transmit and receive signals through the transceiver (¶64-75; Fig. 2)]
submitting, by a media access control (MAC) layer of the user equipment, a first data packet to a physical layer of the user equipment, and starting a configured grant timer (CGT) and/or a configured grant retransmission timer (CGRT); [Lee discloses a user plane protocol stack including the MAC layer and the physical (PHY) layer where the PHY layer is a lower layer and offers to the MAC sublayer transport channels and where MAC sublayer services and functions include mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing/de-multiplexing MAC Service data packets (SDUs) belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TBs) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels, scheduling information reporting, error correction through hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), priority handling between UEs by means of dynamic scheduling, and priority handling between logical channels of one UE by means of logical channel prioritization (¶100-102; Fig. 5 and 8). Lee further discloses a method of performing HARQ transmission using timers for configured grants including a discontinuous (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer and a DRX retransmission timer and that if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant, start the drx-HARQ-RTT-timerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PUSCH transmission (¶ 6-8; ¶182-187; ¶ 196-¶197; Fig. 9)]
stopping, in a case that the MAC layer of the user equipment determines that transmission of the first data packet is stopped at the physical layer of the user equipment, the CGT and/or the CGRT, and transmitting the first data packet after stopping the CGT and/or the CGRT. [Lee discloses that if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant to start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PUSCH transmission and stop the drx-Retransmission TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process (¶196-198). Lee further discloses that there may be a priority of each configured grant and may be based on the highest priority of logical channels and/or a MAC control element (CE) carried in a MAC PDU over the configured grant and the TX UE may start and/or restart the CG timer and stop the CG retransmission timer for transmissions of the MAC PDU in the HARQ process for the configured grant when the TX UE performs a new transmission or when the transmission of the MAC PDU with the configured grant is not performed because this transmission is deprioritized over the other overlapped transmission or listen before talk (LBT) fails for this transmission (¶ 167-168; ¶ 243-264; ¶ 335-353; ¶359-389; Fig. 11).]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0039648 A1; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 7 and 16, Lee disclose(s):
The data transmission method according to claim 6, wherein the first data packet is transmitted to the network device for a first time through the first configured grant resource; [Lee discloses autonomous resource selection where resources are selected for multiple transmissions of different transport blocks (TB) and a dynamic scheme where resources are selected for each TB transmission and where the UE may reselect sidelink resources from a resource pool to create a grant used for transmission and the configured grant may be used for either uplink or sidelink transmission (¶ 124-138; ¶329-330). Lee also discloses that a UE can perform a retransmission of TB2 on the second resource, but it may be skipped when it overlaps with a prioritized transmission and so it can be transmitted on a third resource (¶369-375; Fig. 11)]
the selecting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the second target uplink resource from at least one uplink resource, comprises:
Lee fails to explicitly disclose(s):
selecting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the second target uplink resource from at least one uplink resource according to at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of the uplink resource and a reliability parameter of the uplink resource.
However Wang, analogous art also teaching configured grant timers, does teach:
selecting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the second target uplink resource from at least one uplink resource according to at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of the uplink resource and a reliability parameter of the uplink resource. [Wang discloses resource elements being used to transmit a particular number of bits according to the type of modulation used for that resource element and determining modulation order, target code rate, and TB size for transmissions according to a modulation and coding scheme field (¶6; ¶98). Wang further discloses that in the case of a transmission based on an explicit grant/assignment, a periodic and/or recurring UL grant and/or DL assignment, the UE can then initiate a data transmission and/or receive data according to a predefined configuration, which is referred to as a configured grant (¶14) and that a UE can select a second CG based on a CG having second resources that can provide the highest transmission reliability among the plurality of CGs or a CG having second resources that support a TB size (¶ 29; ¶156-164; ¶ 186-198; Fig. 6)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Lee with that of Alfarhan to include selecting the uplink resource based on a MCS of the uplink resource or a reliability parameter to select according to rules or conditions of reliability, delay, size, latency, etc., as per Wang (¶191-198), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 8 and 17, Lee and Wang disclose(s):
The data transmission method according to claim 7, wherein the selecting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the second target uplink resource from at least one uplink resource according to at least one of the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of the uplink resource and the reliability parameter of the uplink resource, comprises one of:
selecting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the second target uplink resource whose MCS is lower than or equal to an MCS corresponding to the first configured grant resource from the at least one uplink resource; [Wang discloses resource elements being used to transmit a particular number of bits according to the type of modulation used for that resource element and determining modulation order, target code rate, and TB size for transmissions according to a modulation and coding scheme field (¶6; ¶98). Wang further discloses that in the case of a transmission based on an explicit grant/assignment, a periodic and/or recurring UL grant and/or DL assignment, the UE can then initiate a data transmission and/or receive data according to a predefined configuration, which is referred to as a configured grant (¶14) and that a UE can select a second CG based on a CG having second resources that can provide the highest transmission reliability among the plurality of CGs or a CG having second resources that support a TB size (¶ 29; ¶156-164; ¶ 186-198; Fig. 6)]
selecting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the second target uplink resource whose reliability parameter is higher than or equal to a reliability parameter corresponding to the first configured grant resource from the at least one uplink resource; [Wang discloses resource elements being used to transmit a particular number of bits according to the type of modulation used for that resource element and determining modulation order, target code rate, and TB size for transmissions according to a modulation and coding scheme field (¶6; ¶98). Wang further discloses that in the case of a transmission based on an explicit grant/assignment, a periodic and/or recurring UL grant and/or DL assignment, the UE can then initiate a data transmission and/or receive data according to a predefined configuration, which is referred to as a configured grant (¶14) and that a UE can select a second CG based on a CG having second resources that can provide the highest transmission reliability among the plurality of CGs or a CG having second resources that support a TB size (¶ 29; ¶156-164; ¶ 186-198; Fig. 6)]
selecting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment, the second target uplink resource whose MCS is lower than or equal to the MCS corresponding to the first configured grant resource and whose reliability parameter is higher than or equal to the reliability parameter corresponding to the first configured grant resource from the at least one uplink resource; [Wang discloses resource elements being used to transmit a particular number of bits according to the type of modulation used for that resource element and determining modulation order, target code rate, and TB size for transmissions according to a modulation and coding scheme field (¶6; ¶98). Wang further discloses that in the case of a transmission based on an explicit grant/assignment, a periodic and/or recurring UL grant and/or DL assignment, the UE can then initiate a data transmission and/or receive data according to a predefined configuration, which is referred to as a configured grant (¶14) and that a UE can select a second CG based on a CG having second resources that can provide the highest transmission reliability among the plurality of CGs or a CG having second resources that support a TB size (¶ 29; ¶156-164; ¶ 186-198; Fig. 6)]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468