DETAILED ACTION
The office action is responsive to a preliminary amendment filed on 4/24/23 and is being
examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-11 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119
(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2020-185639, filed on 11/6/20.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first temperature definition unit”, “a second temperature definition unit”, “a cumulative temperature calculation unit”, “a first correlation expression derivation unit”, “an internal oxide layer thickness estimation unit”, “a first temperature definition step”, “a second temperature definition step”, “a cumulative temperature calculation step”, “a first correlation expression derivation step”, “an internal oxide layer thickness estimation step” in claims 1 and 10-11. In paragraphs [0017] – [0020] and [0044] of the specification discloses the corresponding structure/algorithm for the units and steps shown above .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims covers performance of the limitation in the mind or by pencil and paper and as a mathematical concept.
Claims 1 and 10-11
Regarding step 1, claims 1 and 10-11 are directed towards a device, a method and medium which has the claims fall within the eligible statutory categories of processes, machines, manufactures and composition of matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 10
Regarding step 2A, prong 1, claim 10 recites “a first temperature definition step of defining a temperature of a portion to be estimated, in which the thickness of the internal oxide layer is to be estimated, in the hot-rolled steel sheet”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 10 recites “a second temperature definition step of defining an internal oxidation starting temperature at which internal oxidation of the hot-rolled steel sheet starts”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 10 recites “a cumulative temperature calculation step of calculating a cumulative temperature on the basis of the temperatures defined by the first temperature definition step and the second temperature definition step and a predetermined period of time from an estimation start time at which estimation of the thickness of the internal oxide layer is started to an estimation evaluation time”. This limitation is calculating a cumulative temperature on the basis of the temperatures defined by the first temperature definition step and the second temperature definition step and a predetermined period of time from an estimation start time. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 10 recites “a first correlation expression derivation step of deriving a first correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature calculated by the cumulative temperature calculation step and an estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Also, this limitation is deriving a first correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature calculated by the cumulative temperature calculation step and an estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 10 recites “and an internal oxide layer thickness estimation step of estimating the thickness of the internal oxide layer on the basis of the first correlation expression.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Regarding step 2A, prong 2, the claim language of claim 10 does not recite a computer or components of a computer such as a processor, where an additional element is not claimed. Accordingly, the additional element of a processor does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2B, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claim language of claim 10 does not recite a computer or components of a computer such as a processor, where an additional element is not claimed.
Claim 1
Regarding step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 recites “a first temperature definition unit that
defines a temperature of a portion to be estimated, in which the thickness of the internal oxide layer is to be estimated, in the hot-rolled steel sheet”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “a second temperature definition unit that defines an internal oxidation starting temperature at which internal oxidation of the hot-rolled steel sheet starts”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “a cumulative temperature calculation unit that calculates a cumulative temperature on the basis of the temperatures defined by the first temperature definition unit and the second temperature definition unit and a predetermined period of time from an estimation start time at which estimation of the thickness of the internal oxide layer is started to an estimation evaluation time”. This limitation is calculating a cumulative temperature on the basis of the temperatures defined by the first temperature definition step and the second temperature definition step and a predetermined period of time from an estimation start time. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “a first correlation expression derivation unit that derives a first correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature calculated by the cumulative temperature calculation unit and an estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Also, this limitation is deriving a first correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature calculated by the cumulative temperature calculation step and an estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites “and an internal oxide layer thickness estimation unit that estimates the thickness of the internal oxide layer on the basis of the first correlation expression.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Regarding step 2A, prong 2, the claim includes the additional element of an internal oxide layer thickness estimation device. The internal oxide layer thickness estimation device is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer and/or a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2B, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of an internal oxide layer thickness estimation device amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component that does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and therefore cannot provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(b).
Claim 11
Regarding step 2A, prong 1, claim 11 recites “a first temperature definition unit that defines a temperature of a portion to be estimated, in which the thickness of the internal oxide layer is to be estimated, in the hot-rolled steel sheet”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 11 recites “a second temperature definition unit that defines an internal oxidation starting temperature at which internal oxidation of the hot-rolled steel sheet starts”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 11 recites “a cumulative temperature calculation unit that calculates a cumulative temperature on the basis of the temperatures defined by the first temperature definition unit and the second temperature definition unit and a predetermined period of time from an estimation start time at which estimation of the thickness of the internal oxide layer is started to an estimation evaluation time”. This limitation is calculating a cumulative temperature on the basis of the temperatures defined by the first temperature definition step and the second temperature definition step and a predetermined period of time from an estimation start time. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 11 recites “a first correlation expression derivation unit that derives a first correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature calculated by the cumulative temperature calculation unit and an estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Also, this limitation is deriving a first correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature calculated by the cumulative temperature calculation step and an estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 11 recites “and an internal oxide layer thickness estimation unit that estimates the thickness of the internal oxide layer on the basis of the first correlation expression.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Regarding step 2A, prong 2, the claim includes the additional elements of a computer and a medium. The computer and a medium are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer and/or a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2B, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the computer and a medium amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component that does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and therefore cannot provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(b).
Claim 2
Dependent claim 2 recites “wherein the internal oxide layer is formed when the hot-rolled steel sheet is cooled in a coiled state.”. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity, where an internal oxide layer is formed when the hot-rolled steel sheet is cooled in a coiled state. Also, this limitation amounts to merely indicating a field of use. In MPEP 2106.05(h) it states "Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application".
Claim 3
Dependent claim 3 recites “wherein the cumulative temperature calculation unit calculates the cumulative temperature on the basis of the following Expression (1):
ST is the cumulative temperature, T is the temperature of the portion to be estimated, in which the thickness of the internal oxide layer is to be estimated, in the hot- rolled steel sheet, Tcr is the internal oxidation starting temperature at which the internal oxidation of the hot-rolled steel sheet starts, t0 is the estimation start time when the estimation of the thickness of the internal oxide layer is started, t1 is the estimation evaluation time, and T - Tcr is 0 in an integration interval where T - Tcr is equal to or less than 0.”. This limitation is calculating the cumulative temperature. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 4
Dependent claim 4 recites “wherein the first correlation expression is represented by any one or a combination of two or more of the following Expressions (2) to (4):
and in a case in which the first correlation expression is configured by Expression (4), in a range of the cumulative temperature after the local maximum value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer, the first correlation expression is set such that at least the estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer is not decreased.”. This limitation has the first correlation expression represented by one or more equations. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 5
Dependent claim 5 recites “wherein, in the case in which the first correlation expression is configured by Expression (4), the first correlation expression derivation unit makes the estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer constant at the local maximum value in the range of the cumulative temperature after the local maximum value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer.” This limitation is determining the estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer constant using the first correlation expression derivation unit. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 6
Dependent claim 6 recites “wherein the second temperature definition unit defines the internal oxidation starting temperature on the basis of a correlation between the cumulative temperature and a measured value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer when the internal oxidation starting temperature is changed.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 7
Dependent claim 7 recites “wherein the second temperature definition unit changes the internal oxidation starting temperature to derive a temperature-determining correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature and the estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Dependent claim 7 recites “and defines the internal oxidation starting temperature on the basis of a degree-of- freedom determination coefficient R2 of the temperature-determining correlation expression.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 8
Dependent claim 8 recites “wherein the hot-rolled steel sheet is coiled, and the estimation start time is a coiling completion time at which the coiling of the hot-rolled steel sheet is completed.”. This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 9
Dependent claim 9 recites “a second correlation expression derivation unit that derives a second correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature and a coiling completion temperature of the hot-rolled steel sheet.” This limitation doesn’t distinguish itself from being able to be conducted in the human or with pencil and paper. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is a process step that covers performance in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. As such, this limitation falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
Also, this limitation is deriving a second correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature and a coiling completion temperature of the hot-rolled steel sheet. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), this limitation covers a mathematical concept, which falls in the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claims 1-11 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugihara et
al. (JP 2013103235) (from IDS dated 4/24/23) in view of Kosuge et al. (JP 3839924).
With respect to claim 1, Sugihara et al. discloses “a first temperature definition unit
that defines a temperature of a portion to be estimated, in which the thickness of the internal oxide layer is to be estimated, in the hot-rolled steel sheet” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 2, Description, 4th paragraph, “In this invention, it is preferable that the winding target temperature of a hot-rolled steel plate shall be 450-600 degree C. This is because when the coiling temperature of the hot-rolled steel sheet exceeds600 ° C., as shown in FIG. 2 above, the generation rate of the internal oxide layer becomes very fast, and the amount of internal oxidation becomes excessive. On the other hand, when the coiling temperature is less than 450 ° C., the generation rate of the internal oxide layer is slow, and the amount of internal oxidation becomes insufficient.”)];
“a second temperature definition unit that defines an internal oxidation starting temperature at which internal oxidation of the hot-rolled steel sheet starts” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 3rd paragraph, “About the temperature of this site | part, it is good to set it as 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part. This is because if the temperature is less than 50 ° C., the temperature is soaked in a short time due to thermal diffusion, so that a sufficient time for generating the internal oxide layer cannot be secured. On the other hand, if it exceeds 100 ° C., the temperature of the entire coil rises and the amount of internal oxidation becomes excessive as a whole.”, Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 4th paragraph, “For this reason, in this invention, about the area | region corresponded to the length of 5-30% along the longitudinal direction of the front-end | tip part and tail end part of a hot-rolled steel plate, it is preferable to make it 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part.”)];
“a cumulative temperature calculation unit that calculates a cumulative temperature on the basis of the temperatures defined by the first temperature definition unit and the second temperature definition unit” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 2, Description, 5th paragraph, “Further, in the present invention, the temperature of the inner peripheral portion, the outer peripheral portion and the width direction end portion of the coil is made higher in advance than the other portions before winding the coil, so that the amount of internal oxidation is made uniform. Specifically, in cooling on the run-out table, cooling is performed in which the target values of the coiling temperature at the front end and tail end in the longitudinal direction of the hot-rolled steel sheet are changed stepwise as shown in FIG. (Hereinafter, such cooling is referred to as step cooling).”)];
“and a predetermined period of time from an estimation start time at which estimation of the thickness of the internal oxide layer is started to an estimation evaluation time” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 4, 4th paragraph, “The thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer can be adjusted by controlling the time until the coil temperature reaches room temperature.”)];
“a first correlation expression derivation unit that derives a first correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature calculated by the cumulative temperature calculation unit and an estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 11th paragraph, “The generation rate of the inner oxide layer can be expressed by an Arrhenius type equation, and the thickness (δ) of the inner oxide layer is can be obtained.”, as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 12th paragraph, “The thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer was clarified that the internal oxide layer formed after winding the hot-rolled steel sheet was expressed by the above equation (1) as a result of various experiments and research . Yes, the plating property is improved when the thickness (δ) (m) of the internal oxide layer at room temperature after winding satisfies the condition of 1.0 × 10 .sup.−6 ≦δ ≦ 4.0 × 10 .sup.−6 is done.”, The examiner consider the Arrhenius equation to be equation that derives a first correlation indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature calculated by the cumulative temperature calculation unit and an estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer, since the Arrhenius equation is shows how the speed of a chemical reaction changes with temperature, see Non-Patent literature attachment of the definition of Arrhenius Equation)];
“and an internal oxide layer thickness estimation unit that estimates the thickness of the internal oxide layer on the basis of the first correlation expression.” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, last paragraph, “The thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer was clarified that the internal oxide layer formed after winding the hot-rolled steel sheet was expressed by the above equation (1) as a result of various experiments and research . Yes, the plating property is improved when the thickness (δ) (m) of the internal oxide layer at room temperature after winding satisfies the condition of 1.0 × 10 .sup.−6 ≦δ ≦ 4.0 × 10 .sup.−6 is done.”)];
While Sugihara et al. teaches estimating the thickness of an internal oxide layer, Sugihara et al. does not explicitly disclose “An internal oxide layer thickness estimation device that estimates a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet”
Kosuge et al. discloses “An internal oxide layer thickness estimation device that estimates a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet” as [Kosuge et al. (paragraph [0026] “A rapid heating chamber equipped with a device for rapidly heating the strip rolled to the final product thickness to a temperature of 800 ° C. or higher at a heating rate of 100 ° C./s or more, a decarburization annealing furnace for performing decarburization annealing”)];
Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing the thickness of an oxide layer.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Sugihara et al. of estimating the thickness of an internal oxide layer by incorporating an internal oxide layer thickness estimation device that estimates a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet as taught by Kosuge et al. for the purpose of providing a unidirectional electrical steel sheet containing 2.0 to 7.0% Si, having excellent film characteristics and excellent iron loss characteristics.
Sugihara et al. in view of Kosuge et al. teaches an internal oxide layer thickness estimation device that estimates a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Kosuge et al. teaches that by providing a unidirectional electrical steel sheet containing 2.0 to 7.0% Si, the ability to have unidirectional electrical steel sheet excellence in both film characteristics and magnetic characteristics can be accomplished. This allows for primary and secondary coatings (insulating coatings) can be used where corners have a high curvature (Kosuge et al. paragraph [0009] – [0010]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. discloses the device of claim 1 above, and Sugihara et al. further discloses “wherein the internal oxide layer is formed when the hot-rolled steel sheet is cooled in a coiled state.” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 5th paragraph “Next, in the present invention, when cooling water is supplied to the upper surface and lower surface of the hot-rolled steel sheet to cool the hot-rolled steel sheet, the cooling water is supplied from the width end of the hot-rolled steel sheet toward the center. The reason for this is that if the region where the cooling water supply is cut off is less than 50 mm, the region where the temperature is high is small, and the temperature is soaked quickly due to thermal diffusion, and the internal oxide layer is generated. This is because it cannot be secured.”)];
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. discloses the device of claim 1 above, and Sugihara et al. further discloses “wherein the cumulative temperature calculation unit calculates the cumulative temperature on the basis of the following Expression (1):
ST is the cumulative temperature, T is the temperature of the portion to be estimated, in which the thickness of the internal oxide layer is to be estimated, in the hot- rolled steel sheet, Tcr is the internal oxidation starting temperature at which the internal oxidation of the hot-rolled steel sheet starts, t0 is the estimation start time when the estimation of the thickness of the internal oxide layer is started, t1 is the estimation evaluation time, and T - Tcr is 0 in an integration interval where T - Tcr is equal to or less than 0.”. as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 2, Description, 5th paragraph, “Further, in the present invention, the temperature of the inner peripheral portion, the outer peripheral portion and the width direction end portion of the coil is made higher in advance than the other portions before winding the coil, so that the amount of internal oxidation is made uniform. Specifically, in cooling on the run-out table, cooling is performed in which the target values of the coiling temperature at the front end and tail end in the longitudinal direction of the hot-rolled steel sheet are changed stepwise as shown in FIG. (Hereinafter, such cooling is referred to as step cooling).”)];
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. discloses the device of claim 1 above, and Sugihara et al. further discloses “wherein the first correlation expression is represented by any one or a combination of two or more of the following Expressions (2) to (4):
in a case in which the first correlation expression is configured by Expression (4), in a range of the cumulative temperature after the local maximum value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer, the first correlation expression is set such that at least the estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer is not decreased.”. as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 11th paragraph, “The generation rate of the inner oxide layer can be expressed by an Arrhenius type equation, and the thickness (δ) of the inner oxide layer is can be obtained.”, The Arrhenius equation is shows how the speed of a chemical reaction changes with temperature, which demonstrates that any one or the combination of two or more of the expressions above are represented, see Non-Patent literature attachment of the definition of the Arrhenius equation)];
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. discloses the device of claim 4 above, and Sugihara et al. further discloses “wherein, in the case in which the first correlation expression is configured by Expression (4), the first correlation expression derivation unit makes the estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer constant at the local maximum value in the range of the cumulative temperature after the local maximum value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer.” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 10th paragraph, “For this reason, in this invention, the temperature of the 50-100 mm area | region in the width |variety edge part of a hot-rolled steel plate becomes like this. Preferably it makes 50-100 degree C higher than the temperature of a stationary part.”, Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 11th paragraph, “The generation rate of the inner oxide layer can be expressed by an Arrhenius type equation, and the thickness (δ) of the inner oxide layer is can be obtained.”, Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 12th paragraph, “The thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer was clarified that the internal oxide layer formed after winding the hot-rolled steel sheet was expressed by the above equation (1) as a result of various experiments and research . Yes, the plating property is improved when the thickness (δ) (m) of the internal oxide layer at room temperature after winding satisfies the condition of 1.0 × 10 .sup.−6 ≦δ ≦ 4.0 × 10 .sup.−6 is done.”)];
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. discloses the device of claim 1 above, and Sugihara et al. further discloses “wherein the second temperature definition unit defines the internal oxidation starting temperature on the basis of a correlation between the cumulative temperature and a measured value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer when the internal oxidation starting temperature is changed.” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 3rd paragraph, “About the temperature of this site | part, it is good to set it as 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part. This is because if the temperature is less than 50 ° C., the temperature is soaked in a short time due to thermal diffusion, so that a sufficient time for generating the internal oxide layer cannot be secured. On the other hand, if it exceeds 100 ° C., the temperature of the entire coil rises and the amount of internal oxidation becomes excessive as a whole.”, Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 12th paragraph, “The thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer was clarified that the internal oxide layer formed after winding the hot-rolled steel sheet was expressed by the above equation (1) as a result of various experiments and research . Yes, the plating property is improved when the thickness (δ) (m) of the internal oxide layer at room temperature after winding satisfies the condition of 1.0 × 10 .sup.−6 ≦δ ≦ 4.0 × 10 .sup.−6 is done.”)];
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. discloses the device of claim 6 above, and Sugihara et al. further discloses “wherein the second temperature definition unit changes the internal oxidation starting temperature to derive a temperature-determining correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature and the estimated value of the thickness of the internal oxide layer and defines the internal oxidation starting temperature on the basis of a degree-of- freedom determination coefficient R2 of the temperature-determining correlation expression.” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 12th paragraph, “The thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer was clarified that the internal oxide layer formed after winding the hot-rolled steel sheet was expressed by the above equation (1) as a result of various experiments and research . Yes, the plating property is improved when the thickness (δ) (m) of the internal oxide layer at room temperature after winding satisfies the condition of 1.0 × 10 .sup.−6 ≦δ ≦ 4.0 × 10 .sup.−6 is done.”, Sugihara et al. Pg. 4, 2nd – 3rd paragraph, “When the thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer is less than 1.0 × 10 .sup.−6 m (1.0 μm), the Si-deficient layer is thin, and Si oxide is generated on the steel sheet surface during annealing. It is inevitable that the plating property deteriorates.
On the other hand, if the thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer exceeds 4.0 × 10 .sup.−6 m (4 μm),the internal oxide layer of Si cannot be removed by the pickling treatment, and the plating property deteriorates.”, Sugihara et al. Pg. 4, 4th paragraph, “The thickness (δ) of the internal oxide layer can be adjusted by controlling the time te until the coil temperature reaches room temperature.”, The thickness of the internal oxide layer at a certain temperature has an effect on the property, which demonstrates that there’s a correlation between the cumulative temperature and the thickness of the internal oxide layer)];
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. discloses the device of claim 1 above, and Sugihara et al. further discloses “wherein the hot-rolled steel sheet is coiled” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 3rd paragraph, “About the temperature of this site | part, it is good to set it as 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part. This is because if the temperature is less than 50 ° C., the temperature is soaked in a short time due to thermal diffusion, so that a sufficient time for generating the internal oxide layer cannot be secured. On the other hand, if it exceeds 100 ° C., the temperature of the entire coil rises and the amount of internal oxidation becomes excessive as a whole.”, Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 4th paragraph, “For this reason, in this invention, about the area | region corresponded to the length of 5-30% along the longitudinal direction of the front-end | tip part and tail end part of a hot-rolled steel plate, it is preferable to make it 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part.”)];
“and the estimation start time is a coiling completion time at which the coiling of the hot-rolled steel sheet is completed.” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 3rd paragraph, “About the temperature of this site | part, it is good to set it as 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part. This is because if the temperature is less than 50 ° C., the temperature is soaked in a short time due to thermal diffusion, so that a sufficient time for generating the internal oxide layer cannot be secured. On the other hand, if it exceeds 100 ° C., the temperature of the entire coil rises and the amount of internal oxidation becomes excessive as a whole.”, Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 4th paragraph, “For this reason, in this invention, about the area | region corresponded to the length of 5-30% along the longitudinal direction of the front-end | tip part and tail end part of a hot-rolled steel plate, it is preferable to make it 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part.”)];
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge et al. discloses the device of claim 1 above, and Sugihara et al. further discloses “a second correlation expression derivation unit that derives a second correlation expression indicating a correlation between the cumulative temperature and a coiling completion temperature of the hot-rolled steel sheet.” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 3rd paragraph, “About the temperature of this site | part, it is good to set it as 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part. This is because if the temperature is less than 50 ° C., the temperature is soaked in a short time due to thermal diffusion, so that a sufficient time for generating the internal oxide layer cannot be secured. On the other hand, if it exceeds 100 ° C., the temperature of the entire coil rises and the amount of internal oxidation becomes excessive as a whole.”, Sugihara et al. (Pg. 3, 4th paragraph, “For this reason, in this invention, about the area | region corresponded to the length of 5-30% along the longitudinal direction of the front-end | tip part and tail end part of a hot-rolled steel plate, it is preferable to make it 50-100 degree C temperature higher than a stationary part.”, Having a range for the temperature )];
With respect to claim 10, Sugihara et al. discloses “An internal oxide layer thickness estimation method that estimates a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet” as [Sugihara et al. (Pg. 1, Background-Art, 1st paragraph, “As shown in FIG. 1, a hot-rolled steel sheet, which is one of the hot steel sheets, is rolled into a rough bar by rolling a slab heated to a predetermined temperature in a heating furnace 1 with a roughing mill2, and then the rough bar. Is rolled to a predetermined thickness in a continuous hot finishing rolling mill 3 composed of a plurality of rolling stands, and further, cooling water is supplied to the upper and lower surfaces by a cooling device 4 installed on the run-out table. In general, after cooling to a predetermined temperature, the coil is wound by a winder 5 to produce a coil.”)];
The other limitations recite the same substantive limitations as claim 1 above and are rejected using the same teachings.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugihara et
al. in view of Kosuge et al. in further view of Toda et al. (JP 3727084).
With respect to claim 11, Toda et al. discloses “A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer to estimate a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet” as [Toda et al. [0013] “The change signal may be input to a recorder (not shown) or the like to draw a change curve, or may be input to the personal computer 10 to process the data and output from the data processing result output meter 11.”, Fig. 1C)];
Sugihara et al., Kosuge et al. and Toda et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor of analyzing the thickness of an oxide layer.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Sugihara et al. and Kosuge of having an internal oxide layer thickness estimation device that estimates a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet by incorporating a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer to estimate a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet as taught by Toda et al. for the purpose of producing a silicon steel sheet.
Sugihara et al. in view of Kosuge et al. in further view of Toda et al. teaches incorporating a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer to estimate a thickness of an internal oxide layer formed in a hot-rolled steel sheet.
The motivation for doing so would have been because Toda et al. teaches that by reducing the iron loss of the silicon steel plate, the ability to obtain secondary recrystallized grains can be accomplished. This allows the ability to reduce impurities and break-outs present in the final steel sheet product (Toda et al. (paragraph [0002] – [0003]).
The other limitations recite the same substantive limitations as claim 1 above and are rejected using the same teachings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of Makiishi et al. (JP 2004020519) is a method for evaluating the internal oxide layer of a metal material surface layer.
/BERNARD E COTHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/EUNHEE KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188